Status of Claims
Claims 1-18 are pending.
Priority
Claims 1-18 are a CON of PCT/IB 2024/051926 filed on February 28, 2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Quigley et al. [Effects of spray-dried animal plasma on intake and apparent digestibility in dogs, Journal of Animal Science, 2004], in view of Respondek et al. [Short-chain fructooligosaccharides influence insulin sensitivity and gene expression of fat tissue in obese dogs, The Journal of Nutrition, 2008], in view of Lee et al. [Dietary supplementation with fiber, “biotics,” and spray-dried plasma affects apparent total tract macronutrient digestibility and the fecal characteristics, fecal microbiota, and immune function of adult dogs, Journal of Animal Science, 2022], in view of Swanson et al. [Effects of supplemental fructooligosaccherides and mannanoligosaccherides on colonic microbial populations, immune function and fecal odor components in the canine, American Society of Nutritional Sciences, 2002].
For claim 1 where the spray-dried plasma (SPD) and fructooligosaccharides (FOS) have a ratio from 10:2 to 10:4, Quigley et al. discloses an animal food composition comprising SDP where the SDP blending made up 0, 1, 2, or 3% SDP with other ingredients and extruding the resulting composition to form dog food [Table 3]. Quigley et al. further teaches that inclusion of SDP improved dry matter, organic matter, and dietary fiber digestibility and decreased fecal dry matter excretion showing that SDP was a suitable ingredient in dry dog food preparations [Abstract]. Furthermore, Quigley et al. disclosed that SDP contained significant amounts of functional proteins that included IgG, transferrin, numerous hormones and growth factors [pg. 1691 ¶ 3] and that SDP improved digestibility of nutrients and decreased excretion of fecal DM [Id. at ¶ 4]. However, Quigley et al. does not teach the inclusion of FOS or that SDP and FOS are present together.
For this limitation, Respondek et al. teaches the inclusion of FOS supplementation with commercial dog food where the FOS was administered at 1% wt/wt of dietary dry matter to Beagle dogs [Abstract]. However, neither Respondek et al. or Quigley et al. disclose FOS and SDP in combination. For this limitation, Lee et al. teaches the use of functional ingredients, including fibers and prebiotics, in pet foods for beneficial gastrointestinal effects and expressly identifies frunctan-based ingredients, including short-chain fructooligosaccherides, as among the most common preobiotics used in pet foods [Introduction ¶ 3].
Here, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the claimed invention to modify the systems and methods of Quigley et al. that disclosed SDP application and benefits on dog food with the teachings of Respondek et al. that disclosed the inclusion of FOS as a dietary fiber that could potentially modulate insulin resistance and glucose homeostasis in dogs with the further teachings of Lee et al. that disclosed FOS as one of the most common fructan-based prebiotic ingredients in pet foods. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Quigley et al. with the further teachings of Respondek et al. and Lee et al. because Lee et al. specifically taught the use of prebiotics as a functional pet-food ingredient that had gastrointestinal benefits combined with SPD for beneficial effects on total tract digestibility, stool quality, fecal microbiota and metabolites, and immune health outcomes in adult dogs [See Abstract]. Here, a person of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success because both SDP and FOS were known and demonstrated to be sustainable functional dietary ingredients in pet food, and their combination would have involved using each ingredient for its known intended purpose. Lastly, Quigley et al. combined with Respondek et al., together teaches a 3:1 ratio of SDP to FOS which is equivalent to a 10:3 ratio which is within Applicant’s claimed range. MPEP § 2144.05 states “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of "about 1-5%" while the claim was limited to "more than 5%." The court held that "about 1-5%" allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.).” Additionally, MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A) states “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).” Here, the claimed ratios of SDP and FOS were known formulation variables, and determination of an optimum or workable proportion through routine optimization would have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
For claim 2 where the limitation is from 10:2.5 to 10:3.5, the analysis for claim 1 also applies to claim 2.
For claim 3 where the limitation is of SDP to FOS is 10:3, the analysis for claim 1 is applied here.
For claim 4 where the SDP makes up 0.5 to 90 wt.-% on the total weight of the composition, Quigley et al. expressly teaches the inclusion of 1%, 2%, and 3% of SDP to make up of total composition [See table 1, table 2, and table 3].
For claim 5 where the FOS makes up 0.1 to 45 wt.% on total weight of composition, Respondek et al. expressly teaches that FOS made up 1% of total dietary matter [Abstract].
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Quigley et al. that taught the addition of SPD as a supplement in dog food at a specific concentration of total composition weight with the additional teachings of Respondek et al. that also disclosed FOS at a 1% total composition of dry weight for pet food. Based on this, a person of ordinary skill would have reason to combine the SDP and FOS in their respective ratios at a roughly 3:1 ratio given the disclosures in both Quigley et al. and Respondek et al. Furthermore, combined with Lee et al. which provides the express motivation to include both SDP and FOS, a person of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success to combine the respective components at the claimed ratios given that both ingredients were disclosed in similar ranges and the effects of those ranges were known in the art.
For claim 6 where the composition is formulated as a ready-to-use food, supplement, additive, or topper, Lee et al. provides the express teachings that a variety of functional ingredients can be added to pet foods to support gastrointestinal and immune health [Lay Summary]. Furthermore, Lee et al. discloses the FOS is one of the more common prebiotic ingredients that is found in pet food [Introduction ¶ 3], and that SPD coupled with FOS had positive impacts on stool quality, fecal metabolites, and immune function in dogs [Discussion ¶ 9].
For claim 7 where the animal is a pet and/or livestock, Lee et al. expressly discloses the SDP/FOS dietary composition is for pets, i.e. dogs [Abstract].
For claim 8 where the animal is a dog or a cat, Lee et al. expressly discloses the SDP/FOS dietary composition was used with dogs [Abstract].
Here, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the claimed invention to modify the systems and methods of Quigley et al. with the additional teachings of Lee et al. that teaches both SPD and FOS can be added to pet dietary compositions and that FOS is already one of the more common ingredients found in pet food and that both Quigley et al. and Lee et al. specifically teach the claimed composition to be included in foods for pets and/or livestock to included dogs and cats. Here, Lee et al. provides express teachings and motivations to combine the teachings of Quigley et al. and Respondek et al. to include both SPD and FOS as supplemental ingredients to be included in pet food, more specifically for dogs, given that both ingredients are associated with dietary inclusion of functional blends composed of dietary fibers, “biotics,” and/or spray-dried plasma have positive impacts on stool quality, fecal metabolites, and immune function in dogs where these blends have shown the ability to help modulate gut microbiota. Based on this, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to combine the teachings of Lee et al. with the additional teachings of Quigley et al. and Respondek et al. to include the combined combination of SPD and FOS at the provided concentrations resulting in a ratio of about 3:1, or about 10:3, to be included in dog food as a dietary supplement based on the resulting benefits taught by Lee et al.
For claim 9 where it is a method for improving food digestibility and nutrient absorption that includes a composition that includes SDP and FOS at a ratio of 10:2 to 10:4, Lee et al. expressly teaches that SPD and FOS were tested to evaluate the effects of these ingredients on total tract digestibility, stool quality, fecal microbiota and metabolites, and immune health outcomes in adult dogs with positive effects [Abstract, Discussion ¶ 9]. However, Lee et al. does not specifically teach SDP to FOS ratio at 10:2 to 10:4.
For this limitation, both Quigley et al. teaches a composition comprising SDP at 0, 1, 2, and 3% with Respondek et al. teaching a composition with 1% wt. amount of FOS [See Claim 1]. Here, Quigley et al. combined with Respondek et al., together teaches a 3:1 ratio of SDP to FOS which is equivalent to a 10:3 ratio which is within Applicant’s claimed range. MPEP § 2144.05 states “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of "about 1-5%" while the claim was limited to "more than 5%." The court held that "about 1-5%" allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.).” it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the claimed invention to modify the systems and methods of Quigley et al. that disclosed SDP application and benefits on dog food with the teachings of Respondek et al. that disclosed the inclusion of FOS as a dietary fiber that could potentially modulate insulin resistance and glucose homeostasis in dogs with the further teachings of Lee et al. that disclosed FOS as one of the most common fructan-based prebiotic ingredients in pet foods. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Quigley et al. with the further teachings of Respondek et al. and Lee et al. because Lee et al. specifically taught the use of prebiotics as a functional pet-food ingredient that had gastrointestinal benefits combined with SPD for beneficial effects on total tract digestibility, stool quality, fecal microbiota and metabolites, and immune health outcomes in adult dogs [See Abstract]. Here, a person of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success because both SDP and FOS were known and demonstrated to be sustainable functional dietary ingredients in pet food, and their combination would have involved using each ingredient for its known intended purpose. Lastly, Quigley et al. combined with Respondek et al., together teaches a 3:1 ratio of SDP to FOS which is equivalent to a 10:3 ratio which is within Applicant’s claimed range
For claim 10 where the administration reduces faecal odour, Swanson et al., discussing the effects of FOS on colonic microbial populations, teaches that the administration of FOS-containing diet to dogs and reported that dietary FOS significantly reduced fecal concentrations of total phenols and indoles, which are microbial fermentation products associated with fecal malodor [Table 2]. Here, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the claimed invention to modify the systems and methods of Lee et al., in combination with Quigley et al. and Respondek et al., to combine with the teachings of Swanson et al. to reduce fecal odor given that Swanson et al. expressly teaches that administration of dietary FOS reduced fecal compounds associated with malodor in dogs, thereby providing a reason to make the combination and a reasonable expectation of success in reducing fecal odor.
For claims 11 and 12 where the animal is a pet, e.g. dog or cat, or livestock, the analysis for claims 7 and 8 are applied here.
For claim 13 that contains a method for maintaining gut health, treating gut disorders, gut inflammation, gut discomfort, and/or maintaining or increasing immunity in an animal by administering a composition that includes SDP and FOS with a stated composition ratio of 10:2 to 10:4, the analysis for claim 9 is applied here.
For claim 14 where the gut disorder comprises increased gut flatulence or gut inflammation, Lee et al. further teaches that dietary supplementation with functional ingredients that include SPD and FOS, i.e. prebiotics, benefits gastrointestinal and immune function [Abstact]. Furthermore, Lee et al. taught that fecal IgA concentrations were observed in dogs fed FPPB or iFPPB diets compared with those fed CT suggesting a beneficial immune response to the functional blend given that secretory IgA plays a role in maintaining gut immune hemeostasis by inhibiting pathogen binding to the intestinal mucosal surface and preventing inappropriate inflammatory responses in the GI tract [Discussion ¶ 6].
For claim 15 where the administration improves nutrient absorption or intestinal fermentation in the animal, Quigley et al. expressly teaches that SPD improved digestibility thereby leading to improved nutrient absorption [Abstract].
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the claimed invention to modify the systems and methods of Lee et al. that discusses the immune benefits of the disclosed composition with the further teachings of Quigley et al. that further discusses that SDP aids in improving digestion of nutrients which in turn leads to better nutrient absorption. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Lee et al. with the teachings of Quigley et al. given that both references teach and/or suggest the increased benefits of both digestive tract immune health and improved digestion of nutrients. This would also lead to a person or ordinary skill having a reasonable expectation of success where the recited ingredients, i.e. SDP and FOS, are included as dietary supplements in a pet food at the disclosed ratio of around 3:1 which is similar to Applicant’s disclosed range of 10:2 to 10:4, that the inherent properties of both SDP and FOS at the disclosed concentrations would lead to both an improvement in overall health in the animals digestive tract as well as improved nutrient absorption through improved digestibility.
For claim 16, where the administration of the claimed ingredients reduces faecal odour, the analysis for claim 10 is applied here.
For claim 17 and 18, the analysis of claim 7 and claim 8 are reiterated in the following: Lee et al. expressly discloses the SDP/FOS dietary composition is for pets, i.e. dogs [Abstract]. Lee et al. also expressly discloses the SDP/FOS dietary composition was used with dogs [Abstract]. Here, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the claimed invention to modify the systems and methods of Quigley et al. with the additional teachings of Lee et al. that teaches both SPD and FOS can be added to pet dietary compositions and that FOS is already one of the more common ingredients found in pet food and that both Quigley et al. and Lee et al. specifically teach the claimed composition to be included in foods for pets and/or livestock to included dogs and cats. Here, Lee et al. provides express teachings and motivations to combine the teachings of Quigley et al. and Respondek et al. to include both SPD and FOS as supplemental ingredients to be included in pet food, more specifically for dogs, given that both ingredients are associated with dietary inclusion of functional blends composed of dietary fibers, “biotics,” and/or spray-dried plasma have positive impacts on stool quality, fecal metabolites, and immune function in dogs where these blends have shown the ability to help modulate gut microbiota. Based on this, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to combine the teachings of Lee et al. with the additional teachings of Quigley et al. and Respondek et al. to include the combined combination of SPD and FOS at the provided concentrations resulting in a ratio of about 3:1, or about 10:3, to be included in dog food as a dietary supplement based on the resulting benefits taught by Lee et al.
The Supreme court has acknowledged:
When a work is available in one field of endeavor, design incentives and other market forces can prompt variations of it, either in the same field or a different one. If a person of ordinary skill can implement a predictable varition..103 likely bars its patentability…if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person’s skill. A court must ask whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior-art elements according to their established functions…
…the combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 U.S. 2007) emphasis added.
In KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007), the Supreme Court reaffirmed "the conclusion that when a patent 'simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform' and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious." Id. at 417 (quoting Sakraida v. Ag Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273,282 (1976)). The Supreme Court also emphasized a flexible approach to the obviousness question, stating that the analysis under 35 U.S.C. § 103 "need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." Id. at 418; see also id. at 421 ("A person of ordinary skill is... a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.").
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/JOHN DAVID MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 1638
/JAMES D SCHULTZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1631