DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 8-11, 14, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oztaskent et al. (US 2015/0189347).
Regarding claim 1, Oztaskent teaches a method comprising:
capturing, by an overlay extension of a browser executing on a client device, interactions with the browser ([0028], [0044], “At 210, a computing device can load a web browsing application that includes a web browser extension for presenting supplemental content.” [0046], “At 230, the web browsing application, using the web browser extension, can determine that a particular media content item has been selected for playback. For example, in response to browsing through available media content items on a content provider website, the web browsing application can determine that the user has selected a particular episode of a particular season of a particular program for on-demand playback on the content provider website.” Fig. 2);
detecting, by the overlay extension, video data within a web page rendered by the browser based on the captured interactions ([0046], “At 230, the web browsing application, using the web browser extension, can determine that a particular media content item has been selected for playback. For example, in response to browsing through available media content items on a content provider website, the web browsing application can determine that the user has selected a particular episode of a particular season of a particular program for on-demand playback on the content provider website.” Fig. 2);
transmitting metadata identifying the detected video data from the overlay extension to an overlay server ([0051], “In some implementations, the web browsing application can transmit the obtained audio sample and/or the audio fingerprint for analysis. For example, upon selecting a media content item for playback using the web browsing application and activating the audio input device, the web browsing application can automatically stream the audio sample and/or the audio fingerprint to a search system that accesses a matching service (e.g., an audio fingerprint matching service).” [0054], “In some implementations, the web browsing application can transmit the obtained video sample and/or the video fingerprint for analysis. For example, upon selecting a media content item for playback using the web browsing application, the web browsing application can automatically stream the video sample and/or the video fingerprint to a search system that accesses a matching service (e.g., a video fingerprint matching service).” [0056], Fig. 2);
receiving overlay content from the overlay server, the overlay content selected by the overlay server based on metadata from the overlay extension ([0058], “Turning to FIG. 3, upon receiving an indication from the web browsing application or the web browser extension that a content provider website has been accessed and receiving the sample and/or other additional information at 310, the search system can identify the media content item being provided by the content provider website on the web browsing application at 320.” [0069], “In response to identifying the media content item and determining that the on-demand media content item is associated with a media content item that was previously broadcasted by a television provider, the search system can determine whether supplemental content corresponding to the previously broadcasted media content item is available at 330.” [0072], “Referring back to 330, in response to determining whether supplemental content corresponding to the media content item is available, the search system can determine whether supplemental content corresponding to the previously broadcasted media content item is available and obtain supplemental content from such a database. For example, in response to determining that the particular episode of ‘The Comedy Show’ shown in FIG. 1 is associated with a previously broadcasted television program and that supplemental content was generated by one or more capture modules, the search system can access the portion of the database corresponding to the particular episode of ‘The Comedy Show’ and obtain the supplemental content.” [0030], “the supplemental information can be provided within a window that overlays a video window presenting the on-demand program.” Figs. 1-3);
obtaining, by the overlay extension, one or more settings of a video player within the browser presenting the video data ([0046], “At 230, the web browsing application, using the web browser extension, can determine that a particular media content item has been selected for playback.”); and
rendering, by the overlay extension, one or more portions of the overlay content in one or more portions of the video player based at least in part on the one or more settings of the video player, the overlay content rendered while the video data is rendered in the video player ([0046], “At 230, the web browsing application, using the web browser extension, can determine that a particular media content item has been selected for playback.” [0076], “the web browsing application can receive and present one or more interfaces including supplemental content relating to the presented media content item at 270. For example, as shown in FIG. 1, cards 150, 160, 170, and/or 180 including supplemental information can be presented to the user while viewing the selected media content item.” Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 11, Oztaskent teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having instructions encoded thereon that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform steps of claim 1 ([0110], Fig. 5). The grounds of rejection under 35 USC §102 presented with respect to claim 1 are similarly applied to the remaining limitations of claim 11.
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Oztaskent teaches further comprising:
capturing, by the overlay extension, an interaction with the browser modifying one or more settings of the video player; and modifying, by the overlay extension, the overlay content based on the one or more modified settings of the video player ([0046], “At 230, the web browsing application, using the web browser extension, can determine that a particular media content item has been selected for playback.” [0076], “the web browsing application can receive and present one or more interfaces including supplemental content relating to the presented media content item at 270. For example, as shown in FIG. 1, cards 150, 160, 170, and/or 180 including supplemental information can be presented to the user while viewing the selected media content item.” Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Oztaskent teaches wherein the overlay content comprises product identifiers of one or more products ([0037], “For example, an individual card can present guidance information relating to the on-demand program (e.g., program information, episode information, previous broadcast information, etc.), as shown in card 150. In another example, an individual card can present text snippets relating to a product logo, face, and/or famous place that appears in the on-demand program (e.g., facts relating to a person appearing at that playback position in Episode 4 from Season 10 of ‘The Comedy Show’), as shown in card 160. Similarly, an individual card can present a portion of web content relating to a product logo, face, and/or famous place that appears in the on-demand program (e.g., a portion of a webpage include a biography and images relating to a person appearing at that playback position in Episode 4 from Season 10 of ‘The Comedy Show’), as shown in card 170.”).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Oztaskent teaches wherein the overlay content further comprises one or more interface elements associated with each product identifier ([0037], “For example, an individual card can present guidance information relating to the on-demand program (e.g., program information, episode information, previous broadcast information, etc.), as shown in card 150. In another example, an individual card can present text snippets relating to a product logo, face, and/or famous place that appears in the on-demand program (e.g., facts relating to a person appearing at that playback position in Episode 4 from Season 10 of ‘The Comedy Show’), as shown in card 160. Similarly, an individual card can present a portion of web content relating to a product logo, face, and/or famous place that appears in the on-demand program (e.g., a portion of a webpage include a biography and images relating to a person appearing at that playback position in Episode 4 from Season 10 of ‘The Comedy Show’), as shown in card 170.”).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Oztaskent teaches wherein the browser obtains the video data from a content provider system separate from the overlay server ([0107], “In response to identifying the on-demand content item and determining an associated program that has been broadcasted by a television provider, front-end server 420 can access the timeline associated with the associated program and return supplemental content (if any) that can be presented to the user.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 7, 12-13, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Oztaskent and Broderson et al. (US 2008/0066100).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Oztaskent teaches further comprising:
detecting, by the overlay extension, an interaction with a portion of the overlay content; and
transmitting information ([0043], “the supplemental content presented in cards can be interacted with by a user. For example, a card can be removed from page 100 if a user is not interested or is no longer interested in the supplemental information presented on the card. As another example, a card can be selected to perform an action or present additional information (e.g., access a link to review an article relating to the context of the on-demand program). As a more particular example, if a card which displays a portion of a document including actor information is presented, the card can be selected, and in response, an action can be performed, for example, launching a web browsing application that accesses the page with the document containing actor information.”).
Oztaskent does not expressly teach transmitting information from the overlay extension to the overlay server describing the interaction with the portion of the overlay content.
Broderson teaches transmitting information from a client to a server describing an interaction with a portion of overlay content ([0068], “The ‘more info’ button representation 770, upon selection, can cause the media system 100 to perform a search for related metadata content (e.g., trivia, biographies, commentaries, bonus footage, etc.) from a network (e.g., the internet), and to display a list of related content responsive to the search results received.” [0055], “As described above, additional metadata can be searched for in a number of different ways. For example, in some implementations, the user can select to search for additional program description, director information, biographies, bonus footage (deleted scenes, alternate endings, "making of" footage, theatrical trailers, etc.), trivia, user participation, commentaries, etc. The search can be performed, for example, on a variety of different metadata provider websites (iTunes, Amazon.com, movies.com, NetFlix, etc.), whereby the metadata provider can typically provide a search engine. Alternatively, the search can be performed using a single search engine to search a variety of different internet content (e.g., Google website, Yahoo! Search, AltaVista, etc.). In yet further alternatives, the metadata retrieval engine can include a web crawler and/or scraper used to harvest information from various metadata provider websites.”).
In view of Broderson’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Oztaskent to include transmitting information from the overlay extension to the overlay server describing the interaction with the portion of the overlay content. The modification would serve to enhance user interactivity with content, thereby enhancing the user experience.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, the combination further:
receiving, at the overlay extension, additional overlay content from the overlay server selected by the overlay server based on the information describing the interaction with the portion of the overlay content; and rendering, by the overlay extension, the additional overlay content in apportion of the video player in conjunction with the video data (Oztaskent: [0044], “At 210, a computing device can load a web browsing application that includes a web browser extension for presenting supplemental content.” Broderson: [0068], “The ‘more info’ button representation 770, upon selection, can cause the media system 100 to perform a search for related metadata content (e.g., trivia, biographies, commentaries, bonus footage, etc.) from a network (e.g., the internet), and to display a list of related content responsive to the search results received.” [0070], “The button representations 815-850 can include a number of search templates, which can be used by the extraction engine 175 and metadata retrieval engine 180 to extract search criteria from the metadata and to search for related metadata content.” [0071]-[0078]).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Oztaskent teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach wherein the overlay content comprises one or more questions based on the video data.
Broderson teaches overlay content comprises one or more questions based on video data ([0083], “FIG. 10 depicts an example screen shot 1000 displaying a presentation 1005 and an trivia interface 1010 displaying interactive trivia metadata related to the content displayed in FIGS. 7 and 8, and based upon the selection of an ‘enhanced trivia’ button representation from the menu interface of FIG. 8.” Fig. 10).
In view of Broderson’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oztaskent wherein the overlay content comprises one or more questions based on the video data. The modification would serve to enhance user interactivity with content.
Claim(s) 5 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Oztaskent and Briggs et al. (US 12101525).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Oztaskent teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach wherein the interaction with the browser modifying one or more settings of the video player comprises an interaction modifying one or more dimensions of the video player.
Briggs teaches wherein an interaction modifying one or more settings of a video player comprises an interaction modifying one or more dimensions of the video player (Col. 12, lines 22-28, “if the video stream windows are altered during the video meeting session, such as, for example, by repositioning the video stream windows or altering the size, scaling, or aspect ratio, the corresponding overlay may be automatically reflowed or otherwise updated to match the video stream window, as will be described in further detail below.”).
In view of Briggs’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oztaskent wherein the interaction with the browser modifying one or more settings of the video player comprises an interaction modifying one or more dimensions of the video player. The modification would serve to facilitate management of elements within the user interface. The modification would serve to enhance the user experience.
Claim(s) 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Oztaskent and Henaire et al. (US 2018/0192080).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Oztaskent teaches wherein the interaction with the browser modifying one or more settings of the video player comprises an interaction modifying a resolution with which the video player renders the video data.
Henaire teaches wherein an interaction modifying one or more settings of a video player comprises an interaction modifying a resolution with which the video player renders video data ([0021], “For example, in regards to the video of the media stream, the user may select an appropriate video setting (e.g. resolution of 720p, 1080p) which instructs the media stream source 105 to process the video of the media stream according to the user selected video resolution.”).
In view of Henaire’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oztaskent teaches wherein the interaction with the browser modifying one or more settings of the video player comprises an interaction modifying a resolution with which the video player renders the video data. The modification would enable users to view content at preferred resolutions. The modification would thereby improve the user experience.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL R TELAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426