DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
The claims will be read under the broadest reasonable interpretation standard outlined in
MPEP § 2111.01.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 11, and 20 recite: “images comprises”, where “images comprise” is proper.
Claims 3, 9, 12, 18 and 21 recite: “wherein the camera separated from the surface”, where the claim should read “wherein the camera is separated from the surface” as necessary for clause completion.
The claims also recite “the surface of the region corresponding to the interproximal region”, where a surface of said region had not been previously introduced. It is proper to change this language to, “a surface of the region…”
Claim 12 recites: “the processor” in the singular, whereas claim 10 referred to “one or more processors”.
Claim 21 recites: “The computer-readable medium of claim 19, further comprising removing:”. The claim should instead recite that the instructions of the computer-readable medium further comprise the active steps; to avoid the conflation of an (possibly intended) article of manufacture claim with a process claim.
Claims 24-26 recite active method steps in a similar manner to claim 21, and also require appropriate correction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
With respect to claims 1, 9-10, and 18-19, they recite:
“the one 3D model”, lacking proper antecedent basis as “the one 3D model” does not directly correspond to “a 3D model” previously introduced or any other prior element. It is unclear whether this is to be the same 3D model, a certain model instance, or a different model altogether. In the interest of compact prosecution, all clarifying interpretations will read as relevant to the prior art.
All claims depending from claims 1, 10, and 19 are further rejected by virtue of their dependency.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 101
Claims 19-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claims do not appear directed to any of the four statutory categories, and instead appear directed to non-statutory subject matter, specifically software and signals per se. See MPEP § 2106.03(I), “Non-limiting examples of claims that are not directed to any of the statutory categories include…a computer program per se (often referred to as “software per se”) …Transitory forms of signal transmission (often referred to as “signals per se”), such as a propagating electrical or electromagnetic signal or carrier wave”.
In the context of the flowchart illustrated in MPEP § 2106(III), claims 19-26 fail at Step 1 of the Subject Matter Eligibility test (Step 1: No). As relevant, [0149]-[0151] of Applicant’s specification does not disclaim transitory signals. [0156] explicitly includes transitory signals (“carrier waves”). Certain exemplary/non-limiting embodiments, even if generally understood to be ‘non-transitory’ in nature, do not serve to preclude an interpretation covering a transitory signal/medium embodiment or software per se, which does not fall within the definition of a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter (In re Nujiten, 500 F.3d 1346, 1354, 84 USPQ2d 1495, 1500 (Fed. Cir. 2007)).
Accordingly, the claims are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-8, 10-11, 16-17, 19-20 and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michou et. al (US 20260215896 A1) (Hereinafter, “Michou”) in view of Dey et. al Intraoperative 2D/3D Image Registration via Differentiable X-ray Rendering (Hereinafter, “Dey”) and Grove et. al (US 20140172375 A1) (Hereinafter, “Grove”)
With respect to claim 1, Michou teaches:
A method, the method comprising:
[0054] “In another example, the emitted light from the projector unit may be coded structured light that is formed by a grid pattern which the light from the light source(s) is passing through to form coded structured light that is emitted to a dental arch. The one or more processors may be configured to apply a sequence of coding and decoding algorithm to process the grid pattern. The reflection of the coded structured light may be captured by the image sensor unit, and the internal depth information is determined based on triangulation between point clouds of the coded structured light. The coded structured light may include near-infrared wavelength(s) and/or visible wavelength. The visible light information may include coded structured visible light. The internal light information may include coded structured near-infrared light”)
identifying a set of non-structured light illumination images taken during the intraoral scan of the patient's teeth including a region of the patient's teeth corresponding to the interproximal region [0070] “During a time frame, the projector unit may be configured to emit visible light pulses that include visible wavelength and near-infrared light pulses that include near-infrared wavelength, and between each pulses a dead pulse time may occur. The dead pulse time represent a period where no pulse is being transmitted. During the time frame one or more visible light pulses may be emitted by the projector unit and then after a dead pulse time one or more near-infrared light pulses may be emitted. The captured visible light information and the internal light information that are caused by the emitted light pulses during the time frame do all correspond to the same area of the dental arch”; [0170] “Color texture of the dental arch may be acquired by illuminating the object using different monochromatic colors such as individual red, green and blue colors or by illuminating the object using multichromatic light such as white light”)
correcting [0169]; describing processes dependent on camera pose) and the non-structured light illumination images ([0014] “The one or more processors may be configured to utilize the visible light information for both generating or updating the 3D model and for determining the composed scan information that includes enhanced internal structures in the form of enhanced contrast between the internal structure, such as a caries lesion, and tooth structures. The tooth structures are mainly provided by the visible light information and the internal structures are mainly provided by the internal structure information. The utilization of the visible light information for both the 3D model and the composed scan information results in an easier mapping of the composed scan information onto the 3D model or to determine a location of the composed scan information on the 3D model”; [0169]) in combination with points from a point cloud derived from the structured light images from which the 3D model was derived ([0017] “The present disclosure allows a faster scanning rate for providing both scan information for the 3D model and for the composed scan information, because the scan information relevant for generating or updating the 3D model are also being used for determining the composed scan information”; [0068] “The one or more processors may be configured to determine an enhanced internal structure and/or enhanced texture information based on the composed scan information. The enhanced texture information may include enamel, dentin, dentin-enamel junction, fetal, root tip, bone, periodontal ligaments, and/or gums”; [0076] “The one or more processors may be configured to apply enhanced internal structure and/or the enhanced texture information onto the 3D model or a 2D surface image of a tooth or teeth of the dental arch”; [0077]-[0078] “The one or more processors may be configured to display on a displaying unit of the system the internal depth information of the corresponding enhanced internal structure and/or the enhanced texture information. The one or more processor may be configured to display on the displaying unit the internal depth information on the 3D model, on the 2D surface image, next to the 3D model, or next to the 2D surface”; [0054] “The reflection of the coded structured light may be captured by the image sensor unit, and the internal depth information is determined based on triangulation between point clouds of the coded structured light”)
Michou does not explicitly teach:
identifying an interproximal region including a surface hole
modifying a camera position of a camera corresponding to each of the non-structured light illumination images of the set with an alignment transform derived from a comparison of features in a features map of the one 3D model relative to the camera with corresponding features from the non-structured light illumination image
correcting the surface hole
However, Dey, in the same field of endeavor of camera pose estimation, teaches:
modifying a camera position of a camera ([4.3] “Further refining this initial pose estimate with intensity-based registration decreases registration error by orders of magnitude”; [4.5] “Test-time optimization was performed to refine the initial pose estimate”) corresponding to each of the non-structured light illumination images (noting that standard x-ray is a non-structured light illumination image) of the set with an alignment transform derived from a comparison of features in a features map of the one 3D model relative to the camera (Fig. 9, 100 patches; [4.3]; [4.5] “We used sparse multiscale NCC with 100 patches and a patch size of 13 as the image-based loss function and parameterized the space of poses with…”) with corresponding features from the non-structured light illumination image ([4.3]; Fig. 1; Fig. 9)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Michou to include the limitations of camera position modification, as taught by Dey. Doing so would increase the accuracy of the camera position as used by downstream processes (for example, non-structured light illumination image stitching of Michou, [0169]).
The systems readily integrate, as Dey represents an improvement to the accuracy of one of Michou’s subprocesses without disruption to central function. Michou is otherwise configured to capture all the relevant classes of information necessary to perform the method of Dey. While Dey compares 2D x-ray images to a CT volume, the teachings are sufficiently comparable to other 2D/3D imaging systems, as the key transformations are transferable. See MPEP § 2143(I)(F) – “Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art”.
Michou/Dey does not explicitly teach:
identifying an interproximal region including a surface hole
correcting the surface hole
However, Grove, in the same field of endeavor of dental modeling, teaches:
identifying an interproximal region including a surface hole in a 3D model ([0025] [0030] “For digital scans of the teeth, small spaces may be difficult to accurately capture because the scan is unable to properly characterize the areas where a direct line of sight cannot be obtained as a result of obstruction from the tooth structure being scanned”; [0091] “The area associated with the interproximal space 110 between the adjacent digital teeth 200b, 200c (FIG. 2) may be, at least partially, connected with some holes 220. When a conventional 3D virtual model 300 (FIG. 3) is created from the digital teeth model 200, the holes 220 (FIG. 2) in the digital teeth model 200 may be filled causing the adjacent digital teeth 300b, 300c (FIG. 3) in the conventional 3D virtual model 300 (FIG. 3) to be connected in the vicinity of the interproximal space 320 (FIG. 3). In contrast, according to various embodiments, interproximal information is obtained prior to or as part of performing the segmentation process on the digital teeth model 200 (FIG. 2) and can be used as a part of the segmentation process to maintain the interproximal space 110 (FIG. 1) as depicted at interproximal space 610 (FIG. 6) between respectively created digital tooth models 600b, 600c (FIG. 6). According to one embodiment, the interproximal space 610 is an interproximal space model”; [0114])
identifying a set of non-structured light illumination images taken during the intraoral scan of the patient's teeth including a region of the patient's teeth corresponding to the interproximal region including the surface hole in the 3D model (Fig. 8)
correcting the surface hole in the 3D model (Fig. 8; [0109]-[0110]; discussing insertion of scannable objects)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Michou/Dey to include the limitations of hole-filling, as taught by Grove. Doing so would increase the accuracy of the model further by preserving fine-details and self-correcting errors. The systems readily integrate to predictable success. Under the phrase “comprising” and a base real-time updating model (established by Michou/Dey), the methods of Grove could simply be used as an additional post-processing step alongside the rest of Michou/Dey’s continued data gathering and model enhancement. See MPEP § 2143(I)(D) – “(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results”. The system of Michou/Dey otherwise possesses the necessary fidelity to analyze such interproximal spaces (See Michou, Fig. 19A).
With respect to claim 2, Michou/Dey/Grove teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the non-structured light illumination images comprises one or more of: white light images, near infrared (near-IR) images, and/or fluorescent images (Michou, [0070]; [0170])
With respect to claim 7, Michou/Dey/Grove teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein correcting the surface hole in the 3D model using one or more points generated from the modified camera positions and the non-structured light illumination images comprises identifying the one or more points from rays projected from the modified camera position to the region of the patient's teeth corresponding to the interproximal region including the surface hole in the 3D model on the non-structured light illumination images ([Grove, [0109]-[0110]; with the understanding that the system as modified receives underlying data (Michou, [0070]; Michou, [0170]; Dey, [4.3]) from the method of Michou/Dey as discussed in the rejection of claim 1)
With respect to claim 8, Michou/Dey/Grove teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising confirming, from the set of non-structured light illumination images that the surface hole comprises a gap (Grove, [0109]-[0110]; Grove, [0051] “FIG. 10c depicts a scannable object 900f (FIG. 9f) inserted between adjacent physical teeth that can also be used for determining a dimension associated with the space between the adjacent physical teeth”; with the understanding that the system as modified receives underlying data (Michou, [0070]; Michou, [0170]) from the method of Michou/Dey as discussed in the rejection of claim 1)
With respect to claim 10, it recites a system configured to perform the method of claim 1. The additionally recited hardware is also taught by Michou/Dey/Grove:
A system, the system comprising:
an intraoral scanner comprising one or more cameras (Michou, [0169]; Grove, [0035])
one or more processors (Michou, [0176]; Grove, [0112])
a memory storing a set of instructions, that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform a method (Michou, [0167] “Several aspects of the devices, systems, mediums, programs and methods are described by various blocks, functional units, modules, components, circuits, steps, processes, algorithms, etc. (collectively referred to as “elements”). Depending upon particular application, design constraints or other reasons, these elements may be implemented using electronic hardware, computer program, or any combination thereof”; Grove, [0112]) comprising [the method of claim 1]
Accordingly, the claim is rejected as obvious in line with the analysis of claim 1 above.
With respect to claims 11 and 16-17, they are further rejected as parallel claims in line with the analysis presented in the rejection of claims 10, 2, and 7-8.
With respect to claim 19, it recites a computer-readable medium comprising instructions for performing the method of claim 1. The additionally recited hardware is also taught by Michou/Dey/Grove:
A computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions which, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to carry out the method (Michou, [0167]; Grove, [0112]) of: [claim 1]
Accordingly, the claim is rejected as obvious in line with the analysis of claim 1 above.
With respect to claims 20 and 25-26, they are further rejected as parallel claims in line with the analysis presented in the rejection of claims 19, 2, and 7-8.
Claims 4-5, 13-14, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michou/Dey/Grove in view of Vianello et. al (US 20240265630 A1) (Hereinafter, “Vianello”)
With respect to claim 4, Michou/Dey/Grove teaches the method of claim 1.
Michou/Dey/Grove do not explicitly teach the further limitations of claim 4.
However, the examiner notes that Michou/Dey/Grove, under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language, needs only minor modification.
wherein the features map corresponds to a depth map
Requires only a “correspondence” between the features map and a depth map. From Michou/Dey/Grove, it can be said the features map at least “corresponds to” the 3D model. If the 3D model was itself explicitly constructed from a depth map, the teaching would thus be complete.
As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art could consult Vianello to bridge the gap:
wherein the f[0031] “Examples of geometric representations (e.g., 3D geometric representations) can include or be determined based on (e.g., extracted from): surface models (e.g., digital surface models (DSM), digital elevation models (DEM), digital terrain models (DTM), etc.), point clouds (e.g., generated from LIDAR, RADAR, stereoscopic imagery, etc.), depth maps, depth images, Neural Radiance Fields (NERFs), Gaussian Splatting representations, any other model-based representations, and/or any other geometric representation”)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Michou/Dey/Grove to include the limitation of depth map model construction, as taught by Vianello. As modified, Michou/Dey/Grove relies on the 3D model to perform camera position modification. The base model of Michou is relied upon, which is constructed in part from 3D point cloud data, but not explicitly depth map data. Vianello establishes that using both depth maps and point clouds to construct a 3D model was known. Doing so would have the advantage of building a more robust and accurate initial model, by considering additional gap-filling information a sparse point cloud may not sufficiently cover. The systems readily integrate, as supplementing the 3D model of Michou/Dey/Grove with additional depth map information does not otherwise compromise core functionality.
With respect to claim 5, Michou/Dey/Grove teaches the method of claim 1.
Michou/Dey/Grove do not explicitly teach the further limitations of claim 5.
However, the examiner notes that Michou/Dey/Grove, under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language, needs only minor modification.
wherein the features map corresponds to a height map
Requires only a “correspondence” between the features map and a height map. From Michou/Dey/Grove, it can be said the features map at least “corresponds to” the 3D model. If the 3D model was itself explicitly constructed from a height map, the teaching would thus be complete.
As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art could consult Vianello to bridge the gap:
wherein the f[0031] “Examples of geometric representations (e.g., 3D geometric representations) can include or be determined based on (e.g., extracted from): surface models (e.g., digital surface models (DSM), digital elevation models (DEM), digital terrain models (DTM), etc.), point clouds (e.g., generated from LIDAR, RADAR, stereoscopic imagery, etc.), depth maps, depth images, Neural Radiance Fields (NERFs), Gaussian Splatting representations, any other model-based representations, and/or any other geometric representation”)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Michou/Dey/Grove to include the limitation of height map model construction, as taught by Vianello. As modified, Michou/Dey/Grove relies on the 3D model to perform camera position modification. The base model of Michou is constructed in part from 3D point cloud data, but not explicitly height map data. Vianello establishes that using both height maps and point clouds to construct a 3D model was known. Doing so would have the advantage of building a more robust and accurate initial model, by considering additional gap-filling information a sparse point cloud may not sufficiently cover. The systems readily integrate, as supplementing the 3D model of Michou/Dey/Grove with additional height map information does not otherwise compromise core functionality.
Claims 13-14 and 22-23 are rejected as parallel claims in line with the analysis presented in the rejection of claims 10 and 19 respectively, as well as the rejections of claims 4-5 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6, 12, 15, 21, and 24 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and 35 U.S.C. 101 set forth in this Office action, and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claims 3, 12, and 21, the methods of Michou/Dey/Grove do not provide for the processing of the interproximal region using a threshold-filtration function. With respect to claim 1, the interproximal region’s processing had already required the tertiary reference of Grove. To further modify Michou/Dey/Grove to include the additional operations would constitute impermissible hindsight.
With respect to claims 6, 15, and 24, the methods of Michou/Dey/Grove do not provide for the usage of a radial basis function. The radial basis function is sufficiently integrated within core operations that further modification of Michou/Dey/Grove could not be achieved without the usage of Applicant’s own specification as a roadmap.
Claims 9 and 18 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in this Office action.
With respect to claims 9 and 18, they recite both the language of claims 3/12 and 6/15 within independent claims. For the same reasons discussed above, they accordingly overcome the prior art.
Additional References
Additionally cited references (see attached PTO-892) otherwise not relied upon above have been made of record in view of the manner in which they evidence the general state of the art.
Inquiry
/NOAH W BOYAR/Examiner, Art Unit 2669
/CHAN S PARK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2669