DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 6-9, 12-13, 17-19 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 10-11, 14-16, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being disclosed by Lee et al (hereinafter Lee), US Patent Publication 20240314621 A1 (provisional date March 2023).
As per claim{s} 1, 10, 14, Lee discloses substantial features of the claimed invention, such as a access point (AP) for facilitating communication in a wireless network (Lee: e.g., Access Point_102) [0027; Fig. 1], comprising:
a memory (Lee: e.g., Memory_ 250 ) [0031 Fig. 2];
a processor coupled to the memory (Lee: e.g., Processor_210) [0031 Fig. 2], the processor configured to cause:
transmitting, to one or more stations (STAs) (Lee: e.g., Stations {STAs}_106a-c & STA_104) [0026-0027; Fig. 1] that are associated with the AP (Lee: e.g., Access Point_102) [0027; Fig. 1], a first frame that allocates a first resource unit (RU) for low-latency traffic transmission and a second RU for non-low-latency traffic transmission (Lee: e.g., FIG. 3 illustrates the format of an exemplary MU-PPDU_302 transmitted over the downlink, according to some aspects of this disclosure. In the example of FIG. 3, during a downlink multi-user transmission, AP 102 simultaneously transmits data to multiple STAs (e.g., non-Low Latency {non-LL} STAs_106a-c and Low Latency {LL} STA_104). MU-PPDU 302 is the physical layer (PHY) frame transmitted by AP 102 to non-LL STAs 106a-c and LL-STA 104 ) [0039; Figs 1 & 3] (Lee: e.g., According to some aspects, AP 102 transmits all A-MPDUs within the MU-PPDU 302 (e.g., PHY frame) concurrently over different resource units (RUs)…In the example of FIG. 3, the first A-MPDU 304 is assigned a first RU, the second A-MPDU is assigned a second RU, and the third A-MPDU is assigned a third RU) [0043-0044; Fig. 3], wherein the one or more STAs include a first STA with high priority access to the first RU (Lee: e.g., Low Latency {LL} STA_104) [0030; Fig. 1] and a second STA with low priority access to the first RU (Lee: e.g., non-Low Latency {LL} STA_106a,b,c) [0030 Fig. 1];
determining whether low-latency traffic for the first STA is queued for transmission (Lee: e.g., “Determine Whether Low-Latency Data Corresponding to a Low-Latency Station {LL-STA} is Available {for transmission} at a MAC Layer”_ 404) [0058-0059; Fig. 4];
transmitting the low-latency traffic for the first STA with priority to the first STA via the first RU based on a determination that the low-latency traffic for the first STA is queued for transmission (Lee: e.g., Some aspects of this disclosure relate to a low-latency station (LL-STA) that has a transceiver configured to enable wireless communication, and a processor communicatively coupled to the transceiver. The processor is configured to receive, using the transceiver, a preemption-indication signal transmitted by the AP. The LL-STA then determines, based on the received preemption-indication signal, whether any low-latency data transmission is addressed to the LL-STA. Based on a determination that low-latency data transmission is addressed to the LL-STA, the LL-STA transitions to a ‘full-capability-receiver mode’. In the ‘full-capability-receive mode’, the LL-STA receives and decodes one or more low-latency media access control (MAC) protocol data units (PDUs) (LL-MPDUs), where the one or more LL-MPDUs are received over a RU designated for receiving the low-latency data transmission ) [0009] (e.g., According to some aspects, non-low-latency MPDUs (non-LL-MPDUs) corresponding to one or more non-LL-STAs can be ‘scheduled’ for transmission over the O2RU 311. In the example of FIG. 3, A-MPDU 304, which is addressed to non-LL-STA1, is scheduled for transmission over the O2RU 311. However, when the MAC layer of AP 102 has low-latency data to send to one or more LL-STAs, LL-MPDUs corresponding to the one or more LL-STAs are ‘preemptively transmitted’ over the O2RU 311) [0046; Fig. 3] (e.g., “Transmit, Using the Transceiver, the Updated A-MPDU comprising the at least One LL-MPDU over the RU”_412) [0064; Fig. 4] (e.g., Determine, Based on at least the received Preemption -Indication Signal, Whether a Low-Latency Data Transmission is Addressed to the LL-STA_504 [Wingdings font/0xE0] “{YES}: Low Latency Data {available} for Transmission” [Wingdings font/0xE0] “Based on a Determination that a Low Latency Data Transmission is addressed to the LL-STA, Transition to a Full-Capability Receiver Mode”_506 [Wingdings font/0xE0] “Receive, from the AP, one or more low-latency MAC Protocol Data Units {LL-PDUs} over a Resource Unit {RU”}_508) [0067; Fig. 5]; and
transmitting low-latency traffic or non-low-latency traffic to the second STA via the first RU based on a determination that the low-latency traffic for the first STA is not queued for transmission (Lee: e.g., Some aspects of this disclosure relate to an AP that has a transceiver configured to enable wireless communication, and a processor communicatively coupled to the transceiver. The processor is configured to encode for transmission an MU-PPDU that includes a plurality of aggregated media access control (MAC) PDUs (A-MPDUs) addressed to one or more ‘Non-Low-Latency stations (non-LL STAs)’) [0005; Fig. 1] [0039; Fig. 3] (e.g., According to some aspects, WLAN system 100 supports downlink multi-user transmission. During DL ‘multi-user transmission’, AP 102 can ‘simultaneously transmit’ DL data to non-LL-STAs 106 a-c and LL-STA 104. According to some aspects, AP 102 can simultaneously transmit data to multiple STAs using MU-MIMO and/or OFDMA techniques. For example, AP 102 generates a MU-PPDU with multiple A-MPDUs, where one or more A-MPDUs of the MU-PPDU are addressed to one or more STAs (e.g., LL-STA 104 and “non-LL STAs” 106a-c)) [0030, Fig. 1] (e.g., According to some aspects, ‘non-low-latency MPDUs (non-LL-MPDUs)’ corresponding to one or more “non-LL-STA”s can be ‘scheduled’ for transmission over the O2RU 311. In the example of FIG. 3, A-MPDU 304, which is addressed to non-LL-STA1, is scheduled for transmission over the O2RU 311….) [0046; Fig. 3] (e.g., Alternatively, based on a determination that low-latency data addressed to LL-STA 104 ‘is not available’ for transmission at the MAC layer, AP 102 transmits a ‘preemption-indication signal’ (e.g., 310 a-b)…. According to some aspects, AP 102 identifies and selects the first A-MPDU ‘scheduled for transmission’ over O2RU 311 after transmitting the preemption-indicator signal indicating an upcoming low-latency data transmission)…At 510, alternatively, based on a determination the AP did not indicate low-latency transmission addressed to the LL-STA 104, LL-STA 104 enters, or remains in, a ‘limited-capability-receiver mode’. According to some aspects, when LL-STA 104 receives, in the preemption-indicator signal (310a or 310b), a sequence that is orthogonal to the LTF sequence and/or a STA-ID that does not match LL-STA 104's STA-ID, the LL-STA 104 makes a determination that AP 102 will not be transmitting low-latency data addressed to it. Subsequently, LL-STA 104 transitions to, or remains in, a ‘limited-capability-receiver mode’ {the Office notes that in this case the AP will continue to transmit ‘non-low latency A-MPDUs’ “scheduled” for transmission to the Non-LL STAs 160a-c until a ‘preemption signal’ is transmitted by the AP to indicate upcoming low latency data for transmission as in normal / regular MPDU transmission operations}) [0060 & 0063, 0070].
Claim(s) 10, 14 recites substantially the same features or limitations as claim 1, but from the from the perspective of the data receiving / transmitting ‘base station{s}’ (i.e. STAs) of the wireless network, and recites a complementary embodiment for ‘transmitting’ data to the AP in the opposite direction (uplink) as opposed to ‘receiving’ data / traffic from the AP, based on determining whether the AP is ‘busy’ or not ( the AP is in a ‘preemption’ state and/or has data queued for transmission, or is busy transmitting queued data) – which is nonetheless also disclosed by Lee (e.g., some aspects of the disclosure relate to an ‘AP’ that has a ‘transceiver’ configured to enable wireless communication, and a processor communicatively coupled to the transceiver…Based on a determination that low-latency data addressed to a low-latency station (LL-STA) is ‘available for transmission at a MAC layer of the AP’ (data queue), the AP transmits a ‘preemption-indicator signal’ to the LL-STA(s) and at least one non-LL STA) [0005, 0007; Fig. 1] (e.g., Some aspects of this disclosure relate to a ‘low-latency station (LL-STA)’ that has a ‘transceiver’ configured to enable wireless communication, and a processor communicatively coupled to the transceiver {for receiving / transmitting data or packets from / to the AP}) [0009; Fig. 1] (e.g., in one embodiment, the processor of the AP is configured to allocate a second RU for receiving ‘uplink’ data blocks from the LL-STA) [0008; Fig. 1] (e.g., To enable LL-STA 104 to ‘transmit’ the BA (‘uplink’ data to the AP), the AP 102 can reserve an RU in the ‘uplink’) [0047] -- and the claims are accordingly rejected on the same basis.
As per claim{s} 2, Lee discloses the AP wherein the processor is further configured to cause transmitting non-low-latency traffic to the second STA via the second RU Lee: e.g., According to some aspects, ‘non-low-latency MPDUs (non-LL-MPDUs)’ corresponding to one or more non-LL-STAs can be scheduled for transmission over the O2RU 311) [0046; Fig. 3] (e.g., according to some aspects, A-MPDUs of the MU-PPDU are configured to be transmitted over different RUs. In the example of FIG. 3, the first A-MPDU 304 is assigned a ‘first RU’’ the second A-MPDU is assigned a ‘second RU’, and the third A-MPDU is assigned a ‘third RU’.) [0044; Fig. 3]; and the low-latency traffic for the first STA is piggybacked to transmission of the non-low latency traffic to the second STA (Lee: e.g., According to some aspects, to preemptively transmit low-latency data over the O2RU 311, AP 102 identifies A-MPDU 304, which is configured for transmission over O2RU 311. AP 102 then replaces one or more non-LL-MPDUs of A-MPDU 304 with one or more LL-MPDUs carrying the low-latency data. In the example of FIG. 3, two non-LL-MPDUs addressed to non-LL-STA1 in portion 314 of A-MPDU 304 are replaced by two LL-MPDUs addressed to LL-STA 104. Therefore, when AP 102 has low-latency data to send to LL-STA 104, AP 102 can ‘combine’ one or more LL-MPDUs (addressed to LL-STA 104) within A-MPDU 304 with one or more non-LL-MPDUs (addressed to non-LL-STA1) {multiplex / piggyback data} ) [0047; Fig. 3] (e.g., therefore, when AP 102 has low-latency data to send to LL-STA 104, AP 102 ‘multiplexes’ {piggybacks} LL-MPDUs (addressed to LL-STA 104) with non-LL-MPDUs (addressed to non-LL-STA1) within A-MPDU 304 ) [0063; Fig. 4].
As per claim{s} 3, Lee discloses the AP wherein the processor is further configured to cause determining that low-latency traffic for the first STA is queued for transmission after the transmitting the low-latency or non-low-latency traffic to the second STA via the firs RU; stopping transmission of the low-latency traffic or the non-low-latency traffic to the second STA via the first RU; and transmitting the low-latency traffic for the first STA with priority to the first STA via the first RU (Lee: e.g., According to some aspects, to ‘preemptively’ transmit low-latency data over the O2RU 311, AP 102 identifies A-MPDU 304, which is configured for transmission over O2RU 311. AP 102 then ‘replaces’ one or more ‘non-LL-MPDUs’ of A-MPDU 304 with one or more ‘LL-MPDUs’ carrying the low-latency data. In the example of FIG. 3, two non-LL-MPDUs addressed to non-LL-STA1 in portion 314 of A-MPDU 304 are ‘replaced’ by two LL-MPDUs addressed to LL-STA 104. Therefore, when AP 102 has low-latency data to send to LL-STA 104, AP 102 can ‘combine’ one or more LL-MPDUs (addressed to LL-STA 104) within A-MPDU 304 with one or more non-LL-MPDUs (addressed to non-LL-STA1) …According to some aspects, AP 102 transmits ‘one or more preemption-indicator signals’ (i.e., 310 a-b and 312) to indicate whether there will be a ‘preemptive transmission’ of low latency data. In the example of FIG. 3, preemption-indicator signal 312 indicates an ‘upcoming’ preemptive transmission of low-latency data. In contrast, preemption-indicator signals 310 a-b indicate that there are ‘no upcoming’ preemptive transmissions of low-latency data, at least until the transmission of the next preemption-indicator signal) [0047-0048; Fig. 3].
As per claim{s} 4, Lee discloses the AP wherein the first frame includes information indicating whether a recipient STA is the first STA or the second STA (Lee: e.g., According to some aspects, a ‘station identifier (STA-ID)’ corresponding to the intended ‘recipient’ of the low-latency data (e.g., the ‘STA-ID of the LL-STA 104’) can be included as part of the preemption-indicator signal (e.g., 310 a-b and 312) ) [0051].
As per claim{s} 5, Lee discloses the AP wherein the first frame allocates the first RU to the first STA and the second STA (Lee: According to some aspects, AP 102 transmits all A-MPDUs within the MU-PPDU 302 (e.g., PHY frame) concurrently over different resource units (RUs). An RU includes a group of consecutive subcarriers or tones ‘that can be allocated to different STAs’ during a multi-user transmission… According to some aspects, non-low-latency MPDUs (non-LL-MPDUs) ‘corresponding’ to one or more ‘non-LL-STAs’ can be scheduled for transmission over the O2RU 311) [0044-0046; Fig. 3] (e.g. According to some aspects, to preemptively transmit low-latency data over the O2RU 311, AP 102 identifies A-MPDU 304, which is configured for transmission over O2RU 311. AP 102 then replaces one or more non-LL-MPDUs of A-MPDU 304 with one or more LL-MPDUs carrying the low-latency data. In the example of FIG. 3, two non-LL-MPDUs addressed to non-LL-STA1 in portion 314 of A-MPDU 304 are replaced by two LL-MPDUs addressed to LL-STA 104. Therefore, when AP 102 has low-latency data to send to LL-STA 104, AP 102 can ‘combine’ one or more LL-MPDUs (addressed to LL-STA 104) within A-MPDU 304 with one or more non-LL-MPDUs (addressed to non-LL-STA1)) [0047; Fig. 3] (e.g., therefore, when AP 102 has low-latency data to send to LL-STA 104, AP 102 ‘multiplexes’ LL-MPDUs (addressed to LL-STA 104) with non-LL-MPDUs (addressed to non-LL-STA1) within A-MPDU 304 ) [0063; Fig. 4].
As per claim{s} 11, Lee discloses the AP wherein the first frame includes information indicating that the STA has low priority access to the first RU (Lee: e.g., According to some aspects, AP 102 transmits all A-MPDUs within the MU-PPDU 302 (e.g., PHY frame) concurrently over different resource units (RUs). An RU includes a group of consecutive subcarriers or tones that can be allocated to different STAs during a multi-user transmission… According to some aspects, non-low-latency MPDUs (non-LL-MPDUs) ‘corresponding’ to one or more ‘non-LL-STAs’ can be scheduled for transmission over the O2RU 311 {in this regard, the Office notes that ‘non-low-latency data’ designated for non-LL-STAs are considered to have ‘lower priority’ compared to ‘low-latency data’ designated for LL-STAs}) [0044-0046; Fig. 3].
As per claim{s} 15, Lee discloses the STA where the processor is further configured to cause abstaining from transmitting, to the AP, the low-latency traffic for a predetermined period based on a determination that the first RU is unavailable for preemption (Lee: e.g., the LL-STA then determines, based on the received preemption-indication signal, whether any low-latency data transmission is addressed to the LL-STA, and based on a determination that low-latency data transmission is addressed to the LL-STA, the LL-STA transitions to a ‘full-capability-receiver mode’. In the full-capability-‘receive’ mode, the LL-STA receives and decodes one or more low-latency media access control (MAC) protocol data units (PDUs) (LL-MPDUs), where the one or more LL-MPDUs are received over a RU designated for receiving the low-latency data transmission) [0009].
As per claim{s} 16, Lee discloses the AP wherein the first frame includes information indicating that the STA has high priority access to the first RU (Lee: e.g., According to some aspects, AP 102 transmits all A-MPDUs within the MU-PPDU 302 (e.g., PHY frame) concurrently over different resource units (RUs). An RU includes a group of consecutive subcarriers or tones that can be allocated to different STAs during a multi-user transmission…According to some aspects, one of the configured RUs is ‘designated’ for transmitting low-latency data to LL-STAs. The RU designated for transmitting low-latency data is referred to as an opportunistically overloaded resource unit (O2RU) {in this regard, the Office notes that ‘low-latency data’ designated for LL-STAs are considered to have ‘higher priority’ compared to ‘non-low-latency data’ designated for non-LL-STAs}) [0044-0045; Fig. 3].
As per claim{s} 20, Lee discloses the AP wherein the first frame allocates two or more first RUs (Lee: e.g., According to some aspects, AP 102 transmits all A-MPDUs within the MU-PPDU 302 (e.g., PHY frame) concurrently over different resource units (RUs). An RU includes a group of consecutive subcarriers or tones that can be allocated to different STAs during a multi-user transmission…. In the example of FIG. 3, the first A-MPDU 304 is assigned a first RU, the second A-MPDU is assigned a second RU, and the third A-MPDU is assigned a third RU) [0043-0044; Fig. 3]; and the determining whether the first RU is available or unavailable for preemption comprising determining whether one of the one or more first RUs is available or unavailable for preemption (Lee: e.g., discloses that according to some aspects, AP 102 transmits one or more ‘preemption-indicator signals’ (e.g., 310 a-b and 312) to indicate whether there will be a preemptive transmission of low latency data (or not). In the example of FIG. 3, preemption-indicator signal 312 indicates an upcoming preemptive transmission of low-latency data. In contrast, preemption-indicator signals 310 a-b indicate that there are no upcoming preemptive transmissions of low-latency data, at least until the transmission of the next preemption-indicator signal. Therefore, preemption-indicator signal 310a indicates that there will be no preemptive transmission of low-latency data before the next preemption-indicator signal (e.g., 312)) [0048; Fig. 3].
Conclusion
/GLENFORD J MADAMBA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2451