DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Benson et al. 20190048707.
Referring to claims 1 and 13, Benson discloses a method and system comprising: a non-transitory computer readable medium (see paragraph 007, memory) having stored thereon a plurality of instructions, wherein the instructions are executed with one or more processors so that the following steps are executed to perform the method comprising:(a) accessing a target slide score (see fig. 21 and paragraph 0306, tool face error threshold or limits) to be obtained during a slide drill segment; wherein the target slide score is associated with a target tool face;(b) performing, using a bottom hole assembly (BHA, see paragraph 0017), a first portion of the slide drill segment in a ramping mode; wherein performing, using the BHA, the first portion of the slide drill segment in ramping mode comprises:(c) receiving, by a control system (144), first downhole data from the BHA during the first portion of the slide drill segment ( data from sensors 214, see paragraph 0349);(d) calculating, by the control system and based on the first downhole data (see fig. 21, downhole toolface, at 2112) and the target tool face (at 2110) , an actual slide score ( toolface error, at 2114);(e) comparing, by the control system, the actual slide score with the target slide score ( see 2115, actual toolface error compared to threshold value or limits);(f) increasing or decreasing, based on the comparison of step (e), a rate of penetration ("ROP") setpoint (see paragraph 0349, and paragraph 0035 set points can be changed to maintain toolface within range, see fig. 35, at 3514 tool face coming within acceptable range of target toolface limits); and(g) repeating steps (c)-(f) until a first condition is achieved (see paragraph 0168, no action is need if comparison is within limits) ; and(h) performing, using the BHA and after the achievement of the first condition, a second portion of the slide drill segment in either: a ROP control mode; or a weight on bit ("WOB") control mode ( see paragraph 0394, making changes to WOB and ROP is continued during slide drilling).
Referring to claims 2 and 14, Benson discloses the first condition includes the actual slide score being equal to the target slide score (see paragraph 0306, at step 2118, system is adjusted to acquire the target tool face).
Referring to claims 3 and 15, Benson discloses (i) identifying a second ROP setpoint associated with the achievement of the first condition (see paragraph 0394, ideal ROP);(j) receiving, by the control system, second downhole data from the BHA during the second portion of the slide drill segment ( data from sensors, see paragraph 0381);(k) calculating, by the control system and based on the second downhole data associated with the second portion, a first plurality of metrics (see paragraph 0394);(I) comparing, by the control system, the first plurality of metrics with a plurality of constraints (see paragraph 0397);(m) increasing or decreasing, based on the comparison of step (I), the second ROP setpoint; and(n) repeating steps (j)-(m) until a second condition is achieved ( see paragraph 0394 increasing or decreasing the ROP to have ROP that still maintains appropriate control over a slide).
Referring to claims 4, Benson discloses the second ROP setpoint is based on a historical ROP from the performance of the first portion of the slide drill segment ( see paragraph 0394, ROP set points can come for historical data).
Referring to claims 5 and 17, Benson discloses wherein the first condition includes receipt, by the control system, of a first selection including a selection of the ROP control mode ( see paragraph 0349, ROP can be controlled to have toolface within threshold); and wherein the second condition includes receipt, by the control system, of a second selection including a selection of the WOB control mode (see paragraph 0394, WOB can be controlled to modify ROP).
Referring to claims 6 and 18, Benson discloses wherein the second portion of the slide drill segment is performed in WOB control mode (see paragraph 0394, WOB can be controlled in order get ideal ROP) ; and wherein performing the second portion of the slide drill segment in WOB control mode comprises:(i) identify a WOB setpoint associated with the achievement of the first condition (see paragraph 0349, set points include WOB); (j) receiving, by the control system, second downhole data from the BHA during the second portion of the slide drill segment ( data from sensors, see paragraph 0381) ; (k) calculating, by the control system and based on the second downhole data associated with the second portion, a first plurality of metrics (see paragraph 0394); (I) comparing, by the control system, the first plurality of metrics with a plurality of constraints (see paragraph 0397); (m) increasing or decreasing, based on the comparison of step (I), the WOB setpoint; and (n) repeating steps (j)-(m) until a second condition is achieved ( see paragraph 0394 making changes to WOB to get ideal ROP that still maintains appropriate control over a slide).
Referring to claims 7-8, Benson discloses increasing the WOB setpoint comprises increasing the WOB setpoint by a predetermined value based on a ratio (see paragraph 0394 changes in WOB is based on database that correlates changes in WOB with differential pressure, wraps and ROP).
Referring to claim 9, Benson discloses the ratio is a change in an average ROP over the change in an average WOB (as the average WOB and average ROP are not defined in the claim, the correlations between the ROP and WOB as disclosed in paragraph 0394 can be considered a change in an average ROP over the change in an average WOB as broadly claimed).
Referring to claim 10, Benson discloses performing, using the BHA and after the achievement of the second condition, a third portion of the slide drill segment in ROP control mode; wherein performing the third portion of the slide drill segment in ROP control mode comprises: (p) identifying a second ROP setpoint associated with the achievement of the second condition (see paragraph 0394, ideal ROP for a different location) ;(q) receiving, by the control system, third downhole data from the BHA during the third portion of the slide drill segment ( data from sensors, see paragraph 0381); (r) calculating, by the control system and based on the third downhole data associated with the third portion, a second plurality of metrics (see paragraph 0394); (s) comparing, by the control system, the second plurality of metrics with the plurality of constraints; (t) increasing or decreasing, based on the comparison of step (s), the second ROP setpoint (see paragraph 0094); and (u) repeating steps (q)-(t) until a third condition is achieved (see paragraph 0394 increasing or decreasing the ROP to have ROP that still maintains appropriate control over a slide).
Referring to claim 11 and 19, Benson discloses wherein the target slide score includes a range of acceptable slide scores; wherein step (e) further comprises determining that the actual slide score is within the range of acceptable slide scores of the target slide score; and wherein step (f) further comprises increasing, based on the determination that the actual slide score is within the range of acceptable slide scores of the target slide score, the ROP setpoint ( see paragraph 0391, instances where wider margin is appropriate ROP is faster or increased) .
Referring to claims 12 and 20, Benson discloses wherein step (h) comprises: assigning, when in ROP control mode, a value to a WOB setpoint that is a predetermined percentage above an average WOB; and assigning, when in WOB control mode, a value to a second ROP setpoint that is a predetermined percentage above an average ROP (as the average WOB and average ROP are not defined in the claim, changes in WOB and ROP are based on correlations from databases, empirical data and historical data, the WOB setpoint disclosed and ROP setpoint disclosed in paragraph 0394 can be consider a predetermined percentage above an average WOB and a predetermined percentage above an average ROP as broadly claimed) .
Referring to claim 16, Benson discloses the second ROP set is an average ROP when step (i) is executed ( since the average ROP is not defined in the claim, the ROP disclosed paragraph 0394 can be considered the average ROP as broadly claimed) .
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Giovanna Wright/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672