DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the correspondence filled on 2/17/25.
Claims 1-17 are presented for examination.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission.
Claims 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of US Pat. 12257953 B2.
Even though instant application does not claim “wherein the striking area prediction module defines the striking area geometry by: identifying a current location (t0) of a set of prediction points of the trailer along an inside edge of the trailer and store the current location (t0) of the set of prediction points in a prediction set; identifying a first predicted future position of each prediction point at a time t1 based on a set of parameters including at least a trailer angle of the vehicle, a steering angle of the vehicle and the current location (t0) of the corresponding prediction point and storing the first future prediction point (t1) in the prediction set; identifying at least one additional predicted future position of each prediction point at a time (tn) based on a second set of parameters including at least the trailer angle of the vehicle, the steering angle of the vehicle, and the location at a previous time (tn−1) of the corresponding prediction point; and converting each location in the prediction set from a three dimensional real world position to a two dimensional position within a rear view display image, generate a geometry including each two dimensional position, and causing the CMS to display the geometry over an image on the rear view display image as an overlay.”, however not claiming this does not provide instant application a patentable distinction. Because lack of limitation makes the claim broad obvious variation of US Pat. 12257953 B2.
Even though US Pat. 12257953 B2 does not claim the predicted future positions in the prediction set are aggregated and converted to the trailer striking area. However, this is well known in the art as an example given in prior art Lu (U.S. Pub. No. 20170001566 A1) teach the predicted future positions in the prediction set are aggregated and converted (Lu [0056] Trailer Hitching. Backing up a vehicle to hitch a trailer is not always intuitive process. If the position of the trailer hitching part is detected by identifying the tongue of the trailer that is to be attached to the vehicle, the processor can calculate [predicted future] a trajectory of the vehicle's hitch and guide the driver to turn the steering wheel of the vehicle and follow the trajectory to back the vehicle up to and in alignment with the trailer tongue for hitching the trailer to the vehicle. It is also envisioned that the control system may automatically turn [predicted future] the steering wheel of the vehicle to follow the calculated trajectory to position the vehicle's hitch at the trailer tongue for hitching the trailer to the vehicle. During the backing up process, a real time detection and tracking of a target at or on the trailer provides feedback and adjustment [aggregated and converted] to the turning or control of the steering wheel of the vehicle.) to the trailer striking area. (Lu Fig. 15-17 [0055] the system may control the brakes of the vehicle and/or trailer to slow or stop rearward movement of the vehicle and trailer in response to detection of an object in the rearward path of travel of the trailer and a determination that a collision [trailer striking area] may occur between the trailer and object.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine US Pat. 12257953 B2 and Lu (U.S. Pub. No. 20170001566 A1) with predictable results to accommodate the predicted future positions in the prediction set are aggregated and converted to the trailer striking area. The combined teaching will make the system efficient.
Instant Application 19/055,010
US Pat. 12257953 B2
1. A camera monitoring system (CMS) for a vehicle, comprising:
a CMS controller including a memory and a processor;
the CMS controller being connected to a plurality of cameras disposed about a vehicle and configured to receive a video feed from each of the cameras in the plurality of cameras,
the CMS controller including at least one side camera configured to define a rear side view and at least one rear camera configured to generate a rear facing view;
the memory storing a trailer end detection module configured to identify a trailer end of a trailer within at least one image generated by the plurality of cameras;
and the memory further storing a trailer striking area prediction module configured to define a striking area geometry using a set of predicted future positions of prediction points in a prediction set,
the prediction points are defined along a side of the trailer,
the predicted future positions in the prediction set are aggregated and converted to the trailer striking area.
1. A camera monitoring system (CMS) for a vehicle, comprising:
a CMS controller including a memory and a processor;
the CMS controller being connected to a plurality of cameras disposed about a vehicle and configured to receive a video feed from each of the cameras in the plurality of cameras,
the CMS controller including at least one side camera configured to define a rear side view and at least one rear camera configured to generate a rear facing view;
the memory storing a trailer end detection module configured to identify a trailer end of a trailer within at least one image generated by the plurality of cameras;
and the memory further storing a trailer striking area prediction module configured to define a striking area geometry using a set of predicted future positions of prediction points in a prediction set,
the prediction points being defined along an edge of the trailer,
wherein the striking area prediction module defines the striking area geometry by: identifying a current location (t0) of a set of prediction points of the trailer along an inside edge of the trailer and store the current location (t0) of the set of prediction points in a prediction set;
identifying a first predicted future position of each prediction point at a time t1 based on a set of parameters including at least a trailer angle of the vehicle,
a steering angle of the vehicle and the current location (t0) of the corresponding prediction point and storing the first future prediction point (t1) in the prediction set; identifying at least one additional predicted future position of each prediction point at a time (tn) based on a second set of parameters including at least the trailer angle of the vehicle, the steering angle of the vehicle, and the location at a previous time (tn−1) of the corresponding prediction point; and converting each location in the prediction set from a three dimensional real world position to a two dimensional position within a rear view display image, generate a geometry including each two dimensional position, and causing the CMS to display the geometry over an image on the rear view display image as an overlay.
9. Limitations of remaining claims of instant application are obvious over US Pat. 12257953 B2 in view of prior art discussed under Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103 of this office action. Same motivation described under Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103 of this office action is applicable for combining US Pat. 12257953 B2 and stated prior arts. Please note 35 U.S.C. 101 allows only one patent from one patent application or invention. In that aspect all dependent claims of instant application are obvious variation of independent claim 1.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: in claim 1.
Examiner is invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, for examining claim(s) 1 because these claim(s) are drawn to a functionality comprising module which use a generic placeholder, “module” coupled with functional language “module configured to identify a trailer end of a trailer” in claim 1 without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function.
However, a review of the specification paragraph [0006] shows corresponding structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-13 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu (U.S. Pub. No. 20170001566 A1), in view of Sperrle (U.S. Pub. No. 20230406410 A1).
Regarding to claim 1:
1. Lu teach a system comprising: camera monitoring system (CMS) for a vehicle, (Lu [0055] the system may control the brakes of the vehicle and/or trailer to slow or stop rearward movement of the vehicle and trailer in response to detection of an object in the rearward path of travel of the trailer and a determination that a collision may occur between the trailer and object.)
module configured to define a striking area geometry (Lu Fig. 11-13) using a set of predicted future positions of prediction points in a prediction set, (Lu [0006] The trailer angle detection system may be operable to display information for viewing by the driver to assist the driver in driving the vehicle with the trailer, and may display the predicted path that the trailer and vehicle are traveling along and/or the appropriate path to reverse the trailer to a selected location or parking area. [0054] when the trailer pulling or towing vehicle is equipped with side view cameras, the added views provided by the side cameras (typically having fields of view directed generally rearwardly and sidewardly with respect to the direction of forward travel of the equipped vehicle) can provide additional scene information of the trailer to assist the driver of the vehicle (viewing the images at a video display of the vehicle) during a reversing or backing up maneuver. The calculated graphical trailer path can be overlaid to the side camera image to further assist the driver of the vehicle during a reversing or backing up maneuver. [0055] Optionally, the system may provide an alert (such as an audible alert or visual alert or haptic alert or the like) to alert the driver of a potentially hazardous situation during the reversing maneuver, such as responsive to detection of an object rearward of the trailer and in the path of the trailer (such as via processing of images captured by sideview cameras of the towing vehicle and/or processing of images captured by a rearward viewing camera at the rear of the trailer or the like). The alert may comprise any suitable alert, such as an alarm or tone or audible alert or a visual alert such as a highlighting of the displayed video images or the like in response to a detection of an object rearward of or at or near the rearward path of the trailer. Optionally, the system may control the brakes [striking area geometry] of the vehicle and/or trailer to slow or stop [predicted future] rearward movement of the vehicle and trailer in response to detection of an object in the rearward path of travel of the trailer and a determination that a collision may occur between the trailer and object)
the prediction points are defined along a side of the trailer, (Lu Fig. 11 [0021] FIG. 11 is a side view at the side of a vehicle with a trailer, showing graphic overlays. [0035] The detection of the trailer angle relative to the vehicle is accomplished by detecting a portion of the trailer and determining the location of the detected portion relative to the towing vehicle, whereby the angle can be determined or calculated based on known geometries of the trailer and vehicle and the location of the camera on the vehicle. For example, the system may operate to track and determine a sideward movement of a trailer portion or target and, utilizing the known geometries, such as the distance of the trailer portion or target from the camera and/or the distance of the trailer portion or target from the pivot point or joint at which the trailer tongue attached to the trailer hitch of the vehicle, determine the angular movement of the trailer about the trailer hitch and relative to the vehicle, such as to determine a sway or swing of the trailer relative to the towing vehicle or to determine a rearward trajectory or path of travel of the trailer during a reversing maneuver of the vehicle and trailer, or the like)
the predicted future positions in the prediction set are aggregated and converted (Lu [0056] Trailer Hitching. Backing up a vehicle to hitch a trailer is not always intuitive process. If the position of the trailer hitching part is detected by identifying the tongue of the trailer that is to be attached to the vehicle, the processor can calculate [predicted future] a trajectory of the vehicle's hitch and guide the driver to turn the steering wheel of the vehicle and follow the trajectory to back the vehicle up to and in alignment with the trailer tongue for hitching the trailer to the vehicle. It is also envisioned that the control system may automatically turn [predicted future] the steering wheel of the vehicle to follow the calculated trajectory to position the vehicle's hitch at the trailer tongue for hitching the trailer to the vehicle. During the backing up process, a real time detection and tracking of a target at or on the trailer provides feedback and adjustment [aggregated and converted] to the turning or control of the steering wheel of the vehicle.) to the trailer striking area. (Lu Fig. 15-17 [0055] the system may control the brakes of the vehicle and/or trailer to slow or stop rearward movement of the vehicle and trailer in response to detection of an object in the rearward path of travel of the trailer and a determination that a collision [trailer striking area] may occur between the trailer and object.)
configured to receive a video feed from each of the cameras in the plurality of cameras, (Lu [0072] Referring now to FIG. 10, a vehicle 110 includes an imaging system or vision system or trailer angle viewing and/or detection system 112 that includes one or more imaging sensors or cameras (such as a rearward facing imaging sensor or camera 114a and/or a forwardly facing camera 114b at the front (or at the windshield) of the vehicle, and/or a sidewardly/rearwardly facing camera 114c, 114d at the sides of the vehicle), which capture images exterior of the vehicle, with the cameras having a lens for focusing images at or onto an imaging array or imaging plane of the camera. with the knowledge of the trailer dimensional characteristics (such as wheel position and distance from the vehicle and the like), the processor can calculate and project a trajectory or reversing path of the trailer in the form of graphic overlay on the camera display or video display (typically disposed in the vehicle, such as at or in or near an interior rearview mirror assembly of the vehicle) to indicate to the driver viewing the video display a path or trajectory of where the trailer is backing up to. In addition, when the trailer pulling or towing vehicle is equipped with side view cameras, the added views provided by the side cameras (typically having fields of view directed generally rearwardly and sidewardly with respect to the direction of forward travel of the equipped vehicle) can provide additional scene information of the trailer to assist the driver of the vehicle (viewing the images at a video display of the vehicle) during a reversing or backing up maneuver. The calculated graphical trailer path can be overlaid to the side camera image to further assist the driver of the vehicle during a reversing or backing up maneuver)
and the CMS controller including at least one side camera configured to define a rear side view. (Lu [0065] when the trailer pulling or towing vehicle is equipped with side view cameras, the added views provided by the side cameras (typically having fields of view directed generally rearwardly and sidewardly with respect to the direction of forward travel of the equipped vehicle) can provide additional scene information of the trailer to assist the driver of the vehicle (viewing the images at a video display of the vehicle) during a reversing or backing up maneuver. The calculated graphical trailer path can be overlaid to the side camera image to further assist the driver of the vehicle during a reversing or backing up maneuver.)
the CMS controller being connected to a plurality of cameras disposed about a vehicle (Lu [0072] Referring now to FIG. 10, a vehicle 110 includes an imaging system or vision system or trailer angle viewing and/or detection system 112 that includes one or more imaging sensors or cameras (such as a rearward facing imaging sensor or camera 114a and/or a forwardly facing camera 114b at the front (or at the windshield) of the vehicle, and/or a sidewardly/rearwardly facing camera 114c, 114d at the sides of the vehicle), which capture images exterior of the vehicle, with the cameras having a lens for focusing images at or onto an imaging array or imaging plane of the camera.) and at least one rear camera configured to generate a rear facing view; (Lu Fig. 15-16 [0067] When a camera is mounted at the back of a vehicle, particularly a light duty truck, at either a lower position, which would be in the mid-tailgate area or lower, or an upper or higher position, such as at the CHMSL (Center High Mounted Stop Lamp) area, it is difficult to determine through the camera what angle a trailer attached to that vehicle would be relative to the vehicle)
Lu do not explicitly teach a CMS controller including a memory and a processor; the memory storing a trailer end detection module configured to identify a trailer end of a trailer within at least one image generated by the plurality of cameras; and the memory further storing a trailer striking area prediction module.
However Sperrle teach a CMS controller (Sperrle [0009] the preprocessed current vehicle camera images and the preprocessed current trailer camera image are projected onto a projection area of the environment model and joined together. In the display, the stored items of image information regarding the areas of the environment not represented in the current vehicle camera images or the current trailer camera image are also loaded according to their position relative to the vehicle and projected onto the projection area. The loaded and projected items of image information are joined together with the other projected images, that is, with the projected vehicle camera images and the projected trailer camera image, joint lines being ascertained in particular in the process. The method results in the advantage that when the vehicle is traveling with the trailer, a large and complete overall view is created for the driver of the vehicle with images currently or just previously recorded. Artifacts in the display of the environment model are avoided. Advantageously, by way of the method, the driver of the vehicle obtains information that makes it readily possible to understand the behavior of the trailer and imminent dangers in reverse travel with the trailer or when parking the trailer since surrounding areas laterally next to the trailer and surrounding areas below the trailer can be represented completely in the displayed environment model. The lateral surrounding area may be particularly critical in reverse travel with the trailer, since it may comprise potential collision objects. The surrounding area below the trailer may be particularly critical when parking the trailer, since potholes, rocks or other obstacles in this surrounding area imperil a stable parking of the trailer, in particular if these are located in the area of the wheels of the trailer) including a memory and a processor; (Sperrle [0019] the computing device as well as the storage occupancy in an electronic memory for storing the items of image information about the close range of the vehicle. [0021] the computing device, in particular a processor of the computing device, is configured so that it performs the steps of the method according to the present invention, an output signal being produced in the process for a display device for displaying an environment model)
the memory storing (Sperrle [0019] the computing device as well as the storage occupancy in an electronic memory for storing the items of image information about the close range of the vehicle. [0021] the computing device, in particular a processor of the computing device, is configured so that it performs the steps of the method according to the present invention, an output signal being produced in the process for a display device for displaying an environment model) a trailer end detection module configured to identify a trailer end of a trailer within at least one image (Sperrle [0012] The highlighting advantageously occurs if the detected static object is located in the ascertained predicted movement trajectory of the trailer or if the detected dynamic object is moving into the ascertained predicted movement trajectory. Alternatively or additionally, it may be provided that a collision [identify a trailer end of a trailer] warning be displayed for a user of the vehicle if the detected object is located in the ascertained predicted movement trajectory of the trailer and/or if the detected dynamic object is moving into the ascertained predicted movement trajectory of the trailer. Sperrle [0021] The present invention furthermore relates to a computing device for a vehicle, in particular a central processing unit or a zonal processing unit or a control unit. The computing device comprises at least one first signal input, which is designed to provide a first signal, which represents recorded vehicle camera images of a vehicle camera. The computing device furthermore comprises at least one second signal input, which is designed to provide a second signal, which represents recorded trailer camera images of a trailer camera. Sperrle [0027] FIG. 1A shows a vehicle 100 with trailer 110 schematically from above in a top view. The vehicle 100 and the trailer 110 are connected to each other by a hitch 101 of the vehicle 100 and by the drawbar 111 of the trailer 110. Between the longitudinal axis 150 of vehicle 100 and the longitudinal axis 151 of the trailer, there is a trailer angle α, which in FIG. 1A is 0° when the two longitudinal axes 150, 151 are identically oriented. In this example, vehicle 100 comprises four vehicle cameras 121, 122, 123, 124 of a camera system 120 of vehicle 100. Each of the four vehicle cameras 121, 122, 123 and 124 respectively records a series of vehicle camera images of a respective partial area 191, 192, 193 or 194 of the environment 190 of vehicle 100. Sperrle [0028] FIG. 1B schematically shows vehicle 100 with trailer 110 with a different trailer angle ? compared to FIG. 1 A. This illustrates a change in the position and size of the nonrecorded partial surrounding areas 198 and 199 as a function of the trailer angle ? and a change in the position of the detection range 195 of trailer camera 1 25. For the environment model, these changes result in shifted and changed joint lines 170 between the stored items of image information regarding the partial surrounding areas 197, 198 and 199 and the adjacent current vehicle camera images of vehicle cameras 121, 122 [rear side view], 123, 124 and of the current trailer camera image of trailer camera 125 [rear facing view] that are projected in the environment model. Sperrle [0008] The at least three vehicle cameras advantageously each comprise a wide-angle optics so that the detection ranges of two adjacent vehicle cameras in particular overlap. The trailer has at least one trailer camera situated on the rear side of the trailer. The trailer camera comprises in particular a wide-angle optics and is preferably oriented with a detection range rearward into the environment. The detection range of the trailer camera advantageously overlaps at least with the detection ranges of the vehicle cameras situated on the right side and on the left side of the vehicle. The overlapping areas of the detection range of the trailer camera are a function of the current trailer angle of the trailer on the vehicle.) generated by the plurality of cameras; (Sperrle [0027] FIG. 1A shows a vehicle 100 with trailer 110 schematically from above in a top view. The vehicle 100 and the trailer 110 are connected to each other by a hitch 101 of the vehicle 100 and by the drawbar 111 of the trailer 110. Between the longitudinal axis 150 of vehicle 100 and the longitudinal axis 151 of the trailer, there is a trailer angle α, which in FIG. 1A is 0° when the two longitudinal axes 150, 151 are identically oriented. In this example, vehicle 100 comprises four vehicle cameras 121, 122, 123, 124 of a camera system 120 of vehicle 100. Each of the four vehicle cameras 121, 122, 123 and 124 respectively records a series of vehicle camera images of a respective partial area 191, 192, 193 or 194 of the environment 190 of vehicle 100)
and the memory further storing (Sperrle [0019] the computing device as well as the storage occupancy in an electronic memory for storing the items of image information about the close range of the vehicle. [0021] the computing device, in particular a processor of the computing device, is configured so that it performs the steps of the method according to the present invention, an output signal being produced in the process for a display device for displaying an environment model) a trailer striking area prediction module (Sperrle [0012] The highlighting advantageously occurs if the detected static object is located in the ascertained predicted movement trajectory of the trailer or if the detected dynamic object is moving into the ascertained predicted movement trajectory. Alternatively or additionally, it may be provided that a collision [identify a trailer end of a trailer and trailer striking area] warning [prediction module] be displayed for a user of the vehicle if the detected object is located in the ascertained predicted movement trajectory of the trailer and/or if the detected dynamic object is moving into the ascertained predicted movement trajectory of the trailer.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Lu, further incorporating Sperrle in video/camera technology. One would be motivated to do so, to incorporate the memory further storing a trailer striking area prediction module. This functionality will improve quality with predictable results.
Regarding to claim 2 and 12:
2. Lu teach the CMS of claim 1, Lu do not explicitly teach wherein the set of prediction points are evenly distributed along the side of the trailer.
However Sperrle teach wherein the set of prediction points are evenly distributed along the side of the trailer. (Sperrle Fig. 1 A evenly distributed because of symmetry of camera FOV)
Regarding to claim 3 and 13:
3. Lu teach the CMS of claim 1, Lu do not explicitly teach wherein the set of prediction points are unevenly distributed along the side of the trailer.
However Sperrle teach wherein the set of prediction points are unevenly distributed along the side of the trailer. (Sperrle Fig. 1 B unevenly distributed because of asymmetry of camera FOV)
Regarding to claim 5 and 15:
5. Lu teach the CMS of claim 1, wherein the prediction points form a boundary of the trailer striking area. (Lu Fig. 15-17 shows boundary of trailer. Lu [0056] Trailer Hitching. Backing up a vehicle to hitch a trailer is not always intuitive process. If the position of the trailer hitching part is detected by identifying the tongue of the trailer that is to be attached to the vehicle, the processor can calculate [predicted future] a trajectory of the vehicle's hitch and guide the driver to turn the steering wheel of the vehicle and follow the trajectory to back the vehicle up to and in alignment with the trailer tongue for hitching the trailer to the vehicle. It is also envisioned that the control system may automatically turn [predicted future] the steering wheel of the vehicle to follow the calculated trajectory to position the vehicle's hitch at the trailer tongue for hitching the trailer to the vehicle. During the backing up process, a real time detection and tracking of a target at or on the trailer provides feedback and adjustment [aggregated and converted] to the turning or control of the steering wheel of the vehicle. Lu Fig. 15-17 [0055] the system may control the brakes of the vehicle and/or trailer to slow or stop rearward movement of the vehicle and trailer in response to detection of an object in the rearward path of travel of the trailer and a determination that a collision [trailer striking area] may occur between the trailer and object.)
Regarding to claim 6 and 16:
6. Lu teach the CMS of claim 5, wherein the boundary includes a portion with a non- linear contour corresponding to a trailer trajectory. (Lu Fig. 15-17 shows curved [non- linear] trajectory)
Regarding to claim 7 and 17:
7. Lu teach the CMS of claim 6, wherein the trailer trajectory corresponds to a trailer path of the side of the trailer. (Lu Fig. 15-17 shows trailer reverse movement path can be right/left side of the trailer)
Regarding to claim 8:
8. Lu teach the CMS of claim 1, comprising a display in communication with the controller, wherein the controller is configured to cause the trailer striking area to be illustrated on the display. (Lu [0054] the processor can calculate and project a trajectory or reversing path of the trailer in the form of graphic overlay on the camera display or video display (typically disposed in the vehicle, such as at or in or near an interior rearview mirror assembly of the vehicle) to indicate to the driver viewing the video display a path or trajectory of where the trailer is backing up to. In addition, when the trailer pulling or towing vehicle is equipped with side view cameras, the added views provided by the side cameras (typically having fields of view directed generally rearwardly and sidewardly with respect to the direction of forward travel of the equipped vehicle) can provide additional scene information of the trailer to assist the driver of the vehicle (viewing the images at a video display of the vehicle) during a reversing or backing up maneuver. The calculated graphical trailer path can be overlaid to the side camera image to further assist the driver of the vehicle during a reversing or backing up maneuver.)
Regarding to claim 9:
9. Lu teach a method comprising: (Claim 9 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 above. However, claim 9 has following additional limitation - converting the aggregated predicted future positions to the trailer striking area to provide a two dimensional overlay; and applying the two dimensional overlay to display during a turning operation.)
Lu teach converting the aggregated predicted future positions to the trailer striking area (Lu [0056] Trailer Hitching. Backing up a vehicle to hitch a trailer is not always intuitive process. If the position of the trailer hitching part is detected by identifying the tongue of the trailer that is to be attached to the vehicle, the processor can calculate [predicted future] a trajectory of the vehicle's hitch and guide the driver to turn the steering wheel of the vehicle and follow the trajectory to back the vehicle up to and in alignment with the trailer tongue for hitching the trailer to the vehicle. It is also envisioned that the control system may automatically turn [predicted future] the steering wheel of the vehicle to follow the calculated trajectory to position the vehicle's hitch at the trailer tongue for hitching the trailer to the vehicle. During the backing up process, a real time detection and tracking of a target at or on the trailer provides feedback and adjustment [aggregated and converted] to the turning or control of the steering wheel of the vehicle.) to provide a two dimensional overlay; (Lu [0054] the processor can calculate and project a trajectory or reversing path of the trailer in the form of graphic overlay on the camera display or video display (typically disposed in the vehicle, such as at or in or near an interior rearview mirror assembly of the vehicle) to indicate to the driver viewing the video display a path or trajectory of where the trailer is backing up to. In addition, when the trailer pulling or towing vehicle is equipped with side view cameras, the added views provided by the side cameras (typically having fields of view directed generally rearwardly and sidewardly with respect to the direction of forward travel of the equipped vehicle) can provide additional scene information of the trailer to assist the driver of the vehicle (viewing the images at a video display of the vehicle) during a reversing or backing up maneuver. The calculated graphical trailer path can be overlaid to the side camera image to further assist the driver of the vehicle during a reversing or backing up maneuver.) and applying the two dimensional overlay to display during a turning operation. (Lu [0054] the processor can calculate and project a trajectory or reversing path of the trailer in the form of graphic overlay on the camera display or video display (typically disposed in the vehicle, such as at or in or near an interior rearview mirror assembly of the vehicle) to indicate to the driver viewing the video display a path or trajectory of where the trailer is backing up to. In addition, when the trailer pulling or towing vehicle is equipped with side view cameras, the added views provided by the side cameras (typically having fields of view directed generally rearwardly and sidewardly with respect to the direction of forward travel of the equipped vehicle) can provide additional scene information of the trailer to assist the driver of the vehicle (viewing the images at a video display of the vehicle) during a reversing or backing up maneuver. The calculated graphical trailer path can be overlaid to the side camera image to further assist the driver of the vehicle during a reversing or backing up maneuver.)
Regarding to claim 10:
10. Lu teach the method of claim 9, wherein converting the geometry to a two dimensional overlay comprises converting each location in the prediction set from a three dimensional real world position to a two dimensional position (Lu [0022] FIG. 12 is a table showing a side elevation and a top view of a vehicle and trailer, showing how the graphic overlays change with variations in the ground plane elevation [three dimensional real world position]; [0023] FIG. 13 is a table showing a side elevation and a top view of a vehicle and trailer, showing how the graphic overlays change with variations in the load of the towing vehicle) within a rear view display image (Lu [0054] the processor can calculate and project a trajectory or reversing path of the trailer in the form of graphic overlay on the camera display or video display (typically disposed in the vehicle, such as at or in or near an interior rearview mirror assembly of the vehicle) to indicate to the driver viewing the video display a path or trajectory of where the trailer is backing up to. In addition, when the trailer pulling or towing vehicle is equipped with side view cameras, the added views provided by the side cameras (typically having fields of view directed generally rearwardly and sidewardly with respect to the direction of forward travel of the equipped vehicle) can provide additional scene information of the trailer to assist the driver of the vehicle (viewing the images at a video display of the vehicle) during a reversing or backing up maneuver. The calculated graphical trailer path can be overlaid to the side camera image to further assist the driver of the vehicle during a reversing or backing up maneuver.) and generating a geometry including each two dimensional position, (Lu Fig. 12 shows overlay position involving displacement x1, x2 change because of height change. This is considered two dimensional position) with the geometry defining the overlay. (Lu Fig. 12 shows overlay position involving displacement x1, x2 change because of angle change. This is considered geometry defining the overlay)
Regarding to claim 11:
11. Lu teach the method of claim 9, further comprising a controller identifying at least one object within an image, comparing a location of the object within the image to the geometry, and outputting a collision warning in response to the object overlapping with the geometry. (Lu [0087] may analyze image data to detect vehicles and/or other objects. Responsive to such image processing, and when an object or other vehicle is detected, the system may generate an alert to the driver of the vehicle and/or may generate an overlay at the displayed image to highlight or enhance display of the detected object or vehicle, in order to enhance the driver's awareness of the detected object or vehicle or hazardous condition [object overlapping with the geometry] during a driving maneuver of the equipped vehicle.)
Allowable subject matter
Regarding to claim 4 and 14:
Claims 4 and 14 are not rejected under 103. These claims can be allowed if terminal disclaimer is filled. Claims 4 and 14 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because the limitations of these dependent claims are not obvious from the prior art search when all the limitations of independent and intervening claims are taken into account.
Conclusion
/NASIM N NIRJHAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896