Response to Amendments and Arguments
Amendments and arguments filed on 08/19/2026 have been fully considered and are not found to place the application in a condition for allowance.
Applicant asserts APA “teaches away from the claimed placement and provides no suggestion of using a buffer between the input branch and output branches to stabilize negative feedback circuits in the output branches”. The applicant points to ¶ 75-76 as APA teachings to make such a conclusion. However, the Office maintains that not only such a teachings does not teach away from including a buffer between elements 31 and 32, it provides a strong motivation for the specific placement of a buffer between elements 31 and 32. Per ¶ 76: “due to the impact of switching actions of the plurality of output branches 32_1 to 32_n on a negative feedback circuit of the input branch 31, the current ratios of the second current mirror are not allowed to be dynamically adjusted between frames or between different lines within a single frame”. In other words, nowhere does AAPA teach away from providing isolation between elements 31 and 32 and, in fact, AAPA provides a strong motivation to do so in order to isolate element 31 from the impact of switching actions of element 32.
The applicant further points out the differences between the circuit of Sheth and the circuit of the instant application. The Office maintains that Sheth is not relied upon for the teachings regarding the input branch, and the plurality of output branches of a current mirror. Such limitations are clearly taught by the AAPA. A cursory comparison of fig. 4 (AAPA) and fig. 7 of the instant application clarifies a mere rearrangement of the buffer 34 of fig. 4 to the position of buffer 44 of fig. 7. Accordingly, Sheth is not required to teach the limitations of the primary reference (AAPA) and is only relied upon to clarify the obviousness of such rearrangement.
The applicant asserts that “Sheth’s buffer does not stabilize a negative feedback circuit in each of the branches”. The Office respectfully disagrees. Sheth clearly teaches providing a buffer for isolating the circuit at the input side of the buffer from the loading effects of the output side of the buffer. Accordingly, because AAPA teaches that the switching actions of element 32 negatively impact the input branch 31, by providing such a buffer between elements 31 and 32, the buffer stabilizes a negative feedback circuit in each of the branches.
The applicant further asserts that there is no motivation to combine AAPA and Sheth with a reasonable expectation of success. The Office respectfully disagrees. As admitted by the applicant, AAPA “itself identifies the precise problem (impact of output-branch switching on the input-branch negative feedback, preventing dynamic grayscale-based ratio adjustment)”. Sheth further teaches that a buffer provides isolation between input and output branches in order to eliminate the effects of loading due to parallel connection of switches on the output side. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to combine AAPA and Sheth because Sheth clearly teaches the use of a buffer to isolate the input and output branches of a gate driver and based on AAPA, such an isolation would remove the impact of output-branch switching on the input-branch negative feedback, allowing dynamic grayscale-based ratio adjustment, thus improving the display device. In contrary to the assertions of the applicant, 1. Sheth’s buffers are not serving an unrelated purpose. They clearly provide isolation between input/output sides of a gate driver. 2. Sheth is not required to provide guidance on matters already taught by the primary reference, and 3. Based on AAPA and Sheth, the rearrangement of the buffer’s location within the circuit is clear and the buffer is not “blindly” relocated. AAPA clearly “identifies the precise problem” which is the “impact of output-branch switching on the input-branch negative feedback” and Sheth teaches providing a buffer between such branches to provide isolation from such impacts such as loading issues. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to combine AAPA and Sheth with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over applicant’s admitted prior art, (figures 2-5c of the current application labeled as prior art and its related text in the specification) hereinafter “AAPA”, in view of Sheth et al., US 2022/0165208 A1, hereinafter “Sheth”.
Regarding claim 1, AAPA teaches a power supply circuit (fig. 2, ¶ 36) comprising: a reference circuit (fig. 4, element 10, ¶ 36), configured to generate a reference current (¶ 37); a current mirror circuit (fig. 4, element 30, ¶ 55), configured to be coupled with the reference circuit and mirror the reference current to a plurality of output currents (¶ 57), wherein the current mirror circuit comprises: a gate driver (fig. 4, element 33, ¶ 57), configured to generate a gate driving signal (fig. 4, Vg, ¶ 57) according to a first reference voltage (fig. 4, Vcres, ¶ 62); an input branch (fig. 4, element 31), which receives the gate driving signal and generates an input current according to the gate driving signal (fig. 4, see Vg which controls NM0 which generates input current I1); and a plurality of output branches (fig. 4, elements 32-1 to 32-n), each of which receives the gate driving signal (each output branch receives Vg; ¶ 38 and 57), and generates one of the plurality of output currents according to the gate driving signal (fig. 4, ¶ 57).
AAPA does not teach at least one buffer, being coupled between the input branch and the plurality of output branches, so to buffer the gate driving signal for the plurality of output branches and stabilize negative feedback circuit in each of the plurality of output branches.
Sheth, however, teaches at least one buffer (fig. 5A, buffer 563a and or 563b, ¶ 102), being coupled between the input branch (Sneg) and the plurality of output branches (fig. 5A, ¶ 113 see elements 514 and 561 connection to transistors 534a and 534b), so to buffer the gate driving signal for the plurality of output branches (see ¶ 102).
Note that the combination of AAPA in view of Sheth teaches that the buffer is coupled between the input branch and the plurality of output branches which yields stabilizing negative feedback circuit in each of the plurality of output branches due to the isolation provided by the buffer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of AAPA in view of Sheth. The references teach current mirror driving circuits and Sheth further teaches details regarding inclusion of buffers between the input and output branches of such circuits. One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to achieve a higher quality display device because Sheth clearly teaches that the “buffer serves to isolate the SRAM current from the effects of loading due to the connection [of] multiple parallel modulation FETs” (¶ 102).
Regarding claim 2, AAPA teaches that the plurality of output branches are coupled through a common driving line (fig. 4, driving line 41, ¶ 60).
AAPA does not specifically teach that the plurality of output branches are coupled with the at least one buffer through a common driving line, so that the at least one buffer is shared by the plurality of output branches.
Sheth teaches that the “buffer serves to isolate the SRAM current from the effects of loading due to the connection [of] multiple parallel modulation FETs”; ¶ 102.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of AAPA in view of Sheth. AAPA clearly teaches a common driving line connected to a plurality of output branches and Sheth teaches the connection of buffers to a plurality of output branches. One would have been motivated to incorporate such buffers “to isolate the SRAM current from the effects of loading due to the connection [of] multiple parallel modulation FETs” as taught by Sheth in ¶ 102, thereby achieving a higher quality display device.
Regarding claim 3, AAPA does not specifically teach that each of the plurality of output branches is coupled with one of a plurality of buffers through respective one of a plurality of driving lines, so that the at least one buffer is dedicated to one of the plurality of output branches.
Sheth, however, teaches that the “buffer serves to isolate the SRAM current from the effects of loading due to the connection [of] multiple parallel modulation FETs”; ¶ 102. Sheth, further teaches that buffers may be “added as needed”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of AAPA in view of Sheth to include a buffer for each output branch. Sheth clearly teaches that the buffer serves to isolate the input and output branches from effects of loading, therefore one would have been motivated to include such a buffer at any node of the circuit wherein such an isolation may be beneficial in order to achieve a higher quality display.
Regarding claim 4, AAPA teaches that the input branch comprises: a plurality of first switches (fig. 4, K0); and a plurality of first transistors (fig. 4, NM0), wherein a drain of each of the first transistors receives the reference current at an input terminal of the input branch, respectively; a gate of each of the first transistors receives the gate driving signal through one of the plurality of first switches; and a source of each of the first transistors is grounded (see fig. 4).
Regarding claim 5, AAPA teaches that the gate driver comprises: a first operational amplifier (fig. 4, OP3, ¶ 62), an inverting input terminal of the first operational amplifier receiving the first reference voltage, and a non-inverting input terminal of the first operational amplifier being coupled to the input terminal of the input branch, and an output terminal of the first operational amplifier being coupled to the gate of each of the first transistors through one of the first switches (see fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6, AAPA teaches that each of the plurality of first transistors is an NMOS transistor (fig. 4, NM0 transistors are NMOS).
Regarding claim 7, AAPA teaches that each of the plurality of output branches comprises: a plurality of second switches (fig. 4, K1); a plurality of second transistors (NM11); an output transistor (NM12); and a second operational amplifier (OP2), wherein a non-inverting input terminal of the second operational amplifier is coupled to the input terminal of the input branch, and an output terminal of the second operational amplifier is coupled to the output transistor, a drain of each of the second transistors is coupled to an inverting input terminal of the second operational amplifier, a gate of each of the second transistors is coupled to the output terminal of the first operational amplifier through one of the plurality of second switches, and a source of each of the second transistors is grounded (fig. 4, ¶ 60).
Regarding claim 8, AAPA teaches that each of the plurality of second transistors is an NMOS transistor (fig. 4, NM11 transistors are NMOS).
Regarding claim 9, AAPA teaches that the power supply circuit further comprises: a controller (fig. 4, controller 1), configured to control on and off states of the plurality of first switches and the plurality of second switches, so as to change current ratios of the plurality of output branches (¶ 61).
Regarding claim 10, AAPA teaches that the controller determines the current ratios of the plurality of output branches according to specifications of a display screen (¶ 75).
Regarding claim 11, AAPA teaches that the controller determines the current ratios of the plurality of output branches according to grayscale levels of pixels of an image (¶ 75: “different brightness requirements” represents grayscale levels of pixels of an image).
Regarding claim 12, AAPA teaches that the controller determines predetermined current ratios of the plurality of output branches and duty ratios of the plurality of output currents according to grayscale levels of pixels of an image (¶ 75: “different brightness requirements” represents grayscale levels of pixels of an image which is achieved based on current ratio or duty ratios of the current signals).
Regarding claim 13, AAPA teaches that the reference circuit comprises: an operational amplifier (fig. 4, OP1), wherein an inverting input terminal of the operational amplifier receives a second reference voltage (Vref); and an external resistor (Rext), wherein a first terminal of the external resistor is coupled to a non-inverting input terminal of the operational amplifier, and a second terminal of the external resistor is grounded (see fig. 4, ¶ 40).
Regarding claim 14, AAPA teaches that the reference circuit further comprises: a third transistor (fig. 4, PM0), wherein a gate of the third transistor is coupled to an output terminal of the operational amplifier, a drain of the third transistor is coupled to the first terminal of the external resistor, and a source of the third transistor is grounded (see fig. 4, ¶ 40); and a fourth transistor (fig. 4, PM1), wherein a gate of the fourth transistor is coupled to the output terminal of the operational amplifier, a drain of the fourth transistor is respectively coupled to the drain of each of the first transistors, and a source of the fourth transistor is grounded (see fig. 4, ¶ 46).
Regarding claim 15, AAPA teaches a driver chip, comprising the power supply circuit according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1), wherein the power supply circuit provides the plurality of output currents to light-emitting diodes to display an image (¶ 52 and ¶ 74-75).
Regarding claim 16, AAPA teaches a display screen (¶ 75), comprising: a plurality of light-emitting diodes (fig. 5a, LED is one pixel of the display screen); and the driver chip according to claim 15 (see rejection of claim 15), wherein anodes of the plurality of light-emitting diodes are coupled to a control line, and cathodes of the plurality of light-emitting diodes are coupled to respective ones of a plurality of output terminals of the driver chip (see fig. 5a, configuration of the LED); or cathodes of the plurality of light-emitting diodes are coupled to a control line, and anodes of the plurality of light-emitting diodes are coupled to respective ones of a plurality of output terminals of the driver chip.
Conclusion
/SEPEHR AZARI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621