CTNF 19/055,024 CTNF 97476 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claims 1-20 as originally filed are pending and have been considered as follows. Priority 1. Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority to U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/554,528 filed on 02/16/2024, U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/554,515 filed on 02/16/2024, U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/554,547 filed on 02/16/2024, U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/554,564 filed on 02/16/2024, U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/554,497 filed on 02/16/2024, U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/554,537 filed on 02/16/2024, and U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/554,554 filed on 02/16/2024. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA 2. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 3. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 1 (and similarly 8 and 15), the term “substantially” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claims, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In the art rejection above, the claims have been treated as best understood by the examiner. Any claim not explicitly rejected under this heading is rejected as being dependent on an indefinite claim. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 4. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA 5. Claim s 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Angold et al. (US 20160030272, hereinafter Angold) in view of Nardi et al. (US 20080071202, hereinafter Nardi) . Regarding claim 1, Angold teaches an enhanced mobility wearable article (see at least Figs. 1-3) , comprising: a rigid frame comprising two portions and forming a structure configured to be secured to a body part of a wearer (see at least Figs. 1-3 and [0013]: “Specifically, the gait orthotic device is in the form of a powered exoskeleton 100 that includes a controller 105 (or control system), a torso 110, a right leg 115 and a left leg 120…In use, an exoskeleton user would wear exoskeleton 100 with torso 110 coupled to the user's torso, right leg 115 coupled to the user's right leg and left leg 120 coupled to the user's left leg.”) ; a joint secured between two portions of the rigid frame, configured to allow the two portions to move with respect to one another about the joint (see at least Figs. 1-3 and [0013]: “Specifically, the gait orthotic device is in the form of a powered exoskeleton 100 that includes a controller 105 (or control system), a torso 110, a right leg 115 and a left leg 120…In use, an exoskeleton user would wear exoskeleton 100 with torso 110 coupled to the user's torso, right leg 115 coupled to the user's right leg and left leg 120 coupled to the user's left leg.”; [0020]: “In one embodiment, the user and exoskeleton 100 are protected during a fall by controlling exoskeleton 100 to resist the conversion of potential energy into kinetic energy by actuating the powered joints during descent (i.e., using actuators 125, 130, 135, 140 to cause pivotal movement at the joints). This actuation results in positive joint work, which slows the downward acceleration.”) ; an actuator, operatively coupled to the rigid frame, configured to cause the two portions to move with respect to one another about the joint (see at least Figs. 1-3 and [0020]: “In one embodiment, the user and exoskeleton 100 are protected during a fall by controlling exoskeleton 100 to resist the conversion of potential energy into kinetic energy by actuating the powered joints during descent (i.e., using actuators 125, 130, 135, 140 to cause pivotal movement at the joints). This actuation results in positive joint work, which slows the downward acceleration. In other words, exoskeleton 100 controls the fall in a manner analogous to an able-bodied person slowly squatting from a standing to sitting position on the ground rather than simply letting himself/herself fall.”) ; a sensory cushioning system, secured to the rigid frame and configured to interface with the body part of the wearer (see at least Figs. 1-3 and [0016]: “In certain embodiments, airbags are provided on all sides of exoskeleton 100.”; [0019]: “In one embodiment, the number of airbag modules 200 used to provide the desired level of protection can be reduced by also employing positioning methods that work in concert with the airbag cushioning methods. This strategy involves initiating and coordinating device joint work (i.e., pivotal movement at the joints) during a fall to increase the likelihood that the position of exoskeleton 100 at impact allows for optimal cushioning using the installed airbag modules 200.”) , comprising: an airbag forming an interior volume and a pocket, wherein the interior volume is substantially airtight (see at least Figs. 1-3 and [0015]: “For the purposes of this discussion, the term “airbag” refers to a flexible container (i.e., bag) that can be packaged in a small volume and selectively filled with a larger volume of gas, which is stored in a compressed state within a sealed container.”; [0017]: “Airbag module 200 mainly includes: a compressed air canister 205; a component (not shown) that mounts and secures the canister; a canister puncturing mechanism 210; a folded flexible bag 215 exposed to a component 220 that allows air to move between punctured canister 205 and bag 215; a trigger mechanism 225 that causes puncturing mechanism 210 to operate; mounting components 230, 231 to allow rigid and accurate connection to exoskeleton 100; a housing 235 to enclose and protect the various components; a flap or cover (not shown) that allows the airbag to expand outside of module and be positioned between the device and an impact surface; and a component 240 that covers trigger mechanism 225 to prevent undesired deployment.”) ; an internal assembly positioned within the pocket (see at least Fig. 2 and [0017]: “Airbag module 200 mainly includes: a compressed air canister 205; a component (not shown) that mounts and secures the canister; a canister puncturing mechanism 210; a folded flexible bag 215 exposed to a component 220 that allows air to move between punctured canister 205 and bag 215; a trigger mechanism 225 that causes puncturing mechanism 210 to operate; mounting components 230, 231 to allow rigid and accurate connection to exoskeleton 100; a housing 235 to enclose and protect the various components; a flap or cover (not shown) that allows the airbag to expand outside of module and be positioned between the device and an impact surface; and a component 240 that covers trigger mechanism 225 to prevent undesired deployment.”) ; an external electronic assembly positioned exterior to the airbag (see at least [0018]: “A trigger actuator (not shown), such as a solenoid, is mounted on exoskeleton 100 so that, when provided the correct voltage or current, it overpowers a spring holding it in a retracted state and releases trigger mechanism 225. An additional sensor ensures that the trigger actuator is in the retracted state before allowing exoskeleton 100 to operate.”) ; an orientation sensor coupled to at least one of the internal assembly and the external electronic assembly (see at least [0016]: “By using onboard sensors, controller 105 can detect a position and direction of exoskeleton 100 as it falls and selectively deploy the ideal airbags prior to impact.”) ; and an interconnect electrically coupling the internal assembly to the external electronic assembly (see at least [0018]: “When installed on exoskeleton 100, component 240 covers trigger mechanism 225 except for at an opening (shown but not separately labeled in FIG. 2) and sensors on exoskeleton 100 detect whether: mounting components 230, 231 of airbag module 200 are present and properly located; pins connecting module 200 to exoskeleton 100 are present; and trigger mechanism 225 is locked. A trigger actuator (not shown), such as a solenoid, is mounted on exoskeleton 100 so that, when provided the correct voltage or current, it overpowers a spring holding it in a retracted state and releases trigger mechanism 225. An additional sensor ensures that the trigger actuator is in the retracted state before allowing exoskeleton 100 to operate.”) ; and control circuitry, operatively coupled to the sensory cushioning system and to the motor, wherein the control circuitry is configured to operate the motor based, at least in part, on an output from the orientation sensor (see at least Figs. 1-3 and [0013]: “Controller 105 controls the motion of exoskeleton 100 through actuators 125, 130, 135, 140 based on various signals received from sensors (not shown), as known in the art, so that the user is able to walk.”; [0020]: “In one embodiment, the user and exoskeleton 100 are protected during a fall by controlling exoskeleton 100 to resist the conversion of potential energy into kinetic energy by actuating the powered joints during descent (i.e., using actuators 125, 130, 135, 140 to cause pivotal movement at the joints). This actuation results in positive joint work, which slows the downward acceleration. In other words, exoskeleton 100 controls the fall in a manner analogous to an able-bodied person slowly squatting from a standing to sitting position on the ground rather than simply letting himself/herself fall.”; [0021]: “Exoskeleton 100 detects the fall using sensors (such as weight, tilt, orientation or inertia sensors not shown) and controller 105. In order to mitigate any damage caused by the fall, exoskeleton 100 employs at least one of the cushioning, positioning and joint work methods described above, the actions of which are shown in FIGS. 3B-D…Additionally, actuators 125, 130, 135, 140 work to both position exoskeleton 100 such that it is bag 215 that impacts the ground 300 (positioning methods) and also slow the fall by reducing kinetic energy through positive joint work (joint work methods).”) . Angold fails to explicitly teach that the actuator comprises a motor, an internal electronic assembly is positioned within the pocket and including a pressure sensor, and coupling the internal electronic assembly to the external electronic assembly. However, Nardi teaches a method and system for a compressive device worn by a user that utilizes an actuator comprising a motor (see at least Fig. 4 and [0041]: “Referring to FIG. 4, the actuator 21 is shown to be a mechanical actuator contained entirely within the housing 9, i.e., within the space defined by the opposing housing members 15, 17...As illustrated in FIG. 4, the actuator 21 includes a pair of cam shafts 115 having cams 121 mounted at one end thereof, a prime mover comprising a reversible electric motor 125 (e.g., a small DC motor) having an output shaft 127, and a gear train, generally designated 131, connecting the output shaft of the motor to the two cam shafts.”) , an internal electronic assembly is positioned within a pocket and including a pressure sensor (see at least [0034]: “As shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, this device 45 comprises a cushion 49 received in the pocket 39, the pocket being sized and shaped to hold both the housing 9 and the device 45 at a location between the housing 9 and the limb 3 of the patient.”; [0046]: “In one embodiment, this indicating device 227 senses a characteristic indicative of the actual pressure applied to the limb. By way of example, the device 227 may comprise a suitable circuit for monitoring the amount of current and/or voltage to the electric motor 125, which amount is proportional to the actual pressure applied to the limb. Alternatively, the pressure-indicating device may comprise one or more pressure sensors for sensing the pressure in one or more chambers in the cushion 49 (if a sealed bladder-like cushion is used), the sensed pressure being proportional to the actual pressure applied to the limb. In still another embodiment, the pressure-indicating device 227 may comprise one or more strain gauges on the band 27, the tension in the band being indicative of the actual pressure on the limb. Other devices for indicating the pressure applied to the limb may be used.”) , and coupling the internal electronic assembly to an external electronic assembly (see at least [0061]: “FIG. 11 illustrates an exemplary integrated control system, generally designated 401, for controlling the operation of two or more modules 321 when they are placed on the compressive unit 309. In this embodiment, the compressive unit 309 has three compressive sections or zones CZ1, CZ2 and CZ3 corresponding to different locations on the limb (e.g., ankle, calf and lower thigh), but it will be understood that the number of zones can vary…Alternatively, the sensing elements 409 can be electrical contacts on the unit 309 which mate with electrical contacts on the modules 321 when the modules are placed in position on the unit 309. Other sensing elements can be used without departing from the scope of this invention.”) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Angold to incorporate the teachings of Nardi and provide a motor, an internal electronic assembly positioned within a pocket and including a pressure sensor, and coupling the internal electronic assembly to an external electronic assembly, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to allow for finer adjustments including increasing and decreasing the air pressure in the airbag and for the airbag to provide cushion for the electronics. Regarding claim 2, modified Angold teaches the limitations of claim 1. Angold further teaches wherein the control circuitry is further configured to operate the actuator based on an indication from the orientation sensor that the wearer is falling (see at least Figs. 1-3 and [0013]: “Controller 105 controls the motion of exoskeleton 100 through actuators 125, 130, 135, 140 based on various signals received from sensors (not shown), as known in the art, so that the user is able to walk.”; [0020]: “In one embodiment, the user and exoskeleton 100 are protected during a fall by controlling exoskeleton 100 to resist the conversion of potential energy into kinetic energy by actuating the powered joints during descent (i.e., using actuators 125, 130, 135, 140 to cause pivotal movement at the joints). This actuation results in positive joint work, which slows the downward acceleration. In other words, exoskeleton 100 controls the fall in a manner analogous to an able-bodied person slowly squatting from a standing to sitting position on the ground rather than simply letting himself/herself fall.”; [0021]: “Exoskeleton 100 detects the fall using sensors (such as weight, tilt, orientation or inertia sensors not shown) and controller 105. In order to mitigate any damage caused by the fall, exoskeleton 100 employs at least one of the cushioning, positioning and joint work methods described above, the actions of which are shown in FIGS. 3B-D…Additionally, actuators 125, 130, 135, 140 work to both position exoskeleton 100 such that it is bag 215 that impacts the ground 300 (positioning methods) and also slow the fall by reducing kinetic energy through positive joint work (joint work methods).”) . Angold fails to explicitly teach that the actuator comprises a motor. However, Nardi teaches a method and system for a compressive device worn by a user that utilizes an actuator comprising a motor (see at least Fig. 4 and [0041]: “Referring to FIG. 4, the actuator 21 is shown to be a mechanical actuator contained entirely within the housing 9, i.e., within the space defined by the opposing housing members 15, 17...As illustrated in FIG. 4, the actuator 21 includes a pair of cam shafts 115 having cams 121 mounted at one end thereof, a prime mover comprising a reversible electric motor 125 (e.g., a small DC motor) having an output shaft 127, and a gear train, generally designated 131, connecting the output shaft of the motor to the two cam shafts.”; [0054]: “The control system 201 can make any necessary adjustment by varying the "throw" of the cams 121 until the pressure sensing device of the control system 201 indicates that the desired compressive pressure is being applied. Thus, to increase the pressure, the control system 201 simply operates the motor 125 to rotate its output shaft 127 through a greater number of degrees to increase the throw of the cams 121 and thus increase dimension D2 of the housing 9. To decrease the compressive pressure, the control system 201 operates the motor 125 to rotate its output shaft 127 through a shorter segment of rotation, thereby decreasing the throw of the cams 121 to decrease dimension D2.”) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Angold to incorporate the teachings of Nardi and provide an actuator with a motor, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a more precise and varying adjustments to the movements of the system. Regarding claim 3, modified Angold teaches the limitations of claim 2. Angold fails to explicitly teach operating the motor based on an output from the pressure sensor. However, Nardi teaches a method and system for a compressive device worn by a user that operates a motor based on an output from a pressure sensor (see at least Fig. 4 and [0041]: “As illustrated in FIG. 4, the actuator 21 includes a pair of cam shafts 115 having cams 121 mounted at one end thereof, a prime mover comprising a reversible electric motor 125 (e.g., a small DC motor) having an output shaft 127, and a gear train, generally designated 131, connecting the output shaft of the motor to the two cam shafts.”; [0054]: “The control system 201 can make any necessary adjustment by varying the "throw" of the cams 121 until the pressure sensing device of the control system 201 indicates that the desired compressive pressure is being applied. Thus, to increase the pressure, the control system 201 simply operates the motor 125 to rotate its output shaft 127 through a greater number of degrees to increase the throw of the cams 121 and thus increase dimension D2 of the housing 9. To decrease the compressive pressure, the control system 201 operates the motor 125 to rotate its output shaft 127 through a shorter segment of rotation, thereby decreasing the throw of the cams 121 to decrease dimension D2.”) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Angold to incorporate the teachings of Nardi and provide a means to operates a motor based on an output from a pressure sensor, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to adjust the system using additional feedback information from the pressure sensor. Regarding claim 4, modified Angold teaches the limitations of claim 3. Angold fails to explicitly teach operating the motor based on the output from the pressure sensor indicating an increase in pressure detected by the pressure sensor. However, Nardi teaches a method and system for a compressive device worn by a user that operates a motor based on output from a pressure sensor indicating an increase in pressure detected by the pressure sensor (see at least Fig. 4 and [0041]: “As illustrated in FIG. 4, the actuator 21 includes a pair of cam shafts 115 having cams 121 mounted at one end thereof, a prime mover comprising a reversible electric motor 125 (e.g., a small DC motor) having an output shaft 127, and a gear train, generally designated 131, connecting the output shaft of the motor to the two cam shafts.”; [0054]: “The control system 201 can make any necessary adjustment by varying the "throw" of the cams 121 until the pressure sensing device of the control system 201 indicates that the desired compressive pressure is being applied. Thus, to increase the pressure, the control system 201 simply operates the motor 125 to rotate its output shaft 127 through a greater number of degrees to increase the throw of the cams 121 and thus increase dimension D2 of the housing 9. To decrease the compressive pressure, the control system 201 operates the motor 125 to rotate its output shaft 127 through a shorter segment of rotation, thereby decreasing the throw of the cams 121 to decrease dimension D2.”) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Angold to incorporate the teachings of Nardi and provide a means to operates a motor based on output from a pressure sensor indicating an increase in pressure detected by the pressure sensor, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to adjust the system using additional feedback information from the pressure sensor. Regarding claim 5, modified Angold teaches the limitations of claim 4. Angold further teaches wherein the control circuitry is further configured to cause the actuator to brace the wearer from a fall (see at least Figs. 1-3 and [0013]: “Controller 105 controls the motion of exoskeleton 100 through actuators 125, 130, 135, 140 based on various signals received from sensors (not shown), as known in the art, so that the user is able to walk.”; [0020]: “In one embodiment, the user and exoskeleton 100 are protected during a fall by controlling exoskeleton 100 to resist the conversion of potential energy into kinetic energy by actuating the powered joints during descent (i.e., using actuators 125, 130, 135, 140 to cause pivotal movement at the joints). This actuation results in positive joint work, which slows the downward acceleration. In other words, exoskeleton 100 controls the fall in a manner analogous to an able-bodied person slowly squatting from a standing to sitting position on the ground rather than simply letting himself/herself fall.”) . Angold fails to explicitly teach that the actuator comprises a motor. However, Nardi teaches a method and system for a compressive device worn by a user that utilizes an actuator comprising a motor (see at least Fig. 4 and [0041]: “Referring to FIG. 4, the actuator 21 is shown to be a mechanical actuator contained entirely within the housing 9, i.e., within the space defined by the opposing housing members 15, 17...As illustrated in FIG. 4, the actuator 21 includes a pair of cam shafts 115 having cams 121 mounted at one end thereof, a prime mover comprising a reversible electric motor 125 (e.g., a small DC motor) having an output shaft 127, and a gear train, generally designated 131, connecting the output shaft of the motor to the two cam shafts.”; [0054]: “The control system 201 can make any necessary adjustment by varying the "throw" of the cams 121 until the pressure sensing device of the control system 201 indicates that the desired compressive pressure is being applied. Thus, to increase the pressure, the control system 201 simply operates the motor 125 to rotate its output shaft 127 through a greater number of degrees to increase the throw of the cams 121 and thus increase dimension D2 of the housing 9. To decrease the compressive pressure, the control system 201 operates the motor 125 to rotate its output shaft 127 through a shorter segment of rotation, thereby decreasing the throw of the cams 121 to decrease dimension D2.”) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Angold to incorporate the teachings of Nardi and provide an actuator with a motor, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a more precise and varying adjustments to the movements of the system. Regarding claim 6, modified Angold teaches the limitations of claim 5. Angold further teaches wherein the sensory cushioning system further comprises a mechanism configured to increase a pressure within the interior volume (see at least [0015]: “This gas transfer increases the pressure inside the bag and causes it to expand to a larger volume. The inflated bag can be oriented between the device and an impact surface to absorb energy and spread the applied forces.”; [0017]: “Airbag module 200 mainly includes: a compressed air canister 205; a component (not shown) that mounts and secures the canister; a canister puncturing mechanism 210; a folded flexible bag 215 exposed to a component 220 that allows air to move between punctured canister 205 and bag 215; a trigger mechanism 225 that causes puncturing mechanism 210 to operate; mounting components 230, 231 to allow rigid and accurate connection to exoskeleton 100; a housing 235 to enclose and protect the various components; a flap or cover (not shown) that allows the airbag to expand outside of module and be positioned between the device and an impact surface; and a component 240 that covers trigger mechanism 225 to prevent undesired deployment.”) . Angold fails to explicitly teach a motorized pump configured to increase and decrease a pressure. However, Nardi teaches a method and system for a compressive device worn by a user that comprises a motorized pump configured to increase and decrease a pressure (see at least Figs. 1-4 and [0054]: “The control system 201 can make any necessary adjustment by varying the "throw" of the cams 121 until the pressure sensing device of the control system 201 indicates that the desired compressive pressure is being applied. Thus, to increase the pressure, the control system 201 simply operates the motor 125 to rotate its output shaft 127 through a greater number of degrees to increase the throw of the cams 121 and thus increase dimension D2 of the housing 9. To decrease the compressive pressure, the control system 201 operates the motor 125 to rotate its output shaft 127 through a shorter segment of rotation, thereby decreasing the throw of the cams 121 to decrease dimension D2.”) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Angold to incorporate the teachings of Nardi and provide a motorized pump configured to increase and decrease a pressure, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to adjust the airbag including increasing and decreasing the air pressure. Regarding claim 7, modified Angold teaches the limitations of claim 6. Angold further teaches wherein the control circuitry is further configured to cause the mechanism to adjust pressure in the interior volume based on the indication from the orientation sensor the wearer is falling (see at least [0016]: “In certain embodiments, airbags are provided on all sides of exoskeleton 100. This protects exoskeleton 100 well since falls can occur in any direction. In a preferred embodiment, small modular airbags are located at likely impact points, such as the head, pelvis, hips and knees. By using onboard sensors, controller 105 can detect a position and direction of exoskeleton 100 as it falls and selectively deploy the ideal airbags prior to impact. This strategy minimizes the amount of compressed air needed to protect the device and user, facilitates mounting of the airbags on the device without interfering with its primary function, and minimizes the cost and effort involved in replacing discharged airbags.”; [0018]: “A trigger actuator (not shown), such as a solenoid, is mounted on exoskeleton 100 so that, when provided the correct voltage or current, it overpowers a spring holding it in a retracted state and releases trigger mechanism 225. An additional sensor ensures that the trigger actuator is in the retracted state before allowing exoskeleton 100 to operate.”) . Angold fails to explicitly teach motorized pump to adjust pressure in the interior volume. However, Nardi teaches a method and system for a compressive device worn by a user that comprises a motorized pump to adjust pressure in an interior volume (see at least Figs. 1-4 and [0054]: “The control system 201 can make any necessary adjustment by varying the "throw" of the cams 121 until the pressure sensing device of the control system 201 indicates that the desired compressive pressure is being applied. Thus, to increase the pressure, the control system 201 simply operates the motor 125 to rotate its output shaft 127 through a greater number of degrees to increase the throw of the cams 121 and thus increase dimension D2 of the housing 9. To decrease the compressive pressure, the control system 201 operates the motor 125 to rotate its output shaft 127 through a shorter segment of rotation, thereby decreasing the throw of the cams 121 to decrease dimension D2.”) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Angold to incorporate the teachings of Nardi and provide a motorized pump to adjust pressure in an interior volume, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to adjust the airbag including increasing and decreasing the air pressure. Regarding claim 8, Angold teaches a system (see at least Figs. 1-3) , comprising: an enhanced mobility wearable article (see at least Figs. 1-3) , comprising: a rigid frame comprising two portions and forming a structure configured to be secured to a body part of a wearer (see at least Figs. 1-3 and [0013]: “Specifically, the gait orthotic device is in the form of a powered exoskeleton 100 that includes a controller 105 (or control system), a torso 110, a right leg 115 and a left leg 120…In use, an exoskeleton user would wear exoskeleton 100 with torso 110 coupled to the user's torso, right leg 115 coupled to the user's right leg and left leg 120 coupled to the user's left leg.”) ; a joint secured between two portions of the rigid frame, configured to allow the two portions to move with respect to one another about the joint (see at least Figs. 1-3 and [0013]: “Specifically, the gait orthotic device is in the form of a powered exoskeleton 100 that includes a controller 105 (or control system), a torso 110, a right leg 115 and a left leg 120…In use, an exoskeleton user would wear exoskeleton 100 with torso 110 coupled to the user's torso, right leg 115 coupled to the user's right leg and left leg 120 coupled to the user's left leg.”; [0020]: “In one embodiment, the user and exoskeleton 100 are protected during a fall by controlling exoskeleton 100 to resist the conversion of potential energy into kinetic energy by actuating the powered joints during descent (i.e., using actuators 125, 130, 135, 140 to cause pivotal movement at the joints). This actuation results in positive joint work, which slows the downward acceleration.”) ; and an actuator, operatively coupled to the rigid frame, configured to cause the two portions to move with respect to one another about the joint (see at least Figs. 1-3 and [0020]: “In one embodiment, the user and exoskeleton 100 are protected during a fall by controlling exoskeleton 100 to resist the conversion of potential energy into kinetic energy by actuating the powered joints during descent (i.e., using actuators 125, 130, 135, 140 to cause pivotal movement at the joints). This actuation results in positive joint work, which slows the downward acceleration. In other words, exoskeleton 100 controls the fall in a manner analogous to an able-bodied person slowly squatting from a standing to sitting position on the ground rather than simply letting himself/herself fall.”) ; a sensory cushioning system configured to interface with the body part of the wearer (see at least Figs. 1-3 and [0016]: “In certain embodiments, airbags are provided on all sides of exoskeleton 100.”; [0019]: “In one embodiment, the number of airbag modules 200 used to provide the desired level of protection can be reduced by also employing positioning methods that work in concert with the airbag cushioning methods. This strategy involves initiating and coordinating device joint work (i.e., pivotal movement at the joints) during a fall to increase the likelihood that the position of exoskeleton 100 at impact allows for optimal cushioning using the installed airbag modules 200.”) , comprising: an airbag forming an interior volume and a pocket, wherein the interior volume is substantially airtight (see at least Figs. 1-3 and [0015]: “For the purposes of this discussion, the term “airbag” refers to a flexible container (i.e., bag) that can be packaged in a small volume and selectively filled with a larger volume of gas, which is stored in a compressed state within a sealed container.”; [0017]: “Airbag module 200 mainly includes: a compressed air canister 205; a component (not shown) that mounts and secures the canister; a canister puncturing mechanism 210; a folded flexible bag 215 exposed to a component 220 that allows air to move between punctured canister 205 and bag 215; a trigger mechanism 225 that causes puncturing mechanism 210 to operate; mounting components 230, 231 to allow rigid and accurate connection to exoskeleton 100; a housing 235 to enclose and protect the various components; a flap or cover (not shown) that allows the airbag to expand outside of module and be positioned between the device and an impact surface; and a component 240 that covers trigger mechanism 225 to prevent undesired deployment.”) ; an internal assembly positioned within the pocket (see at least Fig. 2 and [0017]: “Airbag module 200 mainly includes: a compressed air canister 205; a component (not shown) that mounts and secures the canister; a canister puncturing mechanism 210; a folded flexible bag 215 exposed to a component 220 that allows air to move between punctured canister 205 and bag 215; a trigger mechanism 225 that causes puncturing mechanism 210 to operate; mounting components 230, 231 to allow rigid and accurate connection to exoskeleton 100; a housing 235 to enclose and protect the various components; a flap or cover (not shown) that allows the airbag to expand outside of module and be positioned between the device and an impact surface; and a component 240 that covers trigger mechanism 225 to prevent undesired deployment.”) ; an external electronic assembly positioned exterior to the airbag (see at least [0018]: “A trigger actuator (not shown), such as a solenoid, is mounted on exoskeleton 100 so that, when provided the correct voltage or current, it overpowers a spring holding it in a retracted state and releases trigger mechanism 225. An additional sensor ensures that the trigger actuator is in the retracted state before allowing exoskeleton 100 to operate.”) ; an orientation sensor coupled to at least one of the internal assembly and the external electronic assembly (see at least [0016]: “By using onboard sensors, controller 105 can detect a position and direction of exoskeleton 100 as it falls and selectively deploy the ideal airbags prior to impact.”) ; and an interconnect electrically coupling the internal assembly to the external electronic assembly (see at least [0018]: “When installed on exoskeleton 100, component 240 covers trigger mechanism 225 except for at an opening (shown but not separately labeled in FIG. 2) and sensors on exoskeleton 100 detect whether: mounting components 230, 231 of airbag module 200 are present and properly located; pins connecting module 200 to exoskeleton 100 are present; and trigger mechanism 225 is locked. A trigger actuator (not shown), such as a solenoid, is mounted on exoskeleton 100 so that, when provided the correct voltage or current, it overpowers a spring holding it in a retracted state and releases trigger mechanism 225. An additional sensor ensures that the trigger actuator is in the retracted state before allowing exoskeleton 100 to operate.”) ; and control circuitry, operatively coupled to the sensory cushioning system and to the motor, wherein the control circuitry is configured to operate the motor based, at least in part, on an output from the orientation sensor (see at least Figs. 1-3 and [0013]: “Controller 105 controls the motion of exoskeleton 100 through actuators 125, 130, 135, 140 based on various signals received from sensors (not shown), as known in the art, so that the user is able to walk.”; [0020]: “In one embodiment, the user and exoskeleton 100 are protected during a fall by controlling exoskeleton 100 to resist the conversion of potential energy into kinetic energy by actuating the powered joints during descent (i.e., using actuators 125, 130, 135, 140 to cause pivotal movement at the joints). This actuation results in positive joint work, which slows the downward acceleration. In other words, exoskeleton 100 controls the fall in a manner analogous to an able-bodied person slowly squatting from a standing to sitting position on the ground rather than simply letting himself/herself fall.”; [0021]: “Exoskeleton 100 detects the fall using sensors (such as weight, tilt, orientation or inertia sensors not shown) and controller 105. In order to mitigate any damage caused by the fall, exoskeleton 100 employs at least one of the cushioning, positioning and joint work methods described above, the actions of which are shown in FIGS. 3B-D…Additionally, actuators 125, 130, 135, 140 work to both position exoskeleton 100 such that it is bag 215 that impacts the ground 300 (positioning methods) and also slow the fall by reducing kinetic energy through positive joint work (joint work methods).”) . Angold fails to explicitly teach that the actuator comprises a motor, an internal electronic assembly is positioned within the pocket and including a pressure sensor, and coupling the internal electronic assembly to the external electronic assembly. However, Nardi teaches a method and system for a compressive device worn by a user that utilizes an actuator comprising a motor (see at least Fig. 4 and [0041]: “Referring to FIG. 4, the actuator 21 is shown to be a mechanical actuator contained entirely within the housing 9, i.e., within the space defined by the opposing housing members 15, 17...As illustrated in FIG. 4, the actuator 21 includes a pair of cam shafts 115 having cams 121 mounted at one end thereof, a prime mover comprising a reversible electric motor 125 (e.g., a small DC motor) having an output shaft 127, and a gear train, generally designated 131, connecting the output shaft of the motor to the two cam shafts.”) , an internal electronic assembly is positioned within a pocket and including a pressure sensor (see at least [0034]: “As shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, this device 45 comprises a cushion 49 received in the pocket 39, the pocket being sized and shaped to hold both the housing 9 and the device 45 at a location between the housing 9 and the limb 3 of the patient.”; [0046]: “In one embodiment, this indicating device 227 senses a characteristic indicative of the actual pressure applied to the limb. By way of example, the device 227 may comprise a suitable circuit for monitoring the amount of current and/or voltage to the electric motor 125, which amount is proportional to the actual pressure applied to the limb. Alternatively, the pressure-indicating device may comprise one or more pressure sensors for sensing the pressure in one or more chambers in the cushion 49 (if a sealed bladder-like cushion is used), the sensed pressure being proportional to the actual pressure applied to the limb. In still another embodiment, the pressure-indicating device 227 may comprise one or more strain gauges on the band 27, the tension in the band being indicative of the actual pressure on the limb. Other devices for indicating the pressure applied to the limb may be used.”) , and coupling the internal electronic assembly to an external electronic assembly (see at least [0061]: “FIG. 11 illustrates an exemplary integrated control system, generally designated 401, for controlling the operation of two or more modules 321 when they are placed on the compressive unit 309. In this embodiment, the compressive unit 309 has three compressive sections or zones CZ1, CZ2 and CZ3 corresponding to different locations on the limb (e.g., ankle, calf and lower thigh), but it will be understood that the number of zones can vary…Alternatively, the sensing elements 409 can be electrical contacts on the unit 309 which mate with electrical contacts on the modules 321 when the modules are placed in position on the unit 309. Other sensing elements can be used without departing from the scope of this invention.”) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Angold to incorporate the teachings of Nardi and provide a motor, an internal electronic assembly positioned within a pocket and including a pressure sensor, and coupling the internal electronic assembly to an external electronic assembly, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to allow for finer adjustments including increasing and decreasing the air pressure in the airbag and for the airbag to provide cushion for the electronics. Regarding claim 9, modified Angold teaches the limitations of claim 8. Angold further teaches wherein the control circuitry is further configured to operate the actuator based on an indication from the orientation sensor that the wearer is falling (see at least Figs. 1-3 and [0013]: “Controller 105 controls the motion of exoskeleton 100 through actuators 125, 130, 135, 140 based on various signals received from sensors (not shown), as known in the art, so that the user is able to walk.”; [0020]: “In one embodiment, the user and exoskeleton 100 are protected during a fall by controlling exoskeleton 100 to resist the conversion of potential energy into kinetic energy by actuating the powered joints during descent (i.e., using actuators 125, 130, 135, 140 to cause pivotal movement at the joints). This actuation results in positive joint work, which slows the downward acceleration. In other words, exoskeleton 100 controls the fall in a manner analogous to an able-bodied person slowly squatting from a standing to sitting position on the ground rather than simply letting himself/herself fall.”; [0021]: “Exoskeleton 100 detects the fall using sensors (such as weight, tilt, orientation or inertia sensors not shown) and controller 105. In order to mitigate any damage caused by the fall, exoskeleton 100 employs at least one of the cushioning, positioning and joint work methods described above, the actions of which are shown in FIGS. 3B-D…Additionally, actuators 125, 130, 135, 140 work to both position exoskeleton 100 such that it is bag 215 that impacts the ground 300 (positioning methods) and also slow the fall by reducing kinetic energy through positive joint work (joint work methods).”) . Angold fails to explicitly teach that the actuator comprises a motor. However, Nardi teaches a method and system for a compressive device worn by a user that utilizes an actuator comprising a motor (see at least Fig. 4 and [0041]: “Referring to FIG. 4, the actuator 21 is shown to be a mechanical actuator contained entirely within the housing 9, i.e., within the space defined by the opposing housing members 15, 17...As illustrated in FIG. 4, the actuator 21 includes a pair of cam shafts 115 having cams 121 mounted at one end thereof, a prime mover comprising a reversible electric motor 125 (e.g., a small DC motor) having an output shaft 127, and a gear train, generally designated 131, connecting the output shaft of the motor to the two cam shafts.”; [0054]: “The control system 201 can make any necessary adjustment by varying the "throw" of the cams 121 until the pressure sensing device of the control system 201 indicates that the desired compressive pressure is being applied. Thus, to increase the pressure, the control system 201 simply operates the motor 125 to rotate its output shaft 127 through a greater number of degrees to increase the throw of the cams 121 and thus increase dimension D2 of the housing 9. To decrease the compressive pressure, the control system 201 operates the motor 125 to rotate its output shaft 127 through a shorter segment of rotation, thereby decreasing the throw of the cams 121 to decrease dimension D2.”) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Angold to incorporate the teachings of Nardi and provide an actuator with a motor, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a more precise and varying adjustments to the movements of the system. Regarding claim 10, modified Angold teaches the limitations of claim 9. Angold fails to explicitly teach operating the motor based on an output from the pressure sensor. However, Nardi teaches a method and system for a compressive device worn by a user that operates a motor based on an output from a pressure sensor (see at least Fig. 4 and [0041]: “As illustrated in FIG. 4, the actuator 21 includes a pair of cam shafts 115 having cams 121 mounted at one end thereof, a prime mover comprising a reversible electric motor 125 (e.g., a small DC motor) having an output shaft 127, and a gear train, generally designated 131, connecting the output shaft of the motor to the two cam shafts.”; [0054]: “The control system 201 can make any necessary adjustment by varying the "throw" of the cams 121 until the pressure sensing device of the control system 201 indicates that the desired compressive pressure is being applied. Thus, to increase the pressure, the control system 201 simply operates the motor 125 to rotate its output shaft 127 through a greater number of degrees to increase the throw of the cams 121 and thus increase dimension D2 of the housing 9. To decrease the compressive pressure, the control system 201 operates the motor 125 to rotate its output shaft 127 through a shorter segment of rotation, thereby decreasing the throw of the cams 121 to decrease dimension D2.”) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Angold to incorporate the teachings of Nardi and provide a means to operates a motor based on an output from a pressure sensor, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to adjust the system using additional feedback information from the pressure sensor. Regarding claim 11, modified Angold teaches the limitations of claim 10. Angold fails to explicitly teach operating the motor based on the output from the pressure sensor indicating an increase in pressure detected by the pressure sensor. However, Nardi teaches a method and system for a compressive device worn by a user that operates a motor based on output from a pressure sensor indicating an increase in pressure detected by the pressure sensor (see at least Fig. 4 and [0041]: “As illustrated in FIG. 4, the actuator 21 includes a pair of cam shafts 115 having cams 121 mounted at one end thereof, a prime mover comprising a reversible electric motor 125 (e.g., a small DC motor) having an output shaft 127, and a gear train, generally designated 131, connecting the output shaft of the motor to the two cam shafts.”; [0054]: “The control system 201 can make any necessary adjustment by varying the "throw" of the cams 121 until the pressure sensing device of the control system 201 indicates that the desired compressive pressure is being applied. Thus, to increase the pressure, the control system 201 simply operates the motor 125 to rotate its output shaft 127 through a greater number of degrees to increase the throw of the cams 121 and thus increase dimension D2 of the housing 9. To decrease the compressive pressure, the control system 201 operates the motor 125 to rotate its output shaft 127 through a shorter segment of rotation, thereby decreasing the throw of the cams 121 to decrease dimension D2.”) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Angold to incorporate the teachings of Nardi and provide a means to operates a motor based on output from a pressure sensor indicating an increase in pressure detected by the pressure sensor, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to adjust the system using additional feedback information from the pressure sensor. Regarding claim 12, modified Angold teaches the limitations of claim 11. Angold further teaches wherein the control circuitry is further configured to cause the actuator to brace the wearer from a fall (see at least Figs. 1-3 and [0013]: “Controller 105 controls the motion of exoskeleton 100 through actuators 125, 130, 135, 140 based on various signals received from sensors (not shown), as known in the art, so that the user is able to walk.”; [0020]: “In one embodiment, the user and exoskeleton 100 are protected during a fall by controlling exoskeleton 100 to resist the conversion of potential energy into kinetic energy by actuating the powered joints during descent (i.e., using actuators 125, 130, 135, 140 to cause pivotal movement at the joints). This actuation results in positive joint work, which slows the downward acceleration. In other words, exoskeleton 100 controls the fall in a manner analogous to an able-bodied person slowly squatting from a standing to sitting position on the ground rather than simply letting himself/herself fall.”) . Angold fails to explicitly teach that the actuator comprises a motor. However, Nardi teaches a method and system for a compressive device worn by a user that utilizes an actuator comprising a motor (see at least Fig. 4 and [0041]: “Referring to FIG. 4, the actuator 21 is shown to be a mechanical actuator contained entirely within the housing 9, i.e., within the space defined by the opposing housing members 15, 17...As illustrated in FIG. 4, the actuator 21 includes a pair of cam shafts 115 having cams 121 mounted at one end thereof, a prime mover comprising a reversible electric motor 125 (e.g., a small DC motor) having an output shaft 127, and a gear train, generally designated 131, connecting the output shaft of the motor to the two cam shafts.”; [0054]: “The control system 201 can make any necessary adjustment by varying the "throw" of the cams 121 until the pressure sensing device of the control system 201 indicates that the desired compressive pressure is being applied. Thus, to increase the pressure, the control system 201 simply operates the motor 125 to rotate its output shaft 127 through a greater number of degrees to increase the throw of the cams 121 and thus increase dimension D2 of the housing 9. To decrease the compressive pressure, the control system 201 operates the motor 125 to rotate its output shaft 127 through a shorter segment of rotation, thereby decreasing the throw of the cams 121 to decrease dimension D2.”) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Angold to incorporate the teachings of Nardi and provide an actuator with a motor, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a more precise and varying adjustments to the movements of the system. Regarding claim 13, modified Angold teaches the limitations of claim 12. Angold further teaches wherein the sensory cushioning system further comprises a mechanism configured to increase pressure within the interior volume (see at least [0015]: “This gas transfer increases the pressure inside the bag and causes it to expand to a larger volume. The inflated bag can be oriented between the device and an impact surface to absorb energy and spread the applied forces.”; [0017]: “Airbag module 200 mainly includes: a compressed air canister 205; a component (not shown) that mounts and secures the canister; a canister puncturing mechanism 210; a folded flexible bag 215 exposed to a component 220 that allows air to move between punctured canister 205 and bag 215; a trigger mechanism 225 that causes puncturing mechanism 210 to operate; mounting components 230, 231 to allow rigid and accurate connection to exoskeleton 100; a housing 235 to enclose and protect the various components; a flap or cover (not shown) that allows the airbag to expand outside of module and be positioned between the device and an impact surface; and a component 240 that covers trigger mechanism 225 to prevent undesired deployment.”) . Angold fails to explicitly teach a motorized pump configured to increase and decrease a pressure. However, Nardi teaches a method and system for a compressive device worn by a user that comprises a motorized pump configured to increase and decrease a pressure (see at least Figs. 1-4 and [0054]: “The control system 201 can make any necessary adjustment by varying the "throw" of the cams 121 until the pressure sensing device of the control system 201 indicates that the desired compressive pressure is being applied. Thus, to increase the pressure, the control system 201 simply operates the motor 125 to rotate its output shaft 127 through a greater number of degrees to increase the throw of the cams 121 and thus increase dimension D2 of the housing 9. To decrease the compressive pressure, the control system 201 operates the motor 125 to rotate its output shaft 127 through a shorter segment of rotation, thereby decreasing the throw of the cams 121 to decrease dimension D2.”) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Angold to incorporate the teachings of Nardi and provide a motorized pump configured to increase and decrease a pressure, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to adjust the airbag including increasing and decreasing the air pressure. Regarding claim 14, modified Angold teaches the limitations of claim 13. Angold further teaches wherein the control circuitry is further configured to cause the mechanism to adjust pressure in the interior volume based on the indication from the orientation sensor the wearer is falling (see at least [0016]: “In certain embodiments, airbags are provided on all sides of exoskeleton 100. This protects exoskeleton 100 well since falls can occur in any direction. In a preferred embodiment, small modular airbags are located at likely impact points, such as the head, pelvis, hips and knees. By using onboard sensors, controller 105 can detect a position and direction of exoskeleton 100 as it falls and selectively deploy the ideal airbags prior to impact. This strategy minimizes the amount of compressed air needed to protect the device and user, facilitates mounting of the airbags on the device without interfering with its primary function, and minimizes the cost and effort involved in replacing discharged airbags.”; [0018]: “A trigger actuator (not shown), such as a solenoid, is mounted on exoskeleton 100 so that, when provided the correct voltage or current, it overpowers a spring holding it in a retracted state and releases trigger mechanism 225. An additional sensor ensures that the trigger actuator is in the retracted state before allowing exoskeleton 100 to operate.”) . Angold fails to explicitly teach motorized pump to adjust pressure in the interior volume. However, Nardi teaches a method and system for a compressive device worn by a user that comprises a motorized pump to adjust pressure in an interior volume (see at least Figs. 1-4 and [0054]: “The control system 201 can make any necessary adjustment by varying the "throw" of the cams 121 until the pressure sensing device of the control system 201 indicates that the desired compressive pressure is being applied. Thus, to increase the pressure, the control system 201 simply operates the motor 125 to rotate its output shaft 127 through a greater number of degrees to increase the throw of the cams 121 and thus increase dimension D2 of the housing 9. To decrease the compressive pressure, the control system 201 operates the motor 125 to rotate its output shaft 127 through a shorter segment of rotation, thereby decreasing the throw of the cams 121 to decrease dimension D2.”) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Angold to incorporate the teachings of Nardi and provide a motorized pump to adjust pressure in an interior volume, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to adjust the airbag including increasing and decreasing the air pressure. Regarding claim 15, Angold teaches a method of making an enhanced mobility wearable article (see at least Figs. 1-3) , comprising: obtaining a rigid frame comprising two portions and forming a structure configured to be secured to a body part of a wearer (see at least Figs. 1-3 and [0013]: “Specifically, the gait orthotic device is in the form of a powered exoskeleton 100 that includes a controller 105 (or control system), a torso 110, a right leg 115 and a left leg 120…In use, an exoskeleton user would wear exoskeleton 100 with torso 110 coupled to the user's torso, right leg 115 coupled to the user's right leg and left leg 120 coupled to the user's left leg.”) ; securing a joint between two portions of the rigid frame, configured to allow the two portions to move with respect to one another about the joint (see at least Figs. 1-3 and [0013]: “Specifically, the gait orthotic device is in the form of a powered exoskeleton 100 that includes a controller 105 (or control system), a torso 110, a right leg 115 and a left leg 120…In use, an exoskeleton user would wear exoskeleton 100 with torso 110 coupled to the user's torso, right leg 115 coupled to the user's right leg and left leg 120 coupled to the user's left leg.”; [0020]: “In one embodiment, the user and exoskeleton 100 are protected during a fall by controlling exoskeleton 100 to resist the conversion of potential energy into kinetic energy by actuating the powered joints during descent (i.e., using actuators 125, 130, 135, 140 to cause pivotal movement at the joints). This actuation results in positive joint work, which slows the downward acceleration.”) ; operatively coupling an actuator to the rigid frame, the motor configured to cause the two portions to move with respect to one another about the joint (see at least Figs. 1-3 and [0020]: “In one embodiment, the user and exoskeleton 100 are protected during a fall by controlling exoskeleton 100 to resist the conversion of potential energy into kinetic energy by actuating the powered joints during descent (i.e., using actuators 125, 130, 135, 140 to cause pivotal movement at the joints). This actuation results in positive joint work, which slows the downward acceleration. In other words, exoskeleton 100 controls the fall in a manner analogous to an able-bodied person slowly squatting from a standing to sitting position on the ground rather than simply letting himself/herself fall.”) ; securing a sensory cushioning system, secured to the rigid frame and configured to interface with the body part of the wearer (see at least Figs. 1-3 and [0016]: “In certain embodiments, airbags are provided on all sides of exoskeleton 100.”; [0019]: “In one embodiment, the number of airbag modules 200 used to provide the desired level of protection can be reduced by also employing positioning methods that work in concert with the airbag cushioning methods. This strategy involves initiating and coordinating device joint work (i.e., pivotal movement at the joints) during a fall to increase the likelihood that the position of exoskeleton 100 at impact allows for optimal cushioning using the installed airbag modules 200.”) , comprising: an airbag forming an interior volume and a pocket, wherein the interior volume is substantially airtight (see at least Figs. 1-3 and [0015]: “For the purposes of this discussion, the term “airbag” refers to a flexible container (i.e., bag) that can be packaged in a small volume and selectively filled with a larger volume of gas, which is stored in a compressed state within a sealed container.”; [0017]: “Airbag module 200 mainly includes: a compressed air canister 205; a component (not shown) that mounts and secures the canister; a canister puncturing mechanism 210; a folded flexible bag 215 exposed to a component 220 that allows air to move between punctured canister 205 and bag 215; a trigger mechanism 225 that causes puncturing mechanism 210 to operate; mounting components 230, 231 to allow rigid and accurate connection to exoskeleton 100; a housing 235 to enclose and protect the various components; a flap or cover (not shown) that allows the airbag to expand outside of module and be positioned between the device and an impact surface; and a component 240 that covers trigger mechanism 225 to prevent undesired deployment.”) ; an internal assembly positioned within the pocket (see at least Fig. 2 and [0017]: “Airbag module 200 mainly includes: a compressed air canister 205; a component (not shown) that mounts and secures the canister; a canister puncturing mechanism 210; a folded flexible bag 215 exposed to a component 220 that allows air to move between punctured canister 205 and bag 215; a trigger mechanism 225 that causes puncturing mechanism 210 to operate; mounting components 230, 231 to allow rigid and accurate connection to exoskeleton 100; a housing 235 to enclose and protect the various components; a flap or cover (not shown) that allows the airbag to expand outside of module and be positioned between the device and an impact surface; and a component 240 that covers trigger mechanism 225 to prevent undesired deployment.”) ; an external electronic assembly positioned exterior to the airbag (see at least [0018]: “A trigger actuator (not shown), such as a solenoid, is mounted on exoskeleton 100 so that, when provided the correct voltage or current, it overpowers a spring holding it in a retracted state and releases trigger mechanism 225. An additional sensor ensures that the trigger actuator is in the retracted state before allowing exoskeleton 100 to operate.”) ; an orientation sensor coupled to at least one of the internal assembly and the external electronic assembly (see at least [0016]: “By using onboard sensors, controller 105 can detect a position and direction of exoskeleton 100 as it falls and selectively deploy the ideal airbags prior to impact.”) ; and an interconnect electrically coupling the internal assembly to the external electronic assembly (see at least [0018]: “When installed on exoskeleton 100, component 240 covers trigger mechanism 225 except for at an opening (shown but not separately labeled in FIG. 2) and sensors on exoskeleton 100 detect whether: mounting components 230, 231 of airbag module 200 are present and properly located; pins connecting module 200 to exoskeleton 100 are present; and trigger mechanism 225 is locked. A trigger actuator (not shown), such as a solenoid, is mounted on exoskeleton 100 so that, when provided the correct voltage or current, it overpowers a spring holding it in a retracted state and releases trigger mechanism 225. An additional sensor ensures that the trigger actuator is in the retracted state before allowing exoskeleton 100 to operate.”) ; and operatively coupling control circuitry to the sensory cushioning system and to the motor, wherein the control circuitry is configured to operate the motor based, at least in part, on an output from the orientation sensor (see at least Figs. 1-3 and [0013]: “Controller 105 controls the motion of exoskeleton 100 through actuators 125, 130, 135, 140 based on various signals received from sensors (not shown), as known in the art, so that the user is able to walk.”; [0020]: “In one embodiment, the user and exoskeleton 100 are protected during a fall by controlling exoskeleton 100 to resist the conversion of potential energy into kinetic energy by actuating the powered joints during descent (i.e., using actuators 125, 130, 135, 140 to cause pivotal movement at the joints). This actuation results in positive joint work, which slows the downward acceleration. In other words, exoskeleton 100 controls the fall in a manner analogous to an able-bodied person slowly squatting from a standing to sitting position on the ground rather than simply letting himself/herself fall.”; [0021]: “Exoskeleton 100 detects the fall using sensors (such as weight, tilt, orientation or inertia sensors not shown) and controller 105. In order to mitigate any damage caused by the fall, exoskeleton 100 employs at least one of the cushioning, positioning and joint work methods described above, the actions of which are shown in FIGS. 3B-D…Additionally, actuators 125, 130, 135, 140 work to both position exoskeleton 100 such that it is bag 215 that impacts the ground 300 (positioning methods) and also slow the fall by reducing kinetic energy through positive joint work (joint work methods).”) . Angold fails to explicitly teach that the actuator comprises a motor, an internal electronic assembly is positioned within the pocket and including a pressure sensor, and coupling the internal electronic assembly to the external electronic assembly. However, Nardi teaches a method and system for a compressive device worn by a user that utilizes an actuator comprising a motor (see at least Fig. 4 and [0041]: “Referring to FIG. 4, the actuator 21 is shown to be a mechanical actuator contained entirely within the housing 9, i.e., within the space defined by the opposing housing members 15, 17...As illustrated in FIG. 4, the actuator 21 includes a pair of cam shafts 115 having cams 121 mounted at one end thereof, a prime mover comprising a reversible electric motor 125 (e.g., a small DC motor) having an output shaft 127, and a gear train, generally designated 131, connecting the output shaft of the motor to the two cam shafts.”) , an internal electronic assembly is positioned within a pocket and including a pressure sensor (see at least [0034]: “As shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, this device 45 comprises a cushion 49 received in the pocket 39, the pocket being sized and shaped to hold both the housing 9 and the device 45 at a location between the housing 9 and the limb 3 of the patient.”; [0046]: “In one embodiment, this indicating device 227 senses a characteristic indicative of the actual pressure applied to the limb. By way of example, the device 227 may comprise a suitable circuit for monitoring the amount of current and/or voltage to the electric motor 125, which amount is proportional to the actual pressure applied to the limb. Alternatively, the pressure-indicating device may comprise one or more pressure sensors for sensing the pressure in one or more chambers in the cushion 49 (if a sealed bladder-like cushion is used), the sensed pressure being proportional to the actual pressure applied to the limb. In still another embodiment, the pressure-indicating device 227 may comprise one or more strain gauges on the band 27, the tension in the band being indicative of the actual pressure on the limb. Other devices for indicating the pressure applied to the limb may be used.”) , and coupling the internal electronic assembly to an external electronic assembly (see at least [0061]: “FIG. 11 illustrates an exemplary integrated control system, generally designated 401, for controlling the operation of two or more modules 321 when they are placed on the compressive unit 309. In this embodiment, the compressive unit 309 has three compressive sections or zones CZ1, CZ2 and CZ3 corresponding to different locations on the limb (e.g., ankle, calf and lower thigh), but it will be understood that the number of zones can vary…Alternatively, the sensing elements 409 can be electrical contacts on the unit 309 which mate with electrical contacts on the modules 321 when the modules are placed in position on the unit 309. Other sensing elements can be used without departing from the scope of this invention.”) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Angold to incorporate the teachings of Nardi and provide a motor, an internal electronic assembly positioned within a pocket and including a pressure sensor, and coupling the internal electronic assembly to an external electronic assembly, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to allow for finer adjustments including increasing and decreasing the air pressure in the airbag and for the airbag to provide cushion for the electronics. Regarding claim 16, modified Angold teaches the limitations of claim 15. Angold further teaches wherein the control circuitry is further configured to operate the actuator based on an indication from the orientation sensor that the wearer is falling (see at least Figs. 1-3 and [0013]: “Controller 105 controls the motion of exoskeleton 100 through actuators 125, 130, 135, 140 based on various signals received from sensors (not shown), as known in the art, so that the user is able to walk.”; [0020]: “In one embodiment, the user and exoskeleton 100 are protected during a fall by controlling exoskeleton 100 to resist the conversion of potential energy into kinetic energy by actuating the powered joints during descent (i.e., using actuators 125, 130, 135, 140 to cause pivotal movement at the joints). This actuation results in positive joint work, which slows the downward acceleration. In other words, exoskeleton 100 controls the fall in a manner analogous to an able-bodied person slowly squatting from a standing to sitting position on the ground rather than simply letting himself/herself fall.”; [0021]: “Exoskeleton 100 detects the fall using sensors (such as weight, tilt, orientation or inertia sensors not shown) and controller 105. In order to mitigate any damage caused by the fall, exoskeleton 100 employs at least one of the cushioning, positioning and joint work methods described above, the actions of which are shown in FIGS. 3B-D…Additionally, actuators 125, 130, 135, 140 work to both position exoskeleton 100 such that it is bag 215 that impacts the ground 300 (positioning methods) and also slow the fall by reducing kinetic energy through positive joint work (joint work methods).”) . Regarding claim 17, modified Angold teaches the limitations of claim 16. Angold fails to explicitly teach operating the motor based on an output from the pressure sensor. However, Nardi teaches a method and system for a compressive device worn by a user that operates a motor based on an output from a pressure sensor (see at least Fig. 4 and [0041]: “As illustrated in FIG. 4, the actuator 21 includes a pair of cam shafts 115 having cams 121 mounted at one end thereof, a prime mover comprising a reversible electric motor 125 (e.g., a small DC motor) having an output shaft 127, and a gear train, generally designated 131, connecting the output shaft of the motor to the two cam shafts.”; [0054]: “The control system 201 can make any necessary adjustment by varying the "throw" of the cams 121 until the pressure sensing device of the control system 201 indicates that the desired compressive pressure is being applied. Thus, to increase the pressure, the control system 201 simply operates the motor 125 to rotate its output shaft 127 through a greater number of degrees to increase the throw of the cams 121 and thus increase dimension D2 of the housing 9. To decrease the compressive pressure, the control system 201 operates the motor 125 to rotate its output shaft 127 through a shorter segment of rotation, thereby decreasing the throw of the cams 121 to decrease dimension D2.”) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Angold to incorporate the teachings of Nardi and provide a means to operates a motor based on an output from a pressure sensor, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to adjust the system using additional feedback information from the pressure sensor. Regarding claim 18, modified Angold teaches the limitations of claim 17. Angold fails to explicitly teach operate the motor based on the output from the pressure sensor indicating an increase in pressure detected by the pressure sensor. However, Nardi teaches a method and system for a compressive device worn by a user that operates a motor based on output from a pressure sensor indicating an increase in pressure detected by the pressure sensor (see at least Fig. 4 and [0041]: “As illustrated in FIG. 4, the actuator 21 includes a pair of cam shafts 115 having cams 121 mounted at one end thereof, a prime mover comprising a reversible electric motor 125 (e.g., a small DC motor) having an output shaft 127, and a gear train, generally designated 131, connecting the output shaft of the motor to the two cam shafts.”; [0054]: “The control system 201 can make any necessary adjustment by varying the "throw" of the cams 121 until the pressure sensing device of the control system 201 indicates that the desired compressive pressure is being applied. Thus, to increase the pressure, the control system 201 simply operates the motor 125 to rotate its output shaft 127 through a greater number of degrees to increase the throw of the cams 121 and thus increase dimension D2 of the housing 9. To decrease the compressive pressure, the control system 201 operates the motor 125 to rotate its output shaft 127 through a shorter segment of rotation, thereby decreasing the throw of the cams 121 to decrease dimension D2.”) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Angold to incorporate the teachings of Nardi and provide a means to operates a motor based on output from a pressure sensor indicating an increase in pressure detected by the pressure sensor, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to adjust the system using additional feedback information from the pressure sensor. Regarding claim 19, modified Angold teaches the limitations of claim 18. Angold further teaches wherein the control circuitry is further configured to cause the actuator to brace the wearer from a fall (see at least Figs. 1-3 and [0013]: “Controller 105 controls the motion of exoskeleton 100 through actuators 125, 130, 135, 140 based on various signals received from sensors (not shown), as known in the art, so that the user is able to walk.”; [0020]: “In one embodiment, the user and exoskeleton 100 are protected during a fall by controlling exoskeleton 100 to resist the conversion of potential energy into kinetic energy by actuating the powered joints during descent (i.e., using actuators 125, 130, 135, 140 to cause pivotal movement at the joints). This actuation results in positive joint work, which slows the downward acceleration. In other words, exoskeleton 100 controls the fall in a manner analogous to an able-bodied person slowly squatting from a standing to sitting position on the ground rather than simply letting himself/herself fall.”) . Angold fails to explicitly teach that the actuator comprises a motor. However, Nardi teaches a method and system for a compressive device worn by a user that utilizes an actuator comprising a motor (see at least Fig. 4 and [0041]: “Referring to FIG. 4, the actuator 21 is shown to be a mechanical actuator contained entirely within the housing 9, i.e., within the space defined by the opposing housing members 15, 17...As illustrated in FIG. 4, the actuator 21 includes a pair of cam shafts 115 having cams 121 mounted at one end thereof, a prime mover comprising a reversible electric motor 125 (e.g., a small DC motor) having an output shaft 127, and a gear train, generally designated 131, connecting the output shaft of the motor to the two cam shafts.”; [0054]: “The control system 201 can make any necessary adjustment by varying the "throw" of the cams 121 until the pressure sensing device of the control system 201 indicates that the desired compressive pressure is being applied. Thus, to increase the pressure, the control system 201 simply operates the motor 125 to rotate its output shaft 127 through a greater number of degrees to increase the throw of the cams 121 and thus increase dimension D2 of the housing 9. To decrease the compressive pressure, the control system 201 operates the motor 125 to rotate its output shaft 127 through a shorter segment of rotation, thereby decreasing the throw of the cams 121 to decrease dimension D2.”) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Angold to incorporate the teachings of Nardi and provide an actuator with a motor, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a more precise and varying adjustments to the movements of the system. Regarding claim 20, modified Angold teaches the limitations of claim 19. Angold further teaches wherein the sensory cushioning system further comprises a mechanism configured to increase a pressure within the interior volume (see at least [0015]: “This gas transfer increases the pressure inside the bag and causes it to expand to a larger volume. The inflated bag can be oriented between the device and an impact surface to absorb energy and spread the applied forces.”; [0017]: “Airbag module 200 mainly includes: a compressed air canister 205; a component (not shown) that mounts and secures the canister; a canister puncturing mechanism 210; a folded flexible bag 215 exposed to a component 220 that allows air to move between punctured canister 205 and bag 215; a trigger mechanism 225 that causes puncturing mechanism 210 to operate; mounting components 230, 231 to allow rigid and accurate connection to exoskeleton 100; a housing 235 to enclose and protect the various components; a flap or cover (not shown) that allows the airbag to expand outside of module and be positioned between the device and an impact surface; and a component 240 that covers trigger mechanism 225 to prevent undesired deployment.”) . Angold fails to explicitly teach a motorized pump configured to increase and decrease a pressure. However, Nardi teaches a method and system for a compressive device worn by a user that comprises a motorized pump configured to increase and decrease a pressure (see at least Figs. 1-4 and [0054]: “The control system 201 can make any necessary adjustment by varying the "throw" of the cams 121 until the pressure sensing device of the control system 201 indicates that the desired compressive pressure is being applied. Thus, to increase the pressure, the control system 201 simply operates the motor 125 to rotate its output shaft 127 through a greater number of degrees to increase the throw of the cams 121 and thus increase dimension D2 of the housing 9. To decrease the compressive pressure, the control system 201 operates the motor 125 to rotate its output shaft 127 through a shorter segment of rotation, thereby decreasing the throw of the cams 121 to decrease dimension D2.”) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Angold to incorporate the teachings of Nardi and provide a motorized pump configured to increase and decrease a pressure, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to adjust the airbag including increasing and decreasing the air pressure . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yagi et al. (US 20140212243) teaches a system and method for a power assisting robotic device that attaches to a user’s body and comprises motors and orientation sensors to detect the user’s motion. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TIEN MINH LE whose telephone number is (571)272-3903. The examiner can normally be reached Monday to Friday (8:30am-5:30pm eastern time). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Khoi Tran can be reached on (571)272-6919. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /T.M.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3656 /KHOI H TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656 Application/Control Number: 19/055,024 Page 2 Art Unit: 3656 Application/Control Number: 19/055,024 Page 3 Art Unit: 3656 Application/Control Number: 19/055,024 Page 4 Art Unit: 3656