DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The status of the claim(s) is as follows:
Claims 11 have been amended,
Claims 12-17 were previously presented,
Claims 1-10 have been canceled, and
Claims 18-20 were and still are withdrawn from further consideration (due to the restriction requirement)
Therefore, claims 11-17 are currently pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/07/2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 17, applicant recites “the blister of at least one of the blister packages has a lid stock partially attached thereto”, which is indefinite due to their dependency to claim 11 and claim 11 further amended the claim with new limitation “the blister packages being without a lidstock or a lens” as two limitation clearly contradict with each other. For the purpose of examination, examiner will still examine claim 17 base on the content applicant claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alayon Rivera et al (11,584,577) in view of Alulis et al (7,845,077)
As to claim 11, Alayon Rivera discloses a contact lens blister packaging (65) arrangement (Figure 7), comprising: a plurality of blister packages (65 shows empty contact lens assembly 61), each blister package comprising a blister having a well (73) and an aperture (69) disposed apart from the well (as shown in Figure 7), the blister packages being without a lid stock or a lens (column 9 lines 32-44 and Figure 7 shows empty contact lens 65 without lidstock and lens within), the assembly further discloses at least one fastener (63) that extending through each of the aperture of the blister package (Figure 7). However, Alayon Rivera does not specifically disclose the fastener being a loop forming a closed shape, the loop extending through each of the apertures. Nevertheless, Alulis discloses a group of similar articles (Figure 5) each comprises an aperture (26) at one end of the article, a loop (50) forming a closed shape (Figure 5), the loop extending through each of the apertures (Figure 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fastener for contact lens blister of Alayon Rivera with a loop form that is capable of extending through the apertures as taught by Alulis in order to collect a group of contact lens blister package together for easier to carry without the need of a box and able to simply carry the assembly with a finger.
As to claims 12-13, Alayon Rivera as modified further discloses that the loop comprises one segment and a circular shape, but does not disclose the loop comprises two segments connected together and the two segments are L-shaped. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the loop of Alayon Rivera as modified with the loop comprises two segments connected together and the two segments are L-shaped because the selection of the specific number of segment and the shape of the loop such as disclosed by Alayon Rivera as modified or as claimed would have been an obvious matter of design choice inasmuch as the resultant structures will work equally well and inasmuch as applicant's specification does not state that using these specific distance as claimed solves any particular problem or yields any unexpected results.
As to claims 14-15, Alayon Rivera as modified by Alulis further discloses the loop comprises only a single segment (50), the segment having two ends (54), the ends connectable to one another (via 58).
As to claim 16, Alayon Rivera further discloses the fastener (63) can be made from at least one thermoplastic or plastic material and can be made from the same material as the base member (same thermoplastic material, column 5, lines 6-12 of Alayon Rivera).
As to claim 17, as best understood, Alayon Rivera as modified further discloses the blister of at least one of the blister packages has as lid stock partially attached thereto, and wherein the lid stock consist of a same plastic material as the blister (column 11, lines 61-67 to column 12, lines 1-2, which teaches the lid stock attached to the blister package and teaches foil, but column 4, lines 3-10 further teaches that the sealing member/sealing lid can be removably lid (plastic lid or plastic member), which the blister and the lid can both be made with recyclable plastic material).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 11-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHUN HOI CHEUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736