DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This non-final office action on merits is in response to the Patent Application filed on 16 February 2025. Claims 1-20 are pending and considered below.
Drawings Objected To
The drawings are not of sufficient quality to permit examination. Accordingly, replacement drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to this Office action. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action.
Applicant is given a shortened statutory period of TWO (2) MONTHS to submit new drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.81. Extensions of time may be obtained under the provisions of 37 CFR 1.136(a) but in no case can any extension carry the date for reply to this letter beyond the maximum period of SIX MONTHS set by statute (35 U.S.C. 133). Failure to timely submit replacement drawing sheets will result in ABANDONMENT of the application.
The drawings as submitted with the application are not of sufficient quality to permit examination because the elements of the drawings are blurred and cannot be adequately reviewed with respect to the claimed elements. Drawings 2-16 and 18 are required to be replaced.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
The claimed limitations, as per system Claim 1, include the steps of:
A medical information collection system with inter-dataset correlation comprising: local computer system having a computer readable medium;
a first medical device in communications with the local computer system adapted to capture a first set of medical data from a patient;
a second medical device in communication with the local computer system adapted to capture a second set of medical data from the patient;
a remote computer system in communication with the local computer system;
a set of local computer readable instructions adapted to:
receive a first medical device information from the first medical device,
display a first use instruction according to the first medical device information,
receive a first patient medical information from the first medical device,
display the first patient medical information on the local computer system,
display a first warning according to the first patient medical information being outside a first acceptable range,
receive a second medical device information from the second medical device,
display a second use instruction according to the second medical device information,
receive a second patient medical information from the second medical device,
display the second patient medical information on the local computer system,
display a second warning according to the second patient medical information being outside a second acceptable range,
display a correlation information according to a comparison of the first patient medical information and the second patient medical information, and,
transmit the first patient medical information and the second patient medical information to a remote computer system.
Examiner Note: underlined elements indicate additional elements of the claimed invention identified as performing the steps of the claimed invention.
Examiner Note: Examiner notes that independent claims 11 and 16 include following additional limitation which is determined by the Examiner to be rejected under the requirements of the 101 statute, “create an amended patient record according to the initial patient record and information taken from a group consisting of the first medical device information, first patient medical information, the second medical device information, the second patient medical information, date, time, location, and any combination thereof.” The remainder of the limitations of claims 11 and 16 are replicated in claim 1 and are therefore also rejected under the requirements of the statute.
Under Step One of the analysis under the Mayo framework, claims 1-20 is/are drawn to a system (i.e., a machine/manufacture). As such, claims 1-20 is/are drawn to one of the statutory categories of invention.
Under Step 2A Prong One of the analysis under the Mayo framework the claim(s) are determined to recite(s) the judicial exception of a device adapted to capture a first set of medical data from a patient; adapted to capture a second set of medical data from the patient; display a first use instruction according to the first medical device information, receive a first patient medical information, display the first patient medical information, display a first warning according to the first patient medical information being outside a first acceptable range, display a second use instruction according to the second medical device information, receive a second patient medical information, display the second patient medical information, display a second warning according to the second patient medical information being outside a second acceptable range, display a correlation information according to a comparison of the first patient medical information and the second patient medical information.
This judicial exception is similar to abstract ideas related to certain methods of organizing human activity such as managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions.
Under Step 2A Prong Two of the analysis under the Mayo Framework, the judicial exception expressed as the steps of the instant claims is not integrated into a practical application because the claims only recite one additional element, the element of using a processor or computing system including a local registry or memory to perform the steps of the claimed abstract idea. The processor is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing generic computer functions to perform the claimed steps of the invention), and therefore the abstract idea amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element of performing the inventive steps with a generic computer does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without a practical application.
Under step 2B of the Mayo analysis framework the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional limitations of performing the steps with a computer processor, a display module, and a memory storing machine executable instructions represents insignificant data gathering and data processing steps requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry. Applicant’s published written description paragraph [49] recites “data capture devices for blood pressure 110, heart rate (e.g., pulse) 102, temperature (thermometer) 104 and weight (scale),” written description paragraph [50] recites “devices can be in communications with a computer system 120 through wireless communications that can include Bluetooth 118, Wi-Fi, near field RF, cellular, and IR, which can be an independent network or included in an existing network. Local computer system 120 can include a smart phone, laptop, table, or other portable computer device. The computer system can use a communications system 124 allowing information to be transmitted and received from remote third-party systems such as 28a through 128b or a local database,” written description paragraph [54] recites “application can be used for data capture, data display, data aggregation, and any combination. Different embodiments of the application can provide for one or more of these functionalities exclusive (e.g., only data capture) or can provide for multiple functionality (e.g., data recording and display),” written description paragraph [55] recites “devices can access wireless access points of a dedicated network or non-dedicated network. The information transmitted from the device to the computer system can be encrypted in transit. The computer system can be in direct communication with the device or through a local area network, wide area network, or global area network,” and written description paragraph [56] recites “…computer device can include computer readable instructions that have the functionalities shown in FIGS. 2 through 19. Referring to FIG. 2, a local computer system can have a set of computer readable instructions (e.g., app) downloaded at 202 that can be executed at 204. A log in process 206 can be implemented that can include security features such as biometrics. In the event that the local computer device has a local, wide, or global communications network connection at 208, a handshake can be performed so that information can be transmitted to and from the local computer system from a remote computer system.” Thus the claimed inventive steps are performed by generic or general purpose computing systems executing well known and understood instructions and processes which do not comprise significantly more than a known computing system, or comprise improvements to another technological field.
Further, as per MPEP 2106, and TLI Communications LLC v. AV Automotive LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) ("It is well-settled that mere recitation of concrete, tangible components is insufficient to confer patent eligibility to an otherwise abstract idea") and as per Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (USA), N.A., 792 F.3d 1363, 1366, 115 USPQ2d 1636, 1639 (Fed. Cir. 2015) ("An abstract idea does not become nonabstract by limiting the invention to a particular field of use or technological environment, such as the Internet [or] a computer") simply performing the steps of an abstract idea by a computing apparatus does not make an inventive concept statutorily eligible. Therefore, it is clear from Applicants’ specification that the elements and modules in the claims require no more than a generic computer (e.g., a general-purpose computing device) to perform generic computer functions (e.g., accessing, transmitting/receiving, sorting, and storing data) that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known in the industry. None of the limitations, considered as a whole and as an ordered combination provide eligibility, because the steps of the claims simply instruct the practitioner to implement the abstract idea with routine, conventional activity.
Viewing the additional limitations in combination also shows that they fail to ensure the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. When considered as an ordered combination, the additional components of the claims add nothing that is not already present when considered separately, and thus simply append the abstract idea with words equivalent to “apply it” on a generic computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer, generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use, and append the abstract idea with insignificant extra solution activity associated with the implementation of the judicial exception, (e.g., mere data gathering).
Dependent claims 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, and 18 are directed to the judicial exception as explained above for Claim 1, and are further directed to limitations directed to modify patient records according to medical device information, retrieve the patient record and provide a warning is device information is outside a historical range, instructions to amend patient records in accordance with patient medical information, display correlation information, and provide for manual entry of information. These limitations or processes are considered to be executed by the general purpose computing system as explained above, and therefore do not result in the claimed invention being directed to a practical application or comprise significantly more than the identified abstract idea.
Dependent claims 7-9, 15, and 19 are directed to the judicial exception as explained above for Claims 1, 11 and 16, and are further directed to limitations directed to patient actuation of first and second medical devices in response to data device information as transmitted between devices. These limitations or processes are considered to be executed by the general purpose computing system as explained above, and therefore do not result in the claimed invention being directed to a practical application or comprise significantly more than the identified abstract idea.
Dependent claims 10 and 20 are directed to the judicial exception as explained above for Claims 1 and 16, and are further directed to limitations directed to the transmission of health related messages according to the information being outside an acceptable range including approval to transmit the message. These limitations or processes are considered to be executed by the general purpose computing system as explained above, and therefore do not result in the claimed invention being directed to a practical application or comprise significantly more than the identified abstract idea.
Dependent claims 12 and 13 are directed to the judicial exception as explained above for Claim 11, and are further directed to limitations directed to the retrieval of initial patient records including the amending, storing, and transmitting of the patient records. These limitations or processes are considered to be executed by the general purpose computing system as explained above, and therefore do not result in the claimed invention being directed to a practical application or comprise significantly more than the identified abstract idea.
Dependent claim 14 is directed to the judicial exception as explained above for Claim 11, and is further directed to specifying the types of medical sensing devices implemented in the claimed system. These limitations or processes are considered to be executed by the general purpose computing system as explained above, and therefore do not result in the claimed invention being directed to a practical application or comprise significantly more than the identified abstract idea.
Dependent claim 17 is directed to the judicial exception as explained above for Claim 16, and is further directed to specifying the location of a database within an electronic medical records system. These limitations or processes are considered to be executed by the general purpose computing system as explained above, and therefore do not result in the claimed invention being directed to a practical application or comprise significantly more than the identified abstract idea.
Dependent claims 2-10, 12-16, and 18-20 do not add more to the abstract idea of independent Claims 1, 11, and 17 and therefore are rejected as ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101 based on a rationale similar to the claims from which they depend.
Claim Rejections 35 USC 101 and AIA § 33(a)
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 6, 7, 8, 9, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101). If the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed invention as a whole encompasses a human being, then a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 must be made indicating that the claimed invention is directed to nonstatutory subject matter.” MPEP §2105. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101). One of ordinary skill in the art would interpret the limitation(s) of the claims as indicated above include human directed activities such as claiming manual entry as for claim 6, patient actuation of medical devices as claimed in 7, 8, 9, 15, and 19 and therefore the Examiner requires correction of the claims to include system activated processes and procedures.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 15, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoun et al. (20220101989) in view of Sampath et al. (20180174680).
Claim 1: Aoun discloses a medical information collection system with inter-dataset correlation ([24 “example system environment for patient care. In this example, the system environment includes a medical system 120, a set of devices 102-116 in a medical care site 100, and a set of devices 132-140 at one or more offsite locations,” 25 “medical system 120 can include one or more computing components for storing health records, collecting health records and/or associated data and updates, providing and/or displaying health records and/or associated data, managing/maintaining scheduling information, providing notifications, providing medical requests and/or orders/prescriptions, managing health plans,”]) comprising: a local computer system having a computer readable medium ([26 “medical system 120 can be located/hosted at the medical care site,” 27 “devices 132-140 at the one or more offsite locations 130 can include one or more client devices 132, one or more sensors 134, one or more third-party medical systems,”]);
a first medical device in communications with the local computer system adapted to capture a first set of medical data from a patient ([37 “set of devices 102-116 in the medical care site 100, and/or any of the set of devices 132-140 at the one or more offsite locations 130 can communicate and/or interconnect via a network 125, and can share patient and medical data,”]);
a second medical device in communication with the local computer system adapted to capture a second set of medical data from the patient ([37 “set of devices 102-116 in the medical care site 100, and/or any of the set of devices 132-140 at the one or more offsite locations 130 can communicate and/or interconnect via a network 125, and can share patient and medical data,”]);
a remote computer system in communication with the local computer system ([37 “network 125 can include one or more public and/or private networks such as, for example, one or more cloud networks, local area networks, wide area networks, virtual networks, service provider networks, core networks, datacenters, and/or the like,”]);
a set of local computer readable instructions ([24 “set of devices 132-140 at one or more offsite locations,”]) adapted to:
receive a first medical device information from the first medical device ([37 “some or all of devices 132-140 that are within an offsite location can interconnect and/or communicate via one or more wireless connections and/or protocols (e.g., WIFI, Bluetooth, near-field communications, facsimile, etc.) and/or via a LAN. Upon receipt of the medical data, the data can be processed by the medical system 120 including utilizing optical character recognition (OCR) and a transcription user interface (UI). In some implementations, the medical system 120 can further receive updates (e.g., updated data) from any of the set of devices 102-116 in the medical care site 100, and/or any of the set of devices 132-140 at the one or more offsite locations 130 via the network,”]),
display a first use instruction according to the first medical device information ([41 “collaborative smart screen 102 can also send and/or receive data to/from one or more of the devices 132-140 at the one or more offsite locations,” 42]),
receive a first patient medical information from the first medical device ([33 “one or more sensors 112 and 134 can include any sensor device such as, for example, an infrared (IR) sensor, a biosensor, a tactile sensor, a pressure sensor, a respiratory sensor, a blood analyzer, a chemical sensor, an implantable sensor, a wearable sensor, a cataract sensor, a glucose meter, an activity sensor, a blood pressure sensor, a pulse oximeter, a heart rate sensor, a sleep sensor, a temperature sensor, a body composition analyzer, a stethoscope, and/or any other type of sensor,” 34]),
display the first patient medical information on the local computer system ([37 “consultation” can include an onsite consultation, a remote consultation (e.g., telemedicine, etc.), or a hybrid onsite and remote consultation where one or more participants are located on site and one or more participants are located remotely. In some examples, the medical system 120, any of the set of devices 102-116 in the medical care site 100, and/or any of the set of devices 132-140 at the one or more offsite locations 130 can communicate and/or interconnect via a network 125, and can share patient and medical data,” 39 “one or more of the devices 132-140 at the one or more offsite locations 130 can communicate and/or interconnect with one or more other devices 132-140 at the one or more offsite locations 130 directly via a peer-to-peer connection (e.g., wireless or wired) and/or via one or more networks (e.g., a wired and/or wireless local area network) at the one or more offsite locations,” 40, 41]),
receive a second medical device information from the second medical device ([37 “some or all of devices 132-140 that are within an offsite location can interconnect and/or communicate via one or more wireless connections and/or protocols (e.g., WIFI, Bluetooth, near-field communications, facsimile, etc.) and/or via a LAN. Upon receipt of the medical data, the data can be processed by the medical system 120 including utilizing optical character recognition (OCR) and a transcription user interface (UI). In some implementations, the medical system 120 can further receive updates (e.g., updated data) from any of the set of devices 102-116 in the medical care site 100, and/or any of the set of devices 132-140 at the one or more offsite locations 130 via the network,”]),
display a second use instruction according to the second medical device information ([41 “collaborative smart screen 102 can also send and/or receive data to/from one or more of the devices 132-140 at the one or more offsite locations,” 42]),
receive a second patient medical information from the second medical device ([33 “one or more sensors 112 and 134 can include any sensor device such as, for example, an infrared (IR) sensor, a biosensor, a tactile sensor, a pressure sensor, a respiratory sensor, a blood analyzer, a chemical sensor, an implantable sensor, a wearable sensor, a cataract sensor, a glucose meter, an activity sensor, a blood pressure sensor, a pulse oximeter, a heart rate sensor, a sleep sensor, a temperature sensor, a body composition analyzer, a stethoscope, and/or any other type of sensor,” 34]),
display the second patient medical information on the local computer system ([37 “consultation” can include an onsite consultation, a remote consultation (e.g., telemedicine, etc.), or a hybrid onsite and remote consultation where one or more participants are located on site and one or more participants are located remotely. In some examples, the medical system 120, any of the set of devices 102-116 in the medical care site 100, and/or any of the set of devices 132-140 at the one or more offsite locations 130 can communicate and/or interconnect via a network 125, and can share patient and medical data,” 39 “one or more of the devices 132-140 at the one or more offsite locations 130 can communicate and/or interconnect with one or more other devices 132-140 at the one or more offsite locations 130 directly via a peer-to-peer connection (e.g., wireless or wired) and/or via one or more networks (e.g., a wired and/or wireless local area network) at the one or more offsite locations,” 40, 41]),
display a correlation information according to a comparison of the first patient medical information and the second patient medical information ([37 “set of devices 102-116 in the medical care site 100, and/or any of the set of devices 132-140 at the one or more offsite locations 130 can communicate and/or interconnect via a network 125, and can share patient and medical data,” 80 “medical system 120 can then receive (e.g., via a wired and/or wireless transmission) the newly measured biometrics from the sensors 112, and update the customized medical treatment based on updated data from offsite 130, the consultation visit 300, and the medical care site,” 83 “combination of all or some of the data from the consultation visit 300, from offsite 130, and the medical care site 100 can further be utilized and compared 404 to medical data of the general population 402 such that the medical system 120 can determine whether treatment is necessary or wanted for a given condition,”]) Examiner Note: Examiner under a broadest reasonable interpretation, interprets the collection of first and second patient medical information including the separate processing of the collected information as well as the process of timely updating of the collected data as well as the display of information as coordinated with the medical professionals and the patients to disclose the collection, processing, and display of collected and processed medical data related to first and second collection episodes.
transmit the first patient medical information and the second patient medical information to a remote computer system ([26, 27 “devices 102-116 in the medical care site 100 include a collaborative smart screen 102, one or more imaging systems 104, one or more biometric systems 106, one or more stethoscopes 108, one or more laboratory systems 110, one or more sensors 112, one or more medical devices 114, and one or more computing devices 116; and the devices 132-140 at the one or more offsite locations 130 can include one or more client devices 132, one or more sensors 134, one or more third-party medical systems 136, one or more laboratory systems 138, and one or more medical devices,” 28 “collaborative smart screen 102 can include one or more communication interfaces (e.g., wired and/or wireless) for communicating with other devices such as the medical system 120, and/or any other device,” 35 “one or more client devices 132 can include one or more communication interfaces (e.g., wired and/or wireless) for communicating test results and/or measurements to other devices such as the medical system 120, the collaborative smart screen 102, and/or any other device,”]). Examiner Note: Examiner, under a broadest reasonable interpretation, interprets the coordination of data displays as disclosed by Aoun for the display of updated and collected medically relevant data both remotely and at a medically related site or location as well as the provision of first and second data elements as related to different sensors and different bodily related functions to disclose the collection of first and second data sets.
Aoun discloses a system of collection of a wide variety of physical data from patients as related to a variety of measurements and the separation of collected data into a variety of first and second datasets and the communication of the collected data to patients and caregivers and Aoun does not explicitly disclose however Sampath discloses:
display a first warning according to the first patient medical information being outside a first acceptable range ([147 “patient monitors 640 can also provide information on medical events, such as alarms, to the MMS 620. Alarms can be triggered, for example, in response to a physiological parameter falling outside of a normal range,” 148 “patient monitors 640 provide the physiological information and medical events to the MMS,” 161 “monitoring module 742 can monitor physiological signals generated by one or more sensors coupled with a patient,” 162, 167 “additional (or different) parameter is subsequently measured by the patient monitor 740, the RRDB module 740 may dynamically update the parameter descriptors that are sent to the MMS,” 168 “journal module 740 may record medical events related to the patient monitor,”])
display a second warning according to the second patient medical information being outside a second acceptable range ([147 “patient monitors 640 can also provide information on medical events, such as alarms, to the MMS 620. Alarms can be triggered, for example, in response to a physiological parameter falling outside of a normal range,” 148 “patient monitors 640 provide the physiological information and medical events to the MMS,” 161 “monitoring module 742 can monitor physiological signals generated by one or more sensors coupled with a patient,” 162, 167 “additional (or different) parameter is subsequently measured by the patient monitor 740, the RRDB module 740 may dynamically update the parameter descriptors that are sent to the MMS,” 168 “journal module 740 may record medical events related to the patient monitor,”]). Examiner Note: Examiner under a broadest reasonable interpretation, interprets the disclosures of Sampath as per the continuous collection of medical patient information and the generation of alarms when parameters are outside a determined range, and the continuous updating of the measured medical information to disclose the collection of first and second event data as related to issued alarms.
Therefore it would be obvious for Aoun to display a first warning according to the first patient medical information being outside a first acceptable range and display a second warning according to the second patient medical information being outside a second acceptable range as per the steps of Sampath in order to continuously measure the physiological conditions of patients and provide updates to care providers in order to provide enhanced treatment to patients.
Claim 2: Aoun in view of Sampath discloses the system as for claim 1 and Aoun further discloses:
a patient record stored on a database and associated with a patient representing historical medical information ([70 “the dynamic contextual data 320 can include medical history information 322, test results 324, measurements 326, medications 328, conditions 330, treatments 322, genetics 334, nutritional data 336, allergies 338, vaccinations,” 71 “medical history information 322 can include past and present medical history of the patient measured from home, offsite 130, consultation visit 300, or medical care site,”]); and,
wherein the set of local computer readable instructions are adapted to modify the patient record according to information taken from a group consisting of the first medical device information ([37]), first patient medical information ([33, 34]), second medical device record information ([37]), second patient medical information ([33, 34]), date ([82 “date of birth,”]), time, location ([26 “medical system 120 can be located/hosted at a separate location or site. For example, the medical system 120 can be located/hosted at a separate medical care site, a location from the one or more offsite locations 130, on a cloud network, and/or on any other location,”]) and any combination thereof ([63 “information in the consultation visit 300 can be updated based on past and current data and/or decisions obtained while addressing/covering that item and/or another item by the medical system,” 70 “dynamic contextual data 320 of the consultation visit information 300 can include data dynamically loaded, displayed, and/or updated based on a current context of the consultation. For example, the dynamic contextual data 320 can include medical history information 322, test results 324, measurements 326, medications 328, conditions 330, treatments 322, genetics 334, nutritional data 336, allergies 338, vaccinations 340, etc., that is/are relevant to a current agenda item,”]).
Claim 3: Aoun in view of Sampath discloses the system as for claim 1 above and Aoun further discloses:
a patient record stored on a database and associated with a patient representing historical medical information ([70 “the dynamic contextual data 320 can include medical history information 322, test results 324, measurements 326, medications 328, conditions 330, treatments 322, genetics 334, nutritional data 336, allergies 338, vaccinations,” 71 “medical history information 322 can include past and present medical history of the patient measured from home, offsite 130, consultation visit 300, or medical care site,”]);
Aoun does not explicitly disclose and Sampath discloses:
wherein the set of local computer readable instructions are adapted to retrieve the patient record and display a warning if the first medical device information is outside a historical range ([147 “patient monitors 640 can also provide information on medical events, such as alarms, to the MMS 620. Alarms can be triggered, for example, in response to a physiological parameter falling outside of a normal range,” 148 “patient monitors 640 provide the physiological information and medical events to the MMS,” 161 “monitoring module 742 can monitor physiological signals generated by one or more sensors coupled with a patient,” 162, 167 “additional (or different) parameter is subsequently measured by the patient monitor 740, the RRDB module 740 may dynamically update the parameter descriptors that are sent to the MMS,” 168 “journal module 740 may record medical events related to the patient monitor,”]).
Therefore it would be obvious for Aoun to wherein the set of local computer readable instructions are adapted to retrieve the patient record and display a warning if the first medical device information is outside a historical range as per the steps of Sampath in order to continuously measure the physiological conditions of patients and provide updates to care providers in order to provide enhanced treatment to patients.
Claim 4: Aoun in view of Sampath discloses the system as for claim 1 above and Aoun further discloses:
a patient record stored on an electronic medical record system ([70 “the dynamic contextual data 320 can include medical history information 322, test results 324, measurements 326, medications 328, conditions 330, treatments 322, genetics 334, nutritional data 336, allergies 338, vaccinations,” 71 “medical history information 322 can include past and present medical history of the patient measured from home, offsite 130, consultation visit 300, or medical care site,”]); and,
wherein the set of local computer readable instructions are adapted to amend the patient record with information taken from the group consisting of the first patient medical information ([33, 34]), the first medical device information ([37]), the second patient medical information ([33, 34]), the second medical device information ([37]), date ([82 “date of birth,”]), time, location ([26 “medical system 120 can be located/hosted at a separate location or site. For example, the medical system 120 can be located/hosted at a separate medical care site, a location from the one or more offsite locations 130, on a cloud network, and/or on any other location,”]), and any combination thereof.
Claim 5: Aoun in view of Sampath discloses the system as for claim 1 above and Aoun further discloses wherein the set of local computer readable instructions are adapted to display a correlation information according to a comparison of the first patient medical information ([33, 34]) and the second patient medical information ([33, 34]) wherein the first patient medical information affects the second patient medical information ([83 “combination of all or some of the data from the consultation visit 300, from offsite 130, and the medical care site 100 can further be utilized and compared 404 to medical data of the general population 402 such that the medical system 120 can determine whether treatment is necessary or wanted for a given condition,”]).
Claim 6: Aoun in view of Sampath discloses the system as for claim 1 above and Aoun further discloses wherein the set of local computer readable instructions are adapted to receive the first patient medical information from the first medical device by manual entry ([37 “the medical system 120 can further receive updates (e.g., updated data) from any of the set of devices 102-116 in the medical care site 100, and/or any of the set of devices 132-140 at the one or more offsite locations 130 via the network,” 38]).
Claims 7, 15, and 19: Aoun discloses the systems as for claims 1, 11 and 16 and Aoun further discloses wherein the set of local computer readable instructions are adapted to request that the patient to actuate the first medical device to receive a third medical device information from the first medical device ([41 “the collaborative smart screen 102 can send and/or receive data to/from the medical system 120 and devices 104-116 at the medical care site 100. In some cases, the collaborative smart screen 102 can also send and/or receive data to/from one or more of the devices 132-140 at the one or more offsite locations,” 42, 43 “the provider performs a test or measurement using one or more of the devices 104-116 at the medical care site 100, the collaborative smart screen 102 can dynamically collect (e.g., via push and/or pull) and display data from the test or measurement. The collaborative smart screen 102 can collect the data from the one or more of the devices 104-116 and display such data while the patient and provider address/discuss the medical condition associated with the test or measurement,”]).
Claim 8: Aoun in view of Sampath discloses the system as for claim 5 above and Aoun further discloses wherein the set of local computer readable instructions are adapted to request that the patient actuates the first medical device to receive a third medical device information from the first medical device according to a comparison of the first patient medical information within the first acceptable range ([79 “before and/or during the consultation, the medical system 120 can receive data relevant from the patient and consultation such as a medical record of the patient. The medical system 120 can use the data received to determine a customized medical treatment for the patient,” 83 “combination of all or some of the data from the consultation visit 300, from offsite 130, and the medical care site 100 can further be utilized and compared 404 to medical data of the general population 402 such that the medical system 120 can determine whether treatment is necessary or wanted for a given condition,”]). Examiner Note: Examiner under a broadest reasonable interpretation interprets the comparison of collected data from a patient with information collected from the general population to determine levels of medical information as relevant to established average parameters including differences between patient relevant data and population relevant data.
Claim 9: Aoun in view of Sampath discloses the system as for claim 5 above and Aoun further discloses wherein the set of local computer readable instructions are adapted to request that the patient actuates the second medical device to receive a third medical device information from the second medical device according to a comparison of the first patient medical information within the first acceptable range ([80 “new and updated data can be received by the medical system 120 and/or one or more systems. For example, the provider can use the sensors 112 to measure biometrics of the patient, such as a heart rate, blood pressure, weight, blood glucose levels, oxygen levels, etc. The medical system 120 can then receive (e.g., via a wired and/or wireless transmission) the newly measured biometrics from the sensors 112, and update the customized medical treatment based on updated data from offsite 130, the consultation visit 300, and the medical care site,” 86, 87 “Upon receiving data regarding the comparison between the patient's current data 400 and the general population medical data 402, the dynamic suggestions 420, and the additional tasks 422, the medical system can analyze all or some of this data to determine whether a notable condition is present, and if so, which appropriate medical treatment 406 is necessary or recommended at this time,”]).
Claims 10 and 20: Aoun in view of Sampath discloses the system as for claim 1 above and Aoun further discloses wherein the set of local computer readable instructions are adapted to transmit a health message to a health care provider according to the first patient medical information being outside the first acceptable range and an approval to transmit from the patient ([41 “collaborative smart screen 102 can send and/or receive data to/from the medical system 120 and devices 104-116 at the medical care site 100. In some cases, the collaborative smart screen 102 can also send and/or receive data to/from one or more of the devices 132-140 at the one or more offsite locations 130. For example, as further described herein, the collaborative smart screen 102 can collect data from the medical system 120 and/or any of the devices 104-116 at the medical care site 100. The collaborative smart screen 102 can use the collected data to present relevant medical and/or patient information on the collaborative smart screen 102 during a patient consultation at the medical care site,” 46 “collaborative smart screen 102 can thus recognize, transcribe, and display speech and conversations during a patient consultation. In some cases, the collaborative smart screen 102 can also generate speech audio (e.g., via text-to-speech) to output audio instructions, suggestions, messages, notifications, and/or other utterances,” ]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-14, and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aoun et al. (20220101989).
Claim 11: Aoun discloses a medical information collection system with inter-dataset correlation ([24 “example system environment for patient care. In this example, the system environment includes a medical system 120, a set of devices 102-116 in a medical care site 100, and a set of devices 132-140 at one or more offsite locations,” 25 “medical system 120 can include one or more computing components for storing health records, collecting health records and/or associated data and updates, providing and/or displaying health records and/or associated data, managing/maintaining scheduling information, providing notifications, providing medical requests and/or orders/prescriptions, managing health plans,”])
comprising: a local computer system having a computer readable medium and in communication with an electronic medical record system ([26 “medical system 120 can be located/hosted at the medical care site,” 27 “devices 132-140 at the one or more offsite locations 130 can include one or more client devices 132, one or more sensors 134, one or more third-party medical systems,”]);
an initial patient record stored on a database in communication with the local computer system ([25 “medical system 120 can include one or more computing components for storing health records, collecting health records and/or associated data and updates, providing and/or displaying health records and/or associated data,” 37 “set of devices 102-116 in the medical care site 100, and/or any of the set of devices 132-140 at the one or more offsite locations 130 can communicate and/or interconnect via a network 125, and can share patient and medical data,”]);
a first medical device in communication with the local computer system adapted to capture a first set of medical data from a patient ([37 “set of devices 102-116 in the medical care site 100, and/or any of the set of devices 132-140 at the one or more offsite locations 130 can communicate and/or interconnect via a network 125, and can share patient and medical data,”]);
a second medical device in communication with the local computer system adapted to capture a second set of medical data from the patient ([37 “set of devices 102-116 in the medical care site 100, and/or any of the set of devices 132-140 at the one or more offsite locations 130 can communicate and/or interconnect via a network 125, and can share patient and medical data,”]);
a remote computer system in communication with the local computer system ([37 “network 125 can include one or more public and/or private networks such as, for example, one or more cloud networks, local area networks, wide area networks, virtual networks, service provider networks, core networks, datacenters, and/or the like,”]);
a set of local computer readable instructions adapted to ([24 “set of devices 132-140 at one or more offsite locations,”]):
receive a first medical device information from the first medical device ([37 “some or all of devices 132-140 that are within an offsite location can interconnect and/or communicate via one or more wireless connections and/or protocols (e.g., WIFI, Bluetooth, near-field communications, facsimile, etc.) and/or via a LAN. Upon receipt of the medical data, the data can be processed by the medical system 120 including utilizing optical character recognition (OCR) and a transcription user interface (UI). In some implementations, the medical system 120 can further receive updates (e.g., updated data) from any of the set of devices 102-116 in the medical care site 100, and/or any of the set of devices 132-140 at the one or more offsite locations 130 via the network,”]),
display a first use instruction according to the first medical device information ([41 “collaborative smart screen 102 can also send and/or receive data to/from one or more of the devices 132-140 at the one or more offsite locations,” 42]),
receive a first patient medical information from the first medical device ([33 “one or more sensors 112 and 134 can include any sensor device such as, for example, an infrared (IR) sensor, a biosensor, a tactile sensor, a pressure sensor, a respiratory sensor, a blood analyzer, a chemical sensor, an implantable sensor, a wearable sensor, a cataract sensor, a glucose meter, an activity sensor, a blood pressure sensor, a pulse oximeter, a heart rate sensor, a sleep sensor, a temperature sensor, a body composition analyzer, a stethoscope, and/or any other type of sensor,” 34]),
display the first patient medical information on the local computer system ([37 “consultation” can include an onsite consultation, a remote consultation (e.g., telemedicine, etc.), or a hybrid onsite and remote consultation where one or more participants are located on site and one or more participants are located remotely. In some examples, the medical system 120, any of the set of devices 102-116 in the medical care site 100, and/or any of the set of devices 132-140 at the one or more offsite locations 130 can communicate and/or interconnect via a network 125, and can share patient and medical data,” 39 “one or more of the devices 132-140 at the one or more offsite locations 130 can communicate and/or interconnect with one or more other devices 132-140 at the one or more offsite locations 130 directly via a peer-to-peer connection (e.g., wireless or wired) and/or via one or more networks (e.g., a wired and/or wireless local area network) at the one or more offsite locations,” 40, 41]),
receive a second medical device information from the second medical device ([37 “some or all of devices 132-140 that are within an offsite location can interconnect and/or communicate via one or more wireless connections and/or protocols (e.g., WIFI, Bluetooth, near-field communications, facsimile, etc.) and/or via a LAN. Upon receipt of the medical data, the data can be processed by the medical system 120 including utilizing optical character recognition (OCR) and a transcription user interface (UI). In some implementations, the medical system 120 can further receive updates (e.g., updated data) from any of the set of devices 102-116 in the medical care site 100, and/or any of the set of devices 132-140 at the one or more offsite locations 130 via the network,”]),
display a second use instruction according to the second medical device information ([41 “collaborative smart screen 102 can also send and/or receive data to/from one or more of the devices 132-140 at the one or more offsite locations,” 42]),
receive a second patient medical information from the second medical device ([33 “one or more sensors 112 and 134 can include any sensor device such as, for example, an infrared (IR) sensor, a biosensor, a tactile sensor, a pressure sensor, a respiratory sensor, a blood analyzer, a chemical sensor, an implantable sensor, a wearable sensor, a cataract sensor, a glucose meter, an activity sensor, a blood pressure sensor, a pulse oximeter, a heart rate sensor, a sleep sensor, a temperature sensor, a body composition analyzer, a stethoscope, and/or any other type of sensor,” 34]),
display the second patient medical information on the local computer system ([37 “consultation” can include an onsite consultation, a remote consultation (e.g., telemedicine, etc.), or a hybrid onsite and remote consultation where one or more participants are located on site and one or more participants are located remotely. In some examples, the medical system 120, any of the set of devices 102-116 in the medical care site 100, and/or any of the set of devices 132-140 at the one or more offsite locations 130 can communicate and/or interconnect via a network 125, and can share patient and medical data,” 39 “one or more of the devices 132-140 at the one or more offsite locations 130 can communicate and/or interconnect with one or more other devices 132-140 at the one or more offsite locations 130 directly via a peer-to-peer connection (e.g., wireless or wired) and/or via one or more networks (e.g., a wired and/or wireless local area network) at the one or more offsite locations,” 40, 41]), and,
create an amended patient record according to the initial patient record and information taken from a group consisting of the first medical device information ([37]), first patient medical information ([33, 34]), the second medical device information ([37]) the second patient medical information ([33, 34]), date ([82 “date of birth,”]), time, location ([26 “medical system 120 can be located/hosted at a separate location or site. For example, the medical system 120 can be located/hosted at a separate medical care site, a location from the one or more offsite locations 130, on a cloud network, and/or on any other location,”]), and any combination thereof.
Claim 12: Aoun discloses the system of claim 11 above and Aoun further discloses wherein the set of local computer readable instructions are adapted to retrieve the initial patient record from the electronic medical record system ([25 “medical system 120 can include one or more computing components for storing health records, collecting health records and/or associated data and updates, providing and/or displaying health records and/or associated data, managing/maintaining scheduling information, providing notifications, providing medical requests and/or orders/prescriptions, managing health plans,”]), amend the initial patient record and store an amended patient record on the database wherein the database is included in the electronic medical record system ([26 “medical system 120 can be located/hosted at the medical care site 100. In other cases, the medical system 120 can be located/hosted at a separate location or site. For example, the medical system 120 can be located/hosted at a separate medical care site, a location from the one or more offsite locations 130, on a cloud network, and/or on any other location,” 28-34, 43 “If, while addressing the medical condition, the provider performs a test or measurement using one or more of the devices 104-116 at the medical care site 100, the collaborative smart screen 102 can dynamically collect (e.g., via push and/or pull) and display data from the test or measurement. The collaborative smart screen 102 can collect the data from the one or more of the devices 104-116 and display such data while the patient and provider address/discuss the medical condition associated with the test or measurement,”]). Examiner Note: Examiner under a broadest reasonable interpretation understands the disclosures of Aoun with respect to the dynamic collection and display of data during a consultation session to disclose the amendment of an initial patient record.
Claim 13: Aoun discloses the system of claim 11 above and Aoun further discloses wherein the set of local computer readable instructions are adapted to transmit the amended patient record to a remote computer system ([26, 27 “devices 102-116 in the medical care site 100 include a collaborative smart screen 102, one or more imaging systems 104, one or more biometric systems 106, one or more stethoscopes 108, one or more laboratory systems 110, one or more sensors 112, one or more medical devices 114, and one or more computing devices 116; and the devices 132-140 at the one or more offsite locations 130 can include one or more client devices 132, one or more sensors 134, one or more third-party medical systems 136, one or more laboratory systems 138, and one or more medical devices,” 28 “collaborative smart screen 102 can include one or more communication interfaces (e.g., wired and/or wireless) for communicating with other devices such as the medical system 120, and/or any other device,” 35 “one or more client devices 132 can include one or more communication interfaces (e.g., wired and/or wireless) for communicating test results and/or measurements to other devices such as the medical system 120, the collaborative smart screen 102, and/or any other device,”])..
Claim 14: Aoun discloses the system of claim 11 above and Aoun further discloses wherein the first medical device is taken from the group consisting of a blood pressure sensor, pulse sensor, thermometer, weight scale, and galvanic skin sensor ([44 “collaborative smart screen 102 can also collect, load, and/or display relevant information obtained from other devices, such as test results, health metrics, and/or medical records from third-party systems, health metrics (e.g., measurements, statistics, test results, journal data, logged data, etc.) from one or more client devices associated with the patient (e.g., a smart watch, a heart rate sensor, a blood pressure sensor, a blood sugar sensor, a sleep sensor, an activity sensor, an image sensor, a pulse oximeter, a temperature sensor, a calorie tracker, a continuous positive airway pressure device, etc.), and/or any other device,”]).
Claim 16: Aoun discloses the information collection system of claim 15 above, and Aoun further discloses wherein the set of local computer readable instructions ([24 “set of devices 132-140 at one or more offsite locations….system environment can include more, less, and/or different systems, devices, entities, and/or sites than those shown in FIG. 1,”]) are adapted to display a correlation information according to a comparison of the first patient medical information and the third patient medical information ([87 “receiving data regarding the comparison between the patient's current data 400 and the general population medical data 402, the dynamic suggestions 420, and the additional tasks 422, the medical system can analyze all or some of this data to determine whether a notable condition is present, and if so, which appropriate medical treatment 406 is necessary or recommended at this time,” 88 “determination of medical treatment 406 can be based on all or some of the information and data received from the consultation visit 300, from offsite 130, the medical care site 100, the general population 402, the dynamic suggestions 420, and the additional tasks 422. Based on all or some of these factors, the medical system 120 can determine if the patient has a condition worth noting and pursuing a customized treatment plan,” 92 “based on the effectiveness and timeline of the medical treatments from the general population regarding the detected skin abnormality 502 of the current patient, the medical system 120 can select the medical treatment that is most appropriate for the current patient, which can then be provided to the current patient 510. For example, if a skin abnormality is found on a male, who is 160 pounds, 35 years old, has a genetic makeup with a propensity of skin disease, and eats an unbalanced diet, the medical system 120 can take all or some of these factors into consideration when comparing the male's skin abnormality with skin conditions from the general population that have the same type, size, density, and color as the male's skin abnormality. By analyzing the patient's total medical data 400 and comparing the same to the general population of similar body structure, age, genetic makeup, etc., the medical system 120 can provide a customized medical treatment,”]).
Claim 17: Aoun discloses a medical information collection system with inter-dataset correlation ([24 “example system environment for patient care. In this example, the system environment includes a medical system 120, a set of devices 102-116 in a medical care site 100, and a set of devices 132-140 at one or more offsite locations,” 25 “medical system 120 can include one or more computing components for storing health records, collecting health records and/or associated data and updates, providing and/or displaying health records and/or associated data, managing/maintaining scheduling information, providing notifications, providing medical requests and/or orders/prescriptions, managing health plans,”]) comprising: a local computer system having a computer readable medium and in communications with an electronic medical record system ([26 “medical system 120 can be located/hosted at the medical care site,” 27 “devices 132-140 at the one or more offsite locations 130 can include one or more client devices 132, one or more sensors 134, one or more third-party medical systems,”]);
an initial patient history stored on a database in communication with the local computer system wherein the initial patient history is associated with a patient ([70 “dynamic contextual data 320 can include medical history information 322, test results 324, measurements 326, medications 328, conditions 330, treatments 322, genetics 334, nutritional data 336, allergies 338, vaccinations,” 71 “medical history information 322 can include past and present medical history of the patient measured from home, offsite 130, consultation visit 300, or medical care site,”]);
a first medical device in communication with the local computer system adapted to capture a first set of medical data from the patient ([37 “set of devices 102-116 in the medical care site 100, and/or any of the set of devices 132-140 at the one or more offsite locations 130 can communicate and/or interconnect via a network 125, and can share patient and medical data,”]);
a second medical device in communication with the local computer system adapted to capture a second set of medical data from the patient ([37 “set of devices 102-116 in the medical care site 100, and/or any of the set of devices 132-140 at the one or more offsite locations 130 can communicate and/or interconnect via a network 125, and can share patient and medical data,”]);
a set of local computer readable instructions adapted to ([24 “set of devices 132-140 at one or more offsite locations,”]):
receive a first medical device information from the first medical device ([37 “some or all of devices 132-140 that are within an offsite location can interconnect and/or communicate via one or more wireless connections and/or protocols (e.g., WIFI, Bluetooth, near-field communications, facsimile, etc.) and/or via a LAN. Upon receipt of the medical data, the data can be processed by the medical system 120 including utilizing optical character recognition (OCR) and a transcription user interface (UI). In some implementations, the medical system 120 can further receive updates (e.g., updated data) from any of the set of devices 102-116 in the medical care site 100, and/or any of the set of devices 132-140 at the one or more offsite locations 130 via the network,”]),
display a first use instruction according to the first medical device information ([41 “collaborative smart screen 102 can also send and/or receive data to/from one or more of the devices 132-140 at the one or more offsite locations,” 42]),
receive a first patient medical information from the first medical device ([33 “one or more sensors 112 and 134 can include any sensor device such as, for example, an infrared (IR) sensor, a biosensor, a tactile sensor, a pressure sensor, a respiratory sensor, a blood analyzer, a chemical sensor, an implantable sensor, a wearable sensor, a cataract sensor, a glucose meter, an activity sensor, a blood pressure sensor, a pulse oximeter, a heart rate sensor, a sleep sensor, a temperature sensor, a body composition analyzer, a stethoscope, and/or any other type of sensor,” 34]),
receive a second medical device information from the second medical device ([37 “some or all of devices 132-140 that are within an offsite location can interconnect and/or communicate via one or more wireless connections and/or protocols (e.g., WIFI, Bluetooth, near-field communications, facsimile, etc.) and/or via a LAN. Upon receipt of the medical data, the data can be processed by the medical system 120 including utilizing optical character recognition (OCR) and a transcription user interface (UI). In some implementations, the medical system 120 can further receive updates (e.g., updated data) from any of the set of devices 102-116 in the medical care site 100, and/or any of the set of devices 132-140 at the one or more offsite locations 130 via the network,”]),
display a second use instruction according to the second medical device information ([41 “collaborative smart screen 102 can also send and/or receive data to/from one or more of the devices 132-140 at the one or more offsite locations,” 42]),
receive a second patient medical information from the second medical device ([33 “one or more sensors 112 and 134 can include any sensor device such as, for example, an infrared (IR) sensor, a biosensor, a tactile sensor, a pressure sensor, a respiratory sensor, a blood analyzer, a chemical sensor, an implantable sensor, a wearable sensor, a cataract sensor, a glucose meter, an activity sensor, a blood pressure sensor, a pulse oximeter, a heart rate sensor, a sleep sensor, a temperature sensor, a body composition analyzer, a stethoscope, and/or any other type of sensor,” 34]),
append the initial patient history according to information taken from the group consisting of the first patient medical information ([33, 34]), the first medical device information ([37]), the second patient medical information ([33, 34]), the second medical device information ([37]), date ([82 “date of birth,”]), time, location ([26 “medical system 120 can be located/hosted at a separate location or site. For example, the medical system 120 can be located/hosted at a separate medical care site, a location from the one or more offsite locations 130, on a cloud network, and/or on any other location,”]), and any combination thereof.
Claim 18: Aoun discloses the system as for claim 16 above, and Aoun further discloses wherein the database is included in the electronic medical records system ([25 “one or more computing components associated with the medical system 120 can include, for example and without limitation, one or more servers, databases, storage systems, virtual machines, software containers, datacenters, data stores, computing resources, serverless functions, cloud infrastructure, computing devices, and/or any other computing resources and/or electronic devices,”]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Please see attached References Cited form 892.
See Weng (20220233140) for disclosures related to the implementation of a health monitoring system which provides information to a wide range of healthcare professionals, patients, and caregivers as a result of collecting sensor related data. See at least paras. [23]-[50].
See Moghadam et al. (20220044772) for disclosures related to the implementation of a patient data charting system which automatically collects patient related data generated during an emergency event. See at least paras. [39]-[65].
See Hart et al. (20210304860) for disclosures related to the integration of medical device related collected information with electronic patient care records and the generation of patient encounter records. See at least paras. [52]-[82].
See Rusak (20210225495) for disclosures related to the adaptation of user interfaces for the presenting of targeted patient related data as a result of monitoring the interaction of a health care provider with a medical device. See at least paras. [58]-[86].
The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 8:30AM to 5:00PM EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kambiz Abdi, can be reached on (571) 272-6702. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571)-273-8300, or the examiner’s direct fax phone number is (571) 270 4472.
/DAVID J STOLTENBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3685