Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-9 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20110096850 A1, herein after Lee ‘850) in view of Lutgendorf (US 20030005207 A1).
Regarding claim 1:
Lee (‘850) discloses a data processing device (Fig. 3) comprising:
a first main communication circuit (1 corresponding to 17, see Fig. 2-3) configured to transmit configuration data and image data (graphic data for display image) via a first communication line (first communication line corresponding to 1 in network mood) ([0038, 0044-0045, 0050]) (in [0045], [0045] First, in the network mode, the communication unit 17 sends and receives data to and from the external data communication apparatus 2 by a network communication method. The network communication method by which the communication unit 17 of the present exemplary embodiment operates includes wireless network communication, for example, Bluetooth, wireless LAN, etc. The communication unit 17 may include hardware such as a Bluetooth adaptor in order to carry out communication in a corresponding mode such as Bluetooth. Further, the communication unit 17 may also include software for interface with an operating system of the data communication apparatus 1, i.e., a device driver);
where in the first main communication circuit is configured to: transmit a first configuration packet requesting vendor identification information, select configuration data from the plurality of registers based on received vendor identification information, and transmit the selected configuration data via the first communication line,
Regarding claim 1:
Lee (‘850) discloses a data processing device (Fig. 3) comprising:
a first main communication circuit (1 corresponding to 17, see Fig. 2-3) configured to transmit configuration data and image data (graphic data for display image) via a first communication line (first communication line corresponding to 1 in network mood) ([0038, 0044-0045, 0050]) (in [0045], [0045] First, in the network mode, the communication unit 17 sends and receives data to and from the external data communication apparatus 2 by a network communication method. The network communication method by which the communication unit 17 of the present exemplary embodiment operates includes wireless network communication, for example, Bluetooth, wireless LAN, etc. The communication unit 17 may include hardware such as a Bluetooth adaptor in order to carry out communication in a corresponding mode such as Bluetooth. Further, the communication unit 17 may also include software for interface with an operating system of the data communication apparatus 1, i.e., a device driver);
a first auxiliary communication circuit (2) configured to send and receive signals via a second communication line (second communication line corresponding to 2, in network mood [0045]); and
transmit a first configuration packet (i.e. the communication unit 17 analyzes a broadcast packet received to identify whether it includes a data.) requesting identification information (see step 504, Fig. 5-6), identification information, and transmit the selected configuration data via the first communication line (the controller of the data communication apparatus 1 enables a user to select the external data communication apparatus 2 to be connected through the user input unit 16 and at step (503) controls the communication unit 17 to request connection to the selected data communication apparatus 2 ([0043-0045], [0050-0056])
Lee does not specifically disclose vendor Identification data and wherein the first main communication circuit is configured to: select configuration data from the plurality of registers based on received vendor, plurality of registers configured to store configuration data for each vendor; and a first data selector configured to connect the plurality of registers, wherein the first data selector selects configuration data stored in one of the plurality of registers according to the vendor identification information.
Lutgendorf (US 20030005207 A1) vendor Identification data and wherein the first main communication circuit is configured to: select configuration data from the plurality of registers () based on received vendor [0020, 0035], plurality of registers (224, Fig. 2) configured to store configuration data for each vendor; and a first data selector (PCI)configured to connect the plurality of registers ([0005], [0027], [0029-0031], Fig. 3) .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee with the teaching of Lutgendorf, thereby providing high efficient data transmission in the display device.
Regarding claim 6:
Lee in view of Lutgendorf discloses wherein each of the plurality of registers (244) stores configuration data for each vendor (([0005], [0027], [0029-0031]).
Regarding claim 7:
Lee (‘850) in view of Lutgendorf discloses different individual configuration data for each vendor are stored in the plurality of registers (see Lutgendorf, [0029-0035]), common configuration data (bus number) common to the vendors is stored in a common register ([PCI bus corresponding to 243], see Fig. 2), and the first main communication circuit is configured to transmit the common configuration data stored in the common register when receive the vendor identification information, and transmit the different individual configuration data based on the vendor identification information [0029-0037]) same motivation as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 8:
Lee (‘850) in view of Lutgendorf discloses wherein the first main communication circuit further includes an input/output interface (i.e. 14) connected to an external memory (MCH); and the first main communication circuit is configured to store configuration data stored in the external memory in the plurality of registers through the input/output interface. (see Lee’850, [0038-0044-0050], see Fig. 2) and Lutgendorf (([0005], [0027], [0029-0031]). Same motivation as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 9:
Lee (‘850) discloses a data driving device (Fig. 2-3) comprising:
a second main communication circuit (1 in broadcast mood) configured to receive configuration data and image data via a first communication line (communication line in broadcast mood) (([0038-0044-0050], see Fig. 3));
a second auxiliary communication circuit (2) configured to send and receive signals via a second communication line (communication line corresponding to 2); and a reception controller (152) configured to control the second main communication circuit and the second auxiliary communication circuit ([0038-0044-0050], see Figs. 2-3);
wherein the reception controller is configured to transmit its identification packet via the second communication line in response to receiving a first configuration packet requesting identification information via the first communication line. transmit a first configuration packet (i.e. the communication unit 17 analyzes a broadcast packet received to identify whether it includes a data.) requesting identification information (see step 504, Fig. 5-6), identification information, and transmit the selected configuration data via the first communication line (the controller of the data communication apparatus 1 enables a user to select the external data communication apparatus 2 to be connected through the user input unit 16 and at step (503) controls the communication unit 17 to request connection to the selected data communication apparatus 2 ([0043-0045], [0050-0056])
Lee does not specifically disclose vendor identification data and wherein the first main communication circuit is configured to: select configuration data based on received vendor.
Lutgendorf (US 20030005207 A1) discloses vendor identification ([0027]) and a plurality of registers (244) configured to store configuration data for each vendor ([0005], [0027], [0029-0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee with the teaching of Lutgendorf, thereby providing high efficient data transmission in the display device.
Regarding claim 11:
Lee (‘850) discloses a display device (see Fig. 2-3) comprising:
a data processing device (1, see Fig, 3) ([0038-0044-0050]); and
a plurality of data driving devices (e.g. image processors for display), wherein the data processing device is configured to send a first configuration packet that requests identification information to each of the plurality of data driving devices; (FIG. 4, the data communication apparatus 1 transmits or receives a data in the broadcast method. If the broadcast mode is determined at the steps (402) and (404), the controller of the data communication apparatus 1 controls the communication unit 17 to transmit or receive a data in the broadcast method. At step (404), a data transmitted may be a file selected by a user. In this case, the controller of the data communication apparatus 1 may display a menu on the display unit 151 and enables the user to select a file to be selected.
the plurality of data driving devices each is configured to transmit its identification information to the data processing device in response to the first configuration packet (([0050-0055]) (the controller of the data communication apparatus 1 enables a user to select the external data communication apparatus 2 to be connected through the user input unit 16 and at step (503) controls the communication unit 17 to request connection to the selected data communication apparatus 2. ); and the data processing device is configured to transmit selected configuration data based on received identification information to each of the plurality of data driving devices ([0050-0055]).
Lee does not specifically disclose vendor Identification data and wherein the first main communication circuit is configured to: select configuration data based on received vendor .
Lutgendorf (US 20030005207 A1) discloses vendor identification ([0027]) and a plurality of registers (244) configured to store configuration data for each vendor ([0005], [0027], [0029-0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee with the teaching of Lutgendorf, thereby providing high efficient data transmission in the display device.
Regarding claim 12:
Lee (‘850) in view of Lutgendorf (US 20030005207 A1) discloses wherein the data processing device is configured to transmit the first configuration packet via the first communication line; and the plurality of data driving devices is configuration transmit the identification information via the second communication line (see Lee (‘850), [([0038-0044-0050])]).
Lutgendorf (US 20030005207 A1) discloses vendor identification ([0027]) and a plurality of registers (244) configured to store configuration data for each vendor ([0005], [0027], [0029-0031]). Same motivation as applied to claim 11.
Regarding claim 13:
Lee (‘850) discloses wherein the data processing device (see Fig. 3) is configured to transmit control data selected according to the identification information to the plurality of data driving devices via the first communication line (see Lee (‘850), [([0038-0044-0050])]).
Lutgendorf (US 20030005207 A1) discloses vendor identification ([0027]) and a plurality of registers (244) configured to store configuration data for each vendor ([0005], [0027], [0029-0031]). Same motivation as applied to claim 11.
2. Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20110096850 A1) in view of Lutgendorf (US 20030005207 A1) further in view of Margules (US 20050105662 A1).
Regarding claim 2:
Lee in view of Lutgendorf does not specifically discloses wherein the first main communication circuit is configured to:
transmit a preamble pattern at the first communication line and transmit the first configuration packet via the first communication line when receiving a lock signal of the preamble pattern via the second communication line.
Lee in view of Lutgendorf does not specifically discloses wherein the first main communication circuit is configured to:
transmit a preamble pattern at the first communication line and transmit the first configuration packet via the first communication line when receiving a lock signal of the preamble pattern via the second communication.
Margules (US 20050105662 A1) discloses transmit a preamble pattern (preamble bit pattern) at the first communication line and transmit the first configuration packet via the first communication line when receiving a lock signal of the preamble pattern via the second communication (see [0015], [0022-0023], the edge detection circuit 12 can delineate the beginning of a preamble. The preamble bit 64, as prescribed by the AES3-1992 standard provides a particular bit pattern to indicate preamble1, preamble 2, or preamble3. The first preamble may be represented by the bit pattern of 11100010, the second preamble represented by the bit pattern of 11100100 and the third preamble represented by the bit pattern of 11101000).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee with the teaching of Lutgendorf and Margules, thereby providing an accurate data transmission in the display device data transmission in the display device.
Regarding claim 3:
Lee discloses wherein the first main communication circuit (1) is configured to: receive the vendor identification information via the second communication line (see [0044-0055]).
Regarding claim 4:
Lee in view of Lutgendorf and Margules discloses wherein the data processing device is configured to transmit a preamble pattern (intro duction to data processing) via the communication line during read mode period (i.e. received vendor ID) after requesting the first configuration packet (see Lee, [0044-0055], Margules [0015], [0022-0023]). Same motivation as applied to claim 2.
3. Claim(s) 5 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20110096850 A1, Herein after Lee ‘850) in view of Lutgendorf (US 20030005207 A1) further in view of Lee (US 20170235694 A1, herein after Lee ‘694).
Regarding claim 5:
Lee (‘850) in view of Lutgendorf does not specifically disclose wherein the first main communication circuit is configured to transmit control data and image data at a second communication rate different from the first communication rate after the transmission of the selected configuration data is completed; and the control data is set based on the received vendor identification information.
However, Lee (US 20170235694 A1, herein after ‘694) discloses wherein the first main communication circuit (100) is configured to transmit control data (control for vendor identification data) and image data (display data) at a second communication rate different from the first communication rate after the transmission of the selected configuration data is completed; and the control data is set based on the received vendor identification information ( For example, the second electronic device 200 needs to receive video data at a transmission speed of 240 megabyte (MB)/sec or higher from the firs electronic device 100 to play a video of QHD video quality at 60 frames per second (FPS), (see{0042, 0046], Fig. 2-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee (‘850) with the teaching of Lutgendorf and Lee (‘694), thereby providing an accurate data transmission in the display device.
Regarding claim 10:
Lee (‘850) in view of Lutgendorf (US 20030005207 A1) and Lee (‘694) discloses wherein the reception controller is configured to receive configuration data based on the identification information to establish a high-speed transmission environment (see Lee (‘850) [0038-0044-0050], see Figs. 2-3);
Lutgendorf (US 20030005207 A1) discloses vendor identification ([0027]) and store configuration data for each vendor ([0005], [0027], [0029-0031]).
Lee (US 20170235694 A1, herein after Lee (‘694)) discloses configuration data based the identification information to establish a high-speed transmission environment (see Lee (‘694) [0042, 0046], Fig. 2-3). Same motivation as applied to claim 5.
Applicant’s argument
Applicant’s argument filed on 03/05/2026 has been considered but are not persuasive. More specifically the Applicant argues that Lee'850 and Lutgendorf does not teach or suggest the claimed vendor-dependent configuration transmission architecture as recited in claim 1.
In responds the Examiner disagrees with the Applicant’s point of view. Note that limitations are broadly recited in claim 1. Examiner gives a broadest reasonable interpretation towards the claimed language as recited in claim1. Lee ‘850) in view of Lutgendorf (US 20030005207 A1) obviously discloses the limitation as recited in claim 1. See the discussion In claim 1.
Conclusion
4. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Pertinent art
5. Pertinent art of record US 20110175881 A1 discloses display device.
Inquiry
/SHAHEDA A ABDIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627