DETAILED ACTION
Procedural Summary
This is responsive to the claims filed 03/05/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
The Drawings filed on 02/14/2025 are noted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 16 recite “said multi-axis movement of said handle.” The claims first recite multi-axis movement “of a joystick shaft.” It is unclear whether the handle’s movement is the same movement or a separate one. Additionally, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Dependent claims 2-15 and 17-20 inherits this discrepancy by nature of their dependencies. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 3 and 6 recite “said multi directional movement” and “said multi-directional movement”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Dependent claim 4 inherits this discrepancy by nature of its dependency. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 recites “said joystick pivot mechanism.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 recites “an operating force of a lever.” It is unclear whether “a lever” is the joystick shaft of claim 1, an element of the biasing mechanism, or some other structure. Appropriate correction is required.
AIA Notice
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-14, 16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 9,764,230 to Gassoway et al. (hereinafter Gassoway) in view of U.S. Patent 10,073,488 to Conro et al. (hereinafter Conro).
Regarding Claim 1, Gassoway discloses a joystick assembly of a controller (figs. 2-5, game controller 200 with left thumbstick 520, thumbstick cap 206), the controller having a housing with a top surface with an at least one aperture extending into an interior cavity of the housing (figs. 2-5, housing 202 top case 260, bottom case 264, bottom trim 262, Col. 7:1-40 discloses ), the housing having an at least one circuit board disposed beneath the top surface (Col. 9:60-65 discloses thumbstick module 520 is an electronic component that is mounted on a printed circuit board (not shown) that is disposed within housing 202 of game controller 200), the joystick assembly comprising:
a pivot mechanism disposed within the interior cavity and further configured to form an operable connection to the at least one circuit board, … (Col. 9:60 – Col.10:5 discloses left thumbstick module 520 is an electronic component that is mounted on a printed circuit board, and includes a moveable post 710 and a plurality of sensors to generate an analog input control signal based on a position of moveable post 710 in relation to a default “center” position. Post 710 is biased such that when there is no force being applied, post 710 will revert to the default “center” position);
said joystick shaft having a first end and a second end, said first end is operably connected to said pivot mechanism within the interior cavity (fig. 1, 710 moveable post is the joystick shaft, Col. 9:60 – Col.10:5 discloses post 710 is biased such that when there is no force being applied, post 710 will revert to the default “center” position); and
a substantially spherical-domed handle (fig. 10, Col. 12:25-46 discloses a user may select a thumbstick top from among a plurality of thumbstick tops having differently-shaped surfaces for finger interaction (e.g., concave, convex or flat). A wide variety of differently-shaped thumbstick tops may be provided to facilitate a high level of user customization) coupled to the second end of the joystick shaft, said substantially spherical-domed handle is configured to partially extend into the at least one aperture, such that a portion of the handle remains external to the housing during said multi-axis movement of said handle (figs. 2-5, 10 Co. 12:1-10 discloses and depicts dome shaped component 510 of base 248 and top 250 with a diameter that is greater than the diameter of aperture 244, Col.7:52-65, Col. 8:4-33 discloses thumbstick top 250 of left thumbstick cap 206 is disconnected from thumbstick base 248 of left thumbstick cap 206. A portion of thumbstick base 248 to which thumbstick top 250 may be removably connected is externally accessible with respect to housing 202 through aperture 244. Aperture 244 is surrounded by an edge 246 and a generally conical or volcano-shaped portion 242 of top case 260. During user manipulation of left thumbstick cap 206, edge 246 limits the degree to which a user can displace left thumbstick cap 206 in any direction since, at a certain degree of displacement, a stem of left thumbstick cap 206 will collide with edge 246.).
Gassoway does not explicitly disclose “said pivot mechanism is configured to enable a multi-axis movement of a joystick shaft, said multi-axis movement from a center position to a plurality of extreme positions equidistant from said center position.”
In a related invention, Conro discloses a joystick apparatus having a housing and a printed circuit board in the housing (Abstract). Conro discloses a joystick with said pivot mechanism is configured to enable a multi-axis movement of a joystick shaft, said multi-axis movement from a center position to a plurality of extreme positions equidistant from said center position (fig. 1, 11, Col. 9:22-40, Col. 11:18-64 discloses a joystick whose shaft gater 300 pivots on a U-joint assembly above PCB 120 to allow movement of the shaft relative to the center position within a circle. The shaft gater 300 may be assembled to the joystick housing 115 and may limit the travel of the shaft 200 to allow certain ranges of motion. Different shaft gaters 300 may be available. One type of shaft gater 300 is a two-way gater which may allow side-to-side movement of the shaft 300. Another type of shaft gater 300 is a four-way gater which may allow side-to-side and up-and-down motion. Finally, a third type of shaft gater 300 is an all-way gater which is circular in shape and may limit the travel to the nominal maximum angle of twenty degrees in any direction. In the various embodiments, all of the shaft gaters may limit the shaft travel to twenty degrees maximum along their allowable axes of motion.).
Both Gassoway and Conro are analogous art that discloses return-to-center joysticks with mounted printed circuit boards. Gassoway further discloses the handle of the thumbstick (joystick) can travel in any direction (Col. 4:55 – Col. 5:4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gassoway to enable a multi-axis movement of a joystick shaft from a center position to a plurality of extreme positions, as taught by Conro, in order to permit user input throughout a greater range of directions and thereby provide more versatile control. Conro expressly discloses a U-joint arrangement allowing movement of the shaft of a joystick in at least one of a forward and a backward direction, a side-to-side direction, an axial direction or a rotating direction to provide an end user with selectable functionality (Col. 2:28-40). Therefore, applying Conro’s multidirectional movement arrangement to Gassoway’s thumbstick would have yielded the predictable result of a thumbstick capable of movement in any direction.
Regarding Claim 5, and similarly recited Claim 18, Gassoway in view of Conro discloses the joystick assembly of claim 1, wherein the at least one aperture comprises a substantially circular recess atop top surface and a substantially rectangular aperture extending from a lower surface of the top surface to said substantially circular recess (Gassoway, figs. 2-5, Col. 4:56 – Col 5:17 discloses , the housing of game controller 100 includes a top case 122. Top case 122 includes a generally conical or volcano-shaped portion that surrounds an aperture 124. Top 110 and stem 112 of thumbstick cap 106 extend outside of the housing of game controller 100 via aperture 124, and are thus accessible for user manipulation. A portion of base 114 of thumbstick cap 106 is also externally exposed via aperture 124. a user may prefer a thumbstick cap that has a stem that is longer than stem 112, so that the thumbstick cap is taller (i.e., extends further away from top case 122). As another example, a user may prefer a thumbstick cap that has a top with a convex or dome-shaped surface for finger interaction as opposed to concave-shaped first surface 116.).
Regarding Claim 6, Gassoway discloses the joystick assembly of claim 5, but does not explicitly disclose wherein said substantially circular recess enables said multi-directional movement from said center position to said plurality of extreme positions equidistant from said center position.
In a related invention, Conro discloses wherein said substantially circular recess enables said multi-directional movement from said center position to said plurality of extreme positions equidistant from said center position (fig. 1, 11, Col. 9:22-40, Col. 11:18-64 discloses a joystick whose shaft gater 300 pivots on a U-joint assembly above PCB 120 to allow movement of the shaft relative to the center position within a circle. The shaft gater 300 may be assembled to the joystick housing 115 and may limit the travel of the shaft 200 to allow certain ranges of motion. Different shaft gaters 300 may be available. One type of shaft gater 300 is a two-way gater which may allow side-to-side movement of the shaft 300. Another type of shaft gater 300 is a four-way gater which may allow side-to-side and up-and-down motion. Finally, a third type of shaft gater 300 is an all-way gater which is circular in shape and may limit the travel to the nominal maximum angle of twenty degrees in any direction. In the various embodiments, all of the shaft gaters may limit the shaft travel to twenty degrees maximum along their allowable axes of motion.).
Both Gassoway and Conro are analogous art that discloses return-to-center joysticks with mounted printed circuit boards. Gassoway further discloses the handle of the thumbstick (joystick) can travel in any direction (Col. 4:55 – Col. 5:4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gassoway to enable multi-directional movement from said center position to said plurality of extreme positions equidistant from said center position, as taught by Conro, in order to permit user input throughout a greater range of directions and thereby provide more versatile control. Conro expressly discloses a U-joint arrangement allowing movement of the shaft of a joystick in at least one of a forward and a backward direction, a side-to-side direction, an axial direction or a rotating direction to provide an end user with selectable functionality (Col. 2:28-40). Therefore, applying Conro’s multidirectional movement arrangement to Gassoway’s thumbstick would have yielded the predictable result of a thumbstick capable of movement in any direction.
Regarding Claim 7, and similarly recited Claim 19, Gassoway discloses the joystick assembly of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose further comprising a range control shim, said range control shim disposed beneath the top surface, above the at least one circuit board and centered upon the at least one aperture.
In a related invention, Conro discloses further comprising a range control shim, said range control shim disposed beneath the top surface, above the at least one circuit board and centered upon the at least one aperture (Col. 10:40-65, Col. 11:34-42 discloses shaft gater 300 is a plastic plate with an opening 325 through which shaft 200 passes and it may limit the travel of the shaft to allow certain ranges of motion. Gater 300 is assembled in joystick housing 115.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gassoway to include a range control shim as disclosed by Conro as doing so would provide a mechanical guide or limit on movement of the joystick to allow certain ranges of motion.
Regarding Claim 8, Gassoway discloses the joystick assembly of claim 7, but does not explicitly disclose wherein said range control shim further comprises a second aperture, said second aperture sized to enable said operable connection between said joystick pivot mechanism and the at least one circuit board therethrough.
In a related invention, Conro discloses wherein said range control shim further comprises a second aperture, said second aperture sized to enable said operable connection between said joystick pivot mechanism and the at least one circuit board therethrough (fig. 1, Col. 11:34-62 discloses opening 325 of gater 300 through which the shaft passes, permitting the operable connection between the handle and shaft above and the pivot mechanism and circuit board).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gassoway to include a range control shim as disclosed by Conro as doing so would provide a mechanical guide or limit on movement of the joystick to allow certain ranges of motion.
Regarding Claim 9, Gassoway discloses the joystick assembly of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein said joystick assembly is a Hall Effect joystick having a return-to-center configuration.
In a related invention, Conro discloses wherein said joystick assembly is a Hall Effect joystick having a return-to-center configuration (Col. 2:28-50, Col. 7:25-50 discloses the joystick apparatus has a Hall effect integrated circuit (IC) on the printed circuit board that detects movement of the magnet in response to corresponding movement of the shaft and generates a corresponding proportional joystick output signal indicative of the direction of movement of the shaft and extent of deflection of the shaft; magnet 210 is a crucial component to the proportional joystick output, which uses a Hall effect integrated circuit (“IC”) 230 (shown in FIG. 2) on the bottom surface 173 of the PCB 120 to detect changes in the position of the shaft 200. The Hall effect IC 230 may include an array of Hall sensors, for example. The magnet 210 may be assembled into a pocket 235 at the bottom of the shaft 200. User input to the shaft 200 may result in a corresponding motion of the magnet 210 which may be interpreted by the Hall effect IC 230 and may cause a change in an electrical output from the joystick apparatus 100 that corresponds to the motion of the shaft 200.).
Gassoway discloses thumbstick module with a plurality of sensors in the form of potentiometers (Col. 9:60-65). Conro discloses It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gassoway to include a Hall Effect joystick assembly as disclosed by Conro as Conro discloses the Hall effect IC does not require physical contact with the magnet, thus extending the life of the sensor compared to contact-based components. Swapping one joystick position sensor for another yields a predictable result of having a joystick that that detects movement in response to corresponding movement of the shaft and generates a corresponding proportional joystick output signal indicative of the direction of movement.
Regarding Claim 10, Gassoway in view of Conro discloses the joystick assembly of claim 1, wherein the top surface is raised about said at least one aperture (Gassoway, Col. 7:52-59 discloses Left thumbstick cap 206 extends from top case 260 via an aperture 244 defined therein. Aperture 244 is surrounded by an edge 246 and a generally conical or volcano-shaped portion 242 of top case 260.).
Regarding Claim 11, Gassoway in view of Conro discloses the joystick assembly of claim 1, wherein a raised surround is installed thereon the top surface and configured to surround the at least one aperture (Gassoway, figs. 1-5, Col. 7:52-65 discloses Left thumbstick cap 206 extends from top case 260 via an aperture 244 defined therein. Aperture 244 is surrounded by an edge 246 and a generally conical or volcano-shaped portion 242 of top case 260. During user manipulation of left thumbstick cap 206, edge 246 limits the degree to which a user can displace left thumbstick cap 206 in any direction since, at a certain degree of displacement, a stem of left thumbstick cap 206 will collide with edge 246.).
Regarding Claim 12, Gassoway in view of Conro discloses the joystick assembly of claim 1, wherein said substantially spherical-domed handle is ridged (Gassoway, fig. 12 displays dome-shaped component of the thumbstick).
Regarding Claim 13, Gassoway in view of Conro discloses the joystick assembly of claim 1, wherein said substantially spherical-domed handle is rubberized (Gassoway, fig. 8, Col. 10:9-19 discloses the dome shaped component may be formed from non-metals, Col. 11:14-23 discloses thumbstick top 250 also comprises a cover 808 that is connected to component 806 and forms the external surface of head 502. In an embodiment, cover 808 comprises a thermoplastic elastomer (TPE) that is overmolded onto component 806. However, a variety of other materials may be used to form cover 808, including plastic or rubber.).
Regarding Claim 14, Gassoway in view of Conro discloses the joystick assembly of claim 1, further comprising a biasing element, said biasing element is configured to provide an operating force of a lever (Gassoway, Col, 10:1-10 discloses left thumbstick module 520 includes a moveable post 710 and a plurality of sensors in the form of potentiometers. The potentiometers utilize continuous electrical activity to generate an analog input control signal based on a position of moveable post 710 in relation to a default “center” position. Post 710 is biased such that when there is no force being applied, post 710 will revert to the default “center” position).
Regarding Claim 16, Gassoway discloses a gameplay method using a user thumb for the same reasons above as Claim 1. Additionally, Gassoway discloses
placing the user thumb on said substantially spherical-domed handle (Col. 4:27-Col. 5:15 discloses thumbstick cap 106 comprises a generally disk-shaped top 110 that is connected to a dome-shaped base 114 via a cylindrical stem 112. Top 110 includes a first surface 116 and an opposing second surface 118. First surface 116 is adapted to be manipulated by a user's finger (e.g., a user's thumb) and in this example is concave in shape); and
moving the user thumb in an at least one direction to cause said substantially spherical- domed handle to travel (Col. 4:27-Col. 5:15 discloses First surface 116 is adapted to be manipulated by a user's finger (e.g., a user's thumb) and in this example is concave in shape) toward an at least one of said plurality of extreme positions equidistant from said center position.
Gassoway does not explicitly disclose “moving… toward an at least one of said plurality of extreme positions equidistant from said center position.”
In a related invention, Conro discloses a joystick apparatus having a housing and a printed circuit board in the housing (Abstract). Conro discloses moving… toward an at least one of said plurality of extreme positions equidistant from said center position (fig. 1, 11, Col. 9:22-40, Col. 11:18-64 discloses a joystick whose shaft gater 300 pivots on a U-joint assembly above PCB 120 to allow movement of the shaft relative to the center position within a circle. The shaft gater 300 may be assembled to the joystick housing 115 and may limit the travel of the shaft 200 to allow certain ranges of motion. Different shaft gaters 300 may be available. One type of shaft gater 300 is a two-way gater which may allow side-to-side movement of the shaft 300. Another type of shaft gater 300 is a four-way gater which may allow side-to-side and up-and-down motion. Finally, a third type of shaft gater 300 is an all-way gater which is circular in shape and may limit the travel to the nominal maximum angle of twenty degrees in any direction. In the various embodiments, all of the shaft gaters may limit the shaft travel to twenty degrees maximum along their allowable axes of motion.).
Both Gassoway and Conro are analogous art that discloses return-to-center joysticks with mounted printed circuit boards. Gassoway further discloses the handle of the thumbstick (joystick) can travel in any direction (Col. 4:55 – Col. 5:4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gassoway to enable moving… toward an at least one of said plurality of extreme positions equidistant from said center position, as taught by Conro, in order to permit user input throughout a greater range of directions and thereby provide more versatile control for the user of the joystick. Conro expressly discloses a U-joint arrangement allowing movement of the shaft of a joystick in at least one of a forward and a backward direction, a side-to-side direction, an axial direction or a rotating direction to provide an end user with selectable functionality (Col. 2:28-40). Therefore, applying Conro’s multidirectional movement arrangement to Gassoway’s thumbstick would have yielded the predictable result of a thumbstick capable of movement in any direction.
Regarding Claim 20, Gassoway in view of Conro discloses the method of claim 16, wherein said substantially spherical-domed handle is a first structural dome covered by a second dome (Gassoway, figs. 16-17, Col. 15:58 – Col. 16:39 discloses base 1604 comprises a dome-shaped component 1610 and a dome-shaped shell 1618 that covers dome-shaped component 1610).
Claims 2-4, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 9,868,058 to Gassoway et al. (hereinafter Gassoway) in view of U.S. Patent 10,073,488 to Conro et al. (hereinafter Conro), as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of U.S. Patent 5,406,040 to Johnson.
Regarding Claim 2, and similarly recited Claim 17, Gassoway in view of Conro discloses the joystick assembly of claim 1, but does not explicitly discloses further comprising a range control sleeve, said range control sleeve comprises a cylindrical tube having a circumference sufficient to surround said joystick shaft and a length shorter than a distance from said first to said second end.
In a related invention, Johnson discloses a joystick including a shaft and handle. Johnson discloses further comprising a range control sleeve, said range control sleeve comprises a cylindrical tube having a circumference sufficient to surround said joystick shaft and a length shorter than a distance from said first to said second end (Col. 3:35-45, Col. 3:63 – Col. 4:10 discloses a joystick with a bearing sleeve having a very low coefficient of friction is telescopically disposed on the shaft, coaxial with it, the bearing member being a sleeve received over the actuator end of the shaft).
The combination of Gassoway and Conro discloses the joystick shaft bears against the travel limit and also serves as a bearing surface for parts carried on the shaft (Conro, Col. 9:22-40). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gassoway/Conro to fit the low friction bearing sleeve on the shaft as disclosed by Johnson, in order to reduce friction and wear on the shaft over time.
Regarding Claim 3, Gassoway in view of Conro and Johnson discloses the joystick assembly of claim 2, wherein said range control sleeve enables said multi directional movement from said center position to said plurality of extreme positions equidistant from said center position (Conro, fig. 1, 11, Col. 9:22-40, Col. 11:18-64 discloses a joystick whose shaft gater 300 pivots on a U-joint assembly above PCB 120 to allow movement of the shaft relative to the center position within a circle. The shaft gater 300 may be assembled to the joystick housing 115 and may limit the travel of the shaft 200 to allow certain ranges of motion. Different shaft gaters 300 may be available. One type of shaft gater 300 is a two-way gater which may allow side-to-side movement of the shaft 300. Another type of shaft gater 300 is a four-way gater which may allow side-to-side and up-and-down motion. Finally, a third type of shaft gater 300 is an all-way gater which is circular in shape and may limit the travel to the nominal maximum angle of twenty degrees in any direction. In the various embodiments, all of the shaft gaters may limit the shaft travel to twenty degrees maximum along their allowable axes of motion.).
Regarding Claim 4, Gassoway in view of Conro and Johnson discloses the joystick assembly of claim 3, wherein said range control sleeve is made from an at least one material from a group of materials, the group consisting of polyacetal, polyoxymethylene, thermoplastic, polybutylene terephthalate, polypropylene, acetal homopolymers, and acetal copolymers (Gassoway, fig. 2, Col. 7:1-10 discloses materials of the joystick assembly may be made from materials such as plastics).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 9,764,230 to Gassoway et al. (hereinafter Gassoway) in view of U.S. Patent 10,073,488 to Conro et al. (hereinafter Conro) and further in view of Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art.
Regarding Claim 15, Gassoway in view of Conro discloses the joystick assembly of claim 14, but does not explicitly disclose wherein said operating force is less than 120g.
Applicant’s specification identifies the standard Hall effect thumbstick as having an operating force of the lever where the test position is at more than 10 degrees of deflection of the lever from 120±40gf to 80±30gf, which may be achieved through a variety of well-known means, such as providing a new spring of the assembly or modifying the existing spring of the assembly to achieve this lowered operating force (¶¶ [0059]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to set the operating force of the combined Gassoway/Conro joystick below 120gf because Conro shows that the spring sets the actuation force, so the force is a recognized result-effective variable (Col. 6:37-65). Therefore, lowering it would reduce the effort needed to move the handle and by changing the spring is, by Applicant’s own account, is well known.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure and is provided in the Notice of References cited.
/S.N.H/Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/JAMES B HULL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715