DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12259178. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current claims 1-20 would anticipate/render obvious claims 1-20 of US Patent 12259178.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10-13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al (US Publication 20180216872) in view of Han et al (KR 1020200001347 which is being directly translated by US Publication 20240200859).
As to claims 1, 3, 10-13 Jung discloses a vacuum adiabatic bodying that includes a first plate member, a second plate member spaced apart from the first plate member (abs). An inner panel that includes a first portion to cover a part of the first plate and a second portion to extend from the first portion in a direction away from the vacuum space as seen in the figures. The body further includes a supporting unit 30 that includes bars 31 (paragraph 47). However this reference is silent to a height difference between the bars 31.
Han discloses a vacuum adiabatic body including a first plate and a second plate. The body further includes a supporting unit/support 30 that includes bars 31. The bars 31 can have a different height configuration as seen in figure 10 as well as having a varying number of bars.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Jung and used this configuration for the first and second panel with the bars suggested by Han as it allows for a seating coupling mechanism and a coupling mechanism to form the adiabatic body allowing easy manufacturing without damage as it’s a suitable alternative.
As to claim 2, Jung discloses a hinge that is disposed on a side of the first and second plates.
As to claims 4-7, Jung discloses that a heat conduction path can be formed as claimed, in the alternative it would have been obvious to have formed the heat transfer paths as claimed as Jung teaches the heat transfer paths can be changed depending upon design dimensions so that the first and second plate members can endure vacuum pressure without being deformed and the heat resistance sheet can be changed depending upon the difference in temperature. Therefore forming the heat resistance sheet to be lengthened on the second side or having the portion overlapping the vacuum space shortened.
Claim 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al (US Publication 20180216872)
Jung discloses a vacuum adiabatic bodying that includes a first plate member, a second plate member spaced apart from the first plate member (abs). An inner panel that includes a first portion to cover a part of the first plate and a second portion to extend from the first portion in a direction away from the vacuum space as seen in the figures. The body further includes a supporting unit 30 that includes bars 31 (paragraph 47). The adiabatic body can also have foaming provided on the side of the vacuum body. Jung teaches the heat transfer paths can be changed depending upon design dimensions so that the first and second plate members can endure vacuum pressure without being deformed and the heat resistance sheet can be changed depending upon the difference in temperature. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have formed the first and second pathway as claimed absent unexpectedly better results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 9 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 14-18 are allowed.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER M POLLEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785