DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20030201137 A1 to Crapo et al.
Regarding claim 1, Crapo et al. discloses a motor comprising:
a stator (Fig. 2: 114) disposed about a rotational axis (center of 118), the stator defining a plurality of radially inwardly extending teeth (126) about which conductors are wound in a distributed winding layout to define multiple motor phases [0030], each tooth of the plurality of teeth defining a shoe (148) at a radially inner end of the tooth and spaced from a circumferentially adjacent shoe of a circumferentially adjacent tooth by a stator shoe gap (170);
a rotor (116) disposed within the stator and configured for rotation relative to the stator about the rotational axis (center of 118), the rotor including a shaft (118); and; a plurality of magnet tiles (140) supported on the shaft;
wherein each magnet tile of the plurality of magnet tiles is spaced from a circumferentially adjacent magnet tile by a magnet tile gap (Fig. 3: 152), the magnet tile gap tapering moving from a radially outer end of the magnet tile gap to a radially inner end of the magnet tile gap (gap narrows towards center) and a width of the magnet tile gap at the radially outer end of the magnet tile gap less than or equal to a width of the stator shoe gap (Figs. 2-3: magnet gap 152 and stator gap 170).
Regarding claim 3, Crapo et al. discloses the stator is not skewed (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 4, Crapo et al. discloses the rotor is not skewed (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 5, Crapo et al. discloses each magnet tile of the plurality of tiles is magnetized in a direction parallel to a thickness of the magnet title [0045].
Regarding claim 6, Crapo et al. discloses each magnet tile of the plurality of magnet tiles has radially outer surface that is curved (Fig. 4: 144).
Regarding claim 8, Crapo et al. discloses each magnet tile of the plurality of magnet tiles has a maximum thickness at a circumferential center of the magnet and a minimum thickness at each circumferential end of the magnet tile (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 9, Crapo et al. discloses each magnet tile of the plurality of magnet tiles produces a magnetization vector having a length that varies from a maximum length at a circumferential center of the magnet tile to a minimum length at each circumferential end of the magnet tile (shape in Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20030201137 A1 to Crapo et al. in view of WO 2016174450 A1 to Head et al.
Regarding claim 2, Crapo et al. discloses a motor as described above.
However, it fails to disclose an active length of the motor along the rotational axis is at least four times as large as a diameter of the motor.
Head et al. teaches an active length of the motor along the rotational axis is at least four times as large as a diameter of the motor (Fig. 14).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of the dimensions as disclosed by Head et al. to the motor disclosed by Crapo et al.
One would have been motivated to do so for use in wells.
Claims 7, 10, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20030201137 A1 to Crapo et al. in view of US 5886440 A to Hasebe et al.
Regarding claim 7, Crapo et al. discloses a motor as described above.
However, it fails to disclose each magnet tile of the plurality of magnet tiles tapers from a radially outer surface of the magnet tile to a radially inner surface of the magnet tile.
Hasebe et al. teaches each magnet tile of the plurality of magnet tiles tapers from a radially outer surface of the magnet tile to a radially inner surface of the magnet tile (Fig. 17: 151).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of the dimensions as disclosed by Hasebe et al. to the magnets disclosed by Crapo et al.
One would have been motivated to do so to produce desired torque ripples.
Regarding claims 10 and 12-13, Crapo et al. and Hasebe et al. discloses a motor as described above including the shape of the magnet tiles.
However, it fails to disclose the limitations from claims 10 and 12-13.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a ratio of a pole arc angle for each magnet tile of the plurality of magnet tiles to a pole pitch angle between circumferentially adjacent magnet tiles of the plurality of magnet tiles be between 0.8 and 0.9; to have each magnet tile of the plurality of magnet tiles be configured in accordance with the formula Wm = Dm x sin (τa/2) in which Wm is a maximum width of the magnet tile, Dm is a diameter of the magnet tile and τa is a pole arc angle of the magnet tile; and to have each magnet tile of the plurality of magnet tiles be configured in accordance with the formula tme = [tan ((180̊/P) + (180̊/P) - (τa/2)] * (ts/2) - (ts/2) where tme is a thickness of the magnet tile at a circumferential end of the magnet tile, P is the number of magnet tiles, τa is a pole arc angle of the magnet tile and ts is thickness of the shaft, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
One would have been motivated to do so to optimize magnetization and torque ripples.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20030201137 A1 to Crapo et al. in view of US 20220069681 A1 to Van Steenburg et al.
Regarding claim 11, Crapo et al. discloses a motor as described above.
However, it fails to disclose rotation of the rotor generates a back electromotive force constant (Ke) waveform that is sinusoidal in shape.
Van Steenburg et al. teaches rotation of the rotor generates a back electromotive force constant (Ke) waveform that is sinusoidal in shape [0072].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of the sinusoidal shape as disclosed by Van Steenburg et al. to the motor disclosed by Crapo et al.
One would have been motivated to do so to produce desired motor speed.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20030201137 A1 to Crapo et al. in view of US 20150333584 A1 to McMullen.
Regarding claim 14, Crapo et al. discloses a motor as described above.
However, it fails to disclose the stator defines exactly twelve radially inwardly extending teeth, the distributed winding layout defines exactly three motor phases and exactly four magnet tiles are supported on the rotor.
McMullen teaches the stator defines exactly twelve radially inwardly extending teeth, the distributed winding layout defines exactly three motor phases and exactly four magnet tiles are supported on the rotor (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of the motor dimensions as disclosed by McMullen to the motor disclosed by Crapo et al.
One would have been motivated to do so to produce desired motor speed.
Conclusion
/VIET P NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834