DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the communications filed 2/14/2025. Claims 1-15 are pending and have been examined.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/14/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/6/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/20/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 includes “A first display support member”, and “A second display support member” which are also included within independent claim 1, it is unclear if these are intended to be viewed as the same, or new components.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sadak et al, US Publication No. 2018/0329672 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Sadak et al teaches, An Electronic device comprising: a hinge (FIG. 2A, Hinge 36); a foldable housing comprising a first housing coupled to the hinge (FIG. 2A, Housing 14, First Portion 14A), and a second housing coupled to the hinge and foldable relative to the first housing about the hinge (FIG. 2A, Housing 14, Second Portion 14B, FIG. 2B further displays a folding capability around the hinge 36); a first display supported by the first housing (FIG. 2A, First Display 24A); and a second display supported by the second housing (FIG. 2A, Second Display 24B), wherein the second housing comprises: a first display support member configured to support the first display, a second display support member configured to support the second display (FIG. 2A, First Display 24A, Second Display 24B, Unlabeled sections surrounding the display, corresponding to sections of First Portion 14A, and Second Portion 14B, Paragraph 21, “, the housing 14 may be configured to internally house various electronic components of the example mobile computing device 12, including the processor 16, volatile storage device 18, and non-volatile storage device 22. Additionally, the housing 14 may provide structural support for the displays 24, speakers 21, and the sensor devices 20.”), and a speaker assembly coupled between the first display support member and the second display support member with sealing members to define a speaker volume (FIG. 2A, Speakers 21A, and 21B, Paragraph 50, “in the parallel output mode, the audio stream from application 40A is generated by the processor associated with the first part of the housing and output on the first speaker mounted in the first part of the housing. Likewise, the audio stream from application 40B is generated by the processor in the second part of the housing and output on the second speaker mounting in the second part of the housing.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sadak et al, US Publication No. 2018/0329672 A1, in view of Jeon et al, EP 3461111 A1.
Regarding Claim 2, Sadak et al teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and Sadak et al further teaches, wherein the speaker assembly comprises: a speaker mounting housing configured to accommodate a speaker and output sound, which is output by the speaker, to an exterior (Paragraph 57, “At step 912, the method 900 may include playing the first and second audio streams out of at least one speaker mounted in the housing based on the adjusted audio setting.”).
Sadak et al does not further teach, a speaker volume housing configured to compress or reflect the sound from the speaker and transmit the compressed or reflected sound to the speaker mounting housing
However, Jeon et al, in a similar invention in the same field of endeavor teaches, a speaker volume housing configured to compress or reflect the sound from the speaker and transmit the compressed or reflected sound to the speaker mounting housing (See Page 11, “The sound spreading toward the first surface may be output to the outside through a sound hole 104a formed in the case, and the sound spreading toward the second surface may be amplified in a closed space (resonance space B1) and then output through the sound hole 104a.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of a speaker volume housing, configured to compress or reflect the sound from the speaker and transmit the compressed or reflected sound to the speaker mounting house, as taught by Jeon et al, with the system as taught by Sadak et al. The motivation being that internal speakers, including a resonance space, is well known in the art. Systems with two foldable displays would necessarily be able to include similar functionality, as the inclusion of the features necessary for such embodiments would not preclude the system from incorporating said structures.
Regarding Claim 3, Sadak et al in view of Jeon et al teaches all the limitations of claim 2, and Jeon et al further teaches, wherein the speaker assembly comprises: a first speaker frame, a second speaker frame coupled to the first speaker frame, a first speaker support member at least partially coupled to the second speaker frame, and a second speaker support member at least partially coupled to the second speaker frame (See Page 11, “As shown in FIG. 3, in an alternative mobile design scenario, the sound brackets 153a and 153b include a first sound bracket 153a, 153b forming a sound passage A extending from the front surface where the diaphragm of the sound output unit 152 is located to the sound hole 104a formed in the case 104, and a second bracket 153a, 153b forming the resonance space B1 by covering the opposite surface of the sound output unit 152.”), and wherein the sealing members comprise: a first sealing member disposed between the first speaker frame and the first display support member, and a second sealing member disposed between the first speaker frame and the second display support member (See Page 11, “In an alternative mobile terminal design, the sound output unit (e.g., sound output unit 152) is mounted in the sound brackets 153a and 153b covering both the one surface and the opposite surface of the sound output unit 152. Therefore, in the alternative mobile terminal design, the sound brackets 153a and 153b form the resonance space B1 which is a shielded space and resonant sound is output from the resonance space B1.”, as described, utilizes brackets that create a resonance space around the speaker unit, and allows for the speaker to be sealed, each bracket corresponding to the two parts as described. See Page 13, “As described above, the side case 104 may be omitted and the lateral surface of the mobile terminal 100 may be configured by extending the rear case 102. The rear case 102 may be provided with openings 102a and 102b for a camera 121b and a rear button 123c. To prevent water from infiltrating the openings 102a and 102b, a waterproof tape, a waterproof adhesive, resin, rubber or the waterproof ring 108 may be provided around the openings 102a and 102b. The waterproof structure is not limited thereto and may be implemented using a member capable of preventing infiltration of water into the interior.”).
Regarding Claim 4, Sadak et al in view of Jeon et al teaches all the limitations of claim 3, and Jeon et al further teaches, wherein the first speaker frame comprises: a speaker mounting frame coupled with the second speaker frame; and a speaker volume frame coupled with the first sealing member and the second sealing member (See Page 11, “FIG. 2 is a view showing a sound output unit 152 and sound brackets 153a and 153b of an alternative mobile terminal design. FIG. 3 is a cross-sectional view showing the sound output unit 152 of the alternative mobile terminal design. The sound output unit 152 has a magnet and a voice coil, which are mounted in a space surrounded by a side frame, a diaphragm positioned on a first surface, and a yoke plate positioned on the second surface”, See Page 11, “In an alternative mobile terminal design, the sound output unit (e.g., sound output unit 152) is mounted in the sound brackets 153a and 153b covering both the one surface and the opposite surface of the sound output unit 152. Therefore, in the alternative mobile terminal design, the sound brackets 153a and 153b form the resonance space B1 which is a shielded space and resonant sound is output from the resonance space B1.”).
Regarding Claim 5, Sadak et al in view of Jeon et al teaches all the limitations of claim 4, and Jeon et al further teaches, wherein the first sealing member corresponds to a perimeter of the speaker volume frame and has a ring shape (See Page 11, “As shown in FIG. 3, in an alternative mobile design scenario, the sound brackets 153a and 153b include a first sound bracket 153a, 153b forming a sound passage A extending from the front surface where the diaphragm of the sound output unit 152 is located to the sound hole 104a formed in the case 104, and a second bracket 153a, 153b forming the resonance space B1 by covering the opposite surface of the sound output unit 152.”, See Page 13, “As described above, the side case 104 may be omitted and the lateral surface of the mobile terminal 100 may be configured by extending the rear case 102. The rear case 102 may be provided with openings 102a and 102b for a camera 121b and a rear button 123c. To prevent water from infiltrating the openings 102a and 102b, a waterproof tape, a waterproof adhesive, resin, rubber or the waterproof ring 108 may be provided around the openings 102a and 102b. The waterproof structure is not limited thereto and may be implemented using a member capable of preventing infiltration of water into the interior.”).
Regarding Claim 6, Sadak et al in view of Jeon et al teaches all the limitations of claim 4, and Jeon et al further teaches, wherein the second sealing member corresponds to a perimeter of the speaker volume frame and has a ring shape (See Page 11, “As shown in FIG. 3, in an alternative mobile design scenario, the sound brackets 153a and 153b include a first sound bracket 153a, 153b forming a sound passage A extending from the front surface where the diaphragm of the sound output unit 152 is located to the sound hole 104a formed in the case 104, and a second bracket 153a, 153b forming the resonance space B1 by covering the opposite surface of the sound output unit 152.”, describes each bracket as sealing members that surround the speaker and it’s frame. See Page 13, “As described above, the side case 104 may be omitted and the lateral surface of the mobile terminal 100 may be configured by extending the rear case 102. The rear case 102 may be provided with openings 102a and 102b for a camera 121b and a rear button 123c. To prevent water from infiltrating the openings 102a and 102b, a waterproof tape, a waterproof adhesive, resin, rubber or the waterproof ring 108 may be provided around the openings 102a and 102b. The waterproof structure is not limited thereto and may be implemented using a member capable of preventing infiltration of water into the interior.”).
Regarding Claim 7, Sadak et al in view of Jeon et al teaches all the limitations of claim 4, and Jeon et al further teaches, wherein the first speaker frame comprises a partition wall that spatially separates the speaker mounting frame from the speaker volume frame (See Page 15, “For the resonance space B2, both the sound output units 152a and 152b may be used for the resonance space at the same time. If necessary, the inner space may be provided with a divisional structure such as a partition and thus be divided into a fourth resonance space B3 and a fifth resonance space B4. As shown in FIG. 8B, the fourth resonance space B3 may be used as a resonance space of the first sound output unit 152a and the fifth resonance space B4 may be used as a resonance space of the second sound output unit 152b.”).
Regarding Claim 8, Sadak et al in view of Jeon et al teaches all the limitations of claim 4, and Jeon et al further teaches, wherein the speaker volume frame comprises a first sealing wall disposed on a surface facing the first display support member (See Page 3, “In some implementations, the mobile terminal further includes: a display unit mounted on a front surface of the case unit, wherein the case unit includes: a side case covering a lateral surface of the case unit; a rear case positioned on a rear surface of the case unit and having a flat surface; and a window positioned on the front surface to cover the display unit. The waterproof member includes a waterproof ring or a waterproof tape positioned between the side case and the rear case, and, in a first state in which the rear case contacts the mounting surface, the sound pressure level of the third sound is higher than in a second state in which the window contacts the mounting surface.”).
Regarding Claim 9, Sadak et al in view of Jeon et al teaches all the limitations of claim 8, and Jeon et al further teaches, wherein the speaker volume housing is coupled to the second sealing member on a surface of the speaker volume frame facing the second display support member (See Page 3, “In some implementations, the mobile terminal further includes: a display unit mounted on a front surface of the case unit, wherein the case unit includes: a side case covering a lateral surface of the case unit; a rear case positioned on a rear surface of the case unit and having a flat surface; and a window positioned on the front surface to cover the display unit. The waterproof member includes a waterproof ring or a waterproof tape positioned between the side case and the rear case, and, in a first state in which the rear case contacts the mounting surface, the sound pressure level of the third sound is higher than in a second state in which the window contacts the mounting surface.”, when viewed in combination with Sanak et al, would allow for both display supports to include this feature.).
Regarding Claim 10, Sadak et al in view of Jeon et al teaches all the limitations of claim 4, and Jeon et al further teaches, wherein the speaker volume frame comprises a second sealing wall disposed on a surface facing the second display support member (See Page 8, “In some implementations, the front case may be omitted. Instead, a middle frame 105 for reinforcing the mobile terminal 100 while supporting the rear surface of the display unit 151 may be provided, and thus the housing of the mobile terminal 100 may be configured by mounting electronic components on the rear surface of the middle frame 105 and coupling the rear case to the rear surface.”, See Page 16, “In some alternative mobile device cases, a resonance space is formed on the opposite surface of the sound output unit (e.g., sound output unit 152) by sound brackets and the resonance hole (e.g., resonance hole 1520) is formed in the yoke plate (e.g., yoke plate 1529). However, according to the present disclosure, as shown in FIG. 6, since the middle frame 105 is located on the opposite surface of the sound output unit 152, forming the resonance hole 1520 in the yoke plate may cause the resonance hole 1520 to abut the middle frame 105, thereby lowering resonance efficiency. Therefore, the resonance hole 1520 may be formed in the side frame 1526 so as to be oriented in a lateral direction. As shown in FIGS. 10A and 10B, the side frame 1526 may be provided with depressed grooves on the opposite surface thereof coupled to the yoke plate 1529, and the grooves and the yoke plate 1529 may form the resonance hole 1520.”).
Regarding Claim 11, Sadak et al in view of Jeon et al teaches all the limitations of claim 10, and Jeon et al further teaches, wherein the speaker volume housing is coupled to the first sealing member on a surface of the speaker volume frame facing the first display support member (See Page 16, “In some alternative mobile device cases, a resonance space is formed on the opposite surface of the sound output unit (e.g., sound output unit 152) by sound brackets and the resonance hole (e.g., resonance hole 1520) is formed in the yoke plate (e.g., yoke plate 1529). However, according to the present disclosure, as shown in FIG. 6, since the middle frame 105 is located on the opposite surface of the sound output unit 152, forming the resonance hole 1520 in the yoke plate may cause the resonance hole 1520 to abut the middle frame 105, thereby lowering resonance efficiency. Therefore, the resonance hole 1520 may be formed in the side frame 1526 so as to be oriented in a lateral direction. As shown in FIGS. 10A and 10B, the side frame 1526 may be provided with depressed grooves on the opposite surface thereof coupled to the yoke plate 1529, and the grooves and the yoke plate 1529 may form the resonance hole 1520.”).
Regarding Claim 12, Sadak et al teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and further teaches, a first display support member disposed on a first surface oriented in a first direction; a second display support member disposed on a second surface oriented in a second direction opposite to the first direction (FIG. 2A, First Display 24A, Second Display 24B, Unlabeled sections surrounding the display, corresponding to sections of First Portion 14A, and Second Portion 14B, Paragraph 21, “, the housing 14 may be configured to internally house various electronic components of the example mobile computing device 12, including the processor 16, volatile storage device 18, and non-volatile storage device 22. Additionally, the housing 14 may provide structural support for the displays 24, speakers 21, and the sensor devices 20.”); a speaker mounting housing configured to accommodate a speaker and output sound, which is output by the speaker, to an exterior (FIG. 2A, Speakers 21A, and 21B, Paragraph 50, “in the parallel output mode, the audio stream from application 40A is generated by the processor associated with the first part of the housing and output on the first speaker mounted in the first part of the housing. Likewise, the audio stream from application 40B is generated by the processor in the second part of the housing and output on the second speaker mounting in the second part of the housing.”, Paragraph 57, “At step 912, the method 900 may include playing the first and second audio streams out of at least one speaker mounted in the housing based on the adjusted audio setting.”).
Sadak et al does not further teach, a speaker volume housing coupled between the first display support member and the second display support member with sealing members and configured to compress or reflect the sound from the speaker and transmit the compressed or reflected sound to the speaker mounting housing.
However, Jeon et al, in a similar invention in the same field of endeavor teaches, a speaker volume housing coupled between the first display support member and the second display support member with sealing members and configured to compress or reflect the sound from the speaker and transmit the compressed or reflected sound to the speaker mounting housing (See Page 11, “The sound spreading toward the first surface may be output to the outside through a sound hole 104a formed in the case, and the sound spreading toward the second surface may be amplified in a closed space (resonance space B1) and then output through the sound hole 104a.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of a speaker volume housing, configured to compress or reflect the sound from the speaker and transmit the compressed or reflected sound to the speaker mounting house, as taught by Jeon et al, with the system as taught by Sadak et al. The motivation being that internal speakers, including a resonance space, is well known in the art. Systems with two foldable displays would necessarily be able to include similar functionality, as the inclusion of the features necessary for such embodiments would not preclude the system from incorporating said structures.
Regarding Claim 13, Sadak et al in view of Jeon et al teaches all the limitations of claim 12, and Jeon et al further teaches, a first speaker frame; a second speaker frame coupled to the first speaker frame; a first speaker support member at least partially coupled to the second speaker frame; and a second speaker support member at least partially coupled to the second speaker frame (See Page 11, “As shown in FIG. 3, in an alternative mobile design scenario, the sound brackets 153a and 153b include a first sound bracket 153a, 153b forming a sound passage A extending from the front surface where the diaphragm of the sound output unit 152 is located to the sound hole 104a formed in the case 104, and a second bracket 153a, 153b forming the resonance space B1 by covering the opposite surface of the sound output unit 152.”), wherein the sealing members comprise: a first sealing member disposed between the first speaker frame and the first display support member, and a second sealing member disposed between the first speaker frame and the second display support member (See Page 11, “In an alternative mobile terminal design, the sound output unit (e.g., sound output unit 152) is mounted in the sound brackets 153a and 153b covering both the one surface and the opposite surface of the sound output unit 152. Therefore, in the alternative mobile terminal design, the sound brackets 153a and 153b form the resonance space B1 which is a shielded space and resonant sound is output from the resonance space B1.”, as described, utilizes brackets that create a resonance space around the speaker unit, and allows for the speaker to be sealed, each bracket corresponding to the two parts as described. See Page 13, “As described above, the side case 104 may be omitted and the lateral surface of the mobile terminal 100 may be configured by extending the rear case 102. The rear case 102 may be provided with openings 102a and 102b for a camera 121b and a rear button 123c. To prevent water from infiltrating the openings 102a and 102b, a waterproof tape, a waterproof adhesive, resin, rubber or the waterproof ring 108 may be provided around the openings 102a and 102b. The waterproof structure is not limited thereto and may be implemented using a member capable of preventing infiltration of water into the interior.”).
Regarding Claim 14, Sadak et al in view of Jeon et al teaches all the limitations of claim 13, and Jeon et al further teaches, wherein the first speaker frame comprises: a speaker mounting frame coupled with the second speaker frame; and a speaker volume frame coupled with the first sealing member and the second sealing member (See Page 11, “FIG. 2 is a view showing a sound output unit 152 and sound brackets 153a and 153b of an alternative mobile terminal design. FIG. 3 is a cross-sectional view showing the sound output unit 152 of the alternative mobile terminal design. The sound output unit 152 has a magnet and a voice coil, which are mounted in a space surrounded by a side frame, a diaphragm positioned on a first surface, and a yoke plate positioned on the second surface”, See Page 11, “In an alternative mobile terminal design, the sound output unit (e.g., sound output unit 152) is mounted in the sound brackets 153a and 153b covering both the one surface and the opposite surface of the sound output unit 152. Therefore, in the alternative mobile terminal design, the sound brackets 153a and 153b form the resonance space B1 which is a shielded space and resonant sound is output from the resonance space B1.”).
Regarding Claim 15, Sadak et al in view of Jeon et al teaches all the limitations of claim 14, and Jeon et al further teaches, wherein the first sealing member corresponds to a perimeter of the speaker volume frame and has a ring shape (See Page 11, “As shown in FIG. 3, in an alternative mobile design scenario, the sound brackets 153a and 153b include a first sound bracket 153a, 153b forming a sound passage A extending from the front surface where the diaphragm of the sound output unit 152 is located to the sound hole 104a formed in the case 104, and a second bracket 153a, 153b forming the resonance space B1 by covering the opposite surface of the sound output unit 152.”, See Page 13, “As described above, the side case 104 may be omitted and the lateral surface of the mobile terminal 100 may be configured by extending the rear case 102. The rear case 102 may be provided with openings 102a and 102b for a camera 121b and a rear button 123c. To prevent water from infiltrating the openings 102a and 102b, a waterproof tape, a waterproof adhesive, resin, rubber or the waterproof ring 108 may be provided around the openings 102a and 102b. The waterproof structure is not limited thereto and may be implemented using a member capable of preventing infiltration of water into the interior.”).
Conclusion
/DYLAN MAGUIRE NEECE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2692
/CAROLYN R EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2692