DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
This application is a Continuation of Application No. 18/288,545 filed 10/26/2023. Applicant’s claims to priority from PCT/EP2022/061630 filed 04/29/2022 and EP21382377.6 filed 04/29/2021 is hereby acknowledged.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Invention Group I, claims 17-26 and 35-39 drawn to a linear double-stranded DNA product comprising a sense and antisense
strand, a complex comprising the linear double-stranded DNA product, a nanoparticle or
a vaccine comprising the linear double-stranded DNA product, in the reply filed on
05/30/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 27-34 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR
1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected Inventions, there being no allowable generic or
linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/30/2025.
The restriction requirement and elections are still in effect in this RCE.
Application Status
Amendments to claims filed 01/15/2026 are hereby acknowledged. Claims 1-16, 18-20 and 38 are cancelled. Claim 17 is currently amended. Claims 17, 21-37 and 39 are currently pending. However, claims 27-34 are still withdrawn since they are drawn to a non-elected invention.
Therefore, claims 17, 21-26, 35-37 and 39 are under consideration in this office action.
Any objection or rejection not reiterated herein has been overcome by Applicant amendments and is therefore withdrawn.
Specification
Amendments to the Specification filed 09/05/2025 and 09/08/2025 are hereby acknowledged. The Replacement sheets and substitute disclosure are acceptable.
New Rejections as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 17, 25 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhu (Zhu, B. et al. “Increasing cell-free gene expression yields from linear templates in Escherichia coli and Vibrio natriegens extracts by using DNA-binding proteins”. Biotechnology and Bioengineering, Vol. 117 (2020), pp: 3849-3857), as evidenced by NEB-pdf1 (Phusion® Hot Start Flex DNA Polymerase, downloaded from URL: https://www.neb.com/en-us/products/m0535-phusion-hot-start-flex-dna-polmerase ; Phusion® Hot Start Flex DNA Polymerase | NEB).
Regarding claim 17, Zhu teaches DNA templates that are linear, i.e., Linear Expression Templates (LETs), for crude extract-based cell-free protein synthesis (CFPS) (see abstract). Zhu teaches that this LET contains a T7 promoter and a T7 terminator (see section 2.2., page 3851, right column).
A DNA expression template molecule, obtained by PCR and used for protein expression (see page 3850, “Introduction” section, left column, first paragraph), inherently comprises a sense and antisense strand, therefore Zhu teaches these elements; and the double strands are shown in drawings in Figure 1(a).
Zhu teaches stabilization of the LETs using different strategies for comparison:
Protection of LET via terminal protection using double strand DNA-binding protein, adding a scCro-binding site (ORC) at each end (see Figure 1); or
Protection using LET methylation with dam or CpG methyltransferases (see section 2.3, page 3851); or
Protection adding three phosphorothioate bonds modifications at the 5’ ends to prevent hydrolysis (see section 2.2., right column).
Zhu teaches that adding ORC binding sites at each ends or adding dam/CpG methylation lead to increased stability of the LET and protein yield from expression (see Figure 2).
Zhu teaches that the phosphorothioate linkage modification at the 5’ end alone did not protect the LET to produce large protein yield (LET5; 5-10 µg/ml ( see page 3854, right column, last sentence)), as adding ORC sites alone (LET3) (see Figure 3). Zhu teaches that adding buffering sequences (2x 800 bp) to the sfGFP coding region, and ORC sequences (2x 18 bp) , (LET2), contributes to increased stability as shown in Figure 2. Zhu teaches that 64 nM of LET2 was able to yield 0.324 mg/ml of sfGFP protein (see page 3855,Figure 4 and section 3.3, right column).
As shown in Figure 2b, the total length of the LET2 is about 3,000 bp. The protected nucleotides number after binding of scCro would be 36. Therefore, the ratio of protected nucleotides would be 36/3,000 = 0.012, which is higher than 0.0025, but lower than 0.1.
Zhu is silent on whether the end of the linear double-stranded DNA product comprises an overhang or a blunt end. However, Zhu teaches that the DNA polymerase used to obtain the LET is a DNA polymerase (Phusion®) obtained from New England Biolabs (NEB) (see section 2.1, page 3851).
According to NEB-pdf, the Phusion® DNA polymerase produces blunt ends (“Product Information” section, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 25, Zhu teaches a functional portion in the linear double-stranded DNA product, which function is to bind scCro protein, and which is named ORC as shown in Figure 2.
Regarding claim 39, Zhu teaches a linear double-stranded DNA product comprising protected nucleotides at a ratio of 0.012, which is between 0.1 and 0.01.
As shown in Figure 2b, the total length of the LET2 is about 3,000 bp. The protected nucleotides number after binding of scCro would be 36. Therefore, the ratio of protected nucleotides would be 36/3,000 = 0.012, which is higher than 0.01, but lower than 0.1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-23 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (Zhu, B. et al. “Increasing cell-free gene expression yields from linear templates in Escherichia coli and Vibrio natriegens extracts by using DNA-binding proteins”. Biotechnology and Bioengineering, Vol. 117 (2020), pp: 3849-3857), as evidenced by NEB-pdf1 (Phusion® Hot Start Flex DNA Polymerase, downloaded from URL: https:// www.neb.com/en-us/products/m0535-phusion-hot-start-flex-dna-polmerase), as applied to claim 17 above and in further view of Chaudhary (Chaudhary, V.K. et al. “Rapid restriction enzyme-free cloning of PCR products: a high-throughput method applicable for library construction”. PLOS One, Vol. 9, No. 10 (2014), p: e111538)
It is noted that Zhu, as evidenced by NEB-pdf1, anticipates the elements of claim 17:
Regarding claim 17, Zhu teaches DNA templates that are linear, i.e., Linear Expression Templates (LETs), for crude extract-based cell-free protein synthesis (CFPS) (see abstract). Zhu teaches that this LET contains a T7 promoter and a T7 terminator (see section 2.2., page 3851, right column).
A DNA expression template molecule, obtained by PCR and used for protein expression (see page 3850, “Introduction” section, left column, first paragraph), inherently comprises a sense and antisense strand, therefore Zhu teaches these elements; and the double strands are shown in drawings in Figure 1(a).
Zhu teaches stabilization of the LETs using different strategies for comparison:
Protection of LET via terminal protection using double strand DNA-binding protein, adding a scCro-binding site (ORC) at each end (see Figure 1); or
Protection using LET methylation with dam or CpG methyltransferases (see section 2.3, page 3851); or
Protection adding three phosphorothioate bonds modifications at the 5’ ends to prevent hydrolysis (see section 2.2., right column).
Zhu teaches that adding ORC binding sites at each ends or adding dam/CpG methylation lead to increased stability of the LET and protein yield from expression (see Figure 2).
Zhu teaches that the phosphorothioate linkage modification at the 5’ end alone did not protect the LET to produce large protein yield (LET5; 5-10 µg/ml ( see page 3854, right column, last sentence)), as adding ORC sites alone (LET3) (see Figure 3). Zhu teaches that adding buffering sequences (2x 800 bp) to the sfGFP coding region, and ORC sequences (2x 18 bp) , (LET2), contributes to increased stability as shown in Figure 2. Zhu teaches that 64 nM of LET2 was able to yield 0.324 mg/ml of sfGFP protein (see page 3855,Figure 4 and section 3.3, right column).
As shown in Figure 2b, the total length of the LET2 is about 3,000 bp. The protected nucleotides number after binding of scCro would be 36. Therefore, the ratio of protected nucleotides would be 36/3,000 = 0.012, which is higher than 0.0025, but lower than 0.1.
Regarding claims 21-23 and 26, Zhu does not teach a double-stranded DNA product wherein the antisense strand has a 5’-overhang (claim 21), wherein the antisense strand has a 5’-overang of 4 to 8 nucleotides (claim 22), nor that the 5’-overhang comprises one or more protected nucleotides (claim 23).
However, Chaudhary teaches a cloning strategy for PCR-amplified DNA which employs type II restriction endonuclease BsaI to create a linearized vector with 4 base-long 5’-overhangs (see Abstract).
Chaudhary teaches the use of stuffer sequences and BsaI to create linear DNA compatible with cloning for creating large libraries and clones (see abstract).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Zhu and Chaudhary, and used the linear LET2, modified with ORC at both ends, and add a stuffer DNA to the construct, and used BsaI to produce a 5’-overhang as taught by Chaudhary, while keeping the protected region/binding site ORC. One with ordinary skills in the art, motivated in preserving the LET2 in a library, could have performed this modification with a reasonable expectation of success since the level of skills is high in the art of cloning and library construction. One motivated in preserving and storing the LET2 described in Zhu in stable clones, would have performed this modification and arrived at the claimed invention.
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (Zhu, B. et al. “Increasing cell-free gene expression yields from linear templates in Escherichia coli and Vibrio natriegens extracts by using DNA-binding proteins”. Biotechnology and Bioengineering, Vol. 117 (2020), pp: 3849-3857), as evidenced by NEB-pdf1 (Phusion® Hot Start Flex DNA Polymerase , downloaded from URL: https:// www.neb.com/en-us/products/m0535-phusion-hot-start-flex-dna-polmerase), as applied to claim 17 above and in further view of NEB-pdf2 (“PCR Protocol for Taq DNA Polymerase with Standard Taq Buffer (NEB#M0273)”- downloaded from Internet from URL: https://www.neb.com/en-us/protocols/taq-dna-polymerase-with-standard-taq-buffer-m0273#).
Zhu as evidenced by NEB-pdf1 anticipates elements of claim 17:
Regarding claim 17, Zhu teaches DNA templates that are linear, i.e., Linear Expression Templates (LETs), for crude extract-based cell-free protein synthesis (CFPS) (see abstract). Zhu teaches that this LET contains a T7 promoter and a T7 terminator (see section 2.2., page 3851, right column).
A DNA expression template molecule, obtained by PCR and used for protein expression (see page 3850, “Introduction” section, left column, first paragraph), inherently comprises a sense and antisense strand, therefore Zhu teaches these elements; and the double strands are shown in drawings in Figure 1(a).
Zhu teaches stabilization of the LETs using different strategies for comparison:
Protection of LET via terminal protection using double strand DNA-binding protein, adding a scCro-binding site (ORC) at each end (see Figure 1); or
Protection using LET methylation with dam or CpG methyltransferases (see section 2.3, page 3851); or
Protection adding three phosphorothioate bonds modifications at the 5’ ends to prevent hydrolysis (see section 2.2., right column).
Zhu teaches that adding ORC binding sites at each ends or adding dam/CpG methylation lead to increased stability of the LET and protein yield from expression (see Figure 2).
Zhu teaches that the phosphorothioate linkage modification at the 5’ end alone did not protect the LET to produce large protein yield (LET5; 5-10 µg/ml ( see page 3854, right column, last sentence)), as adding ORC sites alone (LET3) (see Figure 3). Zhu teaches that adding buffering sequences (2x 800 bp) to the sfGFP coding region, and ORC sequences (2x 18 bp) , (LET2), contributes to increased stability as shown in Figure 2. Zhu teaches that 64 nM of LET2 was able to yield 0.324 mg/ml of sfGFP protein (see page 3855,Figure 4 and section 3.3, right column).
As shown in Figure 2b, the total length of the LET2 is about 3,000 bp. The protected nucleotides number after binding of scCro would be 36. Therefore, the ratio of protected nucleotides would be 36/3,000 = 0.012, which is higher than 0.0025, but lower than 0.1.
Zhu is silent on whether the end of the linear double-stranded DNA product comprises an overhang or a blunt end. However, Zhu teaches that the DNA polymerase used to obtain the LET is a DNA polymerase (Phusion®) obtained from New England Biolabs (NEB) (see section 2.1, page 3851).
According to NEB-pdf1, the Phusion® DNA polymerase produces blunt ends (“Product Information” section, first paragraph).
According to NEB-pdf1, the Phusion® DNA polymerase is ideally used for cloning, stating: “an ideal choice for cloning” (see “Product information” section, line 1).
Regarding claim 37, Zhu, as evidenced by NEB-pdf1, does not anticipate nor does render elements of claim 37 obvious, i.e. “The linear double-stranded DNA product of claim 17, wherein the linear double-stranded DNA product comprises:
A 5’ overhang and a blunt end;
Two 5’ overhangs;
A 3’ overhang and a blunt end;
Two 3’ overhangs; or
A 5’ overhang and a 3’ overhang.”
However, NEB-pdf2 provides for another type of DNA polymerase that is used since 1985, as taught in “References” section, page 2 of NEB-pdf2.
NEB-pdf2 teaches that Taq DNA polymerase leads to PCR products that contain dA overhangs (see page 2, paragraph 11, “PCR product” section).
NEB-pdf2 teaches that Taq polymerase is powerful and sensitive, and widely used in PCR for routine applications (see page 1, “Overview” section).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have substituted the DNA polymerase used by Zhu, a DNA polymerase that is used for cloning ideally, to a DNA polymerase that is widely known and used routinely for product that may not require a step of cloning. One with ordinary skills in the art motivated in obtaining a product easily with a powerful and sensitive enzyme that is used routinely and readily available in any Molecular Biology laboratory, could have performed this substitution, and as a result obtained a PCR product comprising 3’ overhangs. One with ordinary skills in the art could have performed this modification with a reasonable expectation of success and arrived at the claimed invention.
Claims 17, 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being
unpatentable over Gutierrez-Triana (Gutierrez-Triana, J.A. et al. eLife, Vol. 7 (2018), p: e39468), as evidenced by NEB-pdf3 (“PCR using Q5® High-Fidelity DNA polymerase (NEB#M0491)”; URL: https:// www.neb.com/en-us/protocols/pcr-using-q5-high-fidelity-dna-polymerase-m0491?pdf=true; downloaded from internet 02/20/2026) and Ciafrè (Ciafrè, S.A. et al. Nucleic Acids Research, Vol. 23 (1995), pp: 4134-4142).
Regarding claim 17, Gutierrez-Triana teaches a linear double-stranded DNA product that contains a cassette with gfp/ insert, i.e. coding sequence (see abstract, and Figure 1).
Regarding claim 17 (b) reciting “wherein the linear double-stranded DNA product comprises the protected nucleotides at a ratio of between 0.0025-0.1 to total nucleotides”, Gutierrez-Triana teaches that a modified oligonucleotide modified with phosphorothioate bonds in the first five nucleotides can be used to perform the 5’ extension (see Figure 1; page 11, “Donor amplification” section and page 10, Key Resources Table). When only 5 nucleotides are modified in a strand, compared to total nucleotides (GFP insert: about 700 nucleotides + 2 Homology Flank regions: about 400x2 nucleotides (nt) =about 1,500 nt), the ratio would be 0.0033. If both sides (strands) are protected within the same DNA product, the ratio would be 10: (1,500x2) = 0.0033, which falls within the range claimed (0.0025-0.1). Gutierrez-Triana also teaches that they do not have problem integrating linear donor DNA fragments larger than 2 kb (see page 6 of 15, “Discussion” section). Therefore, 10 nucleotides modified and protected versus 2000 (2 kb), give ratio of 0.0025, when both strands (2,000x2) are considered.
Gutierrez-Triana teaches modification of nucleotides of 5’ end of the DNA
product on both sense and antisense strands (see figure 1A). Gutierrez-Triana teaches modification of the first 5 nucleotides in 5’ end by using 5’ moiety extension (see page 11, “[D]onor amplification” section, lines 4-6).
Gutierrez-Triana teaches PCR using Q5® High-Fidelity DNA polymerase (see page 11 of 15, “Donor plasmids” section). According to NEB-pdf3, Q5® High-Fidelity DNA polymerase leads to a PCR product with blunt ends (see page 3 of NEB-pdf3, paragraph 13). Therefore, the linear DNA product comprises blunt ends.
Regarding claim 17(a), Gutierrez-Triana does not teach a sense strand that comprises at least two protected nucleotides upstream of the cassette and at least two protected nucleotides downstream of the cassette. Gutierrez-Triana does not teach an antisense strand that comprises at least two protected nucleotides upstream of the cassette and at least two protected nucleotides downstream of the cassette. Gutierrez-Triana is also silent on the cassette comprising a promoter.
However, Ciafrè teaches the incorporation of phosphorothioated (PS) nucleotides as cap on 5’ end of strands of an amplification product is possible (see page 4139, left column, “[S]ynthesis of PS-modified genes by PCR” section, lines 1-8), but also the incorporation of modified nucleotides using PS-dNTPs in the amplification mix to generate modified nucleotides in short DNA molecules (72bp) (see same section, lines 21-26 and Figure 4).
Ciafrè teaches that 5’ end capping with modified nucleotides of a long double-stranded DNA product may not be enough to protect the gene product (see page 4140, left paragraph, lines 5-9).
Ciafrè teaches in Figure 6 that the minigene contains the T7 promoter sequence in the minigene. Ciafrè also teaches that a minigene obtained via PCR for incorporating PS-dNTPs can also contain a promoter. Ciafrè teaches that this promoter can incorporate PS-modified nucleotides (see Figure 6).
Ciafrè also teaches the synthesis of PS (phosphorothioated) modified minigenes (72bp) by PCR in presence of 1, 2 or 3 modified dNTPs (see page 4139, left column, “[S]ynthesis of PS-modified genes by PCR” section, lines, 21-26). Ciafrè teaches a total of 14%, 26% or 37.5% modified nucleotides incorporated in the minigene (see Figure 6). Therefore, Ciafrè teaches a linear double-stranded DNA with both a sense and antisense strand, that has protected nucleotides (see Figure 5, endonuclease digestion), i.e. 100% stability of oligonucleotides modified with 1, 2 or 3 PS-dNTPs, with ratios of 0.14, 0.26 and 0.37 for the minigene.
Ciafrè teaches a linear double-stranded DNA product that comprises the protected nucleotides at a ratio of at least 0.01 to total nucleotides.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the linear double-stranded DNA product of Gutierrez-Triana with the short DNA sequence of Ciafrè and ligate a short DNA sequence comprising modified nucleotides upstream and downstream of the cassette to provide better protection against endonuclease.
Therefore, one motivated in protecting the cassette at each end could have amplify DNA fragments using PS-dNTPs, one with a promoter sequence, one without, and ligate in such as way they flank the gene of interest. One motivated in obtaining a cassette capable of independent transcription and resistant to endonucleases could have performed this modification with a reasonable expectation of success and arrived at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 24, Gutierrez-Triana teaches phosphorothiates-modified nucleotides at the 5’ end of both strands of the linear double-stranded DNA product (see Figure 1A, and Key Resource Table, page 10, page 11, “[D]onor amplification” section, line 4-6).
Regarding claim 25, Gutierrez-Triana teaches a probe, i.e. fluorescent marker, as a fusion green fluorescent protein, gfp ( see Figure 1). Gutierrez-Triana also teaches Biotin as a modification (see Figures 1 and 2).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being
unpatentable over Gutierrez-Triana (Gutierrez-Triana, J.A. et al. eLife, Vol. 7 (2018), p: e39468), NEB-pdf3 (“PCR using Q5® High-Fidelity DNA polymerase (NEB#M0491)”; URL: https:// www.neb.com/en-us/protocols/pcr-using-q5-high-fidelity-dna-polymerase-m0491?pdf=true; downloaded from internet 02/20/2026) and Ciafrè (Ciafrè, S.A. et al. Nucleic Acids Research, Vol. 23 (1995), pp: 4134-4142) as applied to claim 17 above and in further view of Oyarzabal Santamarina (Oyarzabal Santamarina, J. et al. WO 2021/152147 A1, published August 05, 2021, with priority date January 31, 2020; previously cited).
The rejection of claim 17 is described above. The combination of references Gutierrez-Triana, NEB-pdf3, and Ciafrè renders the elements of claim 17 obvious.
Ciafrè also teaches that gene transfer is currently the basis of many emerging therapeutic strategies, emphasizing the disadvantages of using naked DNA as bio-pharmaceutical product, since it lacks persistence and long-lasting expression, therefore the main reason for its low efficacy in gene therapy (see page 4140, “Discussion” section). Ciafrè also teaches that producing long, double stranded, biologically functional DNA molecules modified with phosphorothioate substitutions, to use for in vivo gene transfer, significantly enhances longevity and stability of the molecule (see page 4141, left column, second paragraph).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Gutierrez-Triana, NEB-pdf3 and Ciafrè does not teach a nanoparticle comprising the linear double-stranded DNA product either (claim 26).
However, Oyarzabal Santamarina teaches closed linear DNA constructs (see title and abstract). Oyarzabal Santamarina teaches that linear DNA can be delivered to cells using nanoparticles (see page 31, lines 5-11).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the linear PCR product as taught by Gutierrez-Triana modified by NEB-pdf3 and Ciafrè, and packaged it in a nanoparticle as taught by Oyarzabal Santamarina. One with ordinary skills in the art, motivated in using a non-viral delivery vector for gene transfer into cells, and motivated into a carrier that also contribute to longevity and stability of the DNA molecule, could have performed this modification with a reasonable expectation of success and arrived at the claimed invention.
Claims 35-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being
unpatentable over Gutierrez-Triana (Gutierrez-Triana, J.A. et al. eLife, Vol. 7 (2018), p: e39468), as evidenced by NEB-pdf3 (“PCR using Q5® High-Fidelity DNA polymerase (NEB#M0491)”; URL: https:// www.neb.com/en-us/protocols/pcr-using-q5-high-fidelity-dna-polymerase-m0491?pdf=true; downloaded from internet 02/20/2026) and Ciafrè (Ciafrè, S.A. et al. Nucleic Acids Research, Vol. 23 (1995), pp: 4134-4142), as applied to claim 17 above and in further view of Sykes (Sykes, K.F. et al. “Linear expression elements: a rapid, in vivo, method to screen for gene functions”. Nature Biotechnology, Vol. 17 (1999), pp: 355-359).
The rejection of claim 17 is described above. The combination of references Gutierrez-Triana, NEB-pdf3, and Ciafrè renders the elements of claim 17 obvious.
Ciafrè teaches that the phosphorothioate- modified molecules can be synthesized in vitro by PCR and that they can be transcribed, thus representing synthetic functional transcription units” (see page 4141, right column, last paragraph). Therefore, the PCR product is capable of producing mRNAs.
Ciafrè also teaches that phosphorothioate modification might represent a way of protecting injected DNA molecules for gene transfer (see page 4141, right column, last paragraph).
Regarding claims 35-36, the combination of references does not render obvious elements of claims 35 and 36, i.e., “ A vaccine comprising the linear double-stranded DNA product of claim 17” (claim 35) and “ The vaccine of claim 35, wherein the linear double-stranded DNA product encodes an mRNA, and wherein the vaccine is an mRNA-based vaccine” (claim 36).
However, Sykes teaches that a PCR product, i.e., a linear expression elements (LEE), comprising a promoter and terminator regions and an open reading frame (ORF) encoding an antigen, can be delivered by gene gun into fibroblast cells in culture, and also to a mouse ear (see title, abstract, and Figure 4, and page 359, right column).
Sykes uses modified abasic nucleotides and a non-covalent linkage to produce a recombinant linear PCR product (see Figure 2A). Sykes teaches that similar gene expression is obtained with or without covalent linkage within the LEE (see Figure 3).
Sykes teaches that adding a terminator is required for gene expression (see page 357, left column, first paragraph).
Sykes teaches that a linear recombinant PCR product can be used for vaccination and production of antibodies in vivo in mice (see Figure 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the PCR product with protected nucleotides via phosphorothioate linkage modifications as taught by the combination of Gutierrez-Triana, NEB-pdf3, and Ciafrè, and added a terminator to the linear PCR product as taught by Sykes. One with ordinary skills in the art, motivated in obtaining a simplified, but nuclease-resistant linear PCR product as taught by the combination of Gutierrez-Triana, NEB-pdf3, and Ciafrè, and using it as an expression cassette to produce an mRNA encoding for antibodies as taught by Sykes, could have performed this modification with a reasonable expectation of success and arrived at the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 17, 21-26 and 35-37 rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding Applicant’s argument on page 6 against the combination of Gutierrez-Triana and Ciafrè in rejection under 35.U.S.C. §103, stating that the combination fails to teach “protected nucleotides at a ratio of between, 0.0025-0.1 to total nucleotides”, Examiner respectfully disagrees. If both sides (strands) are protected within the same DNA product, the ratio would be 10: (1,500x2) = 0.0033, which still falls within the range claimed (0.0025-0.1). Gutierrez-Triana also teaches that they do not have problem integrating linear donor DNA fragments larger than 2 kb (see page 6 of 15, “Discussion” section). Therefore, 10 nucleotides modified and protected versus 2000 (2 kb), give ratio of 0.0025, when both strands (2,000x2) are considered.
And in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references Gutierrez-Triana and Ciafrè, (arguments in Remarks, page 7), the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, both references are drawn to protection of linear DNA fragments, using modified phosphorothioates linkage modifications (see title for Ciafrè; see Figure 1 and “Key Resource Table” on page 10 of 15, in Gutierrez-Triana). Gutierrez-Triana not only uses phosphorothioate modifications, but Biotin as well.
Double Patenting
Claim 17, 24-26, 35, 37 and 39 provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 and 16 of co-pending Application No. 18/288,545 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 17, claims 1 and 2 of co-pending application ‘545 also recite “a linear double-stranded DNA product comprising a sense strand and an antisense strand, wherein the linear double-stranded DNA product comprises a single cassette”, and “wherein the cassette comprises a promoter and a coding sequence” and wherein the sense strand comprises at least two modified nucleotides in the 5’ end region of the cassette and at least two modified in the 3’ end of the cassette, i.e. upstream and downstream of the cassette. Claim 2 of the co-pending application ‘ 545 also claims identical limitations in the antisense strand.
Regarding claim 17(b), claim 4 of co-pending app. ‘545 claims a ratio, i.e. 0.01, of modified/phosphorothioated nucleotides to total nucleotides.
Regarding claims 24, claims 1 and 2 of the copending application ‘545 also claim phosphorothioated modified nucleotides .
Regarding claim 25, claim 6 of co-pending application ‘545 also claims the same elements, i.e. “a complex molecule comprising the linear double-stranded DNA product” and “a functional portion, optionally wherein the functional portion is a binding molecule or a probe.”
Regarding claim 26, claim 7 of co-pending app. ‘545 also claims a nanoparticle comprising the linear double-stranded DNA product.
Regarding claim 35, claim 16 of co-pending app. ‘545 also claims a vaccine comprising the linear double-stranded DNA product.
Regarding claim 37, claim 3 of co-pending app. ‘545 also claims 5’ overhang, 3’ overhang, and/or blunt end comprised in the linear double-stranded DNA product.
Regarding claim 39, claim 5 of co-pending app. ‘545 also claims the same range for the ratio of modified/phosphorothioated nucleotides to total nucleotides, i.e. 0.01-0.1.
This is a provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicants request that the double patenting rejection be held in abeyance until it is the only remaining rejection. Therefore, this rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/A.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1636
/NANCY J LEITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1636