Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 1 of prior U.S. Patent No. 12,258,253. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 18 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,258,253. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 16 of the ‘253 patent discloses all limitations of instant claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 7, and 10-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 5,523,112 (Carns) in view of US Patent 5,791,385 (Stahlecker).
In Re claim 1 Carns discloses a system for introducing an additive into a container, the system comprising an automated device for transporting the container along a trajectory in a horizontal plane (Conveyor 12), the system further comprising a static microdoser having a nozzle (18) from which a jet of an additive issues upon passage of an opening of the container in proximity to the nozzle to introduce the additive into said container (Column 6, lines 1-16).
Carns doesn’t disclose a nozzle which is inclined relative to a direction orthogonal to a horizontal plane.
Stahlecker discloses a fluid filling operation in which a nozzle (917) is oriented at an inclination relative to an axial direction of a container (Shown in Figure 9), in order to direct the fluid dispensed from the nozzle along the side of the container.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the Carns apparatus by orienting the nozzle at an angle relative to the vertical axis of the containers (an axis which is at a right angle to the direction of travel of the containers), in order to prevent a portion of the aroma substance from being directed against the bottom of the container and potentially splashing out.
In Re claim 2 Carns discloses a nozzle (18) oriented such that a portion of a jet of an additive is directed against the inner wall of a container (Column 6, lines 1-16).
In Re claim 5 Carns discloses a transport device which transports a container along a linear trajectory (conveyor 12).
In Re claim 7 Stahlecker discloses nozzle (917) which is inclined at an acute angle to an axis which is perpendicular to a horizontal axis (angle of nozzle 917 shown in figure 9).
In Re claim 10 Stahlecker discloses a nozzle which is inclined at an angle to project a filling fluid against a sidewall of a container. The determination of the precise angle at which the nozzle should be inclined to provide fluid flow characteristics desired by a user would require only ordinary skill in the art, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
In Re claim 11 Stahlecker discloses a nozzle which is inclined at an angle to project a filling fluid against a sidewall of a container. The determination of the precise angle at which the nozzle should be inclined to provide fluid flow characteristics desired by a user would require only ordinary skill in the art, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
In Re claim 12 Carns discloses a container having an inner wall having a rounded or cylindrical shape (cylindrical containers 10). Stahlecker discloses a fluid nozzle (917 in Figure 9) which is inclined relative to a vertical axis of a container in order to direct a fluid flow along a sidewall of a container. However, neither reference discloses a fluid jet which crosses an opening of the container at a distance from the central axis of the container. It would have been obvious to position the fluid nozzle in such a way that a fluid jet crossed the opening of the container at a distance from a central axis of the container, since the determination of the position and angle of the nozzle which provided the desired fluid flow, given the teaching of Stahlecker, would require only ordinary skill in the art.
In Re claim 13 Carns discloses many limitations, but doesn’t disclose a plurality of microdosing nozzles. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to equip the Carns apparatus with additional microdosing nozzles, in order to permit a plurality of containers to be dosed simultaneously. Furthermore, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
In Re claim 14 Carns discloses many limitations, but doesn’t disclose a group of 2 to 6 microdosing nozzles. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to equip the Carns apparatus with additional microdosing nozzles, in order to permit a plurality of containers to be dosed simultaneously. Furthermore, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
In Re claims 15 Carns discloses a bottle having a mouth opening (container 10).
In Re claim 16 Carns discloses many limitations, but doesn’t disclose a container containing water, soda, lemonade, or soup. It would have been an obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention that the Carns apparatus could be advantageously used to treat containers for any desired food material.
In Re claim 17 Carns discloses many limitations, but doesn’t disclose an additive comprising edible flavoring concentrate, a mineral concentrate, or a functional concentrate. It have been an obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention that the Carns apparatus could be advantageously used to treat containers of food material with any desired additive.
Carns in view of Stahlecker as applied to claim 1 above performs the method of claim 18 during ordinary use and operation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6, 8 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US PGPub 2004/0261893 discloses a device for microdosing a preservative into a filled container.
US Patent 4,840,014 discloses a filling machine having a purge gas nozzle oriented at an inclination to an angle of travel of a container.
/JASON K NIESZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753