DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in France on 2/21/2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the foreign application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/16/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Chen (US 2014/0049240).
With respect to claim 1, Chen discloses a multi-phase electrical circuit (Fig. 1 10) configured to generate an output current or an output voltage (Fig. 1 Vout) for powering a target load (Fig. 1 17), said multi-phase electrical circuit comprising: a power cell (Fig. 1 12,13,20-22) comprising: an input node (Fig. 1 12) for supplying an input voltage (Fig. 1 Vin); an electrical ground (Fig. 1 ground symbol); an output node (Fig. 1 14) for supplying said output voltage (Fig. 1 Vout); N power supply branches (Fig. 1 to N), which converge towards the output node, with N being a natural number greater than 1, each power supply branch (Fig. 1 branch to 22,27) comprising: a central node (Fig. 1 22,27) separated from the input node by at least one first switch (Fig. 1 20) and from the electrical ground by at least one second switch (Fig. 1 21); a control circuit (Fig. 2 70) comprising: a voltage regulation circuit (Fig. 2 72,138 to 143) configured to generate an alternating binary regulation signal (Fig. 2 C1 to CN) based on the combination of the output voltage (Fig. 2 FB is voltage divided Vout) with an alternating noise voltage (Fig. 2 voltage R1 to RN), with said noise voltage being generated by the voltage regulation circuit based on: the electrical potential of the central node of a selected power supply branch (Fig. 2 S1 to Sn); or based on (Fig. 2 106) the input voltage (Fig. 2 Vin); a distribution circuit (Fig. 2 98-101) configured to generate, for each power supply branch, at least one dedicated activation signal (Fig. 2 P1-PN ) based on (Fig. 2 98 to 101) the regulation signal, with the plurality of activation signals being phase-shifted (paragraph 33, “select one channel of the plurality of channels” ) relative to each other according to a phase shift that varies over time (paragraph 33, “select that corresponding channel having the lowest value of output current”).
With respect to claim 2, Chen discloses the multi-phase electrical circuit according to claim 1, wherein the voltage regulation circuit comprises a comparator (Fig. 2 81) for comparing an intermediate signal (Fig. 2 CES) with a predetermined reference voltage (Fig. 2 REF), with said intermediate signal having a DC component corresponding (Fig. 2 difference of FB from voltage 73 is DC) to the output voltage and an AC component corresponding (Fig. 2 R1 to RN are triangular AC) to the noise voltage.
With respect to claim 10, Chen discloses the multi-phase electrical circuit according to claim 1, wherein each power supply branch (PH.sub.1, PH.sub.N) comprises an associated elementary inductor (Fig. 1 23,29) mounted between the central node (Fig. 1 22,27) and the output node (Fig. 1 14), with each power supply branch being configured to generate an elementary current (Fig.1 24,28) through the associated elementary inductor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 2014/0049240) in view of Coleman (US 2016/0211750).
With respect to claim 9, Chen discloses the multi-phase electrical circuit according to claim 1 as set forth above, and Chen further discloses implementing a first (Fig. 1 37) and second (Fig. 1 38) supplementary activation signal and remains silent as to implementing a dead time circuit. The implementation of dead time was well known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Coleman discloses a multi-phase electric circuit (Fig. 3 300) wherein the control circuit further comprises a dead time circuit (Fig. 6 650) inserted between the distribution circuit and the power cell and configured to generate, for each power supply branch, a first (Fig. 6 Qsers[1..n]) and a second (Fig. 6 Qsh[1..n]) supplementary activation signal, with each transition edge of the second activation signal being temporally shifted relative to the first activation signal (paragraph 45 “Timing generation block 650 provides appropriate offsets in the timing of each phase, and may also impose dead time and non-overlap requirements on the series and shunt controls of each phase, as are known in the art.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement wherein the control circuit further comprises a dead time circuit inserted between the distribution circuit and the power cell and configured to generate, for each power supply branch, a first and a second supplementary activation signal, with each transition edge of the second activation signal being temporally shifted relative to the first activation signal, in order to prevent shoot through current in the power cell, as was well known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 3, the prior art does not disclose or suggest, in combination with the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, primarily, wherein the voltage regulation circuit comprises a divider bridge comprising a pair of resistors separated by a third switch and configured to generate a fraction of the input voltage when the third switch is on, with the third switch being controlled by the regulation signal.
With respect to claim 4, the prior art does not disclose or suggest, in combination with the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, primarily, wherein the voltage regulation circuit comprises N diodes, such that each diode has an anode connected to the central node of a power supply branch associated with said diode and such that the cathodes of the diodes are connected to a common node separated from the electrical ground by a fourth switch controlled by the regulation signal.
With respect to claim 5, the prior art does not disclose or suggest, in combination with the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, primarily, wherein the distribution circuit comprises a chain of N D-type flip-flops all synchronized according to the regulation signal and mounted such that: the output of a flip-flop of rank I=1 to N−1 is connected to the input of the next flip-flop of rank I+1.
With respect to claim 8, the prior art does not disclose or suggest, in combination with the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, primarily, wherein the control circuit further comprises a protection circuit inserted between the voltage regulation circuit and the distribution circuit and configured to limit, to a predetermined threshold, the duration for setting the regulation signal to a high or low state.
The aforementioned limitations in combination with all remaining limitations of the respective claims are believed to render the aforementioned indicated claim and any dependent claims thereof patentable over the art of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lipscei (US 2007/0253230) discloses a multi-phase power converter.
/HARRY R BEHM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838