DETAILED ACTION
Summary of Response
2. Applicant’s 07/06/2026 response includes: (a) claim 31 is new; (b) claims 1, 5, 20-22 and 29-30 are currently amended; (c) claims 2-4, 6-16, 19 and 23-28 are original; and (d) the grounds for rejection set forth in the 03/04/2026 office action are traversed. Claims 1-31 are currently pending and an office action follows:
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments filed 07/06/2026 with respect to the prior art rejection of claims 1-5, 10 and 14-30 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection is made of: (i) claims 1-5, 14-18, 21-23 and 29-30 in view of newly-cited International Patent Pub. No. WO 2022/246399 A1 to Stolzenberg et al. (“Stolzenberg”); claim 6 in view of Stolzenberg combined with newly-cited U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0369830 A1 to Alonso Ruiz et al.; (iii) claim 19 in view of Stolzenberg combined with previously-cited prior art; (iv) claims 24-25 in view of Stolzenberg combined with newly-cited U.S. Patent No. 10,962,809 B1 to Castañeda; and (v) claim 20 in view of Stolzenberg combined with newly-cited U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2023/0062433 A1 to Judi et al. (“Judi”) and previously-cited prior art. Applicant’s remarks appear to be moot in view of these new grounds of rejection.
Claims 7-8, 10-13, 26-28 and 31 would be allowed if rewritten in independent format as explained below. Claim 9 includes a new objection that if overcome would be allowed if rewritten in independent format.
Claim Objections
4. Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9 at line 2 includes “satisfies first criteria”, which is grammatically incorrect. This objection may be overcome, for example, by amending it to “satisfies a first criteria”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 at lines 6-7 includes “satisfies second criteria”, which is grammatically incorrect. This objection may be overcome, for example, by amending it to “satisfies a second criteria”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
6. Claims 1-5, 14-18, 21-23 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by International Patent Pub. No. WO 2022/246399 A1 to Stolzenberg et al. (“Stolzenberg”).
As to claim 1, Stolzenberg discloses a method (FIG. 11: 1104, 1108, 1120; ¶¶0028, 0120, 0123-0124) comprising:
at a computer system(non-display portion of 100/500)(FIGs. 1, 3: 118, 302; ¶¶0041, 0053, 0061, 0121) in communication with an environment viewing component(display portion of 100/500)(FIG. 3: arrows between 302, 310 and 316; ¶¶0003, 0007, 0051, 0052, 0061, 0075, 0079, 0121) and one or more input devices(100/500)(FIGs. 1, 3, 5: 124 or 502; ¶¶0025, 0044, especially – “The glasses 100 may also include a touchpad 124 mounted to or integrated with one or both of the left temple piece 120 and right temple piece 122”, 0061, 0075-0076, 0121):
while an environment is visible (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0047, 0079, 0122), via the environment viewing component(display portion of 100/500)(FIG. 3; ¶¶0003, 0007, 0051, 0061, 0079, 0121), from a current viewpoint of a user (FIGs. 2, 6, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0045, 0047, 0059, 0079, 0122) of the computer system(non-display portion of 100/500)(FIGs. 1, 3: 118, 302; ¶¶0041, 0053, 0061, 0121),
detecting, via the one or more input devices(100/500)(FIGs. 1, 3, 5: 124 or 502; ¶¶0025, 0044, especially – “The glasses 100 may also include a touchpad 124 mounted to or integrated with one or both of the left temple piece 120 and right temple piece 122”, 0061, 0075-0076, 0121), a first input on a support element(124/502 on one of 120 and 122 of 102)(FIGs. 1, 5; ¶¶0025, 0029, 0040, 0044, 0075-0077, 0081, 0090, 0097, 0103 - detecting a touch input on 124/502 on one of 120 and 122 of 102, e.g., a tap or a horizontal swipe gesture {e.g., left}, or a vertical swipe gesture) of the computer system(non-display portion of 100/500)(FIGs. 1, 3: 118, 302; ¶¶0041, 0053, 0061, 0121) corresponding to a request to perform an operation that changes an appearance of at least a portion of the environment (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a horizontal touch gesture results in content moving horizontally {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612); a vertical touch gesture results in content moving vertically; and a tap results in the zooming of content {FIGs. 9B: 912, 918}) when viewed via the environment viewing component(display portion of 100/500)(FIG. 3; ¶¶0003, 0007, 0051, 0061, 0079, 0121); and
in response to detecting the first input (FIGs. 1, 5; ¶¶0025, 0029, 0044, 0075-0077, 0081, 0090, 0097, 0103 - detecting a touch input on 124/502 on one of 120 and 122, e.g., a tap or a horizontal swipe gesture {e.g., left}, or a vertical swipe gesture):
in accordance with a determination that the first input (FIGs. 1, 5; ¶¶0025, 0029, 0044, 0075-0077, 0081, 0090, 0097, 0103 - detecting a touch input on 124/502 on a one of 120 and 122, e.g., a tap or a horizontal swipe gesture {e.g., left}, or a vertical swipe gesture) includes contact on a first surface of the support element(124/502 on a first one of 120 and 122 on 102)(FIGs. 1, 5; ¶¶0025, 0029, 0040, 0044, 0075-0077, 0081, 0090, 0097, 0103 - detecting a touch input on 124/502 on a first one of 120 and 122, e.g., a tap or a horizontal swipe gesture, or a vertical swipe gesture), performing a first operation that changes a first parameter corresponding to an appearance of the at least the portion of the environment (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0027, especially – “display coordinates”, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a first one of the following: a horizontal or vertical touch gesture results in content moving horizontally {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612} or vertically in which the changed parameter is location coordinates; and a tap results in the zooming of content {FIGs. 9B: 912, 918}, in which the changed parameter is zoom level) when viewed via the environment viewing component(display portion of 100/500)(FIG. 3; ¶¶0003, 0007, 0051, 0061, 0079, 0121); and
in accordance with a determination that the first input (FIGs. 1, 5; ¶¶0025, 0029, 0044, 0075-0077, 0081, 0090, 0097, 0103 - detecting a touch input on 124/502 on a one of 120 and 122, e.g., a tap or a horizontal swipe gesture {e.g., left}, or a vertical swipe gesture) includes contact on a second surface(124/502 on a second one of 120 and 122 on 102)(FIGs. 1, 5; ¶¶0025, 0029, 0040, 0044, 0075-0077, 0081, 0090, 0097, 0103 - detecting a touch input on 124/502 on a second one of 120 and 122, e.g., a tap or a horizontal swipe gesture, or a vertical swipe gesture), different from the first surface(124/502 on a first one of 120 and 122 on 102)(FIGs. 1, 5; ¶¶0025, 0029, 0040, 0044, 0075-0077, 0081, 0090, 0097, 0103 - detecting a touch input on 124/502 on a first one of 120 and 122, e.g., a tap or a horizontal swipe gesture, or a vertical swipe gesture), of the support element(102)(FIGs. 1, 5; ¶¶0025, 0029, 0040, 0044, 0075-0077, 0081, 0090, 0097, 0103), performing a second operation (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0027, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a second one of the following: a horizontal or vertical touch gesture results in content moving horizontally {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612} or vertically in which the changed parameter is location coordinates; and a tap results in the zooming of content {FIGs. 9B: 912, 918}, in which the changed parameter is zoom level), different from the first operation (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0027, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a first one of the following: a horizontal or vertical touch gesture results in content moving horizontally {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612} or vertically in which the changed parameter is location coordinates; and a tap results in the zooming of content {FIGs. 9B: 912, 918}, in which the changed parameter is zoom level), that changes a second parameter (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0027, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a second one of the following: a horizontal or vertical touch gesture results in content moving horizontally {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612} or vertically in which the changed parameter is location coordinates; and a tap results in the zooming of content {FIGs. 9B: 912, 918}, in which the changed parameter is zoom level), different from the first parameter (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0027, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a first one of the following: a horizontal or vertical touch gesture results in content moving horizontally {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612} or vertically in which the changed parameter is location coordinates; and a tap results in the zooming of content {FIGs. 9B: 912, 918}, in which the changed parameter is zoom level), corresponding to an appearance of the at least the portion of the environment (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a horizontal touch gesture results in content moving horizontally {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612); a vertical touch gesture results in content moving vertically; and a tap results in the zooming of content {FIGs. 9B: 912, 918}) when viewed via the environment viewing component(display portion of 100/500)(FIG. 3; ¶¶0003, 0007, 0051, 0061, 0079, 0121).
As to claim 2, Stolzenberg discloses the method of claim 1, as applied above.
Stolzenberg further discloses wherein the first input includes a tap on the support element(124/502 on a first one of 120 and 122 on 102)(FIGs. 1, 5; ¶¶0025, 0029, 0040, 0044, 0075-0077, 0081, 0090, 0097, 0103 - detecting a tap touch input on 124/502 on a first one of 120 and 122) of the computer system(non-display portion of 100/500)(FIGs. 1, 3: 118, 302; ¶¶0041, 0053, 0061, 0121).
As to claim 3, Stolzenberg discloses the method of claim 1, as applied above.
Stolzenberg further discloses wherein the first input includes detected movement on the support element(124/502 on a first one of 120 and 122 on 102)(FIGs. 1, 5; ¶¶0025, 0029, 0040, 0044, 0075-0077, 0081, 0090, 0097, 0103 - detecting a swipe touch input on 124/502 on a first one of 120 and 122, e.g., a horizontal swipe gesture {e.g., left}, or a vertical swipe gesture) of the computer system(non-display portion of 100/500)(FIGs. 1, 3: 118, 302; ¶¶0041, 0053, 0061, 0121).
As to claim 4, Stolzenberg discloses the method of claim 1, as applied above.
Stolzenberg further discloses wherein performing the first operation (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0027, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a first one of the following: a horizontal or vertical touch gesture results in content moving horizontally {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612} or vertically in which the changed parameter is location coordinates; and a tap results in the zooming of content {FIGs. 9B: 912, 918}, in which the changed parameter is zoom level) includes: in accordance with a determination that the first input corresponds to a first gesture performed by a first portion of a user (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0027, especially – “user finger motion”, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a horizontal touch gesture moving left results in content moving horizontally left {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612}) of the computer system(non-display portion of 100/500)(FIGs. 1, 3: 118, 302; ¶¶0041, 0053, 0061, 0121), performing a third operation corresponding to the first gesture (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0027, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a horizontal touch gesture moving left results in content moving horizontally left {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612}), and
in accordance with a determination that the first input (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0027, especially – “user finger motion”, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a horizontal touch gesture moving left results in content moving horizontally left {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612}) corresponds to a second gesture (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0027, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a horizontal touch gesture moving right results in content moving horizontally right {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612}), different from the first gesture (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0027, especially – “user finger motion”, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a horizontal touch gesture moving left results in content moving horizontally left {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612}), performed by the first portion of the user (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0027, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a horizontal touch gesture moving right results in content moving horizontally right {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612}), performing a fourth operation corresponding to the second gesture (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0027, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a horizontal touch gesture moving right results in content moving horizontally right {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612}), wherein the fourth operation (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0027, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a horizontal touch gesture moving right results in content moving horizontally right {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612}) is different from the third operation (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0027, especially – “user finger motion”, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a horizontal touch gesture moving left results in content moving horizontally left {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612}).
As to claim 5, Stolzenberg discloses the method of claim 4, as applied above.
Stolzenberg further discloses wherein: performing the third operation corresponds to changing the first parameter of the at least the portion of the environment in a first manner (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0027, especially – “user finger motion”, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a horizontal touch gesture moving left results in content moving horizontally left {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612} at display coordinate(s) decreased with respect to the left to right), and
performing the fourth operation corresponds to changing the first parameter of the at least the portion of the environment in a second manner FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0027, especially – “user finger motion”, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a horizontal touch gesture moving right results in content moving horizontally right {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612} at display coordinate(s) increased with respect to the left to right), different from the first manner (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0027, especially – “user finger motion”, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a horizontal touch gesture moving left results in content moving horizontally left {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612} at display coordinate(s) decreased with respect to the left to right).
As to claim 14, Stolzenberg discloses the method of claim 1, as applied above.
Stolzenberg further discloses wherein: the environment viewing component(display portion of 100/500)(FIG. 3: arrows between 302, 310 and 316; ¶¶0003, 0007, 0051, 0052, 0061, 0075, 0079, 0121) includes a display generation component(338)(FIG. 3; ¶¶0059-0060), the environment (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0047, 0079, 0122) includes one or more virtual objects(616, 618, 620)(FIG. 6; ¶0079) displayed via the display generation component(338)(FIG. 3; ¶¶0059-0060), and
the first operation (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0027, especially – “display coordinates”, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a first one of the following: a horizontal or vertical touch gesture results in content moving horizontally {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612} or vertically in which the changed parameter is location coordinates; and a tap results in the zooming of content {FIGs. 9B: 912, 918}, in which the changed parameter is zoom level) is performed on at least a portion of the one or more virtual objects(610, 612, 614, 616, 618, 620)(FIG. 6; ¶0079) in the environment (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a horizontal touch gesture results in content moving horizontally {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612); a vertical touch gesture results in content moving vertically; and a tap results in the zooming of content {FIGs. 9B: 912, 918}).
As to claim 15, Stolzenberg discloses the method of claim 14, as applied above.
Stolzenberg further discloses wherein the one or more virtual objects(610, 612, 614, 616, 618, 620)(FIG. 6; ¶0079) include one or more virtual elements(designs on each of 610, 612, 614, 616, 618, 620)(FIG. 6; ¶0079), and updating display of the at least the portion of the one or more virtual objects(610, 612, 614, 616, 618, 620)(FIG. 6; ¶0079) includes navigating through (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0027, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a horizontal or vertical touch gesture results in content moving horizontally {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612} or vertically, such as the virtual elements and their respective elements/displayed content {FIGs. 6A, 6B: 610, 612, 614, 616, 618, 620}) the one or more virtual elements(designs on each of 610, 612, 614, 616, 618, 620)(FIG. 6; ¶0079).
As to claim 16, Stolzenberg discloses the method of claim 14, as applied above.
Stolzenberg further discloses wherein the one or more virtual objects(610, 612, 614, 616, 618, 620)(FIG. 6; ¶0079) include one or more selectable options (FIG. 6: one of 610, 612, 614, 616, 618 and 620 can: (i) be scrolled to position 624 to select it to be displayed larger and to be in a selectable position, or (ii) be selected by being tapped when at position 624; ¶¶0079, 0081), and updating display of the at least the portion of the one or more virtual objects includes selecting a selectable option of the one or more selectable options (FIG. 6: one of 610, 612, 614, 616, 618 and 620 can: (i) be scrolled to position 624 to select it to be displayed larger and to be in a selectable position, or (ii) be selected by being tapped when at position 624; ¶¶0079, 0081).
As to claim 17, Stolzenberg discloses the method of claim 1, as applied above.
Stolzenberg further discloses wherein performing the second operation includes changing the second parameter of the at least the portion of the environment corresponding to a visual emphasis of the at least the portion of the environment (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0027, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a second one of the following: a horizontal gesture results in content moving horizontally {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612} including moving a virtual object {FIGs. 6A, 6B: one of 61, 612, 614, 616, 618 and 620} into an enlarged position {FIGs. 6A, 6B: 624} in which the changed parameter is location coordinates; and a tap results in the zooming of content {FIGs. 9B: 912, 918}, in which the changed parameter is zoom level).
As to claim 18, Stolzenberg discloses the method of claim 17, as applied above.
Stolzenberg further discloses wherein the second parameter is an optical focus based on which the at least the portion of the environment is visible from the current viewpoint of the user (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0027, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a second one of the following: a horizontal gesture results in content moving horizontally {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612} including moving a virtual object {FIGs. 6A, 6B: one of 61, 612, 614, 616, 618 and 620} into an enlarged position {FIGs. 6A, 6B: 624} in which the changed parameter is location coordinates; and a tap results in the zooming of content {FIGs. 9B: 912, 918}, in which the changed parameter is zoom level).
As to claim 21, Stolzenberg discloses the method of claim 17, as applied above.
Stolzenberg further discloses wherein changing the second parameter of the at least the portion of the environment includes continuously changing the second parameter of the at least the portion of the environment while detecting the first input.
Stolzenberg further discloses wherein performing the second operation includes changing the second parameter of the at least the portion of the environment corresponding to a visual emphasis of the at least the portion of the environment (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0027, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a continuous horizontal gesture results in content continuously moving horizontally {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612} in which the changed parameter is location coordinates).
As to claim 22, Stolzenberg discloses the method of claim 17, as applied above.
Stolzenberg further discloses wherein changing the second parameter of the at least the portion of the environment includes changing a value of the second parameter from a first value to a respective value of a plurality of values of the second parameter (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0027, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a second one of the following is horizontal gesture results in content moving horizontally {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612} including moving a virtual object {FIGs. 6A, 6B: one of 61, 612, 614, 616, 618 and 620} into an enlarged position {FIGs. 6A, 6B: 624} in which the changed parameter is location coordinates each of which is inherently a value).
As to claim 23, Stolzenberg discloses the method of claim 1, as applied above.
Stolzenberg further discloses wherein the first input is an input of a first type (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0027, especially – “user finger motion”, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a horizontal touch gesture moving left {a leftward movement type} results in content moving horizontally left {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612}), the method (FIG. 11: 1104, 1108, 1120; ¶¶0028, 0120, 0123-0124) further comprising:
after detecting the first input (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0027, especially – “user finger motion”, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a horizontal touch gesture moving left results in content moving horizontally left {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612}. The type is a leftward moving touch input), detecting, via the one or more input devices(100/500)(FIGs. 1, 3, 5: 124 or 502; ¶¶0025, 0044, especially – “The glasses 100 may also include a touchpad 124 mounted to or integrated with one or both of the left temple piece 120 and right temple piece 122”, 0061, 0075-0076, 0121), a second input on the support element(124/502 on one of 120 and 122 of 102)(FIGs. 1, 5; ¶¶0025, 0029, 0040, 0044, 0075-0077, 0081, 0090, 0097, 0103 – a horizontal touch gesture moving right {a rightward movement type} results in content moving horizontally right {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612}) of the computer system(non-display portion of 100/500)(FIGs. 1, 3: 118, 302; ¶¶0041, 0053, 0061, 0121) corresponding to an input of a second type (FIGs. 1, 5; ¶¶0025, 0029, 0040, 0044, 0075-0077, 0081, 0090, 0097, 0103 – a horizontal touch gesture moving right {a rightward movement type} results in content moving horizontally right {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612}); and
in response to detecting the second input, performing a third operation (FIGs. 1, 5; ¶¶0025, 0029, 0040, 0044, 0075-0077, 0081, 0090, 0097, 0103 – a horizontal touch gesture moving right {a rightward movement type} results in content moving horizontally right {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612}), different from the first operation (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0027, especially – “user finger motion”, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a horizontal touch gesture moving left results in content moving horizontally left {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612}. The type is a leftward moving touch input) and the second operation (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0027, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a tap results in the zooming of content {FIGs. 9B: 912, 918}, in which the changed parameter is zoom level), that changes an appearance of the at least the portion of the environment (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0027, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a tap results in the zooming of content {FIGs. 9B: 912, 918}, in which the changed parameter is zoom level) when viewed via the environment viewing component(display portion of 100/500)(FIG. 3; ¶¶0003, 0007, 0051, 0061, 0079, 0121).
As to claim 29, Stolzenberg discloses a computer system(non-display portion of 100/500)(FIGs. 1, 3: 118, 302; ¶¶0041, 0053, 0061, 0121) that is in communication with a display generation component(338)(FIG. 3; ¶¶0059-0060) and one or more input devices(100/500)(FIGs. 1, 3, 5: 124 or 502; ¶¶0025, 0044, especially – “The glasses 100 may also include a touchpad 124 mounted to or integrated with one or both of the left temple piece 120 and right temple piece 122”, 0061, 0075-0076, 0121), the computer system(non-display portion of 100/500)(FIGs. 1, 3: 118, 302; ¶¶0041, 0053, 0061, 0121) comprising:
one or more processors(1320, 1402, 1408, 1412)(FIGs. 13-14: 1304, 1312, 1326, 1404, 1410; ¶¶0050, 0138-0145);
memory(1326, 1404)(FIGs. 13-14; ¶¶0138, 0144); and
one or more programs (FIGs. 13-14: 1304, 1312, 1326, 1404, 1410; ¶¶0050, 0138-0145), wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory(1326, 1404)(FIGs. 13-14: 1304, 1312, 1326, 1404, 1410; ¶¶0050, 0138-0145) and configured to be executed by the one or more processors(1320, 1402, 1408, 1412)(FIGs. 13-14: 1304, 1312, 1326, 1404, 1410; ¶¶0050, 0138-0145), the one or more programs including instructions (FIGs. 13-14: 1304, 1312, 1326, 1404, 1410; ¶¶0050, 0138-0145) for:
while an environment is visible (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0047, 0079, 0122), via an environment viewing component(display portion of 100/500)(FIG. 3; ¶¶0003, 0007, 0051, 0061, 0079, 0121), from a current viewpoint of a user (FIGs. 2, 6, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0045, 0047, 0059, 0079, 0122) of the computer system(non-display portion of 100/500)(FIGs. 1, 3: 118, 302; ¶¶0041, 0053, 0061, 0121), detecting, via one or more input devices(100/500)(FIGs. 1, 3, 5: 124 or 502; ¶¶0025, 0044, especially – “The glasses 100 may also include a touchpad 124 mounted to or integrated with one or both of the left temple piece 120 and right temple piece 122”, 0061, 0075-0076, 0121), a first input on a support element(124/502 on one of 120 and 122 of 102)(FIGs. 1, 5; ¶¶0025, 0029, 0040, 0044, 0075-0077, 0081, 0090, 0097, 0103 - detecting a touch input on 124/502 on one of 120 and 122, e.g., a tap or a horizontal swipe gesture, or a vertical swipe gesture) of the computer system(non-display portion of 100/500)(FIGs. 1, 3: 118, 302; ¶¶0041, 0053, 0061, 0121) corresponding to a request to perform an operation that changes an appearance of at least a portion of the environment (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a horizontal touch gesture results in content moving horizontally {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612); a vertical touch gesture results in content moving vertically; and a tap results in the zooming of content {FIGs. 9B: 912, 918}) when viewed via the environment viewing component(display portion of 100/500)(FIG. 3; ¶¶0003, 0007, 0051, 0061, 0079, 0121); and
in response to detecting the first input (FIGs. 1, 5; ¶¶0025, 0029, 0044, 0075-0077, 0081, 0090, 0097, 0103 - detecting a touch input on 124/502 on one of 120 and 122, e.g., a tap or a horizontal swipe gesture, or a vertical swipe gesture): in accordance with a determination that the first input (FIGs. 1, 5; ¶¶0025, 0029, 0044, 0075-0077, 0081, 0090, 0097, 0103 - detecting a touch input on 124/502 on a one of 120 and 122, e.g., a tap or a horizontal swipe gesture, or a vertical swipe gesture) includes contact on a first surface of the support element (124/502 on a first one of 120 and 122 on 102)(FIGs. 1, 5; ¶¶0025, 0029, 0040, 0044, 0075-0077, 0081, 0090, 0097, 0103 - detecting a touch input on 124/502 on a first one of 120 and 122, e.g., a tap or a horizontal swipe gesture, or a vertical swipe gesture), performing a first operation that changes a first parameter corresponding to an appearance of the at least the portion of the environment (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0027, especially – “display coordinates”, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a first one of the following: a horizontal or vertical touch gesture results in content moving horizontally {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612} or vertically in which the changed parameter is location coordinates; and a tap results in the zooming of content {FIGs. 9B: 912, 918}, in which the changed parameter is zoom level) when viewed via the environment viewing component(display portion of 100/500)(FIG. 3; ¶¶0003, 0007, 0051, 0061, 0079, 0121); and
in accordance with a determination that the first input (FIGs. 1, 5; ¶¶0025, 0029, 0044, 0075-0077, 0081, 0090, 0097, 0103 - detecting a touch input on 124/502 on a one of 120 and 122, e.g., a tap or a horizontal swipe gesture, or a vertical swipe gesture) includes contact on a second surface(124/502 on a second one of 120 and 122 on 102)(FIGs. 1, 5; ¶¶0025, 0029, 0040, 0044, 0075-0077, 0081, 0090, 0097, 0103 - detecting a touch input on 124/502 on a second one of 120 and 122, e.g., a tap or a horizontal swipe gesture, or a vertical swipe gesture), different from the first surface(124/502 on a first one of 120 and 122 on 102)(FIGs. 1, 5; ¶¶0025, 0029, 0040, 0044, 0075-0077, 0081, 0090, 0097, 0103 - detecting a touch input on 124/502 on a first one of 120 and 122, e.g., a tap or a horizontal swipe gesture, or a vertical swipe gesture), of the support element(102)(FIGs. 1, 5; ¶¶0025, 0029, 0040, 0044, 0075-0077, 0081, 0090, 0097, 0103), performing a second operation (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0027, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a second one of the following: a horizontal or vertical touch gesture results in content moving horizontally {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612} or vertically in which the changed parameter is location coordinates; and a tap results in the zooming of content {FIGs. 9B: 912, 918}, in which the changed parameter is zoom level), different from the first operation (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0027, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a first one of the following: a horizontal or vertical touch gesture results in content moving horizontally {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612} or vertically in which the changed parameter is location coordinates; and a tap results in the zooming of content {FIGs. 9B: 912, 918}, in which the changed parameter is zoom level), that changes a second parameter (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0027, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a second one of the following: a horizontal or vertical touch gesture results in content moving horizontally {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612} or vertically in which the changed parameter is location coordinates; and a tap results in the zooming of content {FIGs. 9B: 912, 918}, in which the changed parameter is zoom level), different from the first parameter(FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0027, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a first one of the following: a horizontal or vertical touch gesture results in content moving horizontally {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612} or vertically in which the changed parameter is location coordinates; and a tap results in the zooming of content {FIGs. 9B: 912, 918}, in which the changed parameter is zoom level), corresponding to an appearance of the at least the portion of the environment (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a horizontal touch gesture results in content moving horizontally {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612); a vertical touch gesture results in content moving vertically; and a tap results in the zooming of content {FIGs. 9B: 912, 918}) when viewed via the environment viewing component(display portion of 100/500)(FIG. 3; ¶¶0003, 0007, 0051, 0061, 0079, 0121).
As to claim 30, Stolzenberg discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium(1326, 1404)(FIGs. 13-14; ¶¶0138, 0144) storing one or more programs (FIGs. 13-14: 1304, 1312, 1326, 1404, 1410; ¶¶0050, 0138-0145), the one or more programs comprising instructions (FIGs. 13-14: 1304, 1312, 1326, 1404, 1410; ¶¶0050, 0138-0145), which when executed by one or more processors(1320, 1402, 1408, 1412)(FIGs. 13-14: 1304, 1312, 1326, 1404, 1410; ¶¶0050, 0138-0145) of a computer system(non-display portion of 100/500)(FIGs. 1, 3: 118, 302; ¶¶0041, 0053, 0061, 0121) that is in communication with a display generation component(338)(FIG. 3; ¶¶0059-0060) and one or more input devices(100/500)(FIGs. 1, 3, 5: 124 or 502; ¶¶0025, 0044, especially – “The glasses 100 may also include a touchpad 124 mounted to or integrated with one or both of the left temple piece 120 and right temple piece 122”, 0061, 0075-0076, 0121), cause the computer system(non-display portion of 100/500)(FIGs. 1, 3: 118, 302; ¶¶0041, 0053, 0061, 0121) to perform a method (FIG. 11: 1104, 1108, 1120; ¶¶0028, 0120, 0123-0124) comprising:
while an environment is visible (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0047, 0079, 0122), via an environment viewing component(display portion of 100/500)(FIG. 3; ¶¶0003, 0007, 0051, 0061, 0079, 0121), from a current viewpoint of a user (FIGs. 2, 6, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0045, 0047, 0059, 0079, 0122) of the computer system(non-display portion of 100/500)(FIGs. 1, 3: 118, 302; ¶¶0041, 0053, 0061, 0121),
detecting, via one or more input devices(100/500)(FIGs. 1, 3, 5: 124 or 502; ¶¶0025, 0044, especially – “The glasses 100 may also include a touchpad 124 mounted to or integrated with one or both of the left temple piece 120 and right temple piece 122”, 0061, 0075-0076, 0121), a first input on a support element(124/502 on one of 120 and 122 of 102)(FIGs. 1, 5; ¶¶0025, 0029, 0040, 0044, 0075-0077, 0081, 0090, 0097, 0103 - detecting a touch input on 124/502 on one of 120 and 122, e.g., a tap or a horizontal swipe gesture, or a vertical swipe gesture) of the computer system(non-display portion of 100/500)(FIGs. 1, 3: 118, 302; ¶¶0041, 0053, 0061, 0121) corresponding to a request to perform an operation that changes an appearance of at least a portion of the environment (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a horizontal touch gesture results in content moving horizontally {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612); a vertical touch gesture results in content moving vertically; and a tap results in the zooming of content {FIGs. 9B: 912, 918}) when viewed via the environment viewing component(display portion of 100/500)(FIG. 3; ¶¶0003, 0007, 0051, 0061, 0079, 0121); and
in response to detecting the first input (FIGs. 1, 5; ¶¶0025, 0029, 0044, 0075-0077, 0081, 0090, 0097, 0103 - detecting a touch input on 124/502 on one of 120 and 122, e.g., a tap or a horizontal swipe gesture, or a vertical swipe gesture):
in accordance with a determination that the first input (FIGs. 1, 5; ¶¶0025, 0029, 0044, 0075-0077, 0081, 0090, 0097, 0103 - detecting a touch input on 124/502 on a one of 120 and 122, e.g., a tap or a horizontal swipe gesture, or a vertical swipe gesture) includes contact on a first surface of the support element (124/502 on a first one of 120 and 122 on 102)(FIGs. 1, 5; ¶¶0025, 0029, 0040, 0044, 0075-0077, 0081, 0090, 0097, 0103 - detecting a touch input on 124/502 on a first one of 120 and 122, e.g., a tap or a horizontal swipe gesture, or a vertical swipe gesture), performing a first operation that changes a first parameter corresponding to an appearance of the at least the portion of the environment (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0027, especially – “display coordinates”, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a first one of the following: a horizontal or vertical touch gesture results in content moving horizontally {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612} or vertically in which the changed parameter is location coordinates; and a tap results in the zooming of content {FIGs. 9B: 912, 918}, in which the changed parameter is zoom level) when viewed via the environment viewing component(display portion of 100/500)(FIG. 3; ¶¶0003, 0007, 0051, 0061, 0079, 0121); and
in accordance with a determination that the first input (FIGs. 1, 5; ¶¶0025, 0029, 0044, 0075-0077, 0081, 0090, 0097, 0103 - detecting a touch input on 124/502 on a one of 120 and 122, e.g., a tap or a horizontal swipe gesture, or a vertical swipe gesture) includes contact on a second surface(124/502 on a second one of 120 and 122 on 102)(FIGs. 1, 5; ¶¶0025, 0029, 0040, 0044, 0075-0077, 0081, 0090, 0097, 0103 - detecting a touch input on 124/502 on a second one of 120 and 122, e.g., a tap or a horizontal swipe gesture, or a vertical swipe gesture), different from the first surface(124/502 on a first one of 120 and 122 on 102)(FIGs. 1, 5; ¶¶0025, 0029, 0040, 0044, 0075-0077, 0081, 0090, 0097, 0103 - detecting a touch input on 124/502 on a first one of 120 and 122, e.g., a tap or a horizontal swipe gesture, or a vertical swipe gesture), of the support element(102)(FIGs. 1, 5; ¶¶0025, 0029, 0040, 0044, 0075-0077, 0081, 0090, 0097, 0103), performing a second operation (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0027, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a second one of the following: a horizontal or vertical touch gesture results in content moving horizontally {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612} or vertically in which the changed parameter is location coordinates; and a tap results in the zooming of content {FIGs. 9B: 912, 918}, in which the changed parameter is zoom level), different from the first operation (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0027, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a first one of the following: a horizontal or vertical touch gesture results in content moving horizontally {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612} or vertically in which the changed parameter is location coordinates; and a tap results in the zooming of content {FIGs. 9B: 912, 918}, in which the changed parameter is zoom level), that changes a second parameter (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0027, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a second one of the following: a horizontal or vertical touch gesture results in content moving horizontally {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612} or vertically in which the changed parameter is location coordinates; and a tap results in the zooming of content {FIGs. 9B: 912, 918}, in which the changed parameter is zoom level), different from the first parameter(FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0027, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a first one of the following: a horizontal or vertical touch gesture results in content moving horizontally {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612} or vertically in which the changed parameter is location coordinates; and a tap results in the zooming of content {FIGs. 9B: 912, 918}, in which the changed parameter is zoom level), corresponding to an appearance of the at least the portion of the environment (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a horizontal touch gesture results in content moving horizontally {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612); a vertical touch gesture results in content moving vertically; and a tap results in the zooming of content {FIGs. 9B: 912, 918}) when viewed via the environment viewing component(display portion of 100/500)(FIG. 3; ¶¶0003, 0007, 0051, 0061, 0079, 0121).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
8. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over International Patent Pub. No. WO 2022/246399 A1 to Stolzenberg et al. (“Stolzenberg”) in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0369830 A1 to Alonso Ruiz et al. (“Alonso Ruiz”).
As to claim 6, Stolzenberg discloses the method of claim 5, as applied above.
Stolzenberg further discloses wherein the first gesture includes one or more inputs (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a tap results in the zooming of content {FIGs. 9B: 912, 918}) and the second gesture includes a movement input (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0027, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a horizontal touch gesture moving right results in content moving horizontally right {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612}).
Stolzenberg does not expressly disclose wherein the first gesture includes one or more stationary inputs.
Alonso Ruiz discloses wherein the first gesture includes one or more stationary inputs (¶¶0192, 0195).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Stolzenberg with Alonso Ruiz to provide a method that prevents accepting an accidentally made touch input.
9. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over International Patent Pub. No. WO 2022/246399 A1 to Stolzenberg et al. (“Stolzenberg”) in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2012/0127062 A1 to Bar-Zeev et al. (“Bar-Zeev”).
As to claim 19, Stolzenberg discloses the method of claim 18, as applied above.
Stolzenberg further discloses the environment viewing component(display portion of 100/500)(FIG. 3; ¶¶0003, 0007, 0051, 0061, 0079, 0121), and the optical focus is changed (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0027, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 –a tap results in the zooming of content {FIGs. 9B: 912, 918}, in which the changed parameter is zoom level).
Stolzenberg does not expressly disclose wherein: the environment viewing component includes a variable optical component, and the optical focus is changed using the variable optical component.
Bar-Zeev discloses wherein: the environment viewing component includes a variable optical component, and the optical focus is changed using the variable optical component (FIG. 1B: 116, 118, 119, displaying content at a second zoom level that zooms in on displayed content versus a first zoom level that zooms out displayed content; ¶¶0054-0055, 0152-0154).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Stolzenberg with Bar-Zeev to provide a method that displays content zoomed while retaining native resolution and image clarity versus digitally stretching pixels to make the image appear larger.
10. Claims 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over International Patent Pub. No. WO 2022/246399 A1 to Stolzenberg et al. (“Stolzenberg”) in view of U.S. Patent No. 10,962,809 B1 to Castañeda.
As to claim 24, Stolzenberg discloses the method of claim 1, as applied above.
Stolzenberg further discloses further comprising: in response to detecting the first input (FIGs. 1, 5; ¶¶0025, 0029, 0040, 0044, 0075-0077, 0081, 0090, 0097, 0103 - detecting a touch input on 124/502 on one of 120 and 122 of 102, e.g., a tap or a horizontal swipe gesture, or a vertical swipe gesture): in accordance with a determination that the first input includes contact on a surface of the support element(124/502 on one of 120 and 122 of 102)(FIGs. 1, 5; ¶¶0025, 0029, 0040, 0044, 0075-0077, 0081, 0090, 0097, 0103 - detecting a touch input on 124/502 on one of 120 and 122, e.g., a tap or a horizontal swipe gesture, or a vertical swipe gesture), performing the first operation, that changes an appearance of the at least the portion of the environment (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0027, especially – “display coordinates”, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a first one of the following: a horizontal or vertical touch gesture results in content moving horizontally {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612} or vertically in which the changed parameter is location coordinates; and a tap results in the zooming of content {FIGs. 9B: 912, 918}, in which the changed parameter is zoom level) when viewed via the environment viewing component(100/500)(FIG. 3; ¶¶0003, 0007, 0051, 0061, 0079, 0121).
Stolzenberg does not expressly disclose further comprising: in response to detecting the first input: in accordance with a determination that the first input includes contact on multiple respective surfaces of the support element concurrently, performing a third operation, different from the first operation and the second operation, that changes an appearance of the at least the portion of the environment when viewed via the environment viewing component.
Castañeda discloses further comprising: in response to detecting the first input (FIG. 8; col 6, ln 46-55; col 11, ln 29-48): in accordance with a determination that the first input (FIG. 8; col 6, ln 46-55; col 11, ln 29-48) includes contact on multiple respective surfaces(simultaneous contact on multiple 214s of 113)(FIGs. 1, 2D, 8; col 5, ln 46-55, especially – “The touch sensor 113 can be provided on both the left and right temples 125A-B to increase available functionality or on other components of the eyewear device 113, and in some examples, two, three, four, or mor touch sensors 113 can be incorporated into the eyewear device in different locations”; col 8, ln 20-25) of the support element(nondisplay portion of eyewear device 100 including frame, bridge and temples)(FIG. 1A; col 3, ln 51-63) concurrently(simultaneous contact on multiple 214s of 113)(FIGs. 1, 2D, 8; col 6, ln 46-55; col 11, ln 29-48), performing a third operation(one of zooming in or zooming out content)(FIG. 8; col 6, ln 46-55; col 11, ln 29-48), different from the first operation(FIG. 10; col 11, ln 64 to col 12, ln 16 - a horizontal touch gesture results in content moving horizontally), that changes an appearance of the at least the portion of the environment when viewed via the environment viewing component(FIG. 1A; col 4, ln 32-35; col 6, ln 46-55; col 11, ln 29-48).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Stolzenberg with Castañeda to provide a method that displays content zoomed in or out using well known, intuitive touch gestures.
Stolzenberg and Castañeda teach performing a third operation (Castañeda: FIG. 8: one of zooming in or zooming out content; col 6, ln 46-55; col 11, ln 29-48) different from the first operation (Stolzenberg: FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0027, especially – “display coordinates”, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a horizontal touch gesture results in content moving horizontally {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612}; Castañeda: FIG. 10; col 11, ln 64 to col 12, ln 16 - a horizontal touch gesture results in content moving horizontally) and the second operation (Stolzenberg: FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0027, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a vertical touch gesture results in content moving vertically in which the changed parameter is vertical location coordinates versus horizontal location coordinates; or a tap results in the zooming of content {FIGs. 9B: 912, 918}, in which the changed parameter is zoom level), that changes an appearance of the at least the portion of the environment when viewed via the environment viewing component(Stolzenberg: FIG. 3: display portion of 100/500; ¶¶0003, 0007, 0051, 0061, 0079, 0121; Castañeda: FIG. 1A; col 4, ln 32-35; col 6, ln 46-55; col 11, ln 29-48).
As to claim 25, Stolzenberg and Castañeda teach the method of claim 24, as applied above.
Stolzenberg and Castañeda teach wherein the multiple respective surfaces of the support element are the second surface of the support element and a third surface (Stolzenberg: FIGs. 1, 5; ¶¶0025, 0029, 0040, 0044, 0075-0077, 0081, 0090, 0097, 0103 - detecting a touch input on 124/502 on a second one of 120 and 122 of 102, e.g., a tap or a horizontal swipe gesture, or a vertical swipe gesture; Castañeda: FIGs. 1, 2D, 8: simultaneous contact on two 214s of 113 on a second one of the left and right temples are a second surface and a third surface; col 5, ln 46-55, especially – “The touch sensor 113 can be provided on both the left and right temples 125A-B to increase available functionality or on other components of the eyewear device 113, and in some examples, two, three, four, or mor touch sensors 113 can be incorporated into the eyewear device in different locations”; col 8, ln 20-25), different from the first surface (Stolzenberg: FIGs. 1, 5: 124/502 on a first one of 120 and 122 on 102; ¶¶0025, 0029, 0040, 0044, 0075-0077, 0081, 0090, 0097, 0103 - detecting a touch input on 124/502 on a first one of 120 and 122, e.g., a tap or a horizontal swipe gesture, or a vertical swipe gesture; Castañeda: FIGs. 1, 2D, 8: contact on one 214 of 113 on a first one of the left and right temples; col 5, ln 46-55, especially – “The touch sensor 113 can be provided on both the left and right temples 125A-B to increase available functionality or on other components of the eyewear device 113, and in some examples, two, three, four, or mor touch sensors 113 can be incorporated into the eyewear device in different locations”; col 8, ln 20-25)) and the second surface, of the support element (Stolzenberg: FIGs. 1, 5; ¶¶0025, 0029, 0040, 0044, 0075-0077, 0081, 0090, 0097, 0103 - detecting a touch input on 124/502 on a second one of 120 and 122 of 102, e.g., a tap or a horizontal swipe gesture, or a vertical swipe gesture; Castañeda: FIGs. 1, 2D, 8: simultaneous contact on two 214s of 113 on a second one of the left and right temples are a second surface and a third surface; col 5, ln 46-55, especially – “The touch sensor 113 can be provided on both the left and right temples 125A-B to increase available functionality or on other components of the eyewear device 113, and in some examples, two, three, four, or mor touch sensors 113 can be incorporated into the eyewear device in different locations”; col 8, ln 20-25).
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Castañeda is for the same reasoning set forth above for claim 24.
10. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over International Patent Pub. No. WO 2022/246399 A1 to Stolzenberg et al. (“Stolzenberg”) in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2023/0062433 A1 to Judi et al. (“Judi”) in view of China Patent No. 206584114 U to Wang.
As to claim 20, Stolzenberg discloses the method of claim 17, as applied above.
Stolzenberg further discloses the second parameter (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0027, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a tap results in the zooming of content {FIGs. 9B: 912, 918}, in which the changed parameter is zoom level), the at least the portion of the environment (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0027, especially – “display coordinates”, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a tap results in the zooming of content {FIGs. 9B: 912, 918}, in which the changed parameter is zoom level).
Stolzenberg does not expressly disclose wherein the second parameter is a brightness of the at least the portion of the environment.
Judi discloses first surface and/or the second surface(182 on 110A, 182 on 110B)(FIG. 8A; ¶0066) may be customized for a user selected function (FIG. 8A: 182 on 110A, 182 on 110B; ¶0066).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Stolzenberg with Judi (i.e., Stolzenberg’s disclosure of two touchpads is modified so that the one of the touchpads that changes zoom level is customized by a user to perform another function) to provide a method that displays content according to a user customized setting (¶0066).
Wang discloses wherein the second parameter is a brightness of the at least the portion of the environment (FIG. 10: 11, 12, touch input on 121 that slides left resulting in decreasing brightness of displayed content instead of touch input on 121 that slides right resulting in increasing brightness of displayed content; p 4, ¶1; p 5, ¶8; p 6 – “11, lens 12, lens holder”; p 13, ¶2).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Stolzenberg and Judi with Wang (i.e., Stolzenberg’s disclosure of two touchpads modified by Judi so that one of these touchpads is customized to perform a user set function so that the user set function is to change the brightness level of displayed content) to provide a method that enhances the visual impact of displayed content by boosting contrast, making the displayed content feel more vivid and balanced and reducing eye strain.
Allowable Subject Matter/Potentially Allowable Subject Matter
11. Claims 7-8, 10-13, 26-28 and 31 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. As to claim 9, if the above objection to this claim is allowed, then it would also be allowable if re-written in independent form.
Reasons for Allowance
12. The following is examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the claimed invention is directed to:
Dependent claim 7 identifies the distinct features: “changing the first parameter of the at least the portion of the environment(FIG. 7F: 700) in the first manner(FIG. 7F: 700) includes updating a value of the first parameter to be a first value of a plurality of values of the first parameter corresponding to the one or more stationary inputs(FIG. 7F: 708a-1)”, with all other limitations as claimed.
The closest prior art, International Patent Pub. No. WO 2022/246399 A1 to Stolzenberg et al. (“Stolzenberg”) and U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0369830 A1 to Alonso Ruiz et al. (“Alonso Ruiz”), either singularly or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious the above underlined features associated with other features of this claim.
As to claim 7, Stolzenberg and Alonso Ruiz teach the method of claim 6, as applied above.
Stolzenberg further discloses wherein: changing the first parameter of the at least the portion of the environment in the first manner includes updating a value of the first parameter to be a first value of a plurality of values of the first parameter (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0027, especially – “user finger motion”, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a horizontal touch gesture moving left results in content moving horizontally left {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612} at display coordinate(s) decreased with respect to the left to right), and
changing the first parameter of the at least the portion of the environment in the second manner includes updating the value of the first parameter to a second value of the first parameter corresponding to the movement input (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0027, especially – “user finger motion”, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a horizontal touch gesture moving right results in content moving horizontally right {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612} at display coordinate(s) increased with respect to the left to right).
Dependent claim 10 identifies the distinct features: “wherein the first gesture(FIG. 7C: 708a-1 to 708a-2 with one finger of user) includes movement of the first portion of the user(FIG. 7A: one finger of user) on the support element(FIG. 7C: 702) of the computer system(FIG. 7A: 101) with less than a threshold velocity(FIG. 7C: 730), and the second gesture(FIG. 7C: 708a-1 to 708a-2 with one finger of user) includes movement of the first portion of the user(FIG. 7A: one finger of user) on the support element(FIG. 7C: 702) with greater than the threshold velocity(FIG. 7C: 708a-1)”, with all other limitations as claimed.
The closest prior art, International Patent Pub. No. WO 2022/246399 A1 to Stolzenberg et al. (“Stolzenberg”), either singularly or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious the above underlined features associated with other features of this claim.
As to claim 10, Stolzenberg discloses the method of claim 5, as applied above.
Stolzenberg further discloses wherein the first gesture includes movement of the first portion of the user (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0027, especially – “user finger motion”, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a horizontal touch gesture moving left results in content moving horizontally left {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612}) on the support element(102)(FIGs. 1, 5; ¶¶0025, 0029, 0040, 0044, 0075-0077, 0081, 0090, 0097, 0103) of the computer system(non-display portion of 100/500)(FIGs. 1, 3: 118, 302; ¶¶0041, 0053, 0061, 0121), and the second gesture includes movement of the first portion of the user (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0027, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a horizontal touch gesture moving right results in content moving horizontally right {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612}) on the support element(102)(FIGs. 1, 5; ¶¶0025, 0029, 0040, 0044, 0075-0077, 0081, 0090, 0097, 0103).
Stolzenberg does not disclose the above underlined limitations.
Dependent claim 26 identifies the distinct features: “further comprising: in response to detecting the first input(FIG. 7J: 708a-1 to 708b): in accordance with a determination that the first input(FIG. 7J: 708a-1 to 708b) includes contact on the third surface(FIG. 7J: 738c) of the support element(FIG. 7J: 702) without including contact on the first surface(FIG. 7J: 738a) of the support element(FIG. 7J: 702) or the second surface(FIG. 7J: 738b) of the support element(FIG. 7J: 702), forgoing performing an operation that changes the appearance of the at least the portion of the environment(FIG. 7J: 700) when viewed via the environment viewing component(FIG. 7J: 760)”, with all other limitations as claimed.
The closest prior art, International Patent Pub. No. WO 2022/246399 A1 to Stolzenberg et al. (“Stolzenberg”), either singularly or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious the above underlined features associated with other features of this claim.
As to claim 26, Stolzenberg discloses the method of claim 25, as applied above but does not teach the above underlined limitations.
Dependent claim 27 identifies the distinct features: “and in accordance with a determination that the second input includes the first gesture(FIG. 7S: 734a-1 to 734a-2) on a surface of a second support element(FIG. 7S: 712b), different from the support element(FIG. 7S: 712a), of the computer system(FIG. 7A: 101), performing a fourth operation(FIG. 7R, 7S: 700 displayed darker), different from the third operation(FIG. 7R, 7T: 700 displayed with dots), that changes an appearance of at least a portion of the environment(FIG. 7R, 7S: 700 displayed darker) when viewed via the environment viewing component(FIG. 7R, 7S: 101)”, with all other limitations as claimed.
The closest prior art, International Patent Pub. No. WO 2022/246399 A1 to Stolzenberg et al. (“Stolzenberg”), either singularly or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious the above underlined features associated with other features of this claim.
As to claim 27, Stolzenberg discloses the method of claim 1, as applied above.
Stolzenberg further discloses further comprising: after detecting the first input (FIGs. 1, 5; ¶¶0025, 0029, 0040, 0044, 0075-0077, 0081, 0090, 0097, 0103 - detecting a touch input on 124/502 on one of 120 and 122 of 102, e.g., a tap or a horizontal swipe gesture {e.g., left}, or a vertical swipe gesture), detecting, via the one or more input devices(100/500)(FIGs. 1, 3, 5: 124 or 502; ¶¶0025, 0044, especially – “The glasses 100 may also include a touchpad 124 mounted to or integrated with one or both of the left temple piece 120 and right temple piece 122”, 0061, 0075-0076, 0121), a second input (FIGs. 1, 5: 124/502 on one of 120 and 122 of 102; ¶¶0025, 0029, 0040, 0044, 0075-0077, 0081, 0090, 0097, 0103 – a horizontal touch gesture moving right {a rightward movement type} results in content moving horizontally right {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612}) corresponding to a request to perform an operation that changes an appearance of at least a portion of the environment (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0047, 0078, especially – “a user interface elements or content move towards the edge of the display”, 0079-0081, 0085-0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0099, 0103-0104, 0122 – a horizontal touch gesture moving right {a rightward movement type} results in content moving horizontally right {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612}) when viewed via the environment viewing (display portion of 100/500)(FIG. 3; ¶¶0003, 0007, 0051, 0061, 0079, 0121); and in response to detecting the second input (FIGs. 1, 5: 124/502 on one of 120 and 122 of 102; ¶¶0025, 0029, 0040, 0044, 0075-0077, 0081, 0090, 0097, 0103 – a horizontal touch gesture moving right {a rightward movement type} results in content moving horizontally right {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612}):
in accordance with a determination that the second input includes a first gesture performed by a portion of a user (FIGs. 1, 5: 124/502 on one of 120 and 122 of 102; ¶¶0025, 0027, 0029, 0040, 0044, 0075-0077, 0081, 0090, 0097, 0103 – a horizontal touch gesture moving right {a rightward movement type} results in content moving horizontally right {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612}) of the computer system(non-display portion of 100/500)(FIGs. 1, 3: 118, 302; ¶¶0041, 0053, 0061, 0121) on a surface of the support element(124/502 on one of 120 and 122 of 102)(FIGs. 1, 5; ¶¶0025, 0029, 0040, 0044, 0075-0077, 0081, 0090, 0097, 0103 – a horizontal touch gesture moving right {a rightward movement type} results in content moving horizontally right {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612}), performing a third operation that changes an appearance of at least a portion of the environment (FIGs. 1, 5: 124/502 on one of 120 and 122 of 102; ¶¶0025, 0027, 0029, 0040, 0044, 0075-0077, 0081, 0090, 0097, 0103 – a horizontal touch gesture moving right {a rightward movement type} results in content moving horizontally right {FIGs. 8A, 8B: 612}) when viewed via the environment viewing component(display portion of 100/500)(FIG. 3; ¶¶0003, 0007, 0051, 0061, 0079, 0121).
Stolzenberg does not disclose the above underlined limitations.
Dependent claim 28 identifies the distinct features: “detecting, via the one or more input devices(FIG. 1A: 125: 130, 140, 150), a second input(FIG. 7C: 708a-1 to 708a-2 with one finger of user) on the support element(FIG. 7C: 702) while the computer system(FIGs. 1, 7: 101) has a second spatial relationship(FIG. 7W: 101), different from the first spatial relationship(FIG. 7A: 101), with the first portion of the user(FIG. 7W: 706’s finger) of the computer system(FIG. 7W: 101); and in response to detecting the second input(FIG. 7C: 708a-1 to 708a-2 with one finger of user), forgoing performing one or more operations that change an appearance of at least a portion of the environment(FIG. 7C: 700) when viewed via the environment viewing component in accordance with the second input(FIG. 7C: 708a-1 to 708a-2 with one finger of user)”, with all other limitations as claimed.
The closest prior art, International Patent Pub. No. WO 2022/246399 A1 to Stolzenberg et al. (“Stolzenberg”), either singularly or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious the above underlined features associated with other features of this claim.
As to claim 28, Stolzenberg discloses the method of claim 1, as applied above.
Stolzenberg further discloses wherein the first input on the support element(124/502 on one of 120 and 122 of 102)(FIGs. 1, 5; ¶¶0025, 0029, 0040, 0044, 0075-0077, 0081, 0090, 0097, 0103 - detecting a touch input on 124/502 on one of 120 and 122, e.g., a tap or a horizontal swipe gesture {e.g., left}, or a vertical swipe gesture) is detected (FIGs. 1, 3, 5: 124 or 502; ¶¶0025, 0044, especially – “The glasses 100 may also include a touchpad 124 mounted to or integrated with one or both of the left temple piece 120 and right temple piece 122”, 0061, 0075-0076, 0121) while the computer system(non-display portion of 100/500)(FIGs. 1, 3: 118, 302; ¶¶0041, 0053, 0061, 0121) has a first spatial relationship with a first portion of the user (¶0027, especially – “user finger motion”) of the computer system(non-display portion of 100/500)(FIGs. 1, 3: 118, 302; ¶¶0041, 0053, 0061, 0121), the method (FIG. 11: 1104, 1108, 1120; ¶¶0028, 0120, 0123-0124) further comprising:
after detecting the first input (FIGs. 1, 5; ¶¶0025, 0029, 0040, 0044, 0075-0077, 0081, 0090, 0097, 0103 - detecting a first touch input on 124/502 on one of 120 and 122, e.g., a tap or a horizontal swipe gesture {e.g., left}, or a vertical swipe gesture), detecting, via the one or more input devices(100/500)(FIGs. 1, 3, 5: 124 or 502; ¶¶0025, 0044, especially – “The glasses 100 may also include a touchpad 124 mounted to or integrated with one or both of the left temple piece 120 and right temple piece 122”, 0061, 0075-0076, 0121), a second input on the support element(124/502 on one of 120 and 122 of 102)(FIGs. 1, 5; ¶¶0025, 0029, 0040, 0044, 0075-0077, 0081, 0090, 0097, 0103 - detecting a second touch input on 124/502 on one of 120 and 122, e.g., a tap or a horizontal swipe gesture {e.g., right}, or a vertical swipe gesture), with the first portion of the user (¶0027, especially – “user finger motion”) of the computer system(non-display portion of 100/500)(FIGs. 1, 3: 118, 302; ¶¶0041, 0053, 0061, 0121).
Stolzenberg does not disclose the above underlined limitations.
Dependent claim 31 identifies the distinct features: “performing the first operation(FIG. 7C: 700) includes changing an appearance of the at least the portion of the physical environment(FIG. 7C: 710) when viewed via the environment viewing component(FIG. 7C: 760), and performing the second operation(FIG. 7D: 700) includes changing the appearance of the at least the portion of the physical environment(FIG. 7D: 710) when viewed via the environment viewing component(FIG. 7D: 760)”, with all other limitations as claimed.
The closest prior art, International Patent Pub. No. WO 2022/246399 A1 to Stolzenberg et al. (“Stolzenberg”), either singularly or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious the above underlined features associated with other features of this claim.
As to claim 31, Stolzenberg discloses the method of claim 1, as applied above.
Stolzenberg further discloses wherein:
the environment (FIGs. 6A, 6B, 11: 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0047, 0079, 0122) includes a least a portion of a physical environment surrounding the computer system(non-display portion of 100/500)(FIGs. 1, 3, 6A, 6B, 11: 118, 302, 602, 1102; ¶¶0024, 0041, 0047, 0053, 0079, 0061, 0121-0122).
Stolzenberg does not disclose the above underlined limitations.
Other Relevant Prior Art
13. Other relevant prior art includes:
U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2015/0103021 A1 to Lim et al. discloses a user making different inputs by touching different surfaces of a temple of eyeglasses (FIGs. 6A, 17; ¶¶0158, 0193).
Conclusion
14. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIRK W HERMANN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623