DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election of with traverse of Species A in the reply filed on 10/06/2025 is acknowledged. Species A is directed to all claims, claims 1-8.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that the election does not eliminate any claims for examination. This is not found persuasive because while the species restriction may not apply to current claims, the election limits later amendments. Applicant’s argument that the election renders no claims withdrawn is not a valid argument for why the species restriction was in fact improper.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/16/2025 was filed and is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Woo et al (US 2023/0417384 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Woo et al disclose an automotive vehicle headlamp module designated to illuminate a road, the headlamp module comprising lighting units (110), each lighting unit comprising at least one lens (130) configured to generate light, each lighting unit comprising a light exit area, the lens being disposed in the lighting unit in such a way that a height of the lens is greater than a width of the lens. (All Figures; see at least [0040] onward)
In regard to claim 2, Woo et al disclose each lighting unit is configured to generate a light pattern on different parts of the road, the lighting units being stacked above one another in a vertical direction when the headlamp module is mounted on a vehicle. (This is inherent based on design. Only some of each LED’s field is cross.)
In regard to claim 3, Woo et al disclose each lighting unit is configured to generate a light pattern on a same part of the road, the lighting units being stacked above one another in a vertical direction when the headlamp module is mounted on a vehicle. (Again, some of these distributions will cross, some of it will not.)
In regard to claim 4, Woo et al disclose the headlamp module is configured to be inclined relative to a vertical axis of an automotive vehicle when the headlamp module is mounted on an automotive vehicle, the angle of inclination between a vertical axis of an automotive vehicle and a longitudinal axis of the lens being less than or equal to 45 degrees. (As depicted—the applicant has to realize has large 45 degrees is as an angle for automobile lighting design—that’s a huge angle, and all art the examiner can think of meets this criteria—an angle of zero relative the vertical is also an acceptable angle under BRI.)
In regard to claim 8, Woo et al disclose an automotive vehicle comprising at least one headlamp module according to claim 1. (“Automotive vehicle” is broad—a vehicle lamp is clearly implied.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo et al (US 2023/0417384 A1).
In regard to claim 5, Woo et al disclose fail to disclose that conservation of lighting performance in the event of inclining of the headlamp module is achieved by movement of the focal point of the lens in a transverse direction of an automotive vehicle when the headlamp module is mounted on an automotive vehicle.
This appears to be purported merit, which is not patentable claim language.
If the matter is simply adjusting the focal point of a lens, this is a routine optimization to a PHOSITA.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to optimize the focal point of the lens of Woo et al in order to optimize the resulting light distribution. This is a result effective variable.
In regard to claim 6, Woo et al fail to disclose the height of the lens is between two and four times greater than its width. Woo et al teaches a lens that is eight times greater in its height then its width.
The ratio of height to width is routine optimization. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to optimize the ratio of height and width of the lens of Woo et al in order to optimize the resulting light distribution.
In regard to claim 7, Woo et al fail to disclose the height of the lens is substantially equal to 75mm (3.0 in) and its width is substantially equal to 25mm (1.0 in).
However, the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See MPEP 2144.04 IV A
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to optimize the size of the light source of Wood et al in order to make a compact device with an optimized light distribution.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Jung et al (US 2025/0334241 A1) disclose a vehicle lamp.
Jung et al (US 2025/0164092 A1) disclose a vehicle lamp.
Wu (US 2024/0418332 A1) disclose a vehicle light.
Bae et al (US 2024/0183508 A1) disclose a lamp module.
Yan et al (US 2016/0033101 A1) disclose a vehicle lamp.
/CHRISTOPHER E DUNAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875