DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 21 of 19/054,258
A system, comprising: an input apparatus configured to receive input based on sound; a signal processing apparatus configured to receive and process a signal based on the received input based on sound; and an output apparatus configured to provide a signal based at least in part on the processed signal based on the received input based on sound, wherein the system is configured to identify word(s) that are likely to be present in the received input at a future period, the processing by the signal processing apparatus includes processing the received signal based in part on the identification of the word(s), and the system is a hearing supplement system.
Claim 28 of 19/054,258
A non-transitory computer-readable media having recorded thereon, a computer program for executing a method, the media including: code for receiving a signal which includes speech data; code for evaluating whether an evoked hearing percept based on the received signal would provide a desired hearing percept; and code for, after the action of evaluating, instructing a device to operate to evoke a hearing percept based on the received signal.
Claim 1 of 12236942
A method, comprising: receiving a signal which includes speech data; processing the received signal to identify and/or predict one or more words in the speech data; and evoking a hearing percept based in the received signal, wherein the evoked hearing percept includes one or more modified words based on the identification and/or prediction of the one or more words, wherein the processing introduces a delay between receiving the signal and evoking the hearing percept.
Claim 17 of 12236942
A system, comprising: a device including a sound capture device and a processing system, wherein the device is configured to convert sound captured by the system and process a signal based on the captured sound with the processing system and evoke a hearing percept based on output from the processing system based on the signal, wherein the system includes a sound prediction and/or word identification functionality such that the system is configured to predict sound that is captured by the sound capture device.
Claim 35 of 19/054,258
A method, comprising: receiving a signal which includes speech data; processing the received signal to identify and/or predict one or more words in the speech data; and evoking a hearing percept based in the received signal, wherein the evoked hearing percept includes one or more modified words based on the identification and/or prediction of the one or more words.
Claim 7 of 12236942
A method, comprising: receiving a signal which includes speech data; processing the received signal to identify and/or predict one or more words in the speech data; and evoking a hearing percept based in the received signal, wherein the evoked hearing percept includes one or more modified words based on the identification and/or prediction of the one or more words, wherein the processing is not correlated with a noticeable delay in a device used to execute the evoking of the hearing percept noticed by the person in which the hearing percept is evoked.
Claims 21, 28 & 35 of application number 19/054,258 (hereinafter referred to as ‘258) are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7 & 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12236942 (hereinafter referred to as ‘942). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘258 claims 21, 28 & 35 are broader recitations of ‘942 claims 1, 7 & 17. Therefore, the recitations of ‘942 claims 1, 7 & 17 are encompassed by recitations of ‘258 claims 21, 28 & 35.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-33, 35-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Foo et al, US Patent 8781836 B2.
Re Claim 21, Foo et al discloses a system, comprising: an input apparatus configured to receive input based on sound (fig. 1A: input speech (S); col. 5, lines 40-47: input audio of interest is audio speech; abstract: hearing assistance system); a signal processing apparatus configured to receive and process a signal based on the received input based on sound (col. 5, lines 40-col. 6, line 22: speech input is analyzed for consistency, where obtaining consistent speech includes first converting the speech to text for word/context analysis as emphasized by the linguistic analysis of each word (col. 9, lines 21-25)); and an output apparatus configured to provide a signal based at least in part on the processed signal based on the received input based on sound (col. 5, lines 20-25: speaker is read as the output apparatus), wherein the system is configured to identify word(s) that are likely to be present in the received input at a future period (col. 11, lines 7-14: recognizable words are including in the speech consistent processing to enable a user to gain better perception/understanding of the input speech), the processing by the signal processing apparatus includes processing the received signal based in part on the identification of the word(s) (col. 11, lines 7-14: recognizable words are including in the speech consistent processing to enable a user to gain better perception/understanding of the input speech), and the system is a hearing supplement system (abstract: hearing assistance system).
Re Claim 22, Foo et al discloses the system of claim 21, wherein: the identification of word(s) that are likely to be present is word prediction (col. 11, lines 7-14: recognizable words are including in the speech consistent processing to enable a user to gain better perception/understanding of the input speech).
Re Claim 23, Foo et al discloses the system of claim 36, wherein: the processing by the signal processing apparatus based in part on the identification of the word(s) includes augmenting a signal processing routine based on the identification of the word(s) (col. 8, lines 27-46: audio processing can be varied).
Re Claim 24, Foo et al discloses the system of claim 21, wherein: the system is configured to evaluate whether the output will produce a desired hearing percept based at least in part on the identification of the word(s) (col. 11, lines 7-14: recognizable words are including in the speech consistent processing to enable a user to gain better perception/understanding of the input speech).
Re Claim 25, Foo et al discloses the system of claim 22, wherein: the system is configured to evaluate whether the output will produce a desired hearing percept based at least in part on the word prediction (col. 11, lines 7-14: recognizable words are including in the speech consistent processing to enable a user to gain better perception/understanding of the input speech).
Re Claim 26, Foo et al discloses the system of claim 22, wherein: the system is configured to determine that the output will not produce a desired hearing percept based at least in part on the identification of the word(s) (col. 8, lines 27-46: audio processing can be varied based on the determined input signal implies that the processing is not selected when it is not the desired processing based on the identified word); and the processing results in an outputted signal from the output apparatus that is more likely to provide a desired percept (col. 8, lines 27-46: audio processing can be varied based on the determined input signal implies that the processing is not selected when it is not the desired processing based on the identified word).
Re Claim 27, Foo et al discloses the system of claim 26, wherein: the system is configured to modify a resulting processed signal based on the received input based on sound and/or replace the resulting processing of the signal based on the received input with a new signal (col. 8, lines 27-46: audio processing can be varied based on the determined input signal; wherein processed signal is based on the received input is selected from the Markush claim).
Re Claim 28, Foo et al discloses a non-transitory computer-readable media having recorded thereon, a computer program for executing a method, the media including: code for receiving a signal which includes speech data (fig. 1A: input speech (S); col. 5, lines 40-47: input audio of interest is audio speech); code for evaluating whether an evoked hearing percept based on the received signal would provide a desired hearing percept (col. 11, lines 7-14: recognizable words are including in the speech consistent processing to enable a user to gain better perception/understanding of the input speech); and code for, after the action of evaluating, instructing a device to operate to evoke a hearing percept based on the received signal (col. 11, lines 7-14: recognizable words are including in the speech consistent processing to enable a user to gain better perception/understanding of the input speech).
Re Claim 29, Foo et al discloses the media of claim 28, wherein: the code for evaluating results in a determination that the received signal will not provide a desired hearing percept (col. 8, lines 27-46: audio processing can be varied based on the determined input signal implies that the processing is not selected when it is not the desired processing based on the identified word); and the media includes code for replacing the signal or modifying the signal so that a hearing percept based at least in part on the received signal will be likely to provide a desired hearing percept (col. 8, lines 27-46: audio processing can be varied based on the determined input signal implies that the processing is not selected when it is not the desired processing based on the identified word), wherein the code for instructing the device to evoke a hearing percept based on the received signal is based on one of the replaced signal or modified signal (col. 11, lines 7-14: recognizable words are including in the speech consistent processing to replace unfamiliar detected words to enable a user to gain better perception/understanding of the input speech; wherein replaced signal is selected from the Markush language).
Re Claim 30, Foo et al discloses the media of claim 29, wherein: the hearing percept is a hearing percept of speech (fig. 1A: input speech (S); col. 5, lines 40-47: input audio of interest is audio speech; abstract: hearing assistance system).
Re Claim 31, Foo et al discloses the media of claim 28, wherein: the code for evaluating is code operated by a hearing prosthesis and/or a portable body carried device (abstract: hearing assistance system).
Re Claim 32, Foo et al discloses the media of claim 28, further comprising: code for evaluating the signal and predicting one or more words that will follow (col. 5, lines 40-col. 6, line 22: speech input is analyzed for consistency, where obtaining consistent speech includes first converting the speech to text for word/context analysis as emphasized by the linguistic analysis of each word (col. 9, lines 21-25)), wherein the code for evaluating whether the evoked hearing percept would provide a desired hearing percept bases the evaluation at least in part on the prediction (col. 11, lines 7-14: recognizable words are including in the speech consistent processing to enable a user to gain better perception/understanding of the input speech).
Re Claim 33, Foo et al discloses the media of claim 32, wherein: the modified signal or the replacement signal is a signal that results in the perceived word that is different than that which would have likely been perceived by the recipient relative to that which would have been the case in the absence of the modification or the new signal (col. 11, lines 7-14: recognizable words are including in the speech consistent processing to replace unfamiliar detected words to enable a user to gain better perception/understanding of the input speech).
Claim 35 has been analyzed and rejected according to claim 21.
Re Claim 36, Foo et al discloses the method of claim 35, wherein: the processing includes utilizing speech recognition software to identify the one or more words (col. 5, lines 40-col. 6, line 22: speech input is analyzed for consistency, where obtaining consistent speech includes first converting the speech to text for word/context analysis as emphasized by the linguistic analysis of each word (col. 9, lines 21-25)).
Re Claim 37, Foo et al discloses the method of claim 35, wherein: the action of processing the received signal is executed in real time during a conversation between the person in which the hearing percept is evoked and a person who generated the speech data (col. 4, lines 24-34: audio source can be a smartphone which implies ability to communicate from smartphone to a remote party in a phone conversation).
Re Claim 38, Foo et al discloses the method of claim 35, wherein: the action of identifying and/or predicting one or more words in the speech data includes identifying and/or predicting two or more words in the speech data (col. 9, line 59 through col. 10, line 9: pauses/length of time between words implies more than one word is predicted).
Re Claim 39, Foo et al discloses the method of claim 35, wherein: the action of identifying and/or predicting one or more words in the speech data includes identifying and/or predicting one or more sentences in the speech data (col. 6, lines 36-53: sentences).
Re Claim 40, Foo et al discloses the method of claim 35, wherein: the one or more modified words change a meaning of the evoked hearing percept relative to that which would otherwise have been the case and/or provide a meaning to the evoked hearing percept which would not have been acquired without the one or more modified words (col. 11, lines 7-14: recognizable words are including in the speech consistent processing to replace unfamiliar detected words to enable a user to gain better perception/understanding of the input speech).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 34 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter for claim 34: The prior art does not teach or moderately suggest the following limitations:
Wherein: the code for receiving is configured to receive a second signal which includes second speech data; the code for evaluating is configured to for second evaluating of whether an evoked hearing percept based on the received second signal would provide a desired hearing percept; and the code for instructing the device to evoke a hearing percept is configured to evoke a hearing percept based on the received second signal, wherein the code for second evaluating results in a determination that the received signal will provide a desired hearing percept; and the media also includes code for not replacing the second signal and not modifying the second signal based on the second evaluation results.
Limitations such as these may be useful in combination with other limitations of claim 28.
Contact
/GEORGE C MONIKANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2692 09/18/2026