DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su et al (US 2022/0142022) in view of Kawaguchi et al (US 2006/0083948).
Re claim 1, Su et al disclose a first electrically conductive layer (42b); first and second permalloy layers (44) [0032] along respective first and second opposite sides of the first electrically conductive layer (Fig 4a), but does not disclose an electromagnetic noise suppression layer along or adjacent the second permalloy layer.
Re claim 4, wherein: the electromagnetic energy mitigation assembly comprises a third permalloy layer (44); but does not disclose electromagnetic noise suppression layer is between the second and third permalloy layers.
Re claim 5, wherein: the electromagnetic energy mitigation assembly comprises a second electrically conductive layer (42c); and the second permalloy layer is along a third side of the second electrically conductive layer (Fig 4a).
Re claim 6, wherein the electromagnetic energy mitigation assembly comprises a fourth permalloy layer along an opposite fourth side of the second electrically conductive layer [0023] (Fig 2).
Re claim 7, wherein: the electromagnetic energy mitigation assembly comprises a third permalloy layer (44); the first electrically conductive layer is between the first and second permalloy layers (Fig 4a); the second electrically conductive layer is between the third and fourth permalloy layers [0023](Fig 2); but does not disclose the electromagnetic noise suppression layer is between the second and third permalloy layers.
Re claim 9, wherein: the first and second permalloy layers comprise first and second permalloy coatings along the respective first and second opposite sides of the first electrically conductive layer [0022]; and/or the first and second permalloy layers comprise first and second permalloy platings along the respective first and second opposite sides of the first electrically conductive layer.
Re claim 10, wherein the first and second permalloy layers comprise first and second nickel-iron magnetic alloy [0032] deposits along the respective first and second opposite sides of the first electrically conductive layer.
Re claim 11, wherein: the first electrically conductive layer comprises a first copper foil [0025]; the first and second permalloy layers are disposed along respective first and second opposite sides of the first copper foil such that the first copper foil and the first and second permalloy layers have a combined thickness within a range from 2 micrometers to 60 micrometers (less than 75 um)[0023]; but does not disclose the electromagnetic noise suppression layer comprises an electromagnetic noise absorbing elastomer layer having a thickness from 0.03 millimeters to 1 millimeter.
Re claim 12, an automotive vehicle component comprising the electromagnetic energy mitigation assembly (Fig 1).
Re claim 13, wherein the electromagnetic energy mitigation assembly is configured to define or be positionable along a surface above one or more batteries (28) of an automotive vehicle [0022] (Fig 1) whereat the electromagnetic energy mitigation assembly is operable for providing electromagnetic shielding for the one or more batteries [0022].
Re claim 14, wherein the electromagnetic energy mitigation assembly is configured to be positioned relative to one or more batteries of an automotive vehicle for providing electromagnetic shielding for the one or more batteries [0022].
Re claim 15, Su et al disclose an electromagnetic energy mitigation assembly wherein the electromagnetic energy mitigation assembly comprises: a first permalloy layer (44); a second permalloy layer (44) [0032] (Fig 4a); but does not disclose an electromagnetic noise suppression layer between the first and second permalloy layers.
Re claim 18, wherein: the electromagnetic energy mitigation assembly comprises a first electrically conductive layer( 42b); and the first permalloy layer is along a side of the first electrically conductive layer (Fig 4a).
Re claim 19, wherein the electromagnetic energy mitigation assembly comprises a third permalloy layer (44) along an opposite side of the first electrically conductive layer (Fig 4a).
Re claim 20, wherein: the electromagnetic energy mitigation assembly comprises a second electrically conductive layer(42c); and the second permalloy layer is along a side of the second electrically conductive layer (Fig 4a).
Re claim 21, wherein the electromagnetic energy mitigation assembly comprises a fourth permalloy layer along an opposite side of the second electrically conductive layer (Fig 2).
Re claim 22. An automotive vehicle component comprising the electromagnetic energy mitigation assembly (Fig 1).
Re claim 23, wherein the electromagnetic energy mitigation assembly is configured to define or be positionable along a surface above one or more batteries (28) of an automotive vehicle [0022] (Fig 1) whereat the electromagnetic energy mitigation assembly is operable for providing electromagnetic shielding for the one or more batteries [0022].
Re claim 24, wherein the electromagnetic energy mitigation assembly is configured to be positioned relative to one or more batteries of an automotive vehicle for providing electromagnetic shielding for the one or more batteries [0022].
The teaching as discussed above does not disclose wherein the electromagnetic noise suppression layer comprises an electromagnetic noise absorbing elastomer layer (re claims 2, 16), wherein the electromagnetic noise suppression layer is softer than the first electrically conductive layer and the first and second permalloy layers (re claim 3), wherein the electromagnetic noise suppression layer is softer than the first and second permalloy layers (re claim 17).
Kawaguchi et al teach the use of an electromagnetic noise suppression layer (30) comprises an electromagnetic noise absorbing elastomer layer (13) [0174], the electromagnetic noise absorbing elastomer layer having a thickness from 0.03 millimeters to 1 millimeter (total thickness) [0194], the suppression layer is flexible [0173]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include the noise suppression layer with the structure of Su et al for suppressing noise from a vehicle.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Communication
/HUNG V NGO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841