DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1 in the reply filed on 9 June 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 4-7 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “sound collector” in claims 1 and 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arai (US 11,353,607).
Regarding claim 10, Arai discloses an automatic document feeder comprising: a document conveyance path 130 in which a document (P) is conveyed to a reading position to read the document; a protrusion (see fig. 3, below) extending in a direction orthogonal to a conveyance direction of the document in the document conveyance path and protruding upward toward a downstream side from an upstream side in the document conveyance path of the conveyance direction of the document, to contact a surface of the document that conveys in the document conveyance path; and a sound collector 15B to collect sound of the document that conveys in the document conveyance path, wherein conveyance of the document to be conveyed to the reading position is stopped based on the sound collected by the sound collector (see col. 18, lines 25-31).
Regarding claim 11, Arai discloses the automatic document feeder according to claim 10 wherein multiple protrusions (see Fig. 3, below) including the protrusion are disposed in the conveyance direction of the document (P) in the document conveyance path 130.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arai in view of Murata (US 10,633,205).
Regarding claim 13, Arai discloses an image forming apparatus comprising: the automatic document feeder according to claim 10. Arai lacks an image forming device to form an image on a medium. Murata teaches the use of an image forming device in order to print on sheets. Murata, col. 2, lines 46-51. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to add an image forming device to the device of Arai, as taught by Murata, in order to print on sheets.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-3, 8, and 9 are allowed.
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the nearest prior art does not teach or suggest the claimed subject matter. For example, Link (US 9,617,097) does not disclose everything claimed, including
a sound generator on a surface of the document conveyance path, the sound generator having a protrusion or a recess, protruding or recessed from the surface of the document conveyance path; and extending continuously or intermittently from one end to another end of the document conveyance path in a width direction orthogonal to the conveyance direction; a sound collector to collect sound generated by contact between the sound generator and a fastening object attached to the document; and circuitry configured to predict whether the fastening object is attached to the document, based on the sound collected by the sound collector
in combination with the rest of the claimed elements.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure: Schaertel (US 2011/0238422) discloses a sheet feeder with a sound detector.
/JEREMY R SEVERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759