DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rossbach et al (US20220417972A1) in view of Wang et al. (WO2021208082A1).
Regarding claim 1, Rossbach discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node, comprising (para [0005] shows the UE may determine burst timing and/or periodicity, and may transmit a request according to these one or more determined factors; para [0006] shows the request may include a request for a periodicity adjustment, an indication of an update of burst arrival times):
one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to (para [0197]): )
receive time sensitive communication assistance information (TSCAI) that indicates a burst arrival time of data traffic and a periodicity associated with the data traffic (para [0005] shows a UE may inform the network of an alteration of its traffic patterns over time, so that radio resource allocations to scheduling may be adjusted; the UE may determine burst timing and/or periodicity, and may transmit a request according to these one or more determined factors; para [0175] shows Time Sensitive Communication (TSC) may at times require absolute time-synchronization and on-time delivery of packets. The success of TSC depends on effective scheduling of TSC traffic flows); and
transmit a modification request for the TSCAI, wherein the modification request comprises a burst arrival timing adjustment request or a periodicity adjustment request (para [0006] shows the request may include a request for a periodicity adjustment, an indication of an update of burst arrival times).
Rossbach fails to teach receive, from a core network function, time sensitive communication assistance information (TSCAI).
However, Wang discloses receive, from a core network function, time sensitive communication assistance information (TSCAI) (para [0026] shows the propagation delay compensation (PDC) value can be calculated based on TSCAI; para [0059] shows the PDC Configuration message may be sent by the base station to UE. The base station may obtain TSCAI from the core network (e.g., 5GC) before generating and sending the PDC Configuration messages.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Rossbach with the teaching of Wang in order for the UE to compensate the propagation delay between the UE and the base station instantaneously or in later steps (Wang; para [0057]).
Regarding claim 2, Rossbach-Wang as applied to claim 1 discloses the burst arrival timing adjustment request comprises a request for a timing offset associated with the data traffic (Rossbach; para [0219] shows burst arrival is going to incur a slip with an offset over time; para [0223] shows in such cases, the UE may have to adjust certain parameters, e.g., burst timing and periodicity; para [0006] shows the request may include a request for a periodicity adjustment, an indication of an update of burst arrival times).
Regarding claim 3, Rossbach-Wang as applied to claim 1 discloses the TSCAI indicates a quality of service flow identifier (Rossbach; para [0007] shows the adjustment of the allocated wireless communication resources may include quality of service flow identifier (QFI) identity information, requested periodicity, requested burst timing.)
Regarding claim 4, Rossbach-Wang as applied to claim 1 discloses the data traffic comprises extended reality data traffic (Rossbach; para [0176] shows Extended Reality (eXtended Reality, XR).)
Regarding claim 5, Rossbach-Wang as applied to claim 1 discloses the TSCAI indicates a direction of the data traffic (Rossbach; para [0006] shows the request may include a request for the base station to boost quality of an uplink wireless connection or a downlink connection of the device within a wireless network, a request for a periodicity adjustment, an indication of an update of burst arrival times, an indication of an update of burst timing.)
Regarding claim 6, Rossbach-Wang as applied to claim 1 discloses the TSCAI indicates one or more of: a packet delay budget associated with the burst arrival time, an average burst traffic size associated with the data traffic, a variance of a burst traffic size associated with the data traffic, or a type of the data traffic (Rossbach; para [0006] shows the request may include an indication of a burst size, an indication of a burst size distribution.)
Regarding claim 7, Rossbach-Wang as applied to claim 1 discloses the TSCAI further comprises timing update information that indicates a time at which an updated burst traffic pattern is to be applied (Rossbach; para [0006] shows the request may include an indication of an update of burst timing; para [0226] shows the requested adjustment may be applied either temporarily (for a limited period of time) or persistently as an update to the connection setting (or wireless communication resource allocation).)
Regarding claims 8-14, claims 8-14 are method claims. These method claims require limitations that are similar to those recited in the apparatus claims 1-7 to carry out the method steps. And since the references of Rossbach-Wang combined teach the apparatus that carries out the method including limitations required to carry out the method steps, therefore method claims 8-14 would have also been obvious in view of the structures disclosed in Rossbach-Wang combined.
Regarding claims 15-20, claims 15-20 are directed to a computer-readable medium. Claims 15-20 require limitations that are similar to those recited in the apparatus claims 1-6 to carry out the method steps. And since the references of Rossbach-Wang combined teach the apparatus that carries out the method including limitations required to carry out the method steps, therefore method claims 15-20 would have also been obvious in view of the structures disclosed in Rossbach-Wang combined.
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Minokuchi et al. (US20220338142A1) discloses in para [0014] the core NW notifies NG-RAN of a modified TSCAI parameter; para [0089] shows TSCAI includes Flow Direction, Periodicity, and Burst Arrival Time.
Conclusion
/TAN DOAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445