2. This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant’s Communication received on February 14,2025 for application number 19/054,324. This Office hereby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Specification, Drawings, Abstract, Oath/Declaration, and Claims.
3. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 26, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Nonfunctional Descriptive Material
5. Claims 17-20 recite “A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a bitstream of visual media data which is generated by a method performed by a visual media data processing apparatus”. There are no recitations of a processor or other element-merely bitstream content (bitstream generated by the recited method). Under MPEP 2111.05(III), this claim is merely machine-readable media. The Examiner finds that there is no disclosed or claimed functional relationship between the stored bitstream and the medium. Instead, the medium is merely a support or carrier for the bitstream being stored. Therefore, the bitstream stored and the way such bitstream is generated should not be given patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.05 applying In re Lowry, 32 F.3d 1579, 1583-84, 32 USPQ2d 1031, 1035 (Fed. Cir. 1994); and In re Ngai, 367 F.3d 1336, 70 USPQ2d 1862 (Fed. Cir. 2004). As such, claims 17-20 are subject to a prior art rejection based on any non-transitory computer readable recording medium known before the earliest effective filing date of the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by RAMASUBRAMONIAN et al. (US 2020/0204809 A1)(hereinafter Ramasubramonian).
Claim 17 has been interpreted above as nonfunctional descriptive material under MPEP 2111.05(III) and the case law cited therein because claim 17 recites “A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a bitstream of visual media data which is generated by a method performed by a visual media data processing apparatus”. As such, claim 17 is subject to a prior art rejection based on any non-transitory computer readable medium known before the earliest effective filing date of the present application. In other words, the proper interpretation of claim 17 is merely a machine-readable media in which the media is merely support or carrier for the bitstream being stored wherein the bitstream stored and the way such bitstream is generated should not be given patentable weight.
Ramasubramonian which is analogous art discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a bitstream of visual media data [See Ramasubramonian: at least par. 76,77,196-197, 286-287, 292-294]. As such, Ramasubramonian clearly anticipates the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a bitstream of visual media data.
Dependent claims 18-20 also recite “The non-transitory computer-readable recording medium of claim 17”, and therefore, the claims 18-20 are rejected on the same basis as independent claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI et al.(US 2022/0101095 A1)(hereinafter Li) in view of CHUJOH et al.(US 2023/0421785 A1)(hereinafter Chujoh).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Li discloses a method for processing visual media data [See Li: at least Fig. 15 and par. 42-44, 195-196, 319-322, 326-329 regarding a method of digital media processing (e.g., method 1500 depicted in FIG. 15)] and an apparatus for processing visual media data [See Li: at least Fig. 14-18 and par. 276-283 regarding video processing apparatus 3600 and video coding system 100] comprising:
a processor[See Li: at least Figs. 14-18 and par. 276, 285, 309 regarding The apparatus 3600 may include one or more processors 3602…] and a non-transitory memory with instructions thereon, wherein the instructions upon execution by the processor[See Li: at least Figs. 14-18 and par. 276 regarding The apparatus 3600 may include one or more processors 3602, one or more memories 3604 and video processing hardware 3606. The memory (memories) 3604 may be used for storing data and code used for implementing the methods and techniques described herein. ], cause the processor to:
performing / perform a conversion between visual media data and a bitstream of the visual media data based on a rule [See Li: at least Fig. 15 and par. 319 regarding performing (1502) a conversion between a video comprising multiple video blocks and a coded representation of the video, wherein, the conversion includes, selectively applying a convolutional neural network (CNN) filter to some of the video blocks based on a rule], wherein the rule specifies that a value of a flag in a neural-network post-filter characteristics (NNPFC) supplemental enhancement information (SEI) message is equal to a predefined value in response to the flag being present in the bitstream [See Li: par. 195-197, 319-322, 326-329 regarding wherein, the conversion includes, selectively applying a convolutional neural network (CNN) filter to some of the video blocks based on a rule; wherein the rule defines whether and how the CNN filter is applied together with a filter having a non-deep learning filter (NDLF) filter type during the conversion.. wherein the rule specifies that the CNN filter is applicable to the current vide block that belongs to a type of a slice or a type of a picture or an identity of a temporal layer or a condition on a reference picture list…. wherein the rule further specifies how the CNN filter is applied based on a profile of the video or a format to which the coded representation is configured… i. In one example, an indicator (e.g., a flag) in the slice header is signaled to indicate whether CNN filter is activated for current slice. c. In one example, the used of CNN filter is decided at CTU level. For each CTU, a flag is signaled to indicate whether CNN filter is applied on current CTU. 8. The CNN information may be signalled as a SEI message.].
Li does not explicitly disclose wherein the rule specifies that a value of a flag nnpfc_out_sub_c_flag in a neural-network post-filter characteristics (NNPFC) supplemental enhancement information (SEI) message is equal to a predefined value in response to the flag nnpfc_out_sub_c_flag being present in the bitstream and a chroma format indicator indicating a 4:2:2 chroma format.
However, Chujoh, from the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the rule specifies that a value of a flag nnpfc_out_sub_c_flag in a neural-network post-filter characteristics (NNPFC) supplemental enhancement information (SEI) message is equal to a predefined value in response to the flag nnpfc_out_sub_c_flag being present in the bitstream and a chroma format indicator indicating a 4:2:2 chroma format[See Chujoh: at least par. 161 -172, 223-244 regarding In a case that the value of nnpfc_purpose is 2, it indicates upsampling to the 4:2:2 chroma format or the 4:4:4 chroma format, or upsampling from the 4:2:2 chroma format to the 4:4:4 chroma format. In a case that the value of nnpfc_purpose is 3, the width or the height of an output image decoded without changing the chroma format is increased. In a case that the value of nnpfc_purpose is 4, the width or the height of a decoded output image is increased, and the chroma format is upsampled. A variable outSubWidthC and a variable outSubHeightC are derived using nnpfc_out_sub_width_c_flag and nnpfc_out_sub_height_c_flag, respectively. These variables indicate a chroma sub-sampling ratio for luminance of an image generated as a result of the post-filtering processing. In a case that nnpfc_out_sub_width_c_flag and nnpfc_out_sub_height_c_flag are not present, it is inferred that both are equal to 0. In a case that nnpfc_out_sub_width_c_flag and nnpfc_out_sub_height_c_flag are present, the sum of nnpfc_out_sub_width_c_flag and nnpfc_out_sub_height_c_flag is greater than 0... Requirements for bitstream conformance are that both of outSubWidthC and outSubHeightC are greater than 0…].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Li with Chujoh teachings by including “wherein the rule specifies that a value of a flag nnpfc_out_sub_c_flag in a neural-network post-filter characteristics (NNPFC) supplemental enhancement information (SEI) message is equal to a predefined value in response to the flag nnpfc_out_sub_c_flag being present in the bitstream and a chroma format indicator indicating a 4:2:2 chroma format” because this combination has the benefit of providing a rule to convert visual media data format to efficiently and accurately process visual media data using a neural network[See Chujoh: at least par.11-33].
Regarding claim 13, Li discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that cause a processor[See Li: at least Figs. 14-18 and par. 7, 10, 276, 376, 379 regarding a computer readable medium on which a bitstream complies to a file format that is generated according to above-described methods…The apparatus 3600 may include one or more processors 3602, one or more memories 3604 and video processing hardware 3606. The memory (memories) 3604 may be used for storing data and code used for implementing the methods and techniques described herein.] to:
perform a conversion between visual media data and a bitstream of the visual media data based on a rule[See Li: at least Fig. 15 and par. 319 regarding performing (1502) a conversion between a video comprising multiple video blocks and a coded representation of the video, wherein, the conversion includes, selectively applying a convolutional neural network (CNN) filter to some of the video blocks based on a rule], wherein the rule specifies that a value of a flag in a neural-network post-filter characteristics (NNPFC) supplemental enhancement information (SEI) message is equal to a predefined value in response to the flag being present in the bitstream [See Li: par. 195-197, 319-322, 326-329 regarding wherein, the conversion includes, selectively applying a convolutional neural network (CNN) filter to some of the video blocks based on a rule; wherein the rule defines whether and how the CNN filter is applied together with a filter having a non-deep learning filter (NDLF) filter type during the conversion.. wherein the rule specifies that the CNN filter is applicable to the current vide block that belongs to a type of a slice or a type of a picture or an identity of a temporal layer or a condition on a reference picture list…. wherein the rule further specifies how the CNN filter is applied based on a profile of the video or a format to which the coded representation is configured… i. In one example, an indicator (e.g., a flag) in the slice header is signaled to indicate whether CNN filter is activated for current slice. c. In one example, the used of CNN filter is decided at CTU level. For each CTU, a flag is signaled to indicate whether CNN filter is applied on current CTU. 8. The CNN information may be signalled as a SEI message.].
Li does not explicitly disclose wherein the rule specifies that a value of a flag nnpfc_out_sub_c_flag in a neural-network post-filter characteristics (NNPFC) supplemental enhancement information (SEI) message is equal to a predefined value in response to the flag nnpfc_out_sub_c_flag being present in the bitstream and a chroma format indicator indicating a 4:2:2 chroma format.
However, Chujoh, from the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the rule specifies that a value of a flag nnpfc_out_sub_c_flag in a neural-network post-filter characteristics (NNPFC) supplemental enhancement information (SEI) message is equal to a predefined value in response to the flag nnpfc_out_sub_c_flag being present in the bitstream and a chroma format indicator indicating a 4:2:2 chroma format[See Chujoh: at least par. 161 -172, 223-244 regarding In a case that the value of nnpfc_purpose is 2, it indicates upsampling to the 4:2:2 chroma format or the 4:4:4 chroma format, or upsampling from the 4:2:2 chroma format to the 4:4:4 chroma format. In a case that the value of nnpfc_purpose is 3, the width or the height of an output image decoded without changing the chroma format is increased. In a case that the value of nnpfc_purpose is 4, the width or the height of a decoded output image is increased, and the chroma format is upsampled. A variable outSubWidthC and a variable outSubHeightC are derived using nnpfc_out_sub_width_c_flag and nnpfc_out_sub_height_c_flag, respectively. These variables indicate a chroma sub-sampling ratio for luminance of an image generated as a result of the post-filtering processing. In a case that nnpfc_out_sub_width_c_flag and nnpfc_out_sub_height_c_flag are not present, it is inferred that both are equal to 0. In a case that nnpfc_out_sub_width_c_flag and nnpfc_out_sub_height_c_flag are present, the sum of nnpfc_out_sub_width_c_flag and nnpfc_out_sub_height_c_flag is greater than 0... Requirements for bitstream conformance are that both of outSubWidthC and outSubHeightC are greater than 0…].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Li with Chujoh teachings by including “wherein the rule specifies that a value of a flag nnpfc_out_sub_c_flag in a neural-network post-filter characteristics (NNPFC) supplemental enhancement information (SEI) message is equal to a predefined value in response to the flag nnpfc_out_sub_c_flag being present in the bitstream and a chroma format indicator indicating a 4:2:2 chroma format” because this combination has the benefit of providing a rule to convert visual media data format to efficiently and accurately process visual media data using a neural network[See Chujoh: at least par.11-33].
Regarding claim 17, Li discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a bitstream of visual media data which is generated by a method performed by a visual media data processing apparatus[See Li: at least Figs. 14-18 and par. 7-10, 276, 376, 379 regarding computer readable medium that stores a bitstream…a computer readable medium on which a bitstream complies to a file format that is generated according to above-described methods…The apparatus 3600 may include one or more processors 3602, one or more memories 3604 and video processing hardware 3606. The memory (memories) 3604 may be used for storing data and code used for implementing the methods and techniques described herein], wherein the method comprises:
generating the bitstream based on a rule[See Li: at least Fig. 15 and par. 319- 346 regarding performing (1502) a conversion between a video comprising multiple video blocks and a coded representation of the video, wherein, the conversion includes, selectively applying a convolutional neural network (CNN) filter to some of the video blocks based on a rule…wherein the conversion comprises generating a coded representation of the video…a bitstream representation complying to a file format that is generated], wherein the rule specifies that a value of a flag in a neural-network post-filter characteristics (NNPFC) supplemental enhancement information (SEI) message is equal to a predefined value in response to the flag being present in the bitstream [See Li: at least par. 195-197, 319-322, 326-329 regarding wherein, the conversion includes, selectively applying a convolutional neural network (CNN) filter to some of the video blocks based on a rule; wherein the rule defines whether and how the CNN filter is applied together with a filter having a non-deep learning filter (NDLF) filter type during the conversion.. wherein the rule specifies that the CNN filter is applicable to the current vide block that belongs to a type of a slice or a type of a picture or an identity of a temporal layer or a condition on a reference picture list…. wherein the rule further specifies how the CNN filter is applied based on a profile of the video or a format to which the coded representation is configured… i. In one example, an indicator (e.g., a flag) in the slice header is signaled to indicate whether CNN filter is activated for current slice. c. In one example, the used of CNN filter is decided at CTU level. For each CTU, a flag is signaled to indicate whether CNN filter is applied on current CTU. 8. The CNN information may be signalled as a SEI message.].
Li does not explicitly disclose wherein the rule specifies that a value of a flag nnpfc_out_sub_c_flag in a neural-network post-filter characteristics (NNPFC) supplemental enhancement information (SEI) message is equal to a predefined value in response to the flag nnpfc_out_sub_c_flag being present in the bitstream and a chroma format indicator indicating a 4:2:2 chroma format.
However, Chujoh, from the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the rule specifies that a value of a flag nnpfc_out_sub_c_flag in a neural-network post-filter characteristics (NNPFC) supplemental enhancement information (SEI) message is equal to a predefined value in response to the flag nnpfc_out_sub_c_flag being present in the bitstream and a chroma format indicator indicating a 4:2:2 chroma format[See Chujoh: at least par. 161 -172, 223-244 regarding In a case that the value of nnpfc_purpose is 2, it indicates upsampling to the 4:2:2 chroma format or the 4:4:4 chroma format, or upsampling from the 4:2:2 chroma format to the 4:4:4 chroma format. In a case that the value of nnpfc_purpose is 3, the width or the height of an output image decoded without changing the chroma format is increased. In a case that the value of nnpfc_purpose is 4, the width or the height of a decoded output image is increased, and the chroma format is upsampled. A variable outSubWidthC and a variable outSubHeightC are derived using nnpfc_out_sub_width_c_flag and nnpfc_out_sub_height_c_flag, respectively. These variables indicate a chroma sub-sampling ratio for luminance of an image generated as a result of the post-filtering processing. In a case that nnpfc_out_sub_width_c_flag and nnpfc_out_sub_height_c_flag are not present, it is inferred that both are equal to 0. In a case that nnpfc_out_sub_width_c_flag and nnpfc_out_sub_height_c_flag are present, the sum of nnpfc_out_sub_width_c_flag and nnpfc_out_sub_height_c_flag is greater than 0... Requirements for bitstream conformance are that both of outSubWidthC and outSubHeightC are greater than 0…].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Li with Chujoh teachings by including “wherein the rule specifies that a value of a flag nnpfc_out_sub_c_flag in a neural-network post-filter characteristics (NNPFC) supplemental enhancement information (SEI) message is equal to a predefined value in response to the flag nnpfc_out_sub_c_flag being present in the bitstream and a chroma format indicator indicating a 4:2:2 chroma format” because this combination has the benefit of providing a rule to convert visual media data format to efficiently and accurately process visual media data using a neural network[See Chujoh: at least par.11-33].
Regarding claims 2, 10, 14 and 18, Li and Chujoh teach all of the limitations of claims 1, 9, 13 and 17, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims. Further on, Li and Chujoh teach or suggest wherein the predefined value is one[See Li: at least par. 195-197, 319-322, 326-329 regarding i. In one example, an indicator (e.g., a flag) in the slice header is signaled to indicate whether CNN filter is activated for current slice. c. In one example, the used of CNN filter is decided at CTU level. For each CTU, a flag is signaled to indicate whether CNN filter is applied on current CTU. 8. The CNN information may be signalled as a SEI message. See Chujoh: at least par. 161 -172, 223-244 regarding In a case that the value of nnpfc_purpose is 0, it indicates unknown or undefined. In a case that the value of nnpfc_purpose is 1, it is aimed to enhance image quality. In a case that the value of nnpfc_purpose is 2, it indicates upsampling to the 4:2:2 chroma format or the 4:4:4 chroma format, or upsampling from the 4:2:2 chroma format to the 4:4:4 chroma format. In a case that the value of nnpfc_purpose is 3, the width or the height of an output image decoded without changing the chroma format is increased. In a case that the value of nnpfc_purpose is 4, the width or the height of a decoded output image is increased, and the chroma format is upsampled. A variable outSubWidthC and a variable outSubHeightC are derived using nnpfc_out_sub_width_c_flag and nnpfc_out_sub_height_c_flag, respectively…].
Regarding claims 3, 11, 15 and 19, Li and Chujoh teach all of the limitations of claims 1, 9, 13 and 17, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims. Further on, Chujoh teaches wherein the chroma format indicator equal to two indicates the 4:2:2 chroma format[See Chujoh: at least par. 161 -172, 223-244 regarding In a case that the value of nnpfc_purpose is 0, it indicates unknown or undefined. In a case that the value of nnpfc_purpose is 1, it is aimed to enhance image quality. In a case that the value of nnpfc_purpose is 2, it indicates upsampling to the 4:2:2 chroma format or the 4:4:4 chroma format, or upsampling from the 4:2:2 chroma format to the 4:4:4 chroma format. In a case that the value of nnpfc_purpose is 3, the width or the height of an output image decoded without changing the chroma format is increased. In a case that the value of nnpfc_purpose is 4, the width or the height of a decoded output image is increased, and the chroma format is upsampled. A variable outSubWidthC and a variable outSubHeightC are derived using nnpfc_out_sub_width_c_flag and nnpfc_out_sub_height_c_flag, respectively…].
Regarding claim 4, Li and Chujoh teach all of the limitations of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Further on, Chujoh teaches wherein a value of the flag nnpfc_out_sub_c_flag is used to specify values of variables outSubWidthC and outSubHeightC for the conversion [See Chujoh: at least par. 161 -172, 223-244 regarding In a case that the value of nnpfc_purpose is 0, it indicates unknown or undefined. In a case that the value of nnpfc_purpose is 1, it is aimed to enhance image quality. In a case that the value of nnpfc_purpose is 2, it indicates upsampling to the 4:2:2 chroma format or the 4:4:4 chroma format, or upsampling from the 4:2:2 chroma format to the 4:4:4 chroma format. In a case that the value of nnpfc_purpose is 3, the width or the height of an output image decoded without changing the chroma format is increased. In a case that the value of nnpfc_purpose is 4, the width or the height of a decoded output image is increased, and the chroma format is upsampled. A variable outSubWidthC and a variable outSubHeightC are derived using nnpfc_out_sub_width_c_flag and nnpfc_out_sub_height_c_flag, respectively…].
Regarding claim 6, Li and Chujoh teach all of the limitations of claim 4, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Further on, Chujoh teaches
wherein the flag nnpfc_out_sub_c_flag equal to zero specifies that outSubWidthC is equal to two and outSubHeightC is equal to one[See Chujoh: at least par. 93, 161-172, Here, a variable ChromaFormatIdc of a chroma format is a value of sps_chroma_format_id. A variable SubWidthC and a variable SubHightC are values determined by ChromaFormatIdc. In a case of a monochrome format, SubWidthC and SubHightC are both 1. In a case of a 4:2:0 format, SubWidthC and SubHightC are both 2. In a case of a 4:2:2 format, SubWidthC is 2 and SubHightC is 1. In a case of a 4:4:4 format, SubWidthC and SubHightC are both 1... Requirements for bitstream conformance are that both of outSubWidthC and outSubHeightC are greater than 0… In view of this, as the requirements for bitstream conformance, the following requirements are set: both of outSubWidthC and outSubHeightC are greater than 0, and the value of outSubWidthC is greater than the value of outSubHeightC.].
Regarding claim 7, Li and Chujoh teach all of the limitations of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Further on, Li teaches wherein the conversion includes encoding the visual media data into the bitstream [See Li: at least par. 319, 341 wherein the conversion comprises generating a coded representation of the video.].
Regarding claim 8, Li and Chujoh teach all of the limitations of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Further on, Li teaches wherein the conversion includes decoding the visual media data from the bitstream [See Li: at least par. 319, 342 regarding wherein the conversion comprises generating the video by decoding the coded representation.].
12. Claims 5, 12, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI et al.(US 2022/0101095 A1)(hereinafter Li) in view of CHUJOH et al.(US 2023/0421785 A1)(hereinafter Chujoh) in further view of RAMASUBRAMONIAN et al. (US 2020/0204809 A1)(hereinafter Ramasubramonian).
Regarding claim 5, Li and Chujoh teach all of the limitations of claim 4, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Li and Chujoh do not explicitly disclose wherein the flag nnpfc_out_sub_c_flag equal to one specifies that outSubWidthC is equal to one and outSubHeightC is equal to one.
However, Ramasubramonian teaches wherein the flag nnpfc_out_sub_c_flag equal to one specifies that outSubWidthC is equal to one and outSubHeightC is equal to one[See Ramasubramonian: par. 134, 142 regarding In some examples, the regions are specified on the decoded picture boundaries. For example, offsets for a rectangular region (or other shape) of a picture can be specified in units of luma sample positions (or other color component of the picture, such as chroma)…SubWidthC and SubHeightC are used to scale the syntax elements to sample units. For instance, in 4:2:0 video, if boundaries do not begin at an even row and column, it is unclear if the chroma value belongs to a region or not. So, in this example using 4:2:0 video, units of two sample units can be used, in which case SubWidthC and SubHeightC are both 2. In another example, for 4:4:4 video, SubWidthC and SubHeightC would be 1.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Li and Chujoh with Ramasubramonian teachings by including “wherein the flag nnpfc_out_sub_c_flag equal to one specifies that outSubWidthC is equal to one and outSubHeightC is equal to one” because this combination has the benefit of providing a rule with respect to Chroma format to convert visual media data for better coding efficiency[See Ramasubramonian: at least par. 4-60].
Regarding claims 12, 16 and 20, Li and Chujoh teach all of the limitations of claims 9, 13 and 17, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Further on, Chujoh teaches or suggest wherein a value of the flag nnpfc_out_sub_c_flag is used to specify values of variables outSubWidthC and outSubHeightC for the conversion / wherein a value of the flag nnpfc_out_sub_c_flag is used to specify values of variables outSubWidthC and outSubHeightC for generating the bitstream[See Chujoh: at least par. 161 -172, 223-244 regarding In a case that the value of nnpfc_purpose is 0, it indicates unknown or undefined. In a case that the value of nnpfc_purpose is 1, it is aimed to enhance image quality. In a case that the value of nnpfc_purpose is 2, it indicates upsampling to the 4:2:2 chroma format or the 4:4:4 chroma format, or upsampling from the 4:2:2 chroma format to the 4:4:4 chroma format. In a case that the value of nnpfc_purpose is 3, the width or the height of an output image decoded without changing the chroma format is increased. In a case that the value of nnpfc_purpose is 4, the width or the height of a decoded output image is increased, and the chroma format is upsampled. A variable outSubWidthC and a variable outSubHeightC are derived using nnpfc_out_sub_width_c_flag and nnpfc_out_sub_height_c_flag, respectively…], and wherein the flag nnpfc_out_sub_c_flag equal to zero specifies that outSubWidthC is equal to two and outSubHeightC is equal to one[See Chujoh: at least par. 93, 161-172, Here, a variable ChromaFormatIdc of a chroma format is a value of sps_chroma_format_id. A variable SubWidthC and a variable SubHightC are values determined by ChromaFormatIdc. In a case of a monochrome format, SubWidthC and SubHightC are both 1. In a case of a 4:2:0 format, SubWidthC and SubHightC are both 2. In a case of a 4:2:2 format, SubWidthC is 2 and SubHightC is 1. In a case of a 4:4:4 format, SubWidthC and SubHightC are both 1... Requirements for bitstream conformance are that both of outSubWidthC and outSubHeightC are greater than 0… In view of this, as the requirements for bitstream conformance, the following requirements are set: both of outSubWidthC and outSubHeightC are greater than 0, and the value of outSubWidthC is greater than the value of outSubHeightC.].
Li and Chujoh do not explicitly disclose wherein the flag nnpfc_out_sub_c_flag equal to one specifies that outSubWidthC is equal to one and outSubHeightC is equal to one.
However, Ramasubramonian teaches wherein the flag nnpfc_out_sub_c_flag equal to one specifies that outSubWidthC is equal to one and outSubHeightC is equal to one[See Ramasubramonian: par. 134, 142 regarding In some examples, the regions are specified on the decoded picture boundaries. For example, offsets for a rectangular region (or other shape) of a picture can be specified in units of luma sample positions (or other color component of the picture, such as chroma)…SubWidthC and SubHeightC are used to scale the syntax elements to sample units. For instance, in 4:2:0 video, if boundaries do not begin at an even row and column, it is unclear if the chroma value belongs to a region or not. So, in this example using 4:2:0 video, units of two sample units can be used, in which case SubWidthC and SubHeightC are both 2. In another example, for 4:4:4 video, SubWidthC and SubHeightC would be 1.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Li and Chujoh with Ramasubramonian teachings by including “wherein the flag nnpfc_out_sub_c_flag equal to one specifies that outSubWidthC is equal to one and outSubHeightC is equal to one” because this combination has the benefit of providing a rule with respect to Chroma format to convert visual media data for better coding efficiency[See Ramasubramonian: at least par. 4-60].
Conclusion
/Ana Picon-Feliciano/Examiner, Art Unit 2482
/CHRISTOPHER S KELLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2482