2. EXAMINER’S NOTE: The claims have been reviewed and considered under the new guidance pursuant to the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (PEG 2019) issued January 7, 2019.
3. This communication is in response to Applicant’s claims filed on 14 February 2025. Claims 1-20 remain pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The Information Disclosure Statement respectfully submitted on 14 February 2025 has been considered by the Examiner.
Continued Prosecution Application
5. This application is a continuation of Serial No. 17/449,564 filed on 30 September 2021, which is now US Patent No. 12,284,174, issued on 22 April 2025.
Double Patenting
Instant Application 19/054,398
Issued Application 12,284,174
1. A method comprising: generating an Non-Fungible Token (NFT) that comprises a media object; allocating the NFT to a user; receiving a request to generate an open-edition of the NFT; generating the open-edition of the NFT based on the request; incrementing a count associated with the open-edition of the NFT; and causing display of the count with the open-edition of the NFT.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the media object comprises an Augmented-Reality (AR) filter.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein generating the open-edition of the NFT further comprises: storing a record of the open-edition in a decentralized database, the record comprising a timestamp and an identifier of the media object.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: determining a maximum number of open-editions permitted; and restricting generation of additional open-editions when the count reaches the maximum number.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: detecting a change in ownership of the NFT; and initiating a minting period during which requests to generate open-editions are accepted.
6. The method of claim 5, wherein the minting period is defined by one or more of: a period of time; and a maximum number of open-editions.
7. The method of claim 6, wherein causing display of the count comprises: generating a graphical user interface that displays the count alongside attributes of the open- edition NFT, wherein the attributes comprise one or more of: a description; a creator identifier; an owner identifier; and auction details.
8. A system comprising: a memory; and at least one hardware processor coupled to the memory and comprising instructions that causes the system to perform operations comprising: generating an Non-Fungible Token (NFT) that comprises a media object; allocating the NFT to a user; receiving a request to generate an open-edition of the NFT; generating the open-edition of the NFT based on the request; incrementing a count associated with the open-edition of the NFT; and causing display of the count with the open-edition of the NFT.
9. The system of claim 8, wherein the media object comprises an Augmented-Reality (AR) filter.
10. The system of claim 8, wherein generating the open-edition of the NFT further comprises: storing a record of the open-edition in a decentralized database, the record comprising a timestamp and an identifier of the media object.
11. The system of claim 8, wherein the method further comprises: determining a maximum number of open-editions permitted; and restricting generation of additional open-editions when the count reaches the maximum number.
12. The system of claim 8, wherein the method further comprises: detecting a change in ownership of the NFT; and initiating a minting period during which requests to generate open-editions are accepted.
13. The system of claim 12, wherein the minting period is defined by one or more of: a period of time; and a maximum number of open-editions.
14. The system of claim 8, wherein causing display of the count comprises: generating a graphical user interface that displays the count alongside attributes of the open- edition NFT, wherein the attributes comprise one or more of: a description; a creator identifier; an owner identifier; and auction details.
15. A non-transitory machine-readable storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a machine, cause the machine to perform operations including: generating an Non-Fungible Token (NFT) that comprises a media object; allocating the NFT to a user; receiving a request to generate an open-edition of the NFT; generating the open-edition of the NFT based on the request; incrementing a count associated with the open-edition of the NFT; and causing display of the count with the open-edition of the NFT.
16. The non-transitory machine-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the media object comprises an Augmented-Reality (AR) filter.
17. The non-transitory machine-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein generating the open-edition of the NFT further comprises: storing a record of the open-edition in a decentralized database, the record comprising a timestamp and an identifier of the media object.
18. The non-transitory machine-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the method further comprises: determining a maximum number of open-editions permitted; and restricting generation of additional open-editions when the count reaches the maximum number.
19. The non-transitory machine-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the method further comprises: detecting a change in ownership of the NFT; and initiating a minting period during which requests to generate open-editions are accepted.
20. The non-transitory machine-readable storage medium of claim 19, wherein the minting period is defined by one or more of: a period of time; and a maximum number of open-editions.
1. A method comprising: minting a Non-Fungible Token (NFT) that comprises a media object and mutable metadata that define graphical attributes of the NFT; allocating the NFT to a user of a client device; granting, for a predefined period of time initiated by the allocating the NFT to the user of the client device, the user of the client device a permission to change the mutable metadata of the NFT until an expiration of the predefined period of time responsive to the allocating the NFT to the user of the client device; generating an open-edition of the NFT, the open-edition of the NFT comprising a reference to the mutable metadata within a decentralized database; receiving, from the client device associated with the user, a change to the mutable metadata that defines the graphical attributes of the open edition of the NFT during the predefined period of time; and updating the graphical attributes of the open-edition of the NFT based on the change made to the mutable metadata stored within the decentralized database.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the receiving the change to the mutable metadata further comprises: storing a record of the change to the mutable metadata within a decentralized database, the record comprising an attribute of the change, a timestamp, and an identifier of the media object.
3. The method of claim 2, wherein the reference to the mutable metadata comprises a reference to the record within the decentralized database.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: receiving request to access the open-edition of the NFT; incrementing a count that corresponds with the open-edition of the NFT based on the request to access the open-edition of the NFT; and generating the open-edition of the NFT based on the count.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the media object comprises an Augmented-Reality (AR) filter.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the receiving the change to the mutable metadata further comprises: receiving a request to access the NFT from the user of the client device; authenticating the user based on the request to access the NFT; and causing display of a menu element to make changes to the mutable metadata of the NFT at the client device.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the user is a first user of a first client device, and the method further comprises: allocating the NFT from the first user of the first client device to a second user of a second client device; granting the second user of the second client device the permission to change the mutable metadata of the NFT based on the allocating the NFT to the second user of the second client device.
8. A system comprising: a memory; and at least one hardware processor coupled to the memory and comprising instructions that causes the system to perform operations comprising: minting a Non-Fungible Token (NFT) that comprises a media object and mutable metadata that define graphical attributes of the NFT; allocating the NFT to a user of a client device; granting, for a predefined period of time initiated by the allocating the NFT to the user of the client device, the user of the client device a permission to change the mutable metadata of the NFT until an expiration of the predefined period of time responsive to the allocating the NFT to the user of the client device; generating an open-edition of the NFT, the open-edition of the NFT comprising a reference to the mutable metadata within a decentralized database; receiving, from the client device associated with the user, a change to the mutable metadata that defines the graphical attributes of the open edition of the NFT during the predefined period of time; and updating the graphical attributes of the open-edition of the NFT based on the change made to the mutable metadata stored within the decentralized database.
9. The system of claim 8, wherein the receiving the change to the mutable metadata further comprises: storing a record of the change to the mutable metadata within a decentralized database, the record comprising an attribute of the change, a timestamp, and an identifier of the media object.
10. The system of claim 9, wherein the reference to the mutable metadata comprises a reference to the record within the decentralized database.
11. The system of claim 8, wherein the operations further comprise: receiving request to access the open-edition of the NFT; incrementing a count that corresponds with the open-edition of the NFT based on the request to access the open-edition of the NFT; and generating the open-edition of the NFT based on the count.
12. The system of claim 8, wherein the media object comprises an Augmented-Reality (AR) filter.
13. The system of claim 8, wherein the receiving the change to the mutable metadata further comprises: receiving a request to access the NFT from the user of the client device; authenticating the user based on the request to access the NFT; and causing display of a menu element to make changes to the mutable metadata of the NFT at the client device.
14. The system of claim 8, wherein the user is a first user of a first client device, and the operations further comprise: allocating the NFT from the first user of the first client device to a second user of a second client device; granting the second user of the second client device the permission to change the mutable metadata of the NFT based on the allocating the NFT to the second user of the second client device.
15. A non-transitory machine-readable storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a machine, cause the machine to perform operations including: minting a Non-Fungible Token (NFT) that comprises a media object and mutable metadata that define graphical attributes of the NFT; allocating the NFT to a user of a client device; granting, for a predefined period of time initiated by the allocating the NFT to the user of the client device, the user of the client device a permission to change the mutable metadata of the NFT until an expiration of the predefined period of time responsive to the allocating the NFT to the user of the client device; generating an open-edition of the NFT, the open-edition of the NFT comprising a reference to the mutable metadata within a decentralized database; receiving, from the client device associated with the user, a change to the mutable metadata that defines the graphical attributes of the open edition of the NFT during the predefined period of time; and updating the graphical attributes of the open-edition of the NFT based on the change made to the mutable metadata stored within the decentralized database.
16. The non-transitory machine-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the receiving the change to the mutable metadata further comprises: storing a record of the change to the mutable metadata within a decentralized database, the record comprising an attribute of the change, a timestamp, and an identifier of the media object.
17. The non-transitory machine-readable storage medium of claim 16, wherein the reference to the mutable metadata comprises a reference to the record within the decentralized database.
18. The non-transitory machine-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the operations further comprise: receiving request to access the open-edition of the NFT; incrementing a count that corresponds with the open-edition of the NFT based on the request to access the open-edition of the NFT; and generating the open-edition of the NFT based on the count.
19. The non-transitory machine-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the media object comprises an Augmented-Reality (AR) filter.
20. The non-transitory machine-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the receiving the change to the mutable metadata further comprises: receiving a request to access the NFT from the user of the client device; authenticating the user based on the request to access the NFT; and causing display of a menu element to make changes to the mutable metadata of the NFT at the client device.
7. Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,284,174. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because in both instances, the claims are drawn towards a method and system for one-of-a-kind to open edition non-fungible token dynamics. The omission of “a mutable metadata that define graphical attributes of the NFT” does not change the scope of the claims for the instant application and the issued application. Similarly, in both instances, a similarity measure may be attained wherein generating NFT based on a media object comprising an AR filter for providing a “one-of-a-kind” to “open-edition NFT” is being performed.
Claim Objections
8. Claims 5 and 6 are objected to because the lines are crowded too closely together, making reading difficult. Substitute claims with lines one and one-half or double spaced on good quality paper are required. See 37 CFR 1.52(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 1, 3-8, 10-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldston et al. (Pub No. 2021/0248214) in view of Guinard et al. (Pub No. 2021/0067342).
Referring to the rejection of claim 1, Goldston et al. discloses a method comprising:
generating an Non-Fungible Token (NFT) that comprises a media object; (See Goldston et al., para. 10, 12, and 212, i.e., The ownership and content information can include information regarding who owns the item for which the NFT is going to be minted, what their ownership share is, etc. The NFT comprises a media object which is defined as the work being transferred, which could be, for example, ownership rights or exclusive or non-exclusive license rights (e.g., any or all of the rights to use, display, perform, reproduce, create derivative works, etc.) in and to the work that are being sold. The sale could be the sale of all or part of the work (e.g., the entire work, lyrics only, music only, soundtrack only, video only, script only, stanza only, a certain verse, image only, and so on) and mutable metadata which is defined as creating, via the digital vault, a nonfungible token (NFT) container file and populating the NFT container file with the salable content item and NFT metadata pertaining to the salable content item)
allocating the NFT to a user; (See Goldston et al., para. 10 and 207, i.e., a content owner owns some or all of the rights associated with a media content item managed in the vault, which allows the content owner to sell an NFT embodying the ownership or other rights to the asset to be divested. When the sale is completed, the system allocates the rights to the container and the purchased rights to the purchaser)
receiving request to access the open-edition of the NFT; (See Goldston et al., para. 91 and 148, i.e., receive a request to access the NFT)
generating the open-edition of the NFT based on the request. (See Goldston et al., para. 91 and 148, i.e., generated the NFT based on the count)
incrementing a count associated with the open-edition of the NFT; (See Goldston et al., para. 91 and 148, i.e., a digital vault comprises counters and tracking databases used to increment the count that corresponds with the NFT)
Goldston et al. fail to explicitly disclose and causing display of the count with the open-edition of the NFT
Guinard et al. discloses a system and method for decentralized generation and management of product identifiers and metadata.
Guinard et al. discloses and causing display of the count with the open-edition of the NFT. (See Guinard et al., para. 105-108 and 117-120, Figures 3 and 4, responsive to a request, the NFT authority, item 418 generates an open-edition NFT, item 420 comprising a reference to the metadata stored within a decentralized database, item 430. An open-edition of the NFT is defined as metadata that is writable only by the owner wherein changes such as read/modify/write access can be performed by associating globally unique product identifiers with a one-of-a-kind or many-to-one NFT, item 322 based in part on a smart contract which is based on a Ethereum blockchain.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before
the effective filing date of the invention to combine Goldston et al.’s tokenized media content management modified with Guinard et al.’s system and method for decentralized generation and management of product identifiers and metadata. Motivation for such an implementation would enable a computer system to generate an NFT as an identifier of the set of globally unique product identifiers using a blockchain, product metadata for the globally unique product identifier and retrieving the product metadata in a decentralized manner that is stored in a decentralized database. (See Guinard et al., para. 19)
Referring to the rejection of claims 3, 10, and 17, (Goldston et al. modified with Guinard et al.) discloses wherein generating the open-edition of the NFT further comprises: storing a record of the open-edition in a decentralized database, the record comprising a timestamp and an identifier of the media object. (See Guinard et al., para., 119-120 and 126, i.e., storing a record of open-edition NFT within a decentralized database, includes a timestamp and identification)
The rationale for combining Goldston et al. in view of Guinard et al. is the same as claim 1.
Referring to the rejection of claims 4, 11, and 18, (Goldston et al. modified with Guinard et al.) discloses wherein the method further comprises: determining a maximum number of open-editions permitted; and restricting generation of additional open-editions when the count reaches the maximum number. (See Goldston et al., para. 102 and 111, i.e., The play module may restrict the reviewing user to stream using only the streaming players selected by the owner, such as through the sharing module. Users and the system may also store NFT metadata in the container file. NFT metadata may include metadata specific to a contemplated NFT transaction such as, for example, ownership rights for the salable item subject to the NFT transaction; owner information including contact information; token/s NFT information such as: ID/Pointer to the salable item, restrictions on the item (e.g., nNumber of play limitations, Time expiration, ID/pointer to artwork, Smart contract information (e.g., ID and pointers, user-friendly readable text information, etc.); NFT physical or service perks information and tracking (e.g., tickets, concierge services, physical memorabilia, CD, Vinyl Record, etc.); contracts and agreements and other relevant information)
Referring to the rejection of claims 5, 12, and 19, (Goldston et al. modified with Guinard et al.) discloses wherein the method further comprises: detecting a change in ownership of the NFT; and initiating a minting period during which requests to generate open-editions are accepted. (See Goldston et al., para. 123-124, i.e., the custodian or custodians may be dynamic in that they can change over time as permissions change, such as when new persons are given access levels to view/modify content, or permissions are revoked from other persons. The system may further be configured such that when the file is opened, the viewer application verifies the data in the local copy of the container against the data in the primary storage location (e.g., the data stored in the cloud) to determine whether any changes have been made since the transfer. If any changes were made, those changes may be highlighted to the viewer. Additionally, if authorized, an updated version of the file can be downloaded to the viewer. Likewise, changes made by a file recipient can be shared with other custodians (e.g., original content creators, other authorized viewers or editors) and they can be highlighted so that changes can be easily identified. Embodiments may require that such changes be approved by an authorized custodian prior to acceptance.)
Referring to the rejection of claims 6, 13, and 20, (Goldston et al. modified with Guinard et al.) discloses wherein the minting period is defined by one or more of: a period of time; (See Goldston et al., para. 212, i.e., The NFT description may include the ownership and content information can include information regarding who owns the item for which the NFT is going to be minted, what their ownership share is) and a maximum number of open-editions. (See Goldston et al., para. 91, i.e., The sharing user interface may also allow the owner to set streaming limitations. The limits may be set with respect to an individual reviewing user or a group of reviewing users, and with respect to an individual media item or a group of media items. The total number of plays may be limited. Total amount of time played may be limited. Availability of media items for playing may be limited, such as for fixed deadline or a period beginning from some milestone such as first play or log in.)
Referring to the rejection of claims 7 and 14, (Goldston et al. modified with Guinard et al.) discloses wherein causing display of the count comprises: generating a graphical user interface that displays the count alongside attributes of the open-edition NFT, wherein the attributes comprise one or more of: a description; a creator identifier; an owner identifier; and auction details. (See Goldston et al., para. 57 and 205, i.e., Users of the system may also create other property items that may be associated with works and offer those appropriate items for sale through the system, for example, as a package with the rights in the work being sold through an NFT, transferring media content items and related goods and services, whether directly or via an auction, to third parties. The NFT marketplace can be configured to conduct auctions for the salable item. As described above, purchasers or potential purchasers can be given access (e.g. controlled Access) to items or information in the vault pertaining to the salable item)
Referring to the rejection of claim 8, Goldston et al. modified with Guinard et al.) discloses a system comprising:
a memory; (See Goldston et al., para. 219, i.e., memory, item 540)
and at least one hardware processor coupled to the memory and comprising instructions that causes the system to perform operations comprising: (See Goldston et al., para. 219, i.e., processor, item 520)
generating an Non-Fungible Token (NFT) that comprises a media object; (See Goldston et al., para. 10, 12, and 212, i.e., The ownership and content information can include information regarding who owns the item for which the NFT is going to be minted, what their ownership share is, etc. The NFT comprises a media object which is defined as the work being transferred, which could be, for example, ownership rights or exclusive or non-exclusive license rights (e.g., any or all of the rights to use, display, perform, reproduce, create derivative works, etc.) in and to the work that are being sold. The sale could be the sale of all or part of the work (e.g., the entire work, lyrics only, music only, soundtrack only, video only, script only, stanza only, a certain verse, image only, and so on) and mutable metadata which is defined as creating, via the digital vault, a nonfungible token (NFT) container file and populating the NFT container file with the salable content item and NFT metadata pertaining to the salable content item)
allocating the NFT to a user; (See Goldston et al., para. 10 and 207, i.e., a content owner owns some or all of the rights associated with a media content item managed in the vault, which allows the content owner to sell an NFT embodying the ownership or other rights to the asset to be divested. When the sale is completed, the system allocates the rights to the container and the purchased rights to the purchaser)
receiving request to access the open-edition of the NFT; (See Goldston et al., para. 91 and 148, i.e., receive a request to access the NFT)
generating the open-edition of the NFT based on the request. (See Goldston et al., para. 91 and 148, i.e., generated the NFT based on the count)
incrementing a count associated with the open-edition of the NFT; (See Goldston et al., para. 91 and 148, i.e., a digital vault comprises counters and tracking databases used to increment the count that corresponds with the NFT)
Goldston et al. fail to explicitly disclose and causing display of the count with the open-edition of the NFT
Guinard et al. discloses a system and method for decentralized generation and management of product identifiers and metadata.
Guinard et al. discloses and causing display of the count with the open-edition of the NFT. (See Guinard et al., para. 105-108 and 117-120, Figures 3 and 4, responsive to a request, the NFT authority, item 418 generates an open-edition NFT, item 420 comprising a reference to the metadata stored within a decentralized database, item 430. An open-edition of the NFT is defined as metadata that is writable only by the owner wherein changes such as read/modify/write access can be performed by associating globally unique product identifiers with a one-of-a-kind or many-to-one NFT, item 322 based in part on a smart contract which is based on a Ethereum blockchain.)
The rationale for combining Goldston et al. in view of Guinard et al. is the same as claim 1.
Referring to the rejection of claim 15, Goldston et al. modified with Guinard et al.) discloses a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a machine, cause the machine to perform operations including: (See Goldston et al., para. 225, i.e., storage medium, item 560)
generating an Non-Fungible Token (NFT) that comprises a media object; (See Goldston et al., para. 10, 12, and 212, i.e., The ownership and content information can include information regarding who owns the item for which the NFT is going to be minted, what their ownership share is, etc. The NFT comprises a media object which is defined as the work being transferred, which could be, for example, ownership rights or exclusive or non-exclusive license rights (e.g., any or all of the rights to use, display, perform, reproduce, create derivative works, etc.) in and to the work that are being sold. The sale could be the sale of all or part of the work (e.g., the entire work, lyrics only, music only, soundtrack only, video only, script only, stanza only, a certain verse, image only, and so on) and mutable metadata which is defined as creating, via the digital vault, a nonfungible token (NFT) container file and populating the NFT container file with the salable content item and NFT metadata pertaining to the salable content item)
allocating the NFT to a user; (See Goldston et al., para. 10 and 207, i.e., a content owner owns some or all of the rights associated with a media content item managed in the vault, which allows the content owner to sell an NFT embodying the ownership or other rights to the asset to be divested. When the sale is completed, the system allocates the rights to the container and the purchased rights to the purchaser)
receiving request to access the open-edition of the NFT; (See Goldston et al., para. 91 and 148, i.e., receive a request to access the NFT)
generating the open-edition of the NFT based on the request. (See Goldston et al., para. 91 and 148, i.e., generated the NFT based on the count)
incrementing a count associated with the open-edition of the NFT; (See Goldston et al., para. 91 and 148, i.e., a digital vault comprises counters and tracking databases used to increment the count that corresponds with the NFT)
Goldston et al. fail to explicitly disclose and causing display of the count with the open-edition of the NFT
Guinard et al. discloses a system and method for decentralized generation and management of product identifiers and metadata.
Guinard et al. discloses and causing display of the count with the open-edition of the NFT. (See Guinard et al., para. 105-108 and 117-120, Figures 3 and 4, responsive to a request, the NFT authority, item 418 generates an open-edition NFT, item 420 comprising a reference to the metadata stored within a decentralized database, item 430. An open-edition of the NFT is defined as metadata that is writable only by the owner wherein changes such as read/modify/write access can be performed by associating globally unique product identifiers with a one-of-a-kind or many-to-one NFT, item 322 based in part on a smart contract which is based on a Ethereum blockchain.)
The rationale for combining Goldston et al. in view of Guinard et al. is the same as claim 1.
12. Claims 2, 9, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldston et al. (Pub No. 2021/0248214) and Guinard et al. (Pub No. 2021/0067342) in further view of Kokkas et al. (Pub No. 2011/0153198). The combination of Goldston et al. and Guinard et al. discloses the invention as shown above, however, Goldston et al., nor Guinard et al. explicitly disclose an Augmented-Reality (AR) filter. Kokkas et al. discloses a method and system for displaying navigation instructions using an augmented reality concept.
Referring to the rejection of claims 2, 9, and 16, (Goldston et al. and Guinard et al. modified by Kokkas et al.) discloses wherein the media object comprises an Augmented-Reality (AR) filter. (See Kokkas et al., para. 45, 52-53, 80-81 and Fig. 6, i.e., the augmented reality filter is defined as a 3D object data with an interactive display of augmented-reality navigation information through the use of a lens or Kalman filter)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before
the effective filing date of the invention to combine Goldston et al.’s tokenized media content management and Guinard et al.’s system and method for decentralized generation and management of product identifiers and metadata modified with Kokkas et al.’s method and system for displaying navigation instructions using an augmented reality concept.
Motivation for such an implementation would enable a computer system to generate an NFT as an identifier of the set of globally unique product identifiers using a blockchain, product metadata for the globally unique product identifier and retrieving the product metadata in a decentralized manner that is stored in a decentralized database. (See Guinard et al., para. 19)
Motivation for such an implementation would enable an interactive experience of a real-world environment enhanced by computer-generated perceptual information. (See Kokkas et al., Abstract)
Conclusion
/COURTNEY D FIELDS/Examiner, Art Unit 2436 June 25, 2026
/SHEWAYE GELAGAY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2436