DETAILED ACTION
Internet/E-mail Communication
In order to permit communication regarding the instant application via email, Applicant is invited to file form PTO/SB/439 (Authorization for Internet Communications) or include the following statement in a separately filed document (see MPEP 502.03 II):
Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.
If such authorization is provided, please include an email address in the remarks of a filed response. The examiner’s e-mail address is Christopher.Legendre@uspto.gov.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph [0008], line 2, “gold” should be changed to --golf--.
In paragraph [0018], line 2, “gold” should be changed to --golf--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 2, “gold” should be changed to --golf--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitation “means for engaging a reversible retaining member” has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because it uses “means” / “step for” with functional language “for engaging a reversible retaining member” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 7, 9, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for failing the written description requirement.
In claim 5, the limitation recited as “means for engaging a reversible retaining member” was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that Applicant, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The limitation “means for engaging a reversible retaining member” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) but the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure omits any description of the corresponding structure of “means for engaging a reversible retaining member” - i.e., there is no description of what constitutes a “reversible retaining member” and, thus, what structure is implied and/or imparted thereby to the instant 112(f) limitation. See MPEP 2181 ll-A stating “It is not enough for the patentee simply to state or later argue that persons of ordinary skill in the art would know what structures to use to accomplish the claimed function. The court in Biomedino, LLC v. Waters Technologies Corp., 490 F.3d 946, 953[, 83 USPQ2d 1118,1123] (Fed. Cir. 2007), put the point this way: ‘The inquiry is whether one of skill in the art would understand the specification itself to disclose a structure, not simply whether that person would be capable of implementing that structure’”. To permit proper examination, this limitation is considered as corresponding to bulbous terminus 16. Due to identical instances, this rejection also applies to claims 7, 9, 11, and 13. Due to dependency, this rejection also applies to claims 12 and 13.
Claims 4-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
In claim 4, the limitation recited as “The invention of claim 1” (emphasis added) renders the claim indefinite since it lacks antecedent basis (see MPEP 2173.05(e)). Due to identical instances, this rejection also applies to claims 5-13.
In claim 10, the limitations therein render the claim indefinite since they are duplicative of antecedent limitations. Due to an identical instance, this rejection also applies to claim 13.
In claim 11, the limitations therein render the claim indefinite since they appear to recite the same features of the parent claim. Due to an identical instance, this rejection also applies to claim 12.
In claim 5, the limitation recited as “means for engaging a reversible retaining member” renders the claim indefinite since the corresponding structure of this 112(f) limitation is unclear. The limitation “means for engaging a reversible retaining member” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) but the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure omits any description of the corresponding structure of “means for engaging a reversible retaining member” - i.e., there is no description of what constitutes a “reversible retaining member” and, thus, what structure is implied and/or imparted thereby to the instant 112(f) limitation. See MPEP 2181 ll-A stating “It is not enough for the patentee simply to state or later argue that persons of ordinary skill in the art would know what structures to use to accomplish the claimed function. The court in Biomedino, LLC v. Waters Technologies Corp., 490 F.3d 946, 953[, 83 USPQ2d 1118,1123] (Fed. Cir. 2007), put the point this way: ‘The inquiry is whether one of skill in the art would understand the specification itself to disclose a structure, not simply whether that person would be capable of implementing that structure’”. To permit proper examination, this limitation is considered as corresponding to bulbous terminus 16. Due to identical instances, this rejection also applies to claims 7, 9, 11, and 13. Due to dependency, this rejection also applies to claims 12 and 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grabowski et al. (US 11,980,258 - hereafter referred to as Grabowski).
In reference to claim 1
Grabowski discloses:
A golf ball marker assembly (see Figures 1A-1D) comprising:
a golf ball marker (50)(note: the descriptor(s) golf ball and/or marker does not imbue any structure to the claimed element since it is a statement of intended use; the element 50 can be used as a golf ball marker);
a marker keeper (20) having a marker engagement face (32) and an opposite material engagement face (24); and
a projection (40) extending from said material engagement face.
In reference to claim 2
Grabowski discloses:
The widget of Claim 1 wherein said golf ball marker (50) comprises ferro-magnetic (see col.5:ll.29-33) material as a constituent portion thereof, and wherein said keeper (20) comprises a magnet (see col.5:ll.29-33).
In reference to claim 3
Grabowski discloses:
The widget of Claim 1 wherein said golf ball marker (50) comprises a magnet (see col.5:ll.29-33) and wherein said keeper (20) comprises ferro-magnetic material (see col.5:ll.29-33) as a constituent portion thereof.
In reference to claim 4 (as far as it is clear and definite)
Grabowski discloses:
The invention of Claim 1 wherein said projection (40) is an elongate member extending from a proximal end from said material engagement face (24) of said keeper (20) and terminating at a distal end with a bulbous terminus (see annotated Figure 1C below) relative to an intervening shaft (see annotated Figure 1C below) of said projection.
In reference to claim 5 (as far as it is clear and definite)
Grabowski discloses:
The invention of Claim 1 wherein said projection (40) is an elongate member extending from a proximal end from said material engagement face (24) of said keeper (20) and terminating at a distal end with a means (i.e., the bulbous terminus identified above in annotated Figure 1C) for engaging a reversible retaining member.
In reference to claim 6 (as far as it is clear and definite)
Grabowski discloses:
The invention of Claim 2 wherein said projection (40) is an elongate member extending from a proximal end from said material engagement face (24) of said keeper (20) and terminating at a distal end with a bulbous terminus (see annotated Figure 1C above) relative to an intervening shaft (see annotated Figure 1C above) of said projection.
In reference to claim 7 (as far as it is clear and definite)
Grabowski discloses:
The invention of Claim 2 wherein said projection (40) is an elongate member extending from a proximal end from said material engagement face (24) of said keeper (20) and terminating at a distal end with a means (i.e., the bulbous terminus identified above in annotated Figure 1C) for engaging a reversible retaining member.
In reference to claim 8 (as far as it is clear and definite)
Grabowski discloses:
The invention of Claim 3 wherein said projection (40) is an elongate member extending from a proximal end from said material engagement face (24) of said keeper (20) and terminating at a distal end with a bulbous terminus (see annotated Figure 1C above) relative to an intervening shaft (see annotated Figure 1C above) of said projection.
In reference to claim 9 (as far as it is clear and definite)
Grabowski discloses:
The invention of Claim 3 wherein said projection (40) is an elongate member extending from a proximal end from said material engagement face (24) of said keeper (20) and terminating at a distal end with a means (i.e., the bulbous terminus identified above in annotated Figure 1C) for engaging a reversible retaining member.
In reference to claim 10 (as far as it is clear and definite)
Grabowski discloses:
The invention of Claim 4 wherein said projection (40) is an elongate member extending from a proximal end from said material engagement face (24) of said keeper (20) and terminating at a distal end with a bulbous terminus (see annotated Figure 1C above) relative to an intervening shaft (see annotated Figure 1C above) of said projection.
In reference to claim 11 (as far as it is clear and definite)
Grabowski discloses:
The invention of Claim 4 wherein said projection (40) is an elongate member extending from a proximal end from said material engagement face (24) of said keeper (20) and terminating at a distal end with a means (i.e., the bulbous terminus identified above in annotated Figure 1C) for engaging a reversible retaining member.
In reference to claim 12 (as far as it is clear and definite)
Grabowski discloses:
The invention of Claim 5 wherein said projection (40) is an elongate member extending from a proximal end from said material engagement face (24) of said keeper (20) and terminating at a distal end with a bulbous terminus (see annotated Figure 1C above) relative to an intervening shaft (see annotated Figure 1C above) of said projection.
In reference to claim 13 (as far as it is clear and definite)
Grabowski discloses:
The invention of Claim 5 wherein said projection (40) is an elongate member extending from a proximal end from said material engagement face (24) of said keeper (20) and terminating at a distal end with a means (i.e., the bulbous terminus identified above in annotated Figure 1C) for engaging a reversible retaining member.
Claims 1, 2, 5, 7, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ouellette (US 2006/0240913).
In reference to claim 1
Ouellette discloses:
A golf ball marker assembly comprising:
a golf ball marker (60);
a marker keeper (30) having a marker engagement face (32) and an opposite material engagement face (34); and
a projection (40) extending from said material engagement face.
In reference to claim 2
Ouellette discloses:
The widget of Claim 1 wherein said golf ball marker (60) comprises ferro-magnetic material (see par. [0032]) as a constituent portion thereof, and wherein said keeper (30) comprises a magnet (see par. [0032]).
In reference to claim 5 (as far as it is clear and definite)
Ouellette discloses:
The invention of Claim 1 wherein said projection (40) is an elongate member extending from a proximal end from said material engagement face (34) of said keeper (30) and terminating at a distal end with a means for engaging a reversible retaining member (note: the distal end of the identified projection is capable of engaging with any correspondingly sized/designed coupler, such as element 20).
In reference to claim 7 (as far as it is clear and definite)
Ouellette discloses:
The invention of Claim 2 wherein said projection (40) is an elongate member extending from a proximal end from said material engagement face (34) of said keeper (30) and terminating at a distal end with a means for engaging a reversible retaining member (note: the distal end of the identified projection is capable of engaging with any correspondingly sized/designed coupler, such as element 20).
In reference to claim 13 (as far as it is clear and definite)
Ouellette discloses:
The invention of Claim 5 wherein said projection (40) is an elongate member extending from a proximal end from said material engagement face (34) of said keeper (30) and terminating at a distal end with a means for engaging a reversible retaining member (note: the distal end of the identified projection is capable of engaging with any correspondingly sized/designed coupler, such as element 20).
Claims 1, 3, 5, 9, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lopez (US 6,422,955).
In reference to claim 1
Lopez discloses:
A golf ball marker assembly comprising:
a golf ball marker (30);
a marker keeper (12) having a marker engagement face (14) and an opposite material engagement face (18); and
a projection (22) extending from said material engagement face.
In reference to claim 3
Lopez discloses:
The widget of Claim 1 wherein said golf ball marker (30) comprises a magnet (see col.3:ll.9-11) and wherein said keeper (12) comprises ferro-magnetic material (see col.3:ll.11-13) as a constituent portion thereof.
In reference to claim 5 (as far as it is clear and definite)
Lopez discloses:
The invention of Claim 1 wherein said projection (22) is an elongate member extending from a proximal end from said material engagement face (18) of said keeper (12) and terminating at a distal end with a means for engaging a reversible retaining member (note: the distal end of the identified projection is capable of engaging with any correspondingly sized/designed coupler, such as element 28).
In reference to claim 9 (as far as it is clear and definite)
Lopez discloses:
The invention of Claim 3 wherein said projection (22) is an elongate member extending from a proximal end from said material engagement face (18) of said keeper (12) and terminating at a distal end with a means for engaging a reversible retaining member (note: the distal end of the identified projection is capable of engaging with any correspondingly sized/designed coupler, such as element 28).
In reference to claim 13 (as far as it is clear and definite)
Lopez discloses:
The invention of Claim 5 wherein said projection (22) is an elongate member extending from a proximal end from said material engagement face (18) of said keeper (12) and terminating at a distal end with a means for engaging a reversible retaining member (note: the distal end of the identified projection is capable of engaging with any correspondingly sized/designed coupler, such as element 28).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouellette in view of Lee (KR 200351488 Y1; see attached copy and translation).
In reference to claims 4, 6, and 12 (as far as they are clear and definite)
Ouellette discloses:
The invention of Claim 1 / Claim 2 / Claim 5, wherein said projection (40) is an elongate member extending from a proximal end from said material engagement face (34) of said keeper (30) and terminating at a distal end.
Ouellette does not disclose:
said distal end having a bulbous terminus relative to an intervening shaft of said projection.
Lee discloses:
a golf ball marker (see Figure 9) comprising a projection (36 & 37) extending from a bottom surface, the projection having a cylindrical neck portion (37) and a bulbous terminus (36) that permits securement in the hole (42 or 43 - Figure 10) of a garment.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Ouellette to make the projection include a bulbous terminus, as disclosed by Lee, for the purpose of permitting securement to a hole of a garment.
Ouellette in view of Lee therefore addresses:
said distal end having a bulbous terminus (Lee - 36) relative to an intervening shaft (Lee - 37) of said projection.
In reference to claim 10 (as far as it is clear and definite)
Ouellette in view of Lee addresses:
The invention of Claim 4 wherein said projection (Ouellette - 40, as modified by Lee to have a bulbous terminus) is an elongate member extending from a proximal end from said material engagement face (Ouellette - 34) of said keeper (Ouellette - 30) and terminating at a distal end with a bulbous terminus (as in Lee) relative to an intervening shaft of said projection.
In reference to claim 11 (as far as it is clear and definite)
Ouellette in view of Lee addresses:
The invention of Claim 4 wherein said projection (Ouellette - 40, as modified by Lee to have a bulbous terminus) is an elongate member extending from a proximal end from said material engagement face (Ouellette - 34) of said keeper (Ouellette - 30) and terminating at a distal end with a means (i.e., a bulbous terminus, as in Lee) for engaging a reversible retaining member.
Claims 4, 8, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lopez in view of Lee.
In reference to claims 4, 8, and 12 (as far as they are clear and definite)
Lopez discloses:
The invention of Claim 1 / Claim 3 / Claim 5, wherein said projection (22) is an elongate member extending from a proximal end from said material engagement face (18) of said keeper (12) and terminating at a distal end.
Lopez does not disclose:
said distal end having a bulbous terminus relative to an intervening shaft of said projection.
Lee discloses:
a golf ball marker (see Figure 9) comprising a projection (36 & 37) extending from a bottom surface, the projection having a cylindrical neck portion (37) and a bulbous terminus (36) that permits securement in the hole (42 or 43 - Figure 10) of a garment.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Lopez to make the projection include a bulbous terminus, as disclosed by Lee, for the purpose of permitting securement to a hole of a garment.
Lopez in view of Lee therefore addresses:
said distal end having a bulbous terminus (Lee - 36) relative to an intervening shaft (Lee - 37) of said projection.
In reference to claim 10 (as far as it is clear and definite)
Lopez in view of Lee addresses:
The invention of Claim 4 wherein said projection (Lopez - 22, as modified by Lee to have a bulbous terminus) is an elongate member extending from a proximal end from said material engagement face (Lopez - 18) of said keeper (Lopez - 12) and terminating at a distal end with a bulbous terminus (as in Lee) relative to an intervening shaft of said projection.
In reference to claim 11 (as far as it is clear and definite)
Lopez in view of Lee addresses:
The invention of Claim 4 wherein said projection (Lopez - 22, as modified by Lee to have a bulbous terminus) is an elongate member extending from a proximal end from said material engagement face (Lopez - 18) of said keeper (Lopez - 12) and terminating at a distal end with a means (i.e., a bulbous terminus, as in Lee) for engaging a reversible retaining member.
Citations of Pertinent Art
The following art is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
All cited references disclose elements having features in common with Applicant’s disclosed invention.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER R LEGENDRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711