DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
Receipt of Applicant’s Amendment, filed on 20 May 2026 is acknowledged and entered.
By this Amendment, the Applicant amended Claims 1 and 14, and canceled Claims 6 and 20. Claims 1-5 and 7-19 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections, 35 USC 112(d): the rejection of now canceled Claim 20 is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-6, filed 6 May 2026, with respect to the previous rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered in light of the amendments made to the claims, and are unpersuasive.
Applicant has amended the independent claims to now require “the outlet width being greater than
Examiner, however, respectfully disagrees, noting that Applicant’s explanation of “Having a size and shape that is substantially similar to the reservoir allows the fluid to flow out of the fluid reservoir with more ease” is a statement of basic physics principles concerning fluid flow from any reservoir, and one of ordinary skill across any art would know to appropriately size a fluid outlet in relation to said reservoir in order to obtain whatever level of flow is desired for the application at hand, be it a trickle (small outlet) or a torrent (large outlet). Examiner again refers to Applicant’s Specification, paras 46-47, wherein Applicant provides an extremely wide range (20-90%) of outlet/reservoir width ratios. Expressing such a broad range of ratios dispels any notion of criticality. Examiner further notes that Applicant has not provided any evidence of unexpected or novel results of a specific selection of ratios at either 20% (as originally claimed), or 80% as currently claimed). Therefore, Examiner concludes that the Delligati reference teaches the claimed invention (see MPEP 2144.05), and the rejections stand.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Delligati (US 3,140,801).
Regarding Claim 1, Delligati discloses an injection system comprising:
- a fluid reservoir (Fig 1, "hopper H") operable to contain a fluid (Col 2, lines 38-43), the fluid reservoir having a reservoir width (inherent to a hopper), the fluid reservoir including an outlet opening that has an outlet width (inherent to a hopper), the outlet width being greater than 80% of the reservoir width (Delligati, Fig 1, clearly shows hopper H as comprising a funnel, with an outlet width smaller than the reservoir width).
Although Delligati does not explicitly address the ratio of widths, Examiner asserts that one of ordinary skill in the art would appropriately size the outlet width according a design need, such as to meet the desired flow rate of liquid to be dispensed. Doing so would be a matter of routine optimization. See MPEP 2144.05. In the present case, Examiner further notes that Applicant assigns no criticality to the ratio of reservoir width to outlet width, and instead presents an extremely wide range of suitable ratios (from 20% to 90%) at Specification, paras 46- 47;
- an injection pump ("pumping means P") coupled to the fluid reservoir (Col 2, lines 51-55),
- the injection pump including a passageway (piston chamber 34) in fluid communication with the outlet opening such that the passageway is operable to receive the fluid from the fluid reservoir via the outlet opening (Col 2 lines 51-55 describes this action as accomplished with "a conventional gate valve G"), the injection pump operable to dispense the fluid from the passageway through a pump outlet (Fig 3, Examiner's annotations);
- a conduit (extension 63) in fluid communication with the injection pump (P), the conduit forming a channel (63 is, by definition, also a "channel" since fluid flows through it) operable to receive the fluid dispensed from the passageway, the channel operable to permit the fluid to flow therethrough (Col 4, lines 15-30),
- wherein the passageway (34) and the channel extend linearly along a longitudinal axis (Fig 1 shows items 63 and 34 "extending linearly").
Regarding Claim 2, Delligati discloses an injection system wherein the passageway (34) and the channel (63) extend along the longitudinal axis on a same plane (shown at Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 3, Delligati discloses an injection system wherein the passageway (34) is positioned below the outlet opening along a vertical axis (shown at Fig 3).
Regarding Claim 4, Delligati discloses an injection system (see Figs 1 and 3) wherein the conduit (63) is directly coupled (shown at Fig 3) with the pump outlet of the injection pump (P).
Regarding Claim 5, Delligati discloses an injection system (see Figs 1 and 3) wherein fluid is operable to flow from the passageway (34) into and through the channel (63) without a turn.
Regarding Claim 7, Delligati discloses an injection system (see Figs 1 and 3) further comprising a tip (trowel 70) coupled with the conduit (63) such that the fluid flows out of the tip to be dispensed into a container.
Regarding Claim 8, Delligati discloses an injection system (see Figs 1 and 3) wherein the tip (70) is detachably coupled (see Col 4, lines 28-30, "removably coupled") with the conduit (63).
Regarding Claim 9, Delligati discloses an injection system (see Figs 1 and 3) wherein the tip extends linearly along the longitudinal axis (the apparatus of Delligati is capable of this, since the tip 70 is at the end of flexible hose 68 as shown at Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 10, Delligati discloses an injection system (see Figs 1 and 3) wherein the tip extends along the longitudinal axis on a same plane as the passageway (34) and the channel (63).
Regarding Claim 11, Delligati discloses an injection system (see Figs 1 and 3) wherein the injection pump (P) includes a piston (piston 36, see Figs 3 and 5) that is operable to translate within the passageway (piston chamber 34) to dispense the fluid (an extensive description of the piston mechanism is taught at Col 3, lines 19-64).
Regarding Claim 12, Delligati discloses an injection system (see Figs 1 and 3) wherein the piston (36) transitions between an extended configuration and a withdrawn configuration (via reciprocating motion provided by crank K; see at least Col 2, line 54 - Col 3, line 9), wherein when the piston (36) transitions from the withdrawn configuration to the extended configuration, the piston (36) is operable to push the fluid received in the passageway (34) out of the pump outlet (apparent at Fig 3).
Regarding Claim 13, Delligati discloses an injection system (see Figs 1 and 3) wherein when the piston (36) transitions from the extended configuration to the withdrawn configuration, the fluid flows from the fluid reservoir (H) through the outlet opening into the passageway (34). See Col 3, lines 19-64 and at least Figs 1 and 3.
Regarding Claim 14, Delligati discloses a method comprising (through the routine operation of the apparatus of Delligati, see the rejection of Claim 1 above):
- receiving, from a fluid reservoir (H) through an outlet opening, a fluid in a passageway (34) of an injection pump (P);
- pumping, via the injection pump (P), the fluid from the passageway (34) into a conduit (63);
flowing the fluid through the conduit (63) to be dispensed into a container (Fig 1, Examiner's annotations),
- wherein the passageway (34) and the conduit (63) extend linearly along a longitudinal axis (Fig 1 shows items 63 and 34 "extending linearly")
- wherein the outlet opening has an outlet width that is greater than 80% of a reservoir (H) width. See Examiner's rationale above in the rejection of Claim 1, and MPEP 2144.05 with regards to the routine optimization of the ratio between outlet width and reservoir width.
Regarding Claim 15, Delligati discloses a method wherein the passageway (34) and a channel (63) for the conduit (63) extend along the longitudinal axis on a same plane (shown at Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 16, Delligati discloses a method wherein the pumping of the fluid includes: transitioning a piston (36) of the injection pump (P) between an extended configuration and a withdrawn configuration (via reciprocating motion provided by crank K; see at least Col 2, line 54 - Col 3, line 9).
Regarding Claim 17, Delligati discloses a method wherein the piston (36) transitions from the withdrawn configuration to the extended configuration, the piston (36) is operable to push the fluid received in the passageway (34) out of the pump outlet (apparent at Fig 3).
Regarding Claim 18, Delligati discloses a method wherein the piston (36) transitions from the extended configuration to the withdrawn configuration, the fluid flows from the fluid reservoir (H) through the outlet opening into the passageway (34). This is apparent per Fig 3 and the method as described at Col 2, line 54 - Col 3 line 9 and Col 3, lines 19-64)
Regarding Claim 19, Delligati discloses a method further comprising: detachably coupling (see Col 4, lines 28-30, "removably coupled") a tip (70) with the conduit (63), wherein the tip extends linearly along the longitudinal axis (accomplished by straightening hose 68).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER M AFFUL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753