DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 7-8 and 14-15 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7, line 2, “the bucket” should say “a bucket”
Claim 7, line 2, “the horizontal axis” should say “a horizontal axis”
Claim 7, line 4, “the platform” should say “a platform”
Claim 7, line 4, “the vertical axis” should say “a vertical axis”
Claim 8, lines 2-3, “the horizontal axis” should say “a horizontal axis”
Claim 14, lines 2-3, “the first radial position” should say “a first radial position”
Claim 14, line 3, “the second radial position” should say “a second radial position”
Claim 15, line 2, “a vertical axis” should say “the vertical axis”
Claim 15, line 2, “a first radial position” should say “the first radial position”
Claim 15, line 2, “a longitudinal axis” should say “the longitudinal axis”
Claim 15, line 3, “a second radial position” should say “the radial position”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abrams (US 11414001 B1) in view of Norstad (US 20160121924 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 10, and 16, Abrams discloses a motorized vehicle (vehicle 100, figs.1-18) for transporting material, the motorized vehicle comprising: a frame (frame 102) having a longitudinal axis (longitudinal axis 122); first and second forward wheel assemblies (two forward wheel assemblies 104 and 106), the first forward wheel assembly including at least one tire (tires 124 of wheel assembly 104) disposed toward a first side of the frame and the second forward wheel assembly including at least one tire (tires 124 of wheel assembly 106) disposed toward a second side of the frame, the at least one tire of the first forward wheel assembly spaced apart from the at least one tire of the second forward wheel assembly along a forward axis (tires 124 of wheel assembly 104 are spaced apart from tires 124 of wheel assembly 106 along an axis 120), the forward axis disposed generally perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the frame (forward axis 120 is perpendicular to the longitudinal axis 122); a rearward wheel assembly (wheel assembly 108) including a first tire (tires 136) disposed toward the first side portion of the frame and a second tire (tires 136) disposed toward the second side portion of the frame, the first tire of the rearward wheel assembly spaced apart from the second tire of the rearward wheel assembly along a rearward axis (rearward axis 138), the rearward axis disposed generally perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the frame (rearward axis 138 is perpendicular to longitudinal axis 122); an engine (engine 110) supported by the frame and configured to rotate the at least one tire of the first forward wheel assembly and the at least one tire of the second forward wheel assembly to thereby move the motorized vehicle (engine 110 is coupled to first and second wheel motors 132 and 134 to power the wheel motors to rotate tires 124, column 9, lines 61-67); a steering assembly (steering assembly 140), the steering assembly configured to move the first and second tires of the rearward wheel assembly (steering assembly 140 has handle 144 and steering linkage 142 to steer tires 136), for steering the motorized vehicle; and a bucket assembly (bucket assembly 118 with bucket 176) supported by the frame and configured to hold material on the motorized vehicle and selectively dump the material from the motorized vehicle (figs.7-15), the bucket assembly disposed adjacent the first and second forward wheel assemblies (bucket assembly 118 is adjacent the forward wheel assemblies 104 and 106). Abrams fails to disclose a power steering unit.
However, Norstad discloses a power steering unit (steering assembly 180 with power steering assist unit 252, fig,3).
Abrams and Norstad are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of vehicles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Abrams with the power steering of Norstad with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have combined prior art elements yielding predictable results of allowing the vehicle to be steered easier with the assistance of power steering.
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Abrams in combination with Norstad disclose wherein the steering assembly includes: a handle (Abrams, handle 144; Norstad, steering wheel 182, fig.3); an input shaft (Abrams, shaft of handle 144, fig.3; Norstad, shaft 250, fig.3) coupled between the handle and the power steering unit; a steering linkage (Abrams, steering linkage 142; Norstad, steering rack 258 and steering rods 266A/B, fig.3) coupled to the first and second tires of the rearward wheel assembly (Norstad, tires 22A, fig.3); and an output shaft (Abrams, tires 136; Norstad, shaft 264, fig.3) coupled between the power steering unit and the steering linkage.
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Abrams in combination with Norstad discloses the motorized vehicle of claim 1 and the power steering unit (Norstad, power steering unit 252 of steering assembly 180) but fails to disclose the location of the power steering unit in relation to the frame. However, In re Japikse and In re Kuhle disclose, claims to a power steering unit which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the power steering unit in relation to the frame were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the power steering unit would not have modified the operation of the device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that having the power steering unit disposed below the frame would not have modified the operation of the device and would have been an obvious matter of design choice.
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Abrams discloses a hydraulic reservoir (column 5, lines 14-20) and pump (pump 192) coupled to the engine (fig.18) and Norstad discloses the power steering unit (power steering unit 252) being an electronic power steering unit instead of a hydraulic power steering unit. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that replacing the electronic power steering unit with a hydraulic power steering unit would be a simple substitution of one known power steering unit for another obtaining predictable results of providing a strong, consistent steering feel and excellent road feedback, ideal for performance and heavy-duty vehicles.
Regarding claim 5, Abrams in combination with Nortsad, Abrams discloses wherein the first forward wheel assembly includes two tires (tires 124), and wherein the second forward wheel assembly includes two tires (tires 124).
Regarding claim 6, Abrams in combination with Norstad, Abrams discloses wherein the two tires of the first forward wheel assembly are mounted on a first axle (first axle 126), and wherein the two tires of the second forward wheel assembly are mounted on a second axle (second axle 128) separate from the first axle.
Regarding claim 7, Abrams in combination with Norstad, Abrams discloses wherein the bucket assembly further includes: a first actuator (hydraulic cylinder 186, fig.7) configured to pivot the bucket (bucket 176) about the horizontal axis (horizontal axis 170, fig.7) of the bucket assembly; and a second actuator (drive device 196, figs.16-17) configured to rotate the platform (platform 174) about the vertical axis (vertical axis 172) of the bucket assembly and move the bucket relative to the frame.
Regarding claim 8, Abrams in combination with Norstad, Abrams discloses wherein the bucket assembly includes a mount (pivot 180 with mounts 184, fig.7) configured to pivotally couple the bucket to the platform (fig.7), the mount extending along the horizontal axis (horizontal axis 170) of the bucket assembly; and wherein the bucket includes a bottom wall (bottom wall 182) and a forward wall (forward wall 178) arranged at an angle relative to the bottom wall (fig.5), the mount disposed adjacent an intersection of the bottom wall and the forward wall of the bucket (fig.7).
Regarding claims 9 and 17, Abrams in combination with Norstad, Abrams discloses further comprising a pivot (center link 150 causes the tries 136 to rotate via pivot 154, figs.3-4, column 6 line 52 to column 7 line 4) coupling the rearward wheel assembly to the frame, so that the rearward wheel assembly is configured to pivot relative to the frame via the pivot (center link 150 causes the tries 136 to rotate via pivot 154, figs.3-4, column 6 line 52 to column 7 line 4).
Regarding claim 14, Abrams in combination with Norstad disclose further comprising a platform (Abrams, platform 174) coupled to the frame and configured to rotate about a vertical axis (Abrams, vertical axis 172) to rotate the bucket at least between the first radial position (Abrams, hauling position/first radial position, fig.5) and the second radial position (Abrams, left-side position/second radial position, fig.8).
Regarding claim 15, Abrams in combination with Norstad disclose wherein the bucket is configured to rotate about a vertical axis (Abrams, vertical axis 172) at least between a first radial position in which a longitudinal axis of the bucket is generally parallel with the longitudinal axis of the frame (Abrams, hauling position/first radial position, fig.5) and a second radial position in which the longitude axis of the bucket is oriented generally perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the frame (Abrams, left-side position/second radial position, fig.8).
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abrams (US 11414001 B1) in view of Park (CN 219769994 U).
Regarding claims 1, 10, and 16, Abrams discloses a motorized vehicle (vehicle 100, figs.1-18) for transporting material, the motorized vehicle comprising: a frame (frame 102) having a longitudinal axis (longitudinal axis 122); first and second forward wheel assemblies (two forward wheel assemblies 104 and 106), the first forward wheel assembly including at least one tire (tires 124 of wheel assembly 104) disposed toward a first side of the frame and the second forward wheel assembly including at least one tire (tires 124 of wheel assembly 106) disposed toward a second side of the frame, the at least one tire of the first forward wheel assembly spaced apart from the at least one tire of the second forward wheel assembly along a forward axis (tires 124 of wheel assembly 104 are spaced apart from tires 124 of wheel assembly 106 along an axis 120), the forward axis disposed generally perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the frame (forward axis 120 is perpendicular to the longitudinal axis 122); a rearward wheel assembly (wheel assembly 108) including a first tire (tires 136) disposed toward the first side portion of the frame and a second tire (tires 136) disposed toward the second side portion of the frame, the first tire of the rearward wheel assembly spaced apart from the second tire of the rearward wheel assembly along a rearward axis (rearward axis 138), the rearward axis disposed generally perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the frame (rearward axis 138 is perpendicular to longitudinal axis 122); an engine (engine 110) supported by the frame and configured to rotate the at least one tire of the first forward wheel assembly and the at least one tire of the second forward wheel assembly to thereby move the motorized vehicle (engine 110 is coupled to first and second wheel motors 132 and 134 to power the wheel motors to rotate tires 124, column 9, lines 61-67); a steering assembly (steering assembly 140), the steering assembly configured to move the first and second tires of the rearward wheel assembly (steering assembly 140 has handle 144 and steering linkage 142 to steer tires 136), for steering the motorized vehicle; and a bucket assembly (bucket assembly 118 with bucket 176) supported by the frame and configured to hold material on the motorized vehicle and selectively dump the material from the motorized vehicle (figs.7-15), the bucket assembly disposed adjacent the first and second forward wheel assemblies (bucket assembly 118 is adjacent the forward wheel assemblies 104 and 106). Abrams fails to disclose a power steering unit.
However, Park discloses a power steering unit (steering apparatus 1, fig.1).
Abrams and Park are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of vehicles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Abrams with the power steering of Park with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have combined prior art elements yielding predictable results of allowing the vehicle to be steered easier with the assistance of power steering.
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Abrams in combination with Park disclose wherein the steering assembly includes: a handle (Abrams, handle 144; Park, steering wheel 2, fig.1); an input shaft (Abrams, shaft of handle 144, fig.3; Park, connecting shaft 50, figs.1-2) coupled between the handle and the power steering unit; a steering linkage (Abrams, steering linkage 142; Park, pull rod 18, fig.1) coupled to the first and second tires of the rearward wheel assembly (Abrams, tires 136; Park, wheel 4, fig.1); and an output shaft (Park, steering apparatus 30 has output shaft 95 and pinion gear13 is also an output shaft, figs.1-3) coupled between the power steering unit and the steering linkage.
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Abrams in combination with Park discloses the motorized vehicle of claim 1 and the power steering unit (Park, steering apparatus 1, fig.1) but fails to disclose the location of the power steering unit in relation to the frame. However, In re Japikse and In re Kuhle disclose, claims to a power steering unit which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the power steering unit in relation to the frame were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the power steering unit would not have modified the operation of the device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that having the power steering unit disposed below the frame would not have modified the operation of the device and would have been an obvious matter of design choice.
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Abrams discloses a hydraulic reservoir (column 5, lines 14-20) and pump (pump 192) coupled to the engine (fig.18) and Park discloses wherein the power steering unit further includes a tank (Park, oil tank 22, fig.1) configured to hold fluid for use in the power steering unit, and a pump (Park, oil pump 20, fig.1) configured to circulate the fluid between the tank and the power steering unit.
Regarding claim 5, Abrams in combination with Park, Abrams discloses wherein the first forward wheel assembly includes two tires (tires 124), and wherein the second forward wheel assembly includes two tires (tires 124).
Regarding claim 6, Abrams in combination with Park, Abrams discloses wherein the two tires of the first forward wheel assembly are mounted on a first axle (first axle 126), and wherein the two tires of the second forward wheel assembly are mounted on a second axle (second axle 128) separate from the first axle.
Regarding claim 7, Abrams in combination with Park, Abrams discloses wherein the bucket assembly further includes: a first actuator (hydraulic cylinder 186, fig.7) configured to pivot the bucket (bucket 176) about the horizontal axis (horizontal axis 170, fig.7) of the bucket assembly; and a second actuator (drive device 196, figs.16-17) configured to rotate the platform (platform 174) about the vertical axis (vertical axis 172) of the bucket assembly and move the bucket relative to the frame.
Regarding claim 8, Abrams in combination with Park, Abrams discloses wherein the bucket assembly includes a mount (pivot 180 with mounts 184, fig.7) configured to pivotally couple the bucket to the platform (fig.7), the mount extending along the horizontal axis (horizontal axis 170) of the bucket assembly; and wherein the bucket includes a bottom wall (bottom wall 182) and a forward wall (forward wall 178) arranged at an angle relative to the bottom wall (fig.5), the mount disposed adjacent an intersection of the bottom wall and the forward wall of the bucket (fig.7).
Regarding claims 9 and 17, Abrams in combination with Park, Abrams discloses further comprising a pivot (center link 150 causes the tries 136 to rotate via pivot 154, figs.3-4, column 6 line 52 to column 7 line 4) coupling the rearward wheel assembly to the frame, so that the rearward wheel assembly is configured to pivot relative to the frame via the pivot (center link 150 causes the tries 136 to rotate via pivot 154, figs.3-4, column 6 line 52 to column 7 line 4).
Regarding claim 14, Abrams in combination with Park disclose further comprising a platform (Abrams, platform 174) coupled to the frame and configured to rotate about a vertical axis (Abrams, vertical axis 172) to rotate the bucket at least between the first radial position (Abrams, hauling position/first radial position, fig.5) and the second radial position (Abrams, left-side position/second radial position, fig.8).
Regarding claim 15, Abrams in combination with Park disclose wherein the bucket is configured to rotate about a vertical axis (Abrams, vertical axis 172) at least between a first radial position in which a longitudinal axis of the bucket is generally parallel with the longitudinal axis of the frame (Abrams, hauling position/first radial position, fig.5) and a second radial position in which the longitude axis of the bucket is oriented generally perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the frame (Abrams, left-side position/second radial position, fig.8).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The prior art not relied upon but considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure is included in the 892 form. The art included has features related to claim limitations, the general structural of the invention, teachings, and other analogous art to the invention.
/IAN BRYCE SHELTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3613