Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to application communication filed on 2/19/2026.
2. Claims 1-20 are pending in the case.
3. Claims 1,15 and 20 are independent claims.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The following title is suggested: systems and methods for processing new deck format designs.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 10-17 are 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shriver; Matthew Connell, U.S. Patent No. 10460023 B1.
Claim 1:
Shriver teaches A computer implemented method for generating a new deck format design, the method including: (e.g., editing and saving a deck format design to create a new deck format design col. 2 line 13; In operation, the slide presentation application can provide the ability to create or edit a slide and can play the slide.)
accessing source design data defining a document format source design, wherein the source design data includes an ordered sequence of source design elements and each source design element defines one or more source design content segments; (e.g., accessing word documents, spreadsheets or pdf documents col. 3 line 55; With respect to an automated process for the integration of user content, the slide creation application retrieves a source document comprising content and associated data, which are stored in a first application format. The source document can be identified for the slide creation application in a number of ways, such as by the slide creation application identifying whether the user has a document currently open in another application. The source document can, for example, be a PDF document or other type of source document such as a Word document, web page, image file, or JPG document. The source document is stored in a file format that is different from the file format used by the slide creation application.)
processing the source design data to generate source design analysis data, wherein the source design analysis data includes a complete set of source objects and wherein each source object in the complete of source objects corresponds to a source design content segment; (e.g., processing the data from a source document col. 3 line 55; With respect to an automated process for the integration of user content, the slide creation application retrieves a source document comprising content and associated data, which are stored in a first application format. col. 4; line 30; In particular, the slide creation application processes the associated data in the source document to locate one or more user annotations in the source document and user-selected document content.)
processing the source design analysis data to identify a first set of source objects that correspond to a first candidate page, wherein the first set of source objects includes a plurality of source objects from the complete set of source objects; (e.g., processing the data from a source documents col. 3 line 55; With respect to an automated process for the integration of user content, the slide creation application retrieves a source document comprising content and associated data, which are stored in a first application format. Col. 4 line 55; The source document includes “content,” which refers to one or more images (including graphics) or text that is stored in the source document for the purpose of being viewed (understood) by users. Col. 4 line 55; This generally refers to a process for converting user annotations in the first format (e.g., PDF) to an intermediate state such as one or more annotation sets or to a destination state such as one or more slide elements (e.g., PowerPoint). col. 4 line 66; In some embodiments, there is also intelligence as part of the conversion process that evaluates information in user annotations and knows that different information is to communicate different slide-related characteristics. The process involves customized conversations that depend on information in user annotations.)
analysing a first template design to determine if the first template design matches the source design, wherein the first template design is a deck format design that includes a first template page, and wherein analysing the first template design is based on the source design analysis data and first template design analysis data, the first template design analysis data defining a first set of destination objects, each destination object in the first set of destination objects corresponding to an element of the first template page; (e.g., selecting a deck format design template as the best fit for the source document col. 4 line 26; the slide creation application may require the user to select a slide template such as the default slide template that is used in the process. Col. 5 line 21; Other conversions, such as customized conversions, can involve identifying a code in the user annotations that informs the conversion process that the related text or image is a certain type of field in a slide. Col. 5; line 21 Direct conversion refers to converting a graphical representation or item in a first application to the same graphical representation or item in a second application (e.g., a box drawn as an annotation in a PDF document is converted to be a box drawn in a PowerPoint document). The slide creation application converts, by applying the conversion process, one or user annotations from a first document application format into one or more corresponding annotation sets. The conversion process or some other process within the application can further convert one or more annotation sets to one or more corresponding slide elements in the second application format. Col. 6 line 21; The graphics process comprises procedures that detect spatial conflicts using the user-selected slide template, the one or more slide elements, a page size, and the user-selected document content.
determining that the first template design matches the source design; (e.g., matching the best fit template to the source design col. 6 line 50; The graphics process determines the initial spatial size of slide elements and their position in a slide based on the slide template.) col. 7 line 25;thereby generates a resultant slide containing the slide elements and user-selected document content, including the slide elements or user content in the second state, in accordance with the slide template. col. 8 line 15;The graphics engine performs these processes to generate a resultant slide that applies the arrangement specified in the user-selected template. Col. 8 line 25; It is important to highlight that preferred embodiments of the invention involve implementing optimal or best fit arrangements with respect to the interrelationship of slide elements and other slide properties, as opposed to simply specifying the maximum size for slide elements. It also involves the incorporation of source content (having varying shapes and sizes) into one or more slide elements and the relational impact of the incorporation to other slide elements or slide properties (specified in a template).)
generating a first new deck descriptor, the first new deck descriptor being in respect of the first template design and including first content map data, the first content map data mapping a first source object from the set of source objects to a first destination object from the first set of destination objects; (e.g., generating a resultant slide from the source content col. 8 line 29; It also involves the incorporation of source content (having varying shapes and sizes) into one or more slide elements and the relational impact of the incorporation to other slide elements or slide properties (specified in a template). As part of this, the embodiments will also evaluate the size, shape, and/or orientation of excerpts and compare it with the information for the size, shape, and/or orientation of one or more proposed slide elements in a template and in response, select a best fit for inserting the excerpt(s) in to which one(s) of the proposed slide elements. Best fit can involve identifying a matching orientation, size, shape, or a combination thereof and can also involve evaluating multiple excerpts for insertion into a slide.)
and generating the new deck format design based on the source design and the first new deck descriptor. (e.g., editing resultant slide and slide elements (i.e., new deck descriptor) based on source document col. 8 line 15; The graphics engine performs these processes to generate a resultant slide that applies the arrangement specified in the user-selected template. The slide creation application or some other application can provide the user with the opportunity to view the resultant slide in an art board and to edit the resultant slide. The graphics engine can be applied to the resultant slide so as to generate a revised slide containing one or more size, position, or format modifications to the slide elements or user content.)
Claim 2 depends on claim 1:
Shriver teaches wherein determining that the first template design matches the source design includes determining that the first template page matches the first candidate page. (e.g., matching the best fit template to the source design col. 6 line 50; The graphics process determines the initial spatial size of slide elements and their position in a slide based on the slide template.) col. 7 line 25;thereby generates a resultant slide containing the slide elements and user-selected document content, including the slide elements or user content in the second state, in accordance with the slide template. col. 8 line 15;The graphics engine performs these processes to generate a resultant slide that applies the arrangement specified in the user-selected template. Col. 8 line 25; It is important to highlight that preferred embodiments of the invention involve implementing optimal or best fit arrangements with respect to the interrelationship of slide elements and other slide properties, as opposed to simply specifying the maximum size for slide elements. It also involves the incorporation of source content (having varying shapes and sizes) into one or more slide elements and the relational impact of the incorporation to other slide elements or slide properties (specified in a template).)
Claim 3 depends on claim 1:
Shriver teaches wherein: the first template design includes a second template page; the method further includes processing the source design analysis data to identify a second set of source objects that correspond to a second candidate page, wherein the second set of source objects includes a plurality of source objects from the complete set of source objects; and determining that the first template design matches the source design includes determining that the first template page matches the first candidate page and determining that the second template page matches the second candidate page. (e.g., matching the best fit template to the source design col. 6 line 50; The graphics process determines the initial spatial size of slide elements and their position in a slide based on the slide template.) col. 7 line 25;thereby generates a resultant slide containing the slide elements and user-selected document content, including the slide elements or user content in the second state, in accordance with the slide template. col. 8 line 15;The graphics engine performs these processes to generate a resultant slide that applies the arrangement specified in the user-selected template. Col. 8 line 25; It is important to highlight that preferred embodiments of the invention involve implementing optimal or best fit arrangements with respect to the interrelationship of slide elements and other slide properties, as opposed to simply specifying the maximum size for slide elements. It also involves the incorporation of source content (having varying shapes and sizes) into one or more slide elements and the relational impact of the incorporation to other slide elements or slide properties (specified in a template).)
Claim 10 depends on claim 1:
Shriver teaches wherein processing the source design to generate the source design analysis data includes generating a first source object corresponding to first source content of the first candidate page, and wherein the first source object is associated with a first set of source object attributes that include: a source identifier attribute that identifies the first source content; a type attribute that identifies a content type of the first source content; and a reading order attribute that identifies a position of the first source content in a reading order of the first candidate page. (e.g., source design analysis data including attribute such as annotation type, size, dimension, orientation, or location on a page col. 5 line 5; For example, a user annotation may be a graphical box added over a portion of an image of interest and the conversion process will convert that information to be an annotation set, which comprises annotation information (e.g., in text format) that describes the user annotation and includes an image (e.g., an image or a link to an image). The annotation information in the annotation set can include different characteristics related to the user annotation such as annotation type, size, dimension, orientation, or location on a page.)
Claim 11 depends on claim 10:
Shriver teaches wherein the first set of source object attributes further includes one or more of: a transfer content attribute that indicates whether the first source content is to be transferred to the new deck format design or not; a text hierarchy level attribute that indicates a text hierarchy level of the first content if the first content is text type content; a characters attribute that is based on a number of characters of the first content if the first content is text type content; and a lines attribute that is based on a vertical distance that the first content occupies if the first content is text type content. (e.g., source design analysis data including attribute such as annotation type , size, dimension, orientation, or location on a page (i.e., attributes that indicate content to be transferred or not) col. 5 line 5; For example, a user annotation may be a graphical box added over a portion of an image of interest and the conversion process will convert that information to be an annotation set, which comprises annotation information (e.g., in text format) that describes the user annotation and includes an image (e.g., an image or a link to an image). The annotation information in the annotation set can include different characteristics related to the user annotation such as annotation type, size, dimension, orientation, or location on a page.)
Claim 12 depends on claim 1:
Shriver teaches further including generating a first rewrite of the first candidate page, and wherein determining that the first template design matches the source design includes determining that the first template page matches the first rewrite of the first candidate page. (e.g., after editing (i.e., rewrite) source, matching the best fit template to the source design col. 6 line 50; The graphics process determines the initial spatial size of slide elements and their position in a slide based on the slide template.) col. 7 line 25;thereby generates a resultant slide containing the slide elements and user-selected document content, including the slide elements or user content in the second state, in accordance with the slide template. col. 8 line 15;The graphics engine performs these processes to generate a resultant slide that applies the arrangement specified in the user-selected template. Col. 8 line 25; It is important to highlight that preferred embodiments of the invention involve implementing optimal or best fit arrangements with respect to the interrelationship of slide elements and other slide properties, as opposed to simply specifying the maximum size for slide elements. It also involves the incorporation of source content (having varying shapes and sizes) into one or more slide elements and the relational impact of the incorporation to other slide elements or slide properties (specified in a template).)
Claim 13 depends on claim 12:
Shriver teaches wherein generating the first rewrite of the first source page includes combining the source content defined by two or more of the source objects together. (e.g., after editing components (i.e., rewrite objects) of source, matching the best fit template to the source design col. 6 line 50; The graphics process determines the initial spatial size of slide elements and their position in a slide based on the slide template.) col. 7 line 25;thereby generates a resultant slide containing the slide elements and user-selected document content, including the slide elements or user content in the second state, in accordance with the slide template. col. 8 line 15;The graphics engine performs these processes to generate a resultant slide that applies the arrangement specified in the user-selected template. Col. 8 line 25; It is important to highlight that preferred embodiments of the invention involve implementing optimal or best fit arrangements with respect to the interrelationship of slide elements and other slide properties, as opposed to simply specifying the maximum size for slide elements. It also involves the incorporation of source content (having varying shapes and sizes) into one or more slide elements and the relational impact of the incorporation to other slide elements or slide properties (specified in a template).)
Claim 14 depends on claim 1:
Shriver teaches wherein the first set of source objects does not include all source objects from the complete set of source objects. (e.g., after editing components (i.e., deleting objects to not include all source objects) of source or customizing the conversion process (i.e., selective object, matching the best fit template to the source design col. 5 line 28; As mentioned above, it should be understood that the slide creation application or a related module is configured to contain intelligence for understanding a direct conversion or a customized conversion. Direct conversion refers to converting a graphical representation or item in a first application to the same graphical representation or item in a second application (e.g., a box drawn as an annotation in a PDF document is converted to be a box drawn in a PowerPoint document). (27) The slide creation application converts, by applying the conversion process, one or user annotations from a first document application format into one or more corresponding annotation sets. The conversion process or some other process within the application can further convert one or more annotation sets to one or more corresponding slide elements in the second application format. As mentioned above, there can be a two-step process that involves first converting a user annotation into an annotation set and next, converting the annotation set to one or more corresponding slide elements in accordance with a second document application format.)
Independent Claim 15:
Claim 15 is substantially encompassed in claim 1, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 1 to reject claim 15.
Claim 16 depends on claim 15:
Claim 16 is substantially encompassed in claim 2, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 2 to reject claim 16.
Claim 17 depends on claim 15:
Claim 17 is substantially encompassed in claim 3, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 3 to reject claim 17.
Independent Claim 20:
Claim 20 is substantially encompassed in claim 1, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 1 to reject claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shriver as cited above, in view of Eshghi et al. U.S. Published Application No. 20220108065 A1.
Claim 6 depends on claim 2:
Shriver fails to expressly teach wherein: the method further includes generating a first page vector, the first page vector corresponding to the first candidate page and including a plurality of page vector values that provide a second measure of the type and amount of source content defined by the first set of source objects; and determining that the first template page matches the first candidate page is based on a comparison of the first page vector and a second page vector, the second page vector corresponding to the first template page.
However, Eshghi teaches wherein: the method further includes generating a first page vector, the first page vector corresponding to the first candidate page and including a plurality of page vector values that provide a second measure of the type and amount of source content defined by the first set of source objects; and determining that the first template page matches the first candidate page is based on a comparison of the first page vector and a second page vector, the second page vector corresponding to the first template page. (e.g., generating feature vectors to compare attributes of documents and to match with templates par. 9; Certain embodiments are directed to technological solutions for analyzing the features of incoming content objects to match to machine-learned features that define a document template. Par. 27; A document template is designated for each unique document cluster that comprises a large number (e.g., as determined by a pre-defined threshold) of content objects. As such, each content object of the corpus of content objects can be matched to a designated document template that had been identified and designated based on structural attributes. Par. 62; The features extracted from the subject content objects are processed to generate a set of respective feature vectors (step 406). The features vectors encode the aforementioned text-based representations of the features into high dimensional vectors that can be used for classifying text, determining semantic similarity, and/or performing other natural language processing tasks.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the determining step for matching a template as the best fit for the source document as taught by Shriver to be based on vectors representing features of objects and their structural characteristics of a document as taught by Eshghi with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide the benefit of improving the determination of a best fit relevant document template. (see Eshghi; paras. 6 and 7).
Claim 19 depends on claim 18:
Claim 19 is substantially encompassed in claim 6, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 6 to reject claim 19.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 7-9, 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HENRY ORR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172