DETAILED ACTION
1. This is in reply to an application filed on 02/14/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending examination.
the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 16-20 are apparatus claims, but they depend on claim 15, which is an article claim. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements. For the purpose of examination, examiner assumed claims 16-20 are article claims.
4.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 8-9 and 15-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 10 and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,238,084 in view of Popa as mentioned below, wherein the claims of the patent No. 12,238,084 do not recite: transmitting one or more identifiers of a communications device to a client server. Popa teaches a device may send a join request to a controlling device [0091-0093], wherein the controlling device may send a message including an identifier and authentication signature of the requesting device to an authentication server, wherein the authentication server may authenticate the identifier and the signature [0094] and fig. 3
5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7-9, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Popa et al. US 2013/0294284 (hereinafter Popa).
Regarding claim 1 Popa teaches a communications device, comprising:
a processor coupled to at least one memory device adapted to:
invoke an authentication operation associated with a client application implemented on the communications device (Popa teaches a system may implement a plurality of devices [0025], wherein a server may authenticate one of the devices that requests joining a network [0050], [0059-0060]);
determine whether the authentication operation is capable of utilizing a cellular communications network (Popa teaches the network may be implemented as a cellular network and determining whether the cellular network can allow more devices to join [0083]);
In response to determining that the authentication operation can be performed using the cellular communications network, utilize the cellular communications network to transmit one or more identifiers of the communications device to a client server (Popa teaches the network may be implemented as a cellular network and determining whether the cellular network can allow more devices to join [0083], wherein a device may send a join request to a controlling device [0091-0093], wherein the controlling device may send a message including an identifier and authentication signature of the requesting device to an authentication server, wherein the authentication server may authenticate the identifier and the signature [0094] and fig. 3); and
receive an outcome of the authentication operation from the client server (Popa teaches a server may authenticate the requesting device, and send a successful authentication message to the controlling device [0094-0095] and fig. 3).
Regarding claim 2 Popa teaches the communications device of claim 1, wherein the one or more identifiers include an internet protocol address corresponding to the communications device [0053].
Regarding claim 7 Popa teaches the communications device of claim 1, wherein the outcome of the authentication operation indicates at least one of an approval of a transaction involving the communications device, a disapproval of a transaction involving the communications device, a credit limit associated with a subscriber, or a remaining balance associated with a subscriber (Popa teaches the authentication server may send a successful authentication message that includes a public or symmetric key of the requesting device that has been encrypted using the group key associated with the ARA network, however if the authentication server fails to authenticate the identity of the requesting device, the authentication server may send a failed authentication message to the controlling device, indicating that the authentication is failed [0094-0095]).
In response to Claim 8: Rejected for the same reason as claim 1
In response to Claim 9: Rejected for the same reason as claim 2
In response to Claim 14: Rejected for the same reason as claim 7
In response to Claim 15: Rejected for the same reason as claim 1
In response to Claim 16: Rejected for the same reason as claim 2
6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Popa as mentioned above, and further in view of McClement et al. US 2016/0112872 (hereinafter McClement).
Regarding claim 3 Popa teaches the communications device of claim 1. Popa does not teach one or more identifiers are stored in the at least one memory and include one or more of an international mobile subscriber identity of the communications device, an international mobile equipment identity of the communications device, a mobile station international subscriber directory number of the communications device, or an integrated circuit card identification of the communications device. McClement substantially teaches an authentication request may include an IMSI of a SIM card (col. 11, lin. 21-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Popa such that the invention further includes one or more identifiers are stored in the at least one memory and include one or more of an international mobile subscriber identity of the communications device, an international mobile equipment identity of the communications device, a mobile station international subscriber directory number of the communications device, or an integrated circuit card identification of the communications device. One would have been motivated to do so to ensure that only legitimate and authorized subscriber can access cellular network.
In response to Claim 10: Rejected for the same reason as claim 3
In response to Claim 17: Rejected for the same reason as claim 3
7.
Claims 4-6, 11-13, 18-19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Popa as mentioned above, and further in view of Mahaffey et al. US 2014/0189808 (hereinafter Mahaffey).
Regarding claim 4 Popa teaches the communications device of claim 1, wherein the processor coupled to the at least one memory device is further adapted to. Popa does not teach receive one or more redirect parameters from a client server; in response to receiving the one or more redirect parameters, generate a verification fingerprint associated with a communications device; and transmit the verification fingerprint to the client server. Mahaffey substantially teaches a server may send a challenge to a client, wherein the client may use a private key to sign the challenge such as generating a signature and forward the signature to the server, wherein the server may verify the signature [0063].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Popa such that the invention further includes receive one or more redirect parameters from a client server; in response to receiving the one or more redirect parameters, generate a verification fingerprint associated with a communications device; and transmit the verification fingerprint to the client server. One would have been motivated to do so to offer a strong security by making it difficult for attackers to compromise authentication even if the exchange is intercepted and to prevent unauthorized access the cellular network.
Regarding claim 5 Popa as modified teaches the communications device of claim 4, wherein the verification fingerprint includes a hash-based message authentication code (Mahaffey: [0063]).
Regarding claim 6 Popa as modified teaches the communications device of claim 4, wherein the outcome is determined based in part on the verification fingerprint (Popa teaches the authentication server may authenticate the identifier and the signature [0094] and fig. 3).
In response to Claim 11: Rejected for the same reason as claim 4
In response to Claim 12: Rejected for the same reason as claim 5
In response to Claim 13: Rejected for the same reason as claim 6
In response to Claim 18: Rejected for the same reason as claim 4
In response to Claim 19: Rejected for the same reason as claim 5
In response to Claim 20: Rejected for the same reason as claim 6
Conclusion
/AYOUB ALATA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2494