Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e. an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claims 1-25 recite a method (i.e. process). Therefore claims 1-25 fall within one of the four statutory categories of invention.
Independent claim 1 recites the limitations of generating a rental invoice including estimated toll fees at point of return, the method comprising: receiving a plurality of telematic data points from [a telematic tracker] associated with a rental vehicle during a rental time period; accessing [a toll information database] comprising toll fee schedules and toll locations for different toll agencies; based on the plurality of telematic data points, identifying one or more toll-triggering telematic data points of the plurality of telematic data points during the rental time period that correspond to one or more toll fee schedules and toll locations included in [the toll information database]; based on identifying the one or more toll-triggering telematic data points, predicting one or more toll transactions applied to the rental vehicle during the rental time period that are associated with the one or more toll-triggering telematic data points; receiving a request for generating an estimated total toll fee associated with the rental vehicle during the rental time period; in response to receiving the request, generating the estimated total toll fee by identifying and aggregating the one or more predicted toll transactions for the rental vehicle during the rental time period; and transmitting the estimated total toll fee to be presented within a rental invoice. The invention and claims are drawn towards facilitating fleet management and near real-time toll fee transactions incurred during a rental period of a rental vehicle, and the claim recites limitations that correspond to certain methods of organizing human activity (managing personal behavior, interactions; commercial interactions; business relations) as evidenced by limitations detailing generating a rental invoice for estimated toll fees including predicting toll transactions based on toll-triggering telematic data points, generating the estimated toll fee during the rental time period, and transmitting the estimated toll fee to be presented with a rental invoice. The claim also receives limitations the directly correspond to mental processes (observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) as evidenced by limitations detailing accessing toll fee schedules and locations for toll agencies, based on telematic data points identifying one or more toll-triggering data points during the rental time period that correspond to toll fee schedules and locations, predicting toll transactions applied to the rental vehicle, generating the estimated toll fee by identifying and aggregating one or more toll transactions. The claims recite an abstract idea.
Note: The features or elements in brackets in the above Step 2A Prong One section are inserted for reading clarity, but are analyzed as “additional elements” under Step 2A Prong Two and Step 2B.
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application simply because the claim recites the additional elements of: a first computing server, a telematic tracker, toll information database, and a second computing server. The combination of the additional elements of a first computing server, toll information database, and a second computing server are computer components recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception using a generic computer. Further, the telematic tracker amounts to generally linking the judicial exception to a particular field of use (tracking a rental vehicle and generating telematic data). Accordingly, in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer, and generally linking the judicial exception to a particular field of use. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer cannot provide an inventive concept. Thus, when viewed as an ordered combination, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e. an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claim 5 recites the limitation that the request is automatically generated in response to detecting [the telematic tracker] passing through a vehicle return checkpoint comprising [a sensor] configured to detect the telematic tracker. The claim limitation is further directed to the abstract idea analyzed above. The claim also recites the additional element of the telematic tracker and a sensor. The additional elements amount to generally linking the judicial exception to a particular field of use (tracking a rental vehicle and generating telematic data). Accordingly, in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Further, when viewed as an ordered combination, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e. an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claim 6 recites the limitation that the request is automatically generated in response to detecting [the telematic tracker] passing through a vehicle return checkpoint comprising [a vehicle license imaging device] configured to automatically capture an image of a license plate on the rental vehicle. The claim limitation is further directed to the abstract idea analyzed above. The claim also recites the additional element of the telematic tracker and a vehicle license imaging device. The additional elements amount to generally linking the judicial exception to a particular field of use (capturing an image of a license plate for a rental vehicle for rental vehicle detection). Accordingly, in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Further, when viewed as an ordered combination, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e. an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claim 7 recites the limitation that the request is automatically generated in response to receiving user input via [a user interface] comprising at least a selectable icon that when selected triggers the request being generated. The claim is further directed to the abstract idea analyzed above. The claim also recites the additional element of a user interface which is a computer component recited at a high level of generality. The additional element amounts to “apply it” or merely using a computer as a tool to implement the judicial exception. Accordingly, in combination, the additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Further, when viewed as an ordered combination, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e. an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claim 10 recites the limitation of transmitting the estimated running toll fee to [a user interface] configured to display the estimated running toll fee. The claim is further directed to the abstract idea analyzed above. The claim also recites the additional element of a user interface which is a computer component recited at a high level of generality. The additional element amounts to “apply it” or merely using a computer as a tool to implement the judicial exception. Accordingly, in combination, the additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Further, when viewed as an ordered combination, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e. an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claim is not patent eligible.
Independent claim 14 recites the limitations: generating a rental invoice including estimated toll fees at point of return, the method comprising: detecting [a telematic tracker] corresponding to a rental vehicle entering a predetermined geographic zone associated with a rental vehicle company within a predetermined return time window; in response to detecting [the telematic tracker] entering the predetermined geographic zone within the predetermined return time window, automatically generating a request to generate an estimated total toll fee based on a correlated trip dataset corresponding to a rental time period associated with the rental vehicle; in response to generating the request, automatically transmitting the request from [the rental car server] to [a remote toll-telematics server]; receiving the estimated total toll fee that is generated by identifying and aggregating one or more predicted toll transactions for the rental vehicle during the rental time period; and generating a rental invoice that presents rental fees and the estimated toll fees within the rental invoice. The invention and claims are drawn towards facilitating fleet management and near real-time toll fee transactions incurred during a rental period of a rental vehicle, and the claim recites limitations that correspond to certain methods of organizing human activity (managing personal behavior, interactions; commercial interactions; business relations) as evidenced by limitations detailing detecting a rental vehicle entering a predetermined geographic zone associated with a rental vehicle company, generating an estimated toll fee based on a correlated trip dataset, and generating a rental invoice that presents rental fees and the estimated toll fees. The claim also receives limitations the directly correspond to mental processes (observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) as evidenced by limitations detailing detecting a tracker corresponding to a rental vehicle, and generating an estimated total toll fee based on a correlated trip dataset corresponding to rental time period. The claims recite an abstract idea.
Note: The features or elements in brackets in the above Step 2A Prong One section are inserted for reading clarity, but are analyzed as “additional elements” under Step 2A Prong Two and Step 2B.
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application simply because the claim recites the additional elements of: a telematic tracker, a rental car server, and remote toll-telematics server. The combination of the additional elements of a rental car server and remote toll-telematics server are computer components recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception using a generic computer. Further, the telematic tracker amounts to generally linking the judicial exception to a particular field of use (tracking a rental vehicle and generating telematic data). Accordingly, in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer, and generally linking the judicial exception to a particular field of use. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer cannot provide an inventive concept. Thus, when viewed as an ordered combination, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e. an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claim 15 recites the limitation that the [rental car server] comprises [a sensor] for detecting a proximity of the rental car within the predetermined geographic zone. The limitation is further directed to the abstract idea analyzed above. The claim also recites the additional elements of the rental car server and a sensor. The additional element of the rental server amounts to “apply it” or merely using a computer as a tool to implement the judicial exception The additional element of the sensor amounts to generally linking the judicial exception to a particular field of use (detecting a proximity of a rental car). Accordingly, in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Further, when viewed as an ordered combination, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e. an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claim 17 recites the limitation that the [rental car server] comprises [a sensor] for detecting a proximity of the rental car within the predetermined geographic zone. The limitation is further directed to the abstract idea analyzed above. The claim also recites the additional elements of the rental car server and a sensor. The additional element of the rental server amounts to “apply it” or merely using a computer as a tool to implement the judicial exception The additional element of the sensor amounts to generally linking the judicial exception to a particular field of use (detecting a proximity of a rental car). Accordingly, in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Further, when viewed as an ordered combination, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e. an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claim 19 recites the limitations of: generating and displaying estimated toll fees associated with tolls incurred by a vehicle during a service rental period associated with the vehicle, the method comprising: tracking telematics data associated with the vehicle during the service rental period; transmitting the tracked telematics data to [a telematics server]; receiving toll transaction data during the service rental period based at least in part on the transmitted telematics data; and displaying the received toll transaction data at [a display] contained within the vehicle during the service rental period. The invention and claims are drawn towards facilitating fleet management and near real-time toll fee transactions incurred during a rental period of a rental vehicle, and the claim recites limitations that correspond to certain methods of organizing human activity (managing personal behavior, interactions; commercial interactions; business relations) as evidenced by limitations detailing tracking telematics data associated with the vehicle during the service rental period, and receiving toll transaction data during the service rental period based at least in part on the transmitted telematics data. The claim also receives limitations the directly correspond to mental processes (observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) as evidenced by limitations detailing tracking telematics data associated with the vehicle during the service rental period, transmitting the tracked telematics data, and receiving toll transaction data based on transmitted telematics data. The claims recite an abstract idea.
Note: The features or elements in brackets in the above Step 2A Prong One section are inserted for reading clarity, but are analyzed as “additional elements” under Step 2A Prong Two and Step 2B.
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application simply because the claim recites the additional elements of: telematics server and a display. The telematics server and display are computer components recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception using a generic computer. Further, the display within the vehicle amounts to generally linking the judicial exception to a particular field of use (displaying toll transaction data for a rental vehicle). Accordingly, in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer, and generally linking the judicial exception to a particular field of use. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer cannot provide an inventive concept. Thus, when viewed as an ordered combination, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e. an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claim 22 recites [the display] comprises [a hardware display mounted to an interior portion of the vehicle]. The additional element of the display amounts to “apply it” or merely using a computer as a tool to implement the judicial exception, and generally linking the judicial exception to a particular field of use. Accordingly, in combination, the additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Further, when viewed as an ordered combination, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e. an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claim 23 recites the display comprises a mobile device that is detached from the vehicle. The additional element of the display amounts to “apply it” or merely using a computer as a tool to implement the judicial exception. Accordingly, in combination, these additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Further, when viewed as an ordered combination, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e. an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claim 24 recites the display comprises a user mobile phone. The additional element of the display amounts to “apply it” or merely using a computer as a tool to implement the judicial exception. Accordingly, in combination, these additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Further, when viewed as an ordered combination, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e. an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claim is not patent eligible.
Independent claim 25 recites the limitations: generating a service invoice including estimated toll fees at point of service completion including: receiving a plurality of telematic data points from telematic tracker associated with a service vehicle during a service time period; accessing [a toll information database] comprising toll fee schedules and toll locations for different toll agencies; based on the plurality of telematic data points, identifying one or more toll-triggering telematic data points of the plurality of telematic data points during the service time period that correspond to one or more toll fee schedules and toll locations included in [the toll information database]; based on identifying the one or more toll-triggering telematic data points, predicting one or more toll transactions applied to the service vehicle during the service time period that are associated with the one or more toll-triggering telematic data points; receiving a request for generating an estimated total toll fee associated with the service vehicle during the service time period; in response to receiving the request, generating the estimated total toll fee by identifying and aggregating the one or more predicted toll transactions for the service vehicle during the service time period; and transmitting the estimated total toll fee to be presented within a service invoice. The invention and claims are drawn towards facilitating fleet management and near real-time toll fee transactions incurred during a rental period of a rental vehicle, and the claim recites limitations that correspond to certain methods of organizing human activity (managing personal behavior, interactions; commercial interactions; business relations) as evidenced by limitations detailing receiving telematic data points associated with a service vehicle during a service time period, identifying one or more toll-triggering telematic data points of the plurality of telematic data points during the service time period that correspond to one or more toll fee schedules and toll locations, predicting one or more toll transactions applied to the service vehicle during the service time period, generating an estimated total toll fee associated with the service vehicle during the service time period, and transmitting the estimated total toll fee to be presented within a service invoice. The claim also receives limitations the directly correspond to mental processes (observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) as evidenced by limitations detailing receiving a plurality of telematic data points, based on the plurality of telematic data points, identifying one or more toll- triggering telematic data points of the plurality of telematic data points during the service time period that correspond to one or more toll fee schedules and toll locations, identifying the one or more toll-triggering telematic data points ,predicting one or more toll transactions applied to the service vehicle during the service time period that are associated with the one or more toll-triggering telematic data points. The claims recite an abstract idea.
Note: The features or elements in brackets in the above Step 2A Prong One section are inserted for reading clarity, but are analyzed as “additional elements” under Step 2A Prong Two and Step 2B.
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application simply because the claim recites the additional elements of: a first computing server, a telematic tracker, a toll information database, and a second computing server. The additional elements of the first computing server, the toll information database, and the second computing server are computer components recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception using a generic computer. Further, the telematics tracker amounts to generally linking the judicial exception to a particular field of use (displaying toll transaction data for a rental vehicle). Accordingly, in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer, and generally linking the judicial exception to a particular field of use. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer cannot provide an inventive concept. Thus, when viewed as an ordered combination, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e. an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6, 8, 14-17, 19, and 23-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Centner (2020/0302424) in view of Archibald (2008/0270226).
Claim 1: A method for generating a rental invoice including estimated toll fees at point of return, the method comprising:
receiving, at a first computing server, a plurality of telematic data points from a telematic tracker associated with a rental vehicle during a rental time period;
Centner discloses receiving, at a first computing server, a plurality of telematic data points from a telematic tracker associated with a rental vehicle: (Centner ¶0148 disclosing as the car enters into the rental car area, the RFID reader at the entrance will read the sensor device and identify the user; ¶0057 disclosing as the vehicle passes through the toll RFID gantry of the toll plaza, the sensor device will notify the mobile communication device and the software application will plot the exact geo location; ¶0080 system may use a GeoFence Path, which is the path taken by the vehicle while travelling through or around a toll plaza; the predefined geofences will identify the plaza location, while the plotting of the GPS route will define the path that the vehicle has taken; ¶0085 disclosing algorithm can be triggered either by the sensor device's detection of a RFID signal or by the passing of the vehicle through a geofence; system administrator running the algorithm receives inputs as to toll rates, vehicle path, and toll plaza location; ¶0045 discloses the mobile communication device described in paragraphs [0057] and [0085] can communicate and send the telematic data points to the server of system administrator 50). While it may be reasonably implied that the this occurs during a rental time period, this is not explicitly disclosed in Centner. Archibald suggests or discloses this limitation/concept: (Archibald ¶0035 and Table disclosing the rental time and length (rental period); ¶0036 information collected by the Rental Vehicle Company should identify the period of the vehicle rental and device used for electronic toll collection; ¶0041, ¶0043 and the Table disclosing when a customer uses a toll road or toll bridge, the Customer will pass through an Electronic Tollgate, where the Customer Information is transmitted to the Electronic Tollgate; information including Tollgate Location, Entry Tollgate, Entry Date, Entry Time, Exit Tollgate, Exit Date, Exit Time; ¶0049 the information can be transmitted over the internet to the Electronic Toll Information Analyzer, or the information can be stored on a computer readable medium; ¶0050 Analyzer, as used herein, can be any computer or combination of computers that is capable of receiving the Customer Information and the Toll Use Information and capable of analyzing that information). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Centner to include receiving, at a first computing server, a plurality of telematic data points from a telematic tracker associated with a rental vehicle during a rental time period as taught by Archibald. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Centner in order to allow rental vehicle customers to easily use electronic toll collection (see ¶0007 of Archibald).
Centner, as modified above, discloses the following limitations:
accessing a toll information database comprising toll fee schedules and toll locations for different toll agencies; (Centner ¶0045 disclosing the system administrator including databases which can transmit, track, and calculate payments; system administrator may also communicate with and coordinate with toll authorities systems; the toll authorities act as vendors charging fees for use of the transportation facilities; the system administrator can determine the toll amount and generate a charge to the user in near real time)
based on the plurality of telematic data points, identifying one or more toll- triggering telematic data points of the plurality of telematic data points during the rental time period that correspond to one or more toll fee schedules and toll locations included in the toll information database; (Centner ¶0045 the system, based on information received from the mobile communication device, including, for example, the vehicle's location, the system administrator can determine the toll amount and generate a charge to the user in near real time; the system administrator including databases which can transmit and calculate payments; system administrator may also communicate with and coordinate with toll authorities systems; the toll authorities act as vendors charging fees for use of the transportation facilities; ¶0046 when the vehicle enters the toll area, the sensor device emits a BLE signal to the phone and software application running thereon; the application verifies that is it a valid toll plaza using stored geofence information; application causes the phone to contact the system administrator for processing of the toll; steps presented in ¶0058-¶0059 disclosing using geofences to inform drivers they’re approaching a toll plaza; as the vehicle passes through the toll RFID gantry of the toll plaza, the sensor device 14 will notify the mobile communication device 30 and the software application will plot the exact geo location; system administrator backend computes the toll amount using the toll rates)
based on identifying the one or more toll-triggering telematic data points, predicting one or more toll transactions applied to the rental vehicle during the rental time period that are associated with the one or more toll-triggering telematic data points; (Centner ¶0045 the system, based on information received from the mobile communication device, including, for example, the vehicle's location, the system administrator can determine the toll amount and generate a charge to the user in near real time; the system administrator including databases which can transmit and calculate payments; system administrator may also communicate with and coordinate with toll authorities systems; the toll authorities act as vendors charging fees for use of the transportation facilities; ¶0046 when the vehicle enters the toll area, the sensor device emits a BLE signal to the phone and software application running thereon; the application verifies that is it a valid toll plaza using stored geofence information; application causes the phone to contact the system administrator for processing of the toll; steps presented in ¶0058-¶0059 disclosing using geofences to inform drivers they’re approaching a toll plaza; as the vehicle passes through the toll RFID gantry of the toll plaza, the sensor device 14 will notify the mobile communication device 30 and the software application will plot the exact geo location; system administrator backend computes the toll amount using the toll rates)
receiving a request, from a second computing server, for generating an estimated total toll fee associated with the rental vehicle during the rental time period; (Centner ¶0148 disclosing as the car enters into the rental car area then in ¶0149 the rental car agency contacts the toll administrator backend (includes servers and databases) for details of the trip; ¶0150 the toll administrator in response sends the toll data to the rental car agency; ¶0075 disclosing the individual who rented the vehicle, is identified by matching the vehicle with the toll time in between the rental checkout and check in time)
in response to receiving the request, generating the estimated total toll fee by identifying and aggregating the one or more predicted toll transactions for the rental vehicle during the rental time period; and (Centner ¶0148 disclosing as the car enters into the rental car area then in ¶0149 the rental car agency contacts the toll administrator backend (includes servers and databases) for details of the trip; ¶0150 the toll administrator in response sends the toll data to the rental car agency; ¶0075 disclosing the individual who rented the vehicle, is identified by matching the vehicle with the toll time in between the rental checkout and check in time)
transmitting, to the second computing server, the estimated total toll fee to be presented within a rental invoice. (Centner ¶0148 disclosing as the car enters into the rental car area then in ¶0049 the rental car agency contacts the toll administrator backend (includes servers and databases) for details of the trip; ¶0150 the toll administrator in response sends the toll data to the rental car agency; ¶0151 disclosing customer can thus get his toll details at the return desk)
Claim 2: The method of claim 1, wherein the request is automatically generated in response to detecting the telematic tracker corresponding to the rental vehicle entering a predetermined geographic zone associated with a rental vehicle company. (Centner ¶0148 disclosing as the car enters into the rental car area then in ¶0049 the rental car agency contacts the toll administrator backend (includes servers and databases) for details of the trip; ¶0150 the toll administrator in response sends the toll data to the rental car agency)
Claim 3: The method of claim 1, wherein the request is automatically generated in response to detecting the telematic tracker corresponding to the rental vehicle entering a predetermined geographic zone associated with a rental vehicle company within a predetermined return time window. (Centner ¶0148 disclosing as the car enters into the rental car area then in ¶0149 the rental car agency contacts the toll administrator backend (includes servers and databases) for details of the trip; ¶0150 the toll administrator in response sends the toll data to the rental car agency; ¶0075 disclosing the individual who rented the vehicle, is identified by matching the vehicle with the toll time in between the rental checkout and check in time)
Claim 5: The method of claim 1, wherein the request is automatically generated in response to detecting the telematic tracker passing through a vehicle return checkpoint comprising a sensor configured to detect the telematic tracker. (Centner ¶0148 disclosing as the car enters into the rental car area, the RFID reader at the entrance will read the sensor device and identify the user; ¶0149 rental car agency backend then contacts the toll administrator backend which includes servers and databases, for the toll details of the trip; ¶0150 disclosing toll administrator system in response sends the toll data to the rental car agency)
Claim 6: The method of claim 1, wherein the request is automatically generated in response to detecting the telematic tracker passing through a vehicle return checkpoint comprising a vehicle license imaging device configured to automatically capture an image of a license plate on the rental vehicle. (Centner ¶0072 disclosing system may be used in conjunction with existing camera equipment at a tolling facility that capture images of all vehicles as they pass through the toll facility; camera equipment will capture images of all vehicles that pass through the toll facility, and will automatically have their license plates OCR'd with an accompanying time stamp; ¶0075 disclosing rental agency owner of the toll charge is identified by matching either the license plate details or a transponder ID of each toll charge to the license plate details sent by the rental agency)
Claim 8: The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving a request for generating a trip summary associated with the rental vehicle within the rental time period, the trip summary comprising a correlated dataset comprising the plurality of telematic data points correlated with the one or more predicted toll transactions; and transmitting the trip summary to be presented with the rental invoice. (Centner ¶0137 disclosing a report function that generates and displays all tolls incurred during a predefined period. The software application may also have a functionality to generate a trip report and track mileage. The trip report may be a visual representation of all events that occurred during a particular trip. The trip report will also show the toll; ¶0060 geofences before and after toll locations may be deployed as well as an additional means of confirming toll events; ¶0079 once the toll and/or parking fee is paid, the software application will provide the user an option to submit the payment(s) for expense reimbursement; user will be shown the list of charges incurred during the trip; user may choose to select all or some of the charges for submission as expense; selected charges may be added to a digital invoice; ¶0080 system may also calculate rates using an algorithm; system may use a GeoFence Path, which is the path taken by the vehicle while travelling through or around a toll plaza; the predefined geofences will identify the plaza location, while the plotting of the GPS route will define the path that the vehicle has taken; ¶0085 disclosing algorithm can be triggered either by the sensor device's detection of a RFID signal or by the passing of the vehicle through a geofence; system administrator running the algorithm receives inputs as to toll rates, vehicle path, and toll plaza location)
Claim 14: A method for generating a rental invoice including estimated toll fees at point of return, the method comprising:
detecting a telematic tracker corresponding to a rental vehicle entering a predetermined geographic zone associated with a rental vehicle company within a predetermined return time window;
Centner discloses detecting a telematic tracker corresponding to a rental vehicle entering a predetermined geographic zone associated with a rental vehicle company: (Centner ¶0148 disclosing as the car enters into the rental car area, the RFID reader at the entrance will read the sensor device and identify the user; ¶0057 disclosing as the vehicle passes through the toll RFID gantry of the toll plaza, the sensor device will notify the mobile communication device and the software application will plot the exact geo location). While it may be reasonably implied that the this occurs within a predetermined return time window, this is not explicitly disclosed in Centner. Archibald suggests or discloses this limitation/concept: (Archibald ¶0035 and Table disclosing the rental time and length (time window); ¶0036 information collected by the Rental Vehicle Company should identify the period of the vehicle rental and device used for electronic toll collection; ¶0041, ¶0043 and the Table disclosing when a customer uses a toll road or toll bridge, the Customer will pass through an Electronic Tollgate, where the Customer Information is transmitted to the Electronic Tollgate; information including Tollgate Location, Entry Tollgate, Entry Date, Entry Time, Exit Tollgate, Exit Date, Exit Time; ¶0049 the information can be transmitted over the internet to the Electronic Toll Information Analyzer, or the information can be stored on a computer readable medium; ¶0050 Analyzer, as used herein, can be any computer or combination of computers that is capable of receiving the Customer Information and the Toll Use Information and capable of analyzing that information). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Centner to include detecting a telematic tracker corresponding to a rental vehicle entering a predetermined geographic zone associated with a rental vehicle company within a predetermined return time window as taught by Archibald. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Centner in order to allow rental vehicle customers to easily use electronic toll collection (see ¶0007 of Archibald).
Centner, as modified above, discloses the following limitations:
in response to detecting the telematic tracker entering the predetermined geographic zone within the predetermined return time window, automatically generating a request, at a rental car server, to generate an estimated total toll fee based on a correlated trip dataset corresponding to a rental time period associated with the rental vehicle; (Centner ¶0148 disclosing as the car enters into the rental car area then in ¶0149 the rental car agency contacts the toll administrator backend (includes servers and databases) for details of the trip; ¶0150 the toll administrator in response sends the toll data to the rental car agency; ¶0075 disclosing the individual who rented the vehicle, is identified by matching the vehicle with the toll time in between the rental checkout and check in time)
in response to generating the request, automatically transmitting the request from the rental car server to a remote toll-telematics server; (Centner ¶0148 disclosing as the car enters into the rental car area then in ¶0149 the rental car agency contacts the toll administrator backend (includes servers and databases) for details of the trip; ¶0150 the toll administrator in response sends the toll data to the rental car agency; ¶0075 disclosing the individual who rented the vehicle, is identified by matching the vehicle with the toll time in between the rental checkout and check in time)
receiving, from the remote toll-telematics server, the estimated total toll fee that is generated by identifying and aggregating one or more predicted toll transactions for the rental vehicle during the rental time period; and (Centner ¶0148 disclosing as the car enters into the rental car area then in ¶0149 the rental car agency contacts the toll administrator backend (includes servers and databases) for details of the trip; ¶0150 the toll administrator in response sends the toll data to the rental car agency)
generating a rental invoice that presents rental fees and the estimated toll fees within the rental invoice. (Centner ¶0148 disclosing as the car enters into the rental car area then in ¶0049 the rental car agency contacts the toll administrator backend (includes servers and databases) for details of the trip; ¶0150 the toll administrator in response sends the toll data to the rental car agency; ¶0151 disclosing customer can thus get his toll details at the return desk)
Claim 15: The method of claim 14, wherein the rental car server comprises a sensor for detecting a proximity of the rental car within the predetermined geographic zone. (Centner ¶0148 disclosing as the car enters into the rental car area, the RFID reader at the entrance will read the sensor device and identify the user; ¶0149 rental car agency backend then contacts the toll administrator backend which includes servers and databases, for the toll details of the trip; ¶0150 disclosing toll administrator system in response sends the toll data to the rental car agency)
Claim 16: The method of claim 14, further comprising: receiving a notification from the remote toll-telematics server that the telematic tracker corresponding to the rental vehicle entered the predetermined geographic zone associated with the rental vehicle company within the predetermined return time window. (Centner ¶0148 disclosing as the car enters into the rental car area, the RFID reader at the entrance will read the sensor device and identify the user; ¶0057 disclosing as the vehicle passes through the toll RFID gantry of the toll plaza, the sensor device will notify the mobile communication device and the software application will plot the exact geo location)
Claim 17: The method of claim 14, further comprising: automatically displaying the rental invoice with the estimated total toll fee and a rental fee within a customer-facing user interface. (Centner ¶0045 disclosing the application software running on the mobile communication device communicates via a wireless cellular network with a system administrator; system administrator may have a backend which may be cloud based which acts as in interface between the mobile communication device and the system administrator; See Fig. 1, 30 disclosing customer interface; system administrator can determine the toll amount and generate a charge to the user in near real time; ¶0076 system may further include a customer push notification for new toll events. This enables a user to receive a notification on their mobile communication device 30 when a toll event occurs. The software application in communication with the toll administrator will display to the user the toll details, amount and options to pay or submit for expense reimbursement; see also ¶0077 and ¶0114; ¶0137 software application running on the mobile device may have a report function that generates and displays all tolls incurred during a predefined period…trip report will also show the toll; ¶0146 present system can also allow users to conduct transactions with car rental companies. Currently, when the rental car customers check in their vehicle, there is no means to get their toll expense on as part of their invoice. With the present system 10 the rental customers can get the toll details about their toll expense during a trip when they return the car)
Claim 19: A method for generating and displaying estimated toll fees associated with tolls incurred by a vehicle during a service rental period associated with the vehicle, the method comprising:
tracking telematics data associated with the vehicle during the service rental period;
Centner discloses tracking telematics data associated with the vehicle (Centner ¶0137 disclosing a report function that generates and displays all tolls incurred during a predefined period. The software application may also have a functionality to generate a trip report and track mileage. The trip report may be a visual representation of all events that occurred during a particular trip. The trip report will also show the toll; ¶0060 geofences before and after toll locations may be deployed as well as an additional means of confirming toll events; ¶0080 system may use a GeoFence Path, which is the path taken by the vehicle while travelling through or around a toll plaza; the predefined geofences will identify the plaza location, while the plotting of the GPS route will define the path that the vehicle has taken; ¶0085 disclosing algorithm can be triggered either by the sensor device's detection of a RFID signal or by the passing of the vehicle through a geofence; system administrator running the algorithm receives inputs as to toll rates, vehicle path, and toll plaza location). While it may be reasonably implied that the this occurs during the service rental period, this is not explicitly disclosed in Centner. Archibald suggests or discloses this limitation/concept: (Archibald ¶0035 and Table disclosing the rental time and length (service rental period); ¶0036 information collected by the Rental Vehicle Company should identify the period of the vehicle rental and device used for electronic toll collection; ¶0041, ¶0043 and the Table disclosing when a customer uses a toll road or toll bridge, the Customer will pass through an Electronic Tollgate, where the Customer Information is transmitted to the Electronic Tollgate; information including Tollgate Location, Entry Tollgate, Entry Date, Entry Time, Exit Tollgate, Exit Date, Exit Time; ¶0049 the information can be transmitted over the internet to the Electronic Toll Information Analyzer, or the information can be stored on a computer readable medium; ¶0050 Analyzer, as used herein, can be any computer or combination of computers that is capable of receiving the Customer Information and the Toll Use Information and capable of analyzing that information). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Centner to include tracking telematics data associated with the vehicle during the service rental period as taught by Archibald. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Centner in order to allow rental vehicle customers to easily use electronic toll collection (see ¶0007 of Archibald).
Centner, as modified above, discloses the following limitations:
transmitting the tracked telematics data to a telematics server; (Centner ¶0045 disclosing system administrator may include a plurality of servers, processors and databases which can receive, transmit, track; based on the information received from the mobile communication device, including, for example, the vehicle's location, the system administrator can determine the toll amount and generate a charge to the user in near real time; ¶0149 disclosing rental car agency backend then contacts the toll administrator backend which includes servers and databases, for the toll details of the trip)
receiving toll transaction data from a telematics server during the service rental period based at least in part on the transmitted telematics data; and (Centner ¶0080 system may also calculate rates using an algorithm; system may use a GeoFence Path, which is the path taken by the vehicle while travelling through or around a toll plaza; the predefined geofences will identify the plaza location, while the plotting of the GPS route will define the path that the vehicle has taken; ¶0085 disclosing algorithm can be triggered either by the sensor device's detection of a RFID signal or by the passing of the vehicle through a geofence; system administrator running the algorithm receives inputs as to toll rates, vehicle path, and toll plaza location; ¶0149 the rental car agency contacts the toll administrator backend (includes servers and databases) for details of the trip; ¶0150 the toll administrator in response sends the toll data to the rental car agency)
displaying the received toll transaction data at a display contained within the vehicle during the service rental period. (Centner ¶0149 the rental car agency contacts the toll administrator backend (includes servers and databases) for details of the trip; ¶0150 the toll administrator in response sends the toll data to the rental car agency; ¶0151 disclosing customer can thus get his toll details; ¶0045 disclosing the application software running on the mobile communication device communicates via a wireless cellular network with a system administrator; system administrator may have a backend which may be cloud based which acts as in interface between the mobile communication device and the system administrator; See Fig. 1, 30 disclosing customer interface; system administrator can determine the toll amount and generate a charge to the user in near real time; ¶0076 system may further include a customer push notification for new toll events. This enables a user to receive a notification on their mobile communication device 30 when a toll event occurs. The software application in communication with the toll administrator will display to the user the toll details, amount and options to pay or submit for expense reimbursement; see also ¶0077 and ¶0114; ¶0137 software application running on the mobile device may have a report function that generates and displays all tolls incurred during a predefined period…trip report will also show the to1l; ¶0146 present system can also allow users to conduct transactions with car rental companies. Currently, when the rental car customers check in their vehicle, there is no means to get their toll expense on as part of their invoice. With the present system 10 the rental customers can get the toll details about their toll expense during a trip when they return the car)
Claim 23: The method of claim 19, wherein the display comprises a mobile device that is detached from the vehicle. (Centner ¶0045 disclosing the application software running on the mobile communication device communicates via a wireless cellular network with a system administrator; system administrator may have a backend which may be cloud based which acts as in interface between the mobile communication device and the system administrator; See Fig. 1, 30 disclosing customer interface; system administrator can determine the toll amount and generate a charge to the user in near real time; ¶0076 system may further include a customer push notification for new toll events. This enables a user to receive a notification on their mobile communication device 30 when a toll event occurs. The software application in communication with the toll administrator will display to the user the toll details, amount and options to pay or submit for expense reimbursement; see also ¶0077 and ¶0114; ¶0137 software application running on the mobile device may have a report function that generates and displays all tolls incurred during a predefined period…trip report will also show the toll)
Claim 24: The method of claim 23, wherein the display comprises a user mobile phone. (Centner ¶0045 disclosing the application software running on the mobile communication device communicates via a wireless cellular network with a system administrator; system administrator may have a backend which may be cloud based which acts as in interface between the mobile communication device and the system administrator; See Fig. 1, 30 disclosing customer interface; system administrator can determine the toll amount and generate a charge to the user in near real time; ¶0076 system may further include a customer push notification for new toll events. This enables a user to receive a notification on their mobile communication device 30 when a toll event occurs. The software application in communication with the toll administrator will display to the user the toll details, amount and options to pay or submit for expense reimbursement; see also ¶0077 and ¶0114; ¶0137 software application running on the mobile device may have a report function that generates and displays all tolls incurred during a predefined period…trip report will also show the toll)
Claim 25: A method for generating a service invoice including estimated toll fees at point of service completion, the method comprising:
receiving, at a first computing server, a plurality of telematic data points from telematic tracker associated with a service vehicle during a service time period;
Centner discloses receiving, at a first computing server, a plurality of telematic data points from telematic tracker associated with a service vehicle: (Centner ¶0148 disclosing as the car enters into the rental car area, the RFID reader at the entrance will read the sensor device and identify the user; ¶0057 disclosing as the vehicle passes through the toll RFID gantry of the toll plaza, the sensor device will notify the mobile communication device and the software application will plot the exact geo location; ¶0080 system may use a GeoFence Path, which is the path taken by the vehicle while travelling through or around a toll plaza; the predefined geofences will identify the plaza location, while the plotting of the GPS route will define the path that the vehicle has taken; ¶0085 disclosing algorithm can be triggered either by the sensor device's detection of a RFID signal or by the passing of the vehicle through a geofence; system administrator running the algorithm receives inputs as to toll rates, vehicle path, and toll plaza location). While it may be reasonably implied that the this occurs during a service time period, this is not explicitly disclosed in Centner. Archibald suggests or discloses this limitation/concept: (Archibald ¶0035 and Table disclosing the rental time and length (service time period); ¶0036 information collected by the Rental Vehicle Company should identify the period of the vehicle rental and device used for electronic toll collection; ¶0041, ¶0043 and the Table disclosing when a customer uses a toll road or toll bridge, the Customer will pass through an Electronic Tollgate, where the Customer Information is transmitted to the Electronic Tollgate; information including Tollgate Location, Entry Tollgate, Entry Date, Entry Time, Exit Tollgate, Exit Date, Exit Time; ¶0049 the information can be transmitted over the internet to the Electronic Toll Information Analyzer, or the information can be stored on a computer readable medium; ¶0050 Analyzer, as used herein, can be any computer or combination of computers that is capable of receiving the Customer Information and the Toll Use Information and capable of analyzing that information). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Centner to include receiving, at a first computing server, a plurality of telematic data points from a telematic tracker associated with a rental vehicle during a rental time period as taught by Archibald. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Centner in order to allow rental vehicle customers to easily use electronic toll collection (see ¶0007 of Archibald).
Centner, as modified above, discloses the following limitations:
accessing a toll information database comprising toll fee schedules and toll locations for different toll agencies; (Centner ¶0045 disclosing the system administrator including databases which can transmit, track, and calculate payments; system administrator may also communicate with and coordinate with toll authorities systems; the toll authorities act as vendors charging fees for use of the transportation facilities; the system administrator can determine the toll amount and generate a charge to the user in near real time)
based on the plurality of telematic data points, identifying one or more toll- triggering telematic data points of the plurality of telematic data points during the service time period that correspond to one or more toll fee schedules and toll locations included in the toll information database; (Centner ¶0045 the system, based on information received from the mobile communication device, including, for example, the vehicle's location, the system administrator can determine the toll amount and generate a charge to the user in near real time; the system administrator including databases which can transmit and calculate payments; system administrator may also communicate with and coordinate with toll authorities systems; the toll authorities act as vendors charging fees for use of the transportation facilities; ¶0046 when the vehicle enters the toll area, the sensor device emits a BLE signal to the phone and software application running thereon; the application verifies that is it a valid toll plaza using stored geofence information; application causes the phone to contact the system administrator for processing of the toll; steps presented in ¶0058-¶0059 disclosing using geofences to inform drivers they’re approaching a toll plaza; as the vehicle passes through the toll RFID gantry of the toll plaza, the sensor device 14 will notify the mobile communication device 30 and the software application will plot the exact geo location; system administrator backend computes the toll amount using the toll rates)
based on identifying the one or more toll-triggering telematic data points, predicting one or more toll transactions applied to the service vehicle during the service time period that are associated with the one or more toll-triggering telematic data points; (Centner ¶0045 the system, based on information received from the mobile communication device, including, for example, the vehicle's location, the system administrator can determine the toll amount and generate a charge to the user in near real time; the system administrator including databases which can transmit and calculate payments; system administrator may also communicate with and coordinate with toll authorities systems; the toll authorities act as vendors charging fees for use of the transportation facilities; ¶0046 when the vehicle enters the toll area, the sensor device emits a BLE signal to the phone and software application running thereon; the application verifies that is it a valid toll plaza using stored geofence information; application causes the phone to contact the system administrator for processing of the toll; steps presented in ¶0058-¶0059 disclosing using geofences to inform drivers they’re approaching a toll plaza; as the vehicle passes through the toll RFID gantry of the toll plaza, the sensor device 14 will notify the mobile communication device 30 and the software application will plot the exact geo location; system administrator backend computes the toll amount using the toll rates)
receiving a request, from a second computing server, for generating an estimated total toll fee associated with the service vehicle during the service time period; (Centner ¶0148 disclosing as the car enters into the rental car area then in ¶0149 the rental car agency contacts the toll administrator backend (includes servers and databases) for details of the trip; ¶0150 the toll administrator in response sends the toll data to the rental car agency; ¶0075 disclosing the individual who rented the vehicle, is identified by matching the vehicle with the toll time in between the rental checkout and check in time)
in response to receiving the request, generating the estimated total toll fee by identifying and aggregating the one or more predicted toll transactions for the; service vehicle during the service time period; and (Centner ¶0148 disclosing as the car enters into the rental car area then in ¶0149 the rental car agency contacts the toll administrator backend (includes servers and databases) for details of the trip; ¶0150 the toll administrator in response sends the toll data to the rental car agency; ¶0075 disclosing the individual who rented the vehicle, is identified by matching the vehicle with the toll time in between the rental checkout and check in time)
transmitting, to the second computing server, the estimated total toll fee to be presented within a service invoice. Centner ¶0148 disclosing as the car enters into the rental car area then in ¶0049 the rental car agency contacts the toll administrator backend (includes servers and databases) for details of the trip; ¶0150 the toll administrator in response sends the toll data to the rental car agency; ¶0151 disclosing customer can thus get his toll details at the return desk)
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Centner (2020/0302424) in view of Archibald (2008/0270226) further in view of Gaudin (2023/0019736).
Claim 22: The method of claim 19,
wherein the display comprises a hardware display mounted to an interior portion of the vehicle.
Centner discloses a display that includes a mobile device of the user, but does not explicitly disclose that the display comprises a hardware display mounted to an interior portion of the vehicle. Gaudin suggests or discloses this limitation/concept: (Gaudin ¶0005 disclosing POS terminal may then process the payment using the transmitted data and/or transmit an electronic receipt to be displayed on the infotainment system; see also Fig. 1; ¶0130 disclosing the connected vehicle may also be used to transact tolls). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Centner in view of Archibald to include that the display comprises a hardware display mounted to an interior portion of the vehicle as taught by Gaudin since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately; one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 7, 9-13, 18, 20, and 21 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 101, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest patent or patent application prior art reference found that is relevant to the applicant’s invention includes Centner (2020/0302424) and Archibald (2008/0270226). Centner discloses a system that utilizes a sensor and system for sensing a signal and communicating information over a mobile communication device to complete a transaction from a vehicle, specifically an electronic toll collection system. The system tracking vehicles through a toll station or other vendor locations and gathering and organizing transaction information incurred and communicating information to the customer. Archibald discloses a method of calculating a usage fee for the use of electronic toll collection in a rental vehicle includes collecting customer information concerning customer's renting of one or more rental vehicles, collecting toll use information concerning the use of electronic toll collection at a tollgate, calculating a usage fee based upon the customer information and the toll use information, and displaying the usage fee. Neither reference, individually nor in combination, discloses the detailed limitations of claims 4, 7, 9-13, 18, 20, and 21. The claims overcome the prior art.
The closest non-patent literature prior art reference found that is relevant to the applicant’s invention includes the publication “Formally Validated of Novel Tolling Service With the ITS-G5” (Randriamasy, et al,; 2019) which discloses a solution for tolling transaction using ITS-G5 technology for connected or autonomous vehicles. The technology provides an efficient architecture that ensures the security of exchanges is guaranteed by the security back office of the tolling server as a trusted party. The reference does not disclose the detailed limitations of claims 4, 7, 9-13, 18, 20, and 21. The claims overcome the prior art.
Conclusion
DIONE N. SIMPSON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3628
/DIONE N. SIMPSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3628