DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/18/25, 4/2/25, and 10/8/25 have been considered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: first coupling, second coupling, connecting portion in claims 1, 15, and 19 and pushing part in claims 15 and 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maeshima et al. (US 10,025,266).
Regarding claim 1, Maeshima discloses a process cartridge 70 (col. 6, lines 53-65, fig. 3), comprising: a drum unit 26, including a photosensitive drum 1 and a photosensitive frame 27; a developing unit 4, including a developing roller 26 and a developing frame 31, wherein the developing unit is capable of moving relative to the drum unit between a first position (fig. 10) in which the developing roller contacts the photosensitive drum and a second position (fig. 9) in which the developing roller is separated from the photosensitive drum (col. 7, line 66 – col. 8, line 8); a first coupling 16, configured to receive a rotational driving force and transmit the rotational driving force to the photosensitive drum (col. 7, lines 59-63) ; a second coupling 20, configured to receive the rotational driving force and transmit the rotational driving force to the developing roller (col. 11, lines 20-48); a driving-side end cover 43 (fig. 18), disposed at one end of the developing unit, wherein the driving- side end cover includes a hole (see cutout area on part 16, fig. 18) through which a portion of the first coupling is exposed to outside of the driving-side end cover; and a connecting portion 41, configured to movably connect the developing unit with the drum unit (col. 13, line 64 - col. 14, line 48, fig. 20-21), wherein the connecting portion 41 is disposed at one end of the process cartridge (fig. 16); and when viewed along a length direction of the process cartridge, the connecting portion 41 is not overlapped with the second coupling 20 (fig. 16, 20).
Regarding claim 2, Maeshima discloses wherein the connecting portion 41 is positioned below a rotation axis of the second coupling 21 along a height direction of the process cartridge (fig. 21).
Regarding claim 3, Maeshima discloses wherein the connecting portion 41 is closer to a lower end of the driving-side end cover 43 than a rotation axis of the second coupling 20 along a height direction of the process cartridge (fig. 18).
Regarding claim 4, Maeshima discloses wherein the connecting portion 41 is closer to a rear end of the driving-side end cover 43 than a rotation axis of the first coupling 16 along a width direction of the process cartridge (fig. 18).
Regarding claim 15, Maeshima discloses the process cartridge as discussed in claim 1 and further discloses a pushing part 41a (fig. 19), configured to receive a force to move the developing unit from the first position to the second position (col. 14, lines 14-18).
Regarding claim 16, Maeshima discloses wherein the connecting portion 41 is positioned above the pushing part 41a along a height direction of the process cartridge (fig. 19).
Regarding claim 17, Maeshima discloses wherein the pushing part 41a includes an abutting surface, configured to receive a force moving the developing unit from the first position to the second position, wherein a surface extending along an extension direction of the abutting surface is not perpendicular to a surface of the driving-side end cover (col. 14, lines 14-18, fig. 19).
Regarding claim 18, Maeshima discloses wherein the pushing part 41a includes an abutting surface, configured to receive a force moving the developing unit from the first position to the second position, wherein a surface extending along an extension direction of the abutting surface is not in parallel with a surface of the driving-side end cover (col. 14, lines 14-18, fig. 19).
Regarding claim 19, Maeshima discloses the process cartridge as discussed in claim 15 and further discloses wherein the pushing part 41a includes an abutting surface, and configured to receive a force to move the developing unit from the first position to the second position (col. 14, lines 14-18); when viewed along a length direction of the process cartridge, the connecting portion is not overlapped with the second coupling; and a surface extending along an extension direction of the abutting surface is not perpendicular to or in parallel with a surface of the driving-side end cover or the photosensitive frame (fig. 19).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claims 5-11, the prior art of record neither disclose or suggest the process cartridge comprising all the features of claim 1, and wherein the driving-side end cover further includes a notch portion; the notch portion extends upward to an upper end of the driving-side end cover or extends backward to a rear end of the driving-side end cover; and a portion of the second coupling is exposed to outside of the driving- side end cover through the notch portion.
As to claims 12-14, the prior art of record neither disclose or suggest the process cartridge comprising all the features of claim 1, and wherein the connecting portion includes a supporting column and a guiding portion; a developing protection cover is further disposed on a side of the developing frame; the supporting column is disposed on the developing protection cover; and the guiding portion is disposed on the driving- side end cover; and the supporting column is inserted in the guiding portion; and the guiding portion limits relative movement of the supporting column.
Conclusion
/HOANG X NGO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852