CTNF 19/054,591 CTNF 82480 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1 – 3, 7 – 11 and 15 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Au Yeung et al (US 2018/0212749) . Re claims 1 and 9, Au Yeung teaches of a method of signal processing, comprising: receiving a first signal (receiver #100, Fig.1) obtained based on a spread spectrum sequence set (32 chip PN sequences, Table 1) and N data symbols (N=16, 16 data symbols, Table 1), the spread spectrum sequence set comprising M spread spectrum sequences (M=16, 16 spread spectrum sequences, Table 1) of which lengths are L (L=32, 32 chips, Table 1), the M spread spectrum sequences one-to-one corresponding to M data symbols with different values (one-to-one correspondence as shown in Table 1), values of l th chips comprised in any two of the M spread spectrum sequences being same (all chips have either 1s or 0s on all M spread spectrum sequences, Table 1), N, M, and L being positive integers, and l =1 or l =L ( l = 1 to 32); and performing a frequency offset estimation based on the first signal (#140, Fig.1). Re claim 17, Au Yeung teaches of an apparatus, comprising a transceiver unit (transceiver, Paragraph 0019 and Fig.1) and a processing unit (processor, Paragraphs 0036 – 0037), wherein the transceiver unit is configured to receive a first signal obtained based on a spread spectrum sequence set and N data symbols, the spread spectrum sequence set comprises M spread spectrum sequences of which lengths are L, the M spread spectrum sequences one-to-one correspond to M data symbols with different values, values of l.sup.th chips comprised in any two of the M spread spectrum sequences are same, N, M, and L are positive integers, and l=1 or l=L; and the processing unit is configured to perform a frequency offset estimation based on the first signal (see claim 1). Re claims 2 and 10, Au Yeung teaches of wherein the first signal is obtained by modulating a second signal obtained by performing spread spectrum processing (DSSS encoding, Paragraph 0021) on the N data symbols based on the spread spectrum sequence set (Table 1), and the second signal comprises a first sub-signal and a second sub-signal; the first sub-signal is obtained by performing a spread spectrum processing on a (2n+1)th data symbol (for example 3 rd symbol, Table 1) in the N data symbols (from the 16 symbols, Table 1) based on a first spread spectrum sequence in the spread spectrum sequence set (third chip sequence, Table 1), the first spread spectrum sequence corresponds to the (2n+1)th data symbol (one to one correspondence as shown in Table 1), n is an integer, and 0≤n≤(N−1)/2; and the second sub-signal is obtained by performing a spread spectrum processing on a 2nth data symbol in the N data symbols (for example 2 nd symbol, Table 1) based on a second spread spectrum sequence (second chip sequence, Table 1), the second spread spectrum sequence (second chip sequence, Table 1) is obtained by performing a first processing on a third spread spectrum sequence (first chip sequence, Table 1) that is in the spread spectrum sequence set and that corresponds to the 2nth data symbol (cyclic shifting 4 bits of the first chip sequence), and a value of an | l −(L+1)|th chip comprised in the second spread spectrum sequence (first 4 chip bit values 1110 of the second chip sequence) is same as a value of an l th chip comprised in the third spread spectrum sequence (last 4 chip bit values 1110 of the first chip sequence). Re claims 3 and 11, Au Yeung teaches of wherein the first processing comprises at least one of a cyclic shifting or an inversion (cyclic shifting as described in claim 2). Re claims 7 and 15, Au Yeung teaches of wherein the first signal is obtained by performing an offset quadrature phase shift keying modulation on the second signal (OQPSK, Paragraph 0017). Re claims 8 and 16, Au Yeung teaches of wherein the N data symbols are obtained based on a data bit comprised in a physical layer protocol data unit (Paragraph 0003), and the receiving the first signal comprises: receiving the first signal by using a narrowband (Zigbee, Paragraph 0003) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Au Yeung in view of Qian et al (“Efficient coding schemes for low-rate wireless personal area networks”, IET Communications, 15th February 2016) . Re claims 4 and 12, Au Yeung teaches all the limitations of claims 1 and 9, except of wherein a Hamming distance between any two different spread spectrum sequences in the spread spectrum sequence set is not less than 8. Qian teaches of Hamming distance between any two different spread spectrum sequences in the spread spectrum sequence set is not less than 8 (Hamming distance of this code is 12, Col 2, Page 915 and Table 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the Hamming distance between any two different spread spectrum sequences in the spread spectrum sequence set to be not less than 8 to improve the code efficiency . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Au Yeung and Qian in view of Schmidl (US 2013/0202014) . Re claims 5 and 13, Au Yeung and Qian teach all the limitations of claims 4 and 12 as well as Au Yeung teaches of wherein L=32, M=16, and in a matrix comprising the M spread spectrum sequences of which lengths are L (Table 1), each column other than an lth column comprises eight 1s and eight 0s (Table 1), and each row of the matrix corresponds to one spread spectrum sequence in the spread spectrum sequence set (Table 1). However, Au Yeung and Qian does not specifically teach of wherein L=16, M=16. Schidtl teaches of L=16, M=16 (Table 3), and in a matrix comprising the M spread spectrum sequences of which lengths are L (Table 3), each column other than an lth column comprises eight 1s and eight 0s (Table 3), and each row of the matrix corresponds to one spread spectrum sequence in the spread spectrum sequence set (Table 3). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a chip sequence of L=16 for higher data rates . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Au Yeung in view of He et al (US 2022/0006482) . Re claim 19, Au Yeung teaches of an apparatus, comprising transmitter, wherein the transmitter is configured to: obtain a first signal (receiver #100, Fig.1) based on a spread spectrum sequence set (32 chip PN sequences, Table 1) and N data symbols (N=16, 16 data symbols, Table 1), the spread spectrum sequence set comprising M spread spectrum sequences (M=16, 16 spread spectrum sequences, Table 1) of which lengths are L (L=32, 32 chips, Table 1), the M spread spectrum sequences one-to-one corresponding to M data symbols with different values (one-to-one correspondence as shown in Table 1), values of lth chips comprised in any two of the M spread spectrum sequences being same (all chips have either 1s or 0s on all M spread spectrum sequences, Table 1), N, M, and L being positive integers, and l =1 or l =L ( l = 1 to 32); and sending the first signal (Fig.2). However, Au Yeung does not specifically mention the apparatus, comprising a transceiver unit and a processing unit, wherein the processing unit is configured to perform the above process. He teaches of an apparatus (Fig.57), comprising a transceiver unit (transceiver, Fig.57 and Paragraph 0213) and a processing unit (one or more processors, Fig.57 and Paragraph 0212), wherein the processing unit is configured to obtain a first signal based on a spread spectrum sequence set (a set of chip sequences, Table 3) and N data symbols (number of symbols, Table 3), the spread spectrum sequence set comprises M spread spectrum sequences (a number of chip sequences, Table 3 and Paragraph 0177) of which lengths are L (L = 32, Table 3), the M spread spectrum sequences one-to-one correspond to M data symbols with different values (one to one correspondence as shown in Table 3), N, M, and L are positive integers, and l=1 or l=L ( l = 1 to 32, table 3); and the transceiver unit is configured to send the first signal (Fig.57). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the apparatus comprise a transceiver and a processor for enhanced bidirectional communication and increased data rates . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 6, 14, 18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ARISTOCRATIS FOTAKIS whose telephone number is (571)270-1206. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:30am-5:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Sam K Ahn can be reached at (571) 272-3044. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ARISTOCRATIS FOTAKIS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633 Application/Control Number: 19/054,591 Page 2 Art Unit: 2633 Application/Control Number: 19/054,591 Page 3 Art Unit: 2633 Application/Control Number: 19/054,591 Page 4 Art Unit: 2633 Application/Control Number: 19/054,591 Page 5 Art Unit: 2633 Application/Control Number: 19/054,591 Page 6 Art Unit: 2633 Application/Control Number: 19/054,591 Page 7 Art Unit: 2633 Application/Control Number: 19/054,591 Page 8 Art Unit: 2633 Application/Control Number: 19/054,591 Page 9 Art Unit: 2633 Application/Control Number: 19/054,591 Page 10 Art Unit: 2633