Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 2/17/2025 is/are being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1, 10 and 16 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “a finished outer surface” which should be changed to – a finished outer surface of said front cap – for clarification.
Claim 10 recites “an outer surface” which should be changed to – an outer surface of said front cap – for clarification.
Claim 16 recites “an outer surface” which should be changed to – an outer surface of said front cap – for clarification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-21, and 23 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-8, 9, 12, 13 15-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,227,122. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the instant application is a broader recitation of the patent.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
A comparison of the claims is provided below:
Instant Application
US Patent
12,227,122
Comparison
1. An illuminated front cap for use with a recreational vehicle, said recreational vehicle having a roof and sidewalls joined to said front cap to form an enclosed living space, said front cap comprising: a finished outer surface, a portion of said front cap is an accent lighting region,
said finished outer surface extending through said accent lighting region;
said accent lighting region having an adhesive landing surface being recessed with respect to said finished outer surface surrounding said accent lighting region,
said adhesive landing surface surrounding a valley, said valley is recessed with respect to said adhesive landing surface; a translucent diffuser affixed to said adhesive landing surface, said translucent diffuser having a perimeter profile edge being complementary to said adhesive landing surface; said valley and said translucent diffuser forming an enclosed cavity; and a luminaire affixed within said enclosed cavity.
1. A towable recreational vehicle in combination with an illuminated front cap, said recreational vehicle having a roof and sidewalls joined to said front cap to form an enclosed living space, said front cap comprising:
a continuous finished outer surface overlaying and adhered to a structural layer, said finished outer surface extending to edges of said front cap, a portion of said front cap is an accent lighting region, said finished outer surface and said structural layer extending uninterrupted through said accent lighting region;
said accent lighting region defined by an outside perimeter surface surrounding and extending to an adhesive landing surface through an offsetting wall, said adhesive landing surface is recessed with respect to said outside perimeter surface, said adhesive landing surface surrounding and extending to a lighting landing surface, said lighting landing surface is located in a valley and recessed with respect to said adhesive landing surface;
a translucent diffuser affixed to said adhesive landing surface, said translucent diffuser having an outer surface and an inner surface to define a thickness, said translucent diffuser having a perimeter profile edge extending between said inner and outer surfaces, said perimeter profile edge is complementary to said offsetting wall;
said valley, said lighting landing surface, and said translucent diffuser forming an enclosed cavity; and
a luminaire affixed within said enclosed cavity.
Claim 1 of the instant application is a broader recitation of claim 1 of the ‘122 patent.
2. The illuminated front cap of claim 1, further comprising a continuous ring of adhesive material secured between said adhesive landing surface and said translucent diffuser.
2. The combination of claim 1, further comprising a continuous ring of adhesive material secured between said adhesive landing surface and said translucent diffuser.
Claim 2 of the instant application is similar to claim 2 of the patent.
3. The illuminated front cap of claim 2, wherein said translucent diffuser and said ring of adhesive material having a combined thickness equal to or less than a distance between said adhesive landing surface and said finished outer surface surrounding said accent lighting region.
3. The combination of claim 2, wherein said translucent diffuser and said ring of adhesive material having a combined thickness equal to or less than a distance between said adhesive landing surface and said outside perimeter surface.
Claim 3 of the instant application is similar to claim 3 of the patent.
4. The illuminated front cap of claim 1, wherein said translucent diffuser is recessed with respect to said finished outer surface surrounding said accent lighting region.
4. The combination of claim 1, wherein said translucent diffuser is recessed with respect to said outside perimeter surface.
Claim 4 of the instant application is similar to claim 4 of the patent.
5. The illuminated front cap of claim 1, wherein said valley is formed from a first angled wall, an oppositely located second angled wall, and a lighting landing surface, said first angled wall and said second angled wall extending from said adhesive landing surface to said lighting landing surface, said luminaire is affixed to said lighting landing surface.
5. The combination of claim 1, wherein said valley is formed from a first angled wall and an oppositely located second angled wall.
6. The combination of claim 1, wherein said luminaire is affixed to said lighting landing surface.
Claim 5 of the instant application is similar to claim 1 and 5-6 of the patent.
6. The illuminated front cap of claim 1, further comprising a wiring aperture in said enclosed cavity, said wiring aperture extending through said front cap.
7. The combination of claim 1, further comprising a wiring aperture in said enclosed cavity, said wiring aperture extending through said finished outer surface and said structural layer.
Claim 6 of the instant application is similar to claim 7 of the patent.
7. The illuminated front cap of claim 1, further comprising an aperture extending through said translucent diffuser and aligned with a second aperture in said accent lighting region , a marker light affixed in said aperture.
8. The combination of claim 1, further comprising an aperture extending through said diffuser and aligned with a second aperture in said structural layer, a marker light affixed therethrough.
Claim 7 of the instant application is similar to claim 8 of the patent.
8. The illuminated front cap of claim 1, wherein an outer surface of said translucent diffuser is spaced from said adhesive landing surface by a distance less than said adhesive landing surface is spaced from said finished outer surface surrounding said accent lighting region.
Claim 8 of the instant application is not covered by the patent
9. The illuminated front cap of claim 1, wherein said valley is formed from a first angled wall and an oppositely located second angled wall extending from said adhesive landing surface.
Claim 9 of the instant application is not covered by the patent
10. A front cap for a towable recreational vehicle having integrated accent illumination, said front cap comprising:
an outer surface overlaying and adhered to a structural layer,
a portion of said front cap is an accent lighting region, said outer surface extending through said accent lighting region;
said accent lighting region defined by an outside perimeter surface surrounding and extending to an adhesive landing surface,
said adhesive landing surface is recessed with respect to said outside perimeter surface,
said adhesive landing surface surrounding and extending to a lighting landing surface,
said lighting landing surface is located in a valley and is recessed with respect to said adhesive landing surface and said outside perimeter surface;
a translucent diffuser fixed with respect to said adhesive landing surface, said translucent diffuser having an outer surface and an inner surface to define a thickness,
said translucent diffuser having a perimeter profile edge extending between said inner and outer surfaces,
said perimeter profile edge is complementary to said adhesive landing surface;
said valley, said lighting landing surface, and said translucent diffuser forming an enclosed cavity;
a wiring aperture in said enclosed cavity, said wiring aperture extending through said outer surface and said structural layer; and
a luminaire affixed within said enclosed cavity.
15. A front cap for a towable recreational vehicle having integrated accent illumination, said front cap comprising:
a continuous finished outer surface overlaying and adhered to a structural layer, said finished outer surface extending to edges of said front cap, a portion of said front cap is an accent lighting region, said finished outer surface and said structural layer extending uninterrupted through said accent lighting region;
said accent lighting region defined by an outside perimeter surface surrounding and extending to an adhesive landing surface through an offsetting wall, said adhesive landing surface is recessed with respect to said outside perimeter surface, said adhesive landing surface surrounding and extending to a lighting landing surface, said lighting landing surface is located in a valley and recessed with respect to said adhesive landing surface;
a translucent diffuser affixed to said adhesive landing surface, said translucent diffuser having an outer surface and an inner surface to define a thickness, said translucent diffuser having a perimeter profile edge extending between said inner and outer surfaces, said perimeter profile edge is complementary to said offsetting wall;
said valley, said lighting landing surface, and said translucent diffuser forming an enclosed cavity;
a wiring aperture in said enclosed cavity, said wiring aperture extending through said finished outer surface and said structural layer; and
a luminaire affixed within said enclosed cavity.
Claim 10 is a broader recitation of claim 15 of the patent.
11. The front cap of claim 10, further comprising a continuous belt of adhesive material secured between said adhesive landing surface and said translucent diffuser, said belt of adhesive material having a combined thickness equal to or less than a distance between said adhesive landing surface and said outside perimeter surface.
16. The illuminated front cap of claim 15, further comprising a continuous ring of adhesive material secured between said adhesive landing surface and said translucent diffuser, said ring of adhesive material having a combined thickness equal to or less than a distance between said adhesive landing surface and said outside perimeter surface.
Claim 11 of the instant application is similar to claim 16 of the patent.
12. The front cap of claim 10, wherein said translucent diffuser is recessed with respect to said outside perimeter surface.
17. The illuminated front cap of claim 15, wherein said translucent diffuser is recessed with respect to said outside perimeter surface.
Claim 12 of the instant application is similar to claim 17 of the patent.
13. The front cap of claim 10, wherein said valley is formed from a first angled wall and an oppositely located second angled wall.
18. The illuminated front cap of claim 15, wherein said valley is formed from a first angled wall and an oppositely located second angled wall.
Claim 13 of the instant application is similar to claim 18 of the patent.
14. The front cap of claim 10, wherein said luminaire is affixed to said lighting landing surface.
19. The illuminated front cap of claim 15, wherein said luminaire is affixed to said lighting landing surface.
Claim 14 of the instant application is similar to claim 19 of the patent.
15. The front cap of claim 10, further comprising an aperture extending through said translucent diffuser and aligned with a second aperture in said adhesive landing surface, a marker light affixed therethrough.
20. The illuminated front cap of claim 15, further comprising an aperture extending through said translucent diffuser and aligned with a second aperture in said adhesive landing surface, a marker light affixed therethrough.
Claim 15 of the instant application is similar to claim 20 of the patent.
16. A formed cover for a recreational vehicle, said cover comprising: an outer surface having a lighting region integrally formed therein,
said lighting region having an adhesive landing surface recessed with respect to said outer surface surrounding said lighting region,
said adhesive landing surface surrounding a valley,
said valley is recessed with respect to said adhesive landing surface;
a translucent diffuser sealed to said lighting region to form an enclosed cavity; and
a luminaire affixed within said enclosed cavity.
9. A front cap for a towable recreational vehicle having integrated accent illumination, said front cap comprising:
a continuous finished outer surface overlaying and adhered to a structural layer, a portion of said front cap is an accent lighting region, said finished outer surface and said structural layer extending uninterrupted through said accent lighting region;
said accent lighting region defined by an outside perimeter surface surrounding and extending to an adhesive landing surface through an offsetting wall, said adhesive landing surface is recessed with respect to said outside perimeter surface by a first distance, said adhesive landing surface surrounding and extending to a lighting landing surface, said lighting landing surface is located in a valley and recessed with respect to said adhesive landing surface;
a translucent diffuser having a perimeter profile edge complementary to said offsetting wall, said translucent diffuser is affixed to said adhesive landing surface adjacent said perimeter profile edge;
said valley, said lighting landing surface, and said translucent diffuser forming an enclosed cavity; and
a luminaire affixed to said lighting landing surface.
Claim 16 is a broader recitation of claim 9 of the patent.
17. The formed cover of claim 16, wherein said translucent diffuser is recessed with respect to said outer surface surrounding said lighting region.
See claim 9
Claim 17 is covered by claim 9 of the patent.
18. The formed cover of claim 16, wherein said valley includes a lighting landing surface, said luminaire affixed thereto.
See claim 9
Claim 18 is covered by claim 9 of the patent.
19. The formed cover of claim 16, wherein said translucent diffuser has a perimeter edge, said perimeter edge is complementary to said adhesive landing surface.
See claim 9
Claim 19 is covered by claim 9 of the patent.
20. The formed cover of claim 16, wherein said translucent diffuser has a perimeter edge, said lighting region having an offsetting wall extending between said outer surface surrounding said lighting region and said adhesive landing surface, said perimeter edge of said translucent diffuser complementary to said offsetting wall.
See claim 9
Claim 20 is covered by claim 9 of the patent.
21. The formed cover of claim 16, wherein said valley is formed from a first angled wall and an oppositely located second angled wall.
12. The illuminated front cap of claim 9, wherein said valley is formed from a first angled wall and an oppositely located second angled wall.
Claim 21 is covered by claim 12 of the patent.
22. The formed cover of claim 21, further comprising a lighting landing surface located between said first and second angled walls.
Claim is not covered
23. The formed cover of claim 16, further comprising a wiring aperture in said enclosed cavity, said wiring aperture extending through said outer surface.
13. The illuminated front cap of claim 9, further comprising a wiring aperture in said enclosed cavity, said wiring aperture extending through said finished outer surface and said structural layer.
Claim 21 is covered by claim 13 of the patent.
24. An illumination area in a formed cover for a recreational vehicle, said illumination area comprising: a recessed area in said formed cover surrounded by an adhesive landing surface, said recessed area having a valley recessed from said adhesive landing surface; a diffuser affixed to said adhesive landing surface to form an enclosed cavity; a light source located within said enclosed cavity; and said light source and surfaces inside said enclosed cavity cooperating to direct light from said light source towards said diffuser.
Claim is not covered since the claims of the patent do not recite “said light source and surfaces inside said enclosed cavity cooperating to direct light from said light source towards said diffuser”
25. The illumination area of claim 24, wherein said diffuser having a perimeter edge complementary to a perimeter edge of said adhesive landing surface.
Claim is not covered since claim 25 is not covered.
26. The illumination area of claim 24, wherein said light source is affixed to said valley.
Claim is not covered since claim 25 is not covered.
27. The illumination area of claim 24, wherein said valley is formed from a first angled wall and an oppositely located second angled wall, said angled walls extending to a lighting landing surface, said light source affixed thereto.
Claim is not covered since claim 25 is not covered.
28. The illumination area of claim 24, wherein said adhesive landing surface is recessed with respect to portions of said formed cover surrounding said adhesive landing surface
Claim is not covered since claim 25 is not covered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 24-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Touchman (US 1,922,787).
Claim 24: Touchman discloses illumination area in a formed cover (1, 4) for a recreational vehicle, said illumination area comprising: a recessed area (recessed area of 1 with 4, fig. 2) in said formed cover surrounded by an adhesive landing surface (flat surface where 2 and 3 rests on 1, fig. 2), said recessed area having a valley (valley of 1, fig. 2) recessed from said adhesive landing surface (see fig. 2);a diffuser (2, 3, 9, fig. 2) (see Col. 12 line 1) affixed to said adhesive landing surface to form an enclosed cavity (see fig. 2);a light source (5, 6, fig. 2) located within said enclosed cavity (see fig. 2); and said light source and surfaces inside said enclosed cavity cooperating to direct light from said light source towards said diffuser (see fig. 2).
Claim 25: Touchman discloses said diffuser having a perimeter edge (edge of 3, fig. 2) complementary to a perimeter edge of said adhesive landing surface (see fig. 2).
Claim 26: Touchman discloses said light source is affixed to said valley (see fig. 2).
Claim 27: Touchman discloses said valley is formed from a first angled wall (inner wall of 1, fig. 2) and an oppositely located second angled wall (outer wall of 1, fig. 2), said angled walls extending to a lighting landing surface (side surface of 1 attached to 5, fig. 2), said light source (5, 6) affixed thereto.
Claim 28: Touchman discloses said adhesive landing surface is recessed with respect to portions of said formed cover surrounding said adhesive landing surface (see fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 8-9, and 16-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Touchman (US 1,922,787) in view of Motomura (WO 2023/189905).
Claim 1: Touchman teaches an illuminated front cap (1, 4, fig. 2) for use with a recreational vehicle, said recreational vehicle having a roof and sidewalls joined to said front cap to form an enclosed living space, said front cap comprising: a finished outer surface (outer surface of 1, fig. 2) of said front cap, a portion of said front cap (portion of 1 covered by 3, fig. 2) is an accent lighting region (see fig. 2), said finished outer surface (outer surface of 1) extending through said accent lighting region (see fig. 2);said accent lighting region having an adhesive landing surface (flat surface where 2 and 3 rests on 1, fig. 2) being recessed with respect to said finished outer surface surrounding said accent lighting region (see fig. 2), said adhesive landing surface surrounding a valley (valley of 1 supporting 5 and 6, fig. 2), said valley is recessed with respect to said adhesive landing surface (see fig. 2);a diffuser (2, 3, 9, fig. 2) (see Col. 12 line 1) affixed to said adhesive landing surface (see fig. 2), said diffuser (2, 3, 9) having a perimeter profile edge (lower edge of 2, 3, 9 affixed to 1, fig. 2) being complementary to said adhesive landing surface (see fig. 2);said valley and said translucent diffuser forming an enclosed cavity (see fig. 2); and a luminaire (5, 6, fig. 2) affixed within said enclosed cavity (see fig. 2).
However, Touchman is silent about a translucent diffuser.
Motomura teaches a translucent diffuser (20, fig. 2) (translucent acrylic resin, see para [0036])
Therefore, in view of Motomura, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the diffuser of Touchman with the translucent diffuser of Motomura, in order to provide a diffuse light distribution preventing glare.
Claim 4: Touchman in view of Motomura teaches said translucent diffuser (20, fig. 2; Motomura) is recessed with respect to said finished outer surface (see fig. 1) surrounding said accent lighting region (see fig. 2).
Claim 5: Touchman teaches said valley is formed from a first angled wall (top wall of 1, fig. 2), an oppositely located second angled wall (bottom wall of 1, fig. 2), and a lighting landing surface (side surface of 1 where 5 is connected, fig. 2), said first angled wall and said second angled wall extending from said adhesive landing surface to said lighting landing surface (see fig. 2), said luminaire is affixed to said lighting landing surface (see fig. 2).
Claim 6: Touchman teaches a wiring aperture (aperture of 1, fig. 2) in said enclosed cavity, said wiring aperture extending through said front cap (see fig. 2).
Claim 8: Touchman in view of Motomura teaches an outer surface (outer surface of 3, fig. 2) of said translucent diffuser (20, fig. 2; Motomura) is spaced from said adhesive landing surface by a distance (see fig. 2) less than said adhesive landing surface is spaced from said finished outer surface surrounding said accent lighting region (distance of flat surface of 1 to outer left surface of 3 is less than the flat surface of 1 to the outer surface left surface of 4, fig. 2).
Claim 9: Touchman teaches said valley is formed from a first angled wall and an oppositely located second angled wall extending from said adhesive landing surface (see fig. 2).
Claim 16: Touchman teaches a formed cover for a recreational vehicle, said cover comprising: an outer surface (outer surface of 4, fig. 2) having a lighting region (region in front of 3, fig. 2) integrally formed therein, said lighting region having an adhesive landing surface (flat edge surface of 1 where 2, 3, 9 are mounted, fig. 2) recessed with respect to said outer surface (outer surface of 4) surrounding said lighting region (see fig. 2), said adhesive landing surface surrounding a valley (valley of 1, fig. 2),said valley is recessed with respect to said adhesive landing surface (see fig. 2);a diffuser (2, 3, 9, fig. 2) sealed to said lighting region to form an enclosed cavity (see fig. 2); and a luminaire (5, 6, fig. 2) affixed within said enclosed cavity.
However, Touchman is silent about a translucent diffuser.
Motomura teaches a translucent diffuser (20, fig. 2) (translucent acrylic resin, see para [0036])
Therefore, in view of Motomura, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the diffuser of Touchman with the translucent diffuser of Motomura, in order to provide a diffuse light distribution preventing glare.
Claim 17: Touchman in view of Motomura teaches said translucent diffuser (20, fig. 2; Motomura) is recessed with respect to said outer surface surrounding said lighting region (see fig. 2).
Claim 18: Touchman teaches said valley includes a lighting landing surface (side surface of 1 attached to 5, fig. 2), said luminaire (5, 6) affixed thereto.
Claim 19: Touchman in view of Motomura teaches said translucent diffuser (20, fig. 2; Motomura) has a perimeter edge (edge of 3, fig. 2), said perimeter edge is complementary to said adhesive landing surface (see fig. 2).
Claim 20: Touchman in view of Motomura teaches said translucent diffuser (20, fig. 2; Motomura) has a perimeter edge (edge of 3, fig. 2),said lighting region having an offsetting wall (wall where 1 is affixed to 4, fig. 2) extending between said outer surface surrounding said lighting region and said adhesive landing surface (see fig. 2), said perimeter edge of said translucent diffuser complementary to said offsetting wall (see fig. 2).
Claim 21: Touchman teaches said valley is formed from a first angled wall (inner wall of 1, fig. 2) and an oppositely located second angled wall (outer wall of 1, fig. 2).
Claim 22: Touchman teaches a lighting landing surface (surface of 1 attached to 5, fig. 2) located between said first and second angled walls (see fig. 2).
Claim 23: Touchman teaches a wiring aperture (aperture of 1 where 5 is fitted, fig. 2) in said enclosed cavity, said wiring aperture extending through said outer surface (see fig. 2).
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Touchman (US 1,922,787) in view of Motomura (WO 2023/189905) as applied to claim(s) 2 above, and further in view of Noda (US 2023/0349532).
Claim 2: Touchman teaches an adhesive material (strong adhesive, see Col. 1 line 54).
However, Touchman in view of Motomura fails to teach a continuous ring of adhesive material secured between said adhesive landing surface and said translucent diffuser.
Noda teaches a continuous ring of adhesive material (122, fig. 2B).
Therefore, in view of Noda, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a continuous ring of adhesive material which is secured between said adhesive landing surface and said translucent diffuser of Touchman, in order to further secure the components together.
Claim 3: Touchman teaches said translucent diffuser (2, 3, 9, fig. 2) and a adhesive material (adhesive between 2 and 9) having a combined thickness equal to or less than a distance between said adhesive landing surface and said finished outer surface surrounding said accent lighting region.
However, Touchman fails to teach said ring of adhesive material having a combined thickness equal to or less than a distance between said adhesive landing surface and said finished outer surface surrounding said accent lighting region.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to change the size of the ring of adhesive material to have a combined thickness equal to or less than a distance between said adhesive landing surface and said finished outer surface surrounding said accent lighting region to further strengthen and secure the components together, since it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Touchman (US 1,922,787) in view of Motomura (WO 2023/189905) and Noda (US 2023/03498532).
Claim 10: Touchman teaches a front cap for a towable recreational vehicle having integrated accent illumination, said front cap comprising: an outer surface (outer surface of 4, fig. 2) overlaying and fixed to a structural layer (1, fig. 2), a portion of said front cap is an accent lighting region (region in front of 3, fig. 2), said outer surface extending through said accent lighting region (see fig. 2); said accent lighting region defined by an outside perimeter surface (outside perimeter surface of 4, fig. 2) surrounding and extending to an adhesive landing surface (flat edge surface of 1 where 2, 3, 9 are mounted, fig. 2), said adhesive landing surface is recessed with respect to said outside perimeter surface (see fig. 2), said adhesive landing surface surrounding and extending to a lighting landing surface (side surface of 1 where 5 is attached, fig. 2), said lighting landing surface is located in a valley and is recessed with respect to said adhesive landing surface and said outside perimeter surface (see fig. 2);a diffuser (2, 3, 9, fig. 2) (see Col. 12 line 1) affixed to said adhesive landing surface (see fig. 2), said translucent diffuser having an outer surface (outer surface of 3, fig. 2) and an inner surface (inner surface of 3, fig. 2) to define a thickness (thickness of 3, fig. 2), said translucent diffuser having a perimeter profile edge (edge of 3, fig. 2) extending between said inner and outer surfaces (see fig. 2), said perimeter profile edge is complementary to said adhesive landing surface (see fig. 2);said valley, said lighting landing surface, and said translucent diffuser forming an enclosed cavity (cavity of 1 and 3 where 6 is enclosed, see fig. 2);a wiring aperture (aperture of 1 where 5 is fitted, fig. 2) in said enclosed cavity, said wiring aperture extending through said outer surface and said structural layer (see fig. 2); and a luminaire (5, 6, fig. 2) affixed within said enclosed cavity.
However, Touchman is silent about the outer surface of the front cap overlaying and adhered to the structural layer, and a translucent diffuser.
Noda teaches an outer surface of the front cap (12, fig. 2B) overlaying and adhered (adhered by 122, fig. 2B) to a structural layer (11a, fig. 2B).
Motomura teaches a translucent diffuser (20, fig. 2) (translucent acrylic resin, see para [0036])
Therefore, in view of Noda, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add an adhesive material where the outer surface of the front cap is overlaying and adhered to the structural layer of Touchman, in order to further secure the components together.
Therefore, in view of Motomura, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the diffuser of Touchman with the translucent diffuser of Motomura, in order to provide a diffuse light distribution preventing glare.
Claim 11: Touchman teaches an adhesive material (strong adhesive, see Col. 1 line 54).
However, Touchman fails to teach a continuous belt of adhesive material secured between said adhesive landing surface and said translucent diffuser, said belt of adhesive material having a combined thickness equal to or less than a distance between said adhesive landing surface and said outside perimeter surface.
Noda teaches a continuous belt of adhesive material (122, fig. 2B).
Therefore, in view of Noda, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a continuous ring of adhesive material which is secured between said adhesive landing surface and said translucent diffuser of Touchman, in order to further secure the components together.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to change the size of the ring of adhesive material where said belt of adhesive material having a combined thickness equal to or less than a distance between said adhesive landing surface and said outside perimeter surface to further strengthen and secure the components together, since it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 12: Touchman in view of Noda and Motomura teaches said translucent diffuser (20, fig. 2; Motomura) is recessed with respect to said outside perimeter surface (see fig. 2; Touchman).
Claim 13: Touchman teaches said valley is formed from a first angled wall (upper wall of 1, fig. 2) and an oppositely located second angled wall (bottom wall of 1, fig. 2).
Claim 14: Touchman teaches said luminaire is affixed to said lighting landing surface (see fig. 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 7 and 15 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and a terminal disclaimer is properly filed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art taken as a whole does not show nor suggest an aperture extending through said translucent diffuser and aligned with a second aperture in said adhesive landing surface, a marker light affixed therethrough. with respect to claim(s) 7 and 15, as specifically called for in the claimed combinations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Uchida et al. (US 2013/0322105), Tsuchiya (US 2017/0089537) disclose a similar front cover.
/ZHENG SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875