DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,925,780.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because patent claim 1 discloses a method of treating a skin surface of a subject (Col. 29, line 18), comprising: conducting a first skin treatment on the skin surface of the subject at a facility (Col. 29, lines 20-21), wherein the first skin treatment comprises using a handpiece (Col. 29, lines 21-23) in fluid communication with a vacuum source (Col. 29, lines 50-56) and a material source, the material source containing a first treatment material (Col. 29, lines 24-37: the cartridge is the source of fluids in the patent, and corresponds to the material source); at least partially exfoliating the skin surface at the facility by contacting a distal end of the handpiece with the skin surface and moving the distal end relative to the skin surface (Col. 29, lines 38-45); wherein the at least partially exfoliating the skin surface at the facility comprises creation of suction along the distal end of the handpiece by activating the vacuum source (Col. 29, lines 46-56); and wherein suction created along the distal end helps transfer a volume of the first treatment material from the material source to the skin surface and enhances the first skin treatment (Col. 29, lines 23-37 and 50-56: the handpiece tip is in fluid communication with both the vacuum source and the interior of the cartridge, and therefore the applied suction is also applied to the interior of the cartridge to draw fluids out of it); and instructing the subject to conduct a second skin treatment, wherein the second skin treatment is performed by the subject following the first skin treatment and away from the facility (Col. 29, lines 62-65); wherein the second skin treatment comprises delivering a volume of a second treatment material to the skin surface (Col. 29, line 65 – Col. 30, line 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ignon et al. (US 2007/0156124 A1) in view of Yu et al. (US 5,834,510 A).
Regarding claim 1, Ignon discloses a method of treating a skin surface of a subject (¶0018), comprising: conducting a first skin treatment on the skin surface of the subject at a facility (¶0018, 0066, and 0074), wherein the first skin treatment comprises using a handpiece (Figs. 1-3, feat. 18; ¶0066-0067, 0074-0075, and 0078) in fluid communication with a vacuum source (Figs. 2A-3, feat. 52; ¶0078, 0081, 0086, 0100: vacuum may be applied through line 52) and a material source (Figs. 2A-3, feat. 50; ¶0078-0079 and 0086: fluid may be delivered from line 50), the material source containing a first treatment material (¶0068, 0081, and 0086); at least partially exfoliating the skin surface at the facility by contacting a distal end of the handpiece with the skin surface and moving the distal end relative to the skin surface (Figs. 2A-3, feat. 34; ¶0079-0081 and 0086); wherein the at least partially exfoliating the skin surface at the facility comprises creation of suction along the distal end of the handpiece by activating the vacuum source (¶0100); wherein suction created along the distal end helps transfer a volume of the first treatment material from the material source to the skin surface and enhances the first skin treatment (¶0100).
Ignon does not disclose instructing the subject to conduct a second skin treatment, wherein the second skin treatment is performed by the subject following the first skin treatment and away from the facility, wherein the second skin treatment comprises delivering a volume of a second treatment material to the skin surface.
Yu teaches methods for treating the skin (Col. 2, lines 39-42) comprising the topical application of 2-hydroxycarboxylic acids and related compounds (Col. 2, line 43 – Col. 3, line 6). Yu teaches treatment methods in which the patients treat themselves at home with a low to intermediate concentration composition (Col. 14, lines 9-61), in which the patients are treated at a facility with a high concentration or full-strength composition (Col. 14, line 62 – Col. 15, line 23), or in which office treatments with high concentration compositions are alternated with home treatments with low to intermediate concentration compositions (Col. 15, lines 24-44). When performing home treatments, patients receive instructions for how to use the compositions (Col. 14, lines 21-36). Yu teaches that combining office and home treatments may advantageously lead to more rapid therapeutic results (Col. 14, lines 9-19; Col. 15, lines 24-44). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Ignon so that it comprises instructing the subject to conduct a second skin treatment, wherein the second skin treatment is performed by the subject following the first skin treatment and away from the facility, wherein the second skin treatment comprises delivering a volume of a second treatment material to the skin surface in order to achieve rapid therapeutic results as taught by Yu.
Conclusion
/ARJUNA P CHATRATHI/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/SARAH AL HASHIMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3781