Specification
The objection to the title is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment.
Claim Objections
Claims 5-6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding Claim 5, the term “hemisphere bearing member” at line 3 should be changed to the term “hemispherical bearing member” in order to remain consistent with the preceding claim language.
Regarding Claim 6, the term “hemisphere bearing member” at line 20 should be changed to the term “hemispherical bearing member” in order to remain consistent with the preceding claim language.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, and 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chines Patent Number BEIJING OPERA AAUDIO CO., LTD CN 201117249 Y (hereinafter BEIJING) in view of Sliski U.S. Patent Number US4455641A(hereinafter Sliski).
The rejection is based on the English translation of CN201117249Y provided in CN201117249Y _ENG. pdf (Google machine translation).
Regarding Claim 1, BEIJING teaches a tone arm system for engaging a record on a turntable, comprising: a pivotable tone arm operable on all axes (para. [0003] i.e., tone arm ... the freedom degree support ); a hemispherical bearing (Fig. 1, i.e., 7; para. [0059] i.e., high viscosity damping oil 7) coupled to the pivotable tone arm (Fig. 1 i.e., 1; para. [0059] i.e., phonograph tone arm 1), the hemispherical bearing comprising an upper hemispherical bearing member (Fig. 1 i.e., 3; para. [0059] i.e., circular arc spherical surface) and a socket member (Fig. 1, i.e., 4; para. [0003] i.e., oil cup), wherein the upper hemispherical bearing member is unsupported by mechanical contact and supported via the socket member (Fig. 1 i.e., 4; para. [0052] i.e., immersed in the high viscosity damping oil of lubricating cup), so as to move on all axes and without a mechanical bearing contact (para [0053] i.e., … the degree of freedom of tone arm ...overcome the contact of traditional bearing or needle point single-point type) but remains silent as to the bearing is an air bearing, wherein the upper hemispherical bearing member is supported by a pressurized air film; the bearing is to provide a virtually frictionless bearing that allows the tone arm to move on all axes, thereby enabling a stylus and cartridge coupled to the tone arm that converts vibrations in a record groove to electrical signals, to transmit said signals without unwanted bearing noises impacting upon the sound quality of the transmission.
The teaching of BEIJING regarding the hemispherical bearing member also applies to the corresponding element.
In an analogous art, Sliski teaches the bearing is an air bearing (Col. 3 lines 50-55 i.e., compressed air ), wherein the upper hemispherical bearing member is supported by a pressurized air film (Col. 3 lines 50-54 i.e., compressed air that supports the tone arm...), the bearing is to provide a virtually frictionless bearing that allows the tone arm to move on all axes, thereby enabling a stylus and cartridge coupled to the tone arm that converts vibrations in a record groove to electrical signals, to transmit said signals without unwanted bearing noises impacting upon the sound quality of the transmission (Col. 5 lines 25-35 i.e., ...frictionless manner over the guide way in response to the record groove acting on the stylus. Further, the tone arm and carriage pivot biaxially…; Col. 6 lines 50-57 i.e., ...high fidelity of tone and surprising clarity of sound reproduction.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the air bearing, as taught by Sliski, instead of the high viscosity damping oil, into a tone arm system for engaging a record on a turntable to achieve the claimed invention. As disclosed in Reference Sliski, the motivation for the combination would be to provide frictionless operation (Sliski, Col. 5 lines 25-40), which aligns with the same solution that Applicant seeks to solve.
Regarding Claim 2, BEIJING as modified by Sliski teaches system of claim 1 as discussed above.
The teaching of BEIJING regarding the hemispherical bearing member recited in claim 1 also applies to the corresponding element recited in claim 2. BEIJING further teaches said upper hemispherical member comprises an outer surface (Fig. 1 i.e., the outer surface of 3; para. [0059] i.e., circular arc spherical surface); and said socket member comprises an inner surface geometrically matched with said outer surface of the upper hemispherical member in a ball and socket configuration (Fig. 1 i.e., the inner surface of 4; para. [0052] i.e., immersed in the high viscosity damping oil of lubricating cup); wherein said socket member includes a cavity for conveying a regulated fluid pressure for providing an air film interface between the upper hemispherical member outer surface and said socket member inner surface (Fig. 1, the portion of 7; para. [0007] i.e., high viscosity damping oil 7).
wherein said upper hemispherical member is coupled to an underside of the tone arm (Fig. 1 i.e., 1; para. [0059] i.e., phonograph tone arm 1 ).
Regarding Claim 4, BEIJING as modified by Sliski teaches system of claim 2 as discussed above. BEIJING further teaches the interface is configured as a spherical curve (Fig. 1 i.e., 3; para. [0059] i.e., circular arc spherical surface).
Regarding Claim 5, BEIJING teaches system of claim 2 as discussed above but remains silent as to air flows out from the interface between the hemisphere curvature and socket curvature, whereby the pressurized air film levitates the upper hemisphere bearing member and tone arm.
In an analogous art, Sliski teaches air flows out from the interface between the hemisphere curvature and socket curvature, whereby the pressurized air film levitates the upper hemisphere bearing member and tone arm (Col. 2 lines 28-41 i.e., sleeve to hover over said guideway in spaced; Col. 2 lines 59-61 i.e., By "hover over'' is meant (a partial sleeve which is) spaced above or spaced at least partially around a guide way.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to corporate the air bearing, as taught by Sliski, into a tone arm system for engaging a record on a turntable to achieve the claimed invention. As disclosed in Reference Sliski, the motivation for the combination would be to provide frictionless operation (Sliski, Col. 5 lines 25-40), which aligns with the same solution that Applicant seeks to solve.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BEIJING in view of Sliski as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of William et al. U.S. Patent Number US 2,833,867 (hereinafter William) and NPL Musical Surroundings https://musicalsurroundings.com/products/clearaudio-satisfy-cf-carbon-fiber-tonearm, timestamp September 24, 2020 (hereinafter Musical Surroundings).
Regarding Claim 3, BEIJING as modified by Sliski teaches system of claim 1 as discussed above but remains silent as to the tone arm comprises a cross-section D-shaped carbon fiber tube.
In an analogous art, William teaches the tone arm comprises a cross-section D-shaped (Fig. 2; Col. 2 lines 64-72 and Col. 3 lines 1-8 i.e., arm).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the tone arm design, as taught by William, to achieve the claimed invention (with the flat-side of the tonearm facing the record, akin to the tonearm in the Applicant's disclosure ) so that the configuration may contribute to the rigidity of the tone arm while retaining the its lightweight structure(William, Col. 2 lines 64-72 and Col. 3 lines 1-8).
In an analogous art, Musical Surroundings teaches the tone arm comprises a carbon fiber tube (ABOUT i.e., A carbon fiber arm tube is exceptionally light and rigid, reducing resonance for enhanced clarity.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a carbon fiber tube, as taught by Musical Surroundings, into a tone arm system for engaging a record on a turntable in order to provide a lightweight material, thereby reducing resonance and enhanced clarity (Musical Surroundings, ABOUT).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BEIJING in view of Sliski as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view Graham U.S. Patent Publication Number US20060203695(hereinafter Graham).
Regarding Claim 7, BEIJING as modified by Sliski teaches system of claim 2 as discussed above but remains silent as to a head shell coupled to an end of the tone arm for mounting a cartridge and stylus; a balance weight attached to the tone arm, the balance weight being adjustable along a threaded spindle to regulate downforce on the stylus for accurate tracking of a record; a balance weight adjustment mechanism configured to move the balance weight along the threaded spindle for fine-tuning the downforce; an azimuth adjustment mechanism comprising an azimuth weight, the azimuth weight being configured to adjust the azimuth angle of the tone arm to ensure proper alignment of the stylus; wherein movement of the balance weight along the threaded spindle adjusts the downforce on the stylus and the tilt of the tone arm to set the azimuth angle.
In an analogous art, Graham teaches a tone arm system, further comprising: a head shell coupled to an end of the tone arm for mounting a cartridge and stylus (para. [0023] i.e., The head shell 38 contains the phonograph cartridge 42 and stylus.) ; a balance weight attached to the tone arm (Fig. 5, i.e., 70; para. [0027] i.e., …pivoting arm 62 is a calibrated rod 68 containing a counterweight 70.), the balance weight being adjustable along a threaded spindle (para. [0015] i.e., The counterweight force is adjusted by means of sliding the counterweight along a calibrated rod.; to regulate downforce on the stylus for accurate tracking of a record (para [0027] i.e., …pivoting arm 62 is a calibrated rod 68 containing a counterweight 70.); a balance weight adjustment mechanism configured to move the balance weight along the threaded spindle for fine-tuning the downforce (para. [0036] i.e., The weight will apply slightly more force as the arm sweeps 78 toward the center than when the arm is near the outer edge of the phonograph record. … This keeps the magnetic circuit of the phonograph cartridge in the preferred center or neutral position for optimal tracking and signal generation.); an azimuth adjustment mechanism comprising an azimuth weight, the azimuth weight being configured to adjust the azimuth angle of the tone arm to ensure proper alignment of the stylus; (para. [0036] i.e., This keeps the magnetic circuit of the phonograph cartridge in the preferred center or neutral position for optimal tracking and signal generation) wherein movement of the balance weight along the threaded spindle adjusts the downforce on the stylus and the tilt of the tone arm to set the azimuth angle (para [0037] i.e., … the system provides a rigid platform in the rotational “azimuth” mode resulting…this system can be easily be adjusted, precise and stable azimuth adjustment of the tone arm is possible).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the neutral balance in Graham to the tone arm to achieve the claimed invention in order to provide stable balance by adjustment of the counterweights (Graham, para. 10).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BEIJING in view of Sliski and Graham as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view William, Graham U.S. Patent Publication Number US4587646A (hereinafter ‘646), and NPL Air Force 10 TechDAS YouTube, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8nqcoaGy5oA&t=997s timestamp Feb 13, 2024, (hereinafter Air Force 10).
Regarding Claim 8, BEIJING as modified by Sliski and Graham teaches the system of claim 7 but remains silent as to the pivotable tone arm comprising a cross-section D-shaped carbon fiber tube; a tension resonance rod contained within the tube; a rotatable adjustment knob disposed on the tube and operatively connected to a threaded spindle for adjusting the tension in the tone arm; a tension rod plug positioned to clamp the tone arm between the head shell and the tension rod plug; a spring-loaded mechanism operatively coupled to the adjustment knob, enabling variable tension in the tone arm; wherein rotation of the adjustment knob alters the tension in the tone arm, thereby adjusting the resonance of the tone arm to reduce unwanted vibrations during playback and enable a user to tune the resonance to optimize sound quality.
In an analogous art, William teaches the tone arm comprises a cross-section D-shaped (Fig. 2; Col. 2 lines 64-72 and Col. 3 lines 1-8 i.e., arm).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the tone arm design, as taught by William, to achieve the claimed invention (with the flat-side of the tonearm facing the record, akin to the tonearm in the Applicant's disclosure ) so that the configuration may contribute to the rigidity of the tone arm while retaining the its lightweight structure(William, Col. 2 lines 64-72 and Col. 3 lines 1-8).
In an analogous art, ‘646 teaches a tension resonance rod contained within the tube (Fig. 4, i.e., 20; Col. 7 lines 51-60 i.e., Tubular member 20 is formed with an outer diameter which is less than the inner diameter of tubular member 18…maintaining the tubular members … 20 … suppressing resonances ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply a tension resonance rod in ‘646 to a tone arm system to achieve the claimed invention in order to provide proper concentric alignment as well as suppressing resonances from being transmitted through arm (‘646, Col. 7 lines 49-63).
In an analogous art, Air Force 10 teaches the pivotable tone arm comprising a carbon fiber tube (YouTube at 24:44-25:08 carbon fibers; In the YouTube presentation, the presenter explained that the tonearm is made of carbon fiber.); a rotatable adjustment knob disposed on the tube and operatively connected to a threaded spindle for adjusting the tension in the tone arm (YouTube at 26:10-27:11 adjustment; In the YouTube presentation, the presenter explained the tracking force adjustment with spring pressure and a knob is visible in the enlarged image.); a tension rod plug positioned to clamp the tone arm between the head shell and the tension rod plug (YouTube at 27:03; In the YouTube presentation, the enlarged image on the left shows a tension rod plug that clamps a tonearm between a cartridge and stylus and the tension rod plug.); a spring-loaded mechanism operatively coupled to the adjustment knob, enabling variable tension in the tone arm (YouTube at 26:10-27:11 adjustment; In the YouTube presentation, the presenter explained the tracking force adjustment with spring pressure and a knob is visible in the enlarged image.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the tonearm structure as taught by Air Force 10 into a tonearm system in order to enable fine tuning of tonearm tracking force and to stabilize tonearm motion.
‘646 further teaches rotation of the adjustment knob alters the tension in the tone arm, thereby adjusting the resonance of the tone arm to reduce unwanted vibrations during playback and enable a user to tune the resonance to optimize sound quality (Col. 5 lines 53-63 i.e., By adjusting the degree of compression of the deformable plugs, it becomes possible to alter or tune the resonance… ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply a tension resonance rod in ‘646 to a tone arm system to achieve the claimed invention in order to provide proper concentric alignment as well as suppressing resonances from being transmitted through arm (‘646, Col. 7 lines 49-63).
Claim(s) 9, 13, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BEIJING in view of Sliski, and further in view of NPL Kuzma manual, https://www.kuzma.si/media/uploads/files/Theory%20behind%20Air%20line.pdf, timestamp March 13, 2022 (hereinafter Kuzma).
Regarding Claim 9, BEIJING teaches a phonograph system comprising: a turntable for receiving a record (para. [0049] i.e., phonograph recording plays); a tone arm assembly operatively associated with the turntable, the tone arm assembly including a tone arm (Fig. 1 i.e., 1; para. [0059] i.e., phonograph tone arm 1) and a hemispherical bearing (Fig. 1, i.e., 7; para. [0059] i.e., high viscosity damping oil 7), wherein the hemispherical bearing comprises an upper hemispherical bearing member (Fig. 1 i.e., 3; para. [0059] i.e., circular arc spherical surface) and a socket member (Fig. 1, i.e., 4; para. [0003] i.e., oil cup), the upper hemispherical bearing member is unsupported by mechanical contact and supported via the socket member (Fig. 1 i.e., 4; para. [0052] i.e., immersed in the high viscosity damping oil of lubricating cup) but remains silent as to the bearing is an air bearing, the upper hemispherical bearing member is supported by a pressurized air film; a pump member comprising an air compressor, the pump member configured to supply low-flow, low-pressure air via a conveyance tube to the hemispherical air bearing; wherein the air supplied to the hemispherical air bearing allows the upper hemispherical bearing member and the tone arm to levitate on a thin film of air across multiple axes, enabling a cartridge and stylus attached to an end of the tone arm to track the groove of the record with minimal resistance, thereby enhancing sound quality by reproducing the record's impressions in a transmission of vibrations to the audio system; and wherein the pump member includes a muffling chamber for reducing pulse noise from the air compressor before the air is delivered to the tone arm assembly.
The teaching of BEIJING regarding the hemispherical bearing member also applies to the corresponding element.
In an analogous art, Sliski teaches the bearing is an air bearing (Col. 3 lines 50-55 i.e., compressed air ) and the upper hemispherical bearing member is supported by a pressurized air film (Col. 3 lines 50-54 i.e., compressed air that supports the tone arm...); a pump member comprising an air compressor, the pump member configured to supply low-flow, low-pressure air via a conveyance tube to the hemispherical air bearing (Col. 6 lines 21-29 i.e., small pump); and wherein the air supplied to the hemispherical air bearing allows the upper hemispherical bearing member and the tone arm to levitate on a thin film of air across multiple axes (Col. 2 lines 28-41 i.e., sleeve to hover over said guideway in spaced; Col. 2 lines 59-61 i.e., By "hover over'' is meant (a partial sleeve which is) spaced above or spaced at least partially around a guide way.), enabling a cartridge and stylus attached to an end of the tone arm to track the groove of the record with minimal resistance, thereby enhancing sound quality by reproducing the record's impressions in a transmission of vibrations to the audio system (Col. 5 lines 25-35 i.e., ...frictionless manner over the guide way in response to the record groove acting on the stylus. Further, the tone arm and carriage pivot biaxially…; Col. 6 lines 50-57 i.e., ...high fidelity of tone and surprising clarity of sound reproduction.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the air bearing, as taught by Sliski, instead of the high viscosity damping oil, into a tone arm system for engaging a record on a turntable to achieve the claimed invention. As disclosed in Reference Sliski, the motivation for the combination would be to provide frictionless operation (Sliski, Col. 5 lines 25-40), which aligns with the same solution that Applicant seeks to solve.
In an analogous art, Kuzma teaches the pump member includes a muffling chamber for reducing pulse noise from the air compressor before the air is delivered to the tone arm assembly (Page. 9, para. 5 i.e., Air compressors are,… very noisy machines…This air flows out of the compressor in pulses. To achieve steady airflow, we need to store air in a reservoir. On the outlet of the reservoir is a pressure valve, which regulates output pressure. The reservoir smooths pressure pulses … ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a reservoir in Kuzma into a tone arm system to achieve the claimed invention in order to provide smooth pressure pulses like a capacitor in electricity (page 9, para. 5).
Regarding Claim 13, BEIJING as modified by Sliski and Kuzma teaches the phonograph system of claim 9 as discussed above. BEIJING further teaches the hemispherical air bearing comprises: said upper hemispherical member having a curved outer surface (Fig. 1 i.e., the outer surface of 3; para. [0059] i.e., circular arc spherical surface); and said socket member having a curved inner surface geometrically matched with the outer surface of the upper hemispherical member in a ball and socket configuration (Fig. 1 i.e., the inner surface of 4; para. [0052] i.e., immersed in the high viscosity damping oil of lubricating cup); wherein the socket member includes a cavity for conveying a regulated fluid pressure for providing an air film interface between the upper hemispherical member outer surface and said socket member inner surface (Fig. 1, the portion of 7; para. [0007] i.e., high viscosity damping oil 7), wherein the upper hemispherical member is coupled to an underside of the tone arm(Fig. 1 i.e., 1; para. [0059] i.e., phonograph tone arm 1 ).
Regarding Claim 15, BEIJING as modified by Sliski and Kuzma teaches the phonograph system of claim 9 as discussed above. BEIJING further teaches the interface is configured as a spherical curve (Fig. 1 i.e., 3; para. [0059] i.e., circular arc spherical surface).
Regarding Claim 16, BEIJING as modified by Sliski and Kuzma teaches the phonograph system of claim 9 as discussed above but remains silent air flows out from the interface between the hemisphere curvature and socket curvature, whereby the thin film of air levitates the upper hemisphere bearing member and tone arm.
In an analogous art, Sliski teaches air flows out from the interface between the hemisphere curvature and socket curvature, whereby the thin film of air levitates the upper hemisphere bearing member and tone arm (Col. 2 lines 28-41 i.e., sleeve to hover over said guideway in spaced; Col. 2 lines 59-61 i.e., By "hover over'' is meant (a partial sleeve which is) spaced above or spaced at least partially around a guide way.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the air bearing, as taught by Sliski, instead of the high viscosity damping oil, into a tone arm system for engaging a record on a turntable to achieve the claimed invention. As disclosed in Reference Sliski, the motivation for the combination would be to provide frictionless operation (Sliski, Col. 5 lines 25-40), which aligns with the same solution that Applicant seeks to solve.
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BEIJING in view of Sliski and Kuzma as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of NPL LencoHeaven Forum, https://www.lencoheaven.net/forum/index.php?topic=2805.105 , timestamp February 06, 2012 (hereinafter LencoHeaven).
Regarding Claim 11, BEIJING as modified by Sliski and Kuzma teaches the phonograph system of claim 9 as discussed above but remains silent as to the muffling chamber comprises a first dampening tank and a second dampening tank in fluid communication, the first and second tanks operable to reduce the pulsing of the air supply before reaching the tone arm assembly.
In an analogous art, LencoHeaven teaches the muffling chamber comprises a first dampening tank and a second dampening tank in fluid communication, the first and second tanks operable to reduce the pulsing of the air supply before reaching the tone arm assembly(Comment 109; The comment 109 explains that one or two surge tanks are used to smooth pulsations before air is delivered to the tonearm).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate surge tanks in LencoHeaven into a tone arm system to achieve the claimed invention in order to provide smooth pulsations.
Regarding Claim 12, BEIJING as modified by Sliski and Kuzma teaches the phonograph system of claim 9 as discussed above but remains silent as to said pump member further comprises a pressure adjustment member operable to control the air pressure downstream of said first and second dampening tanks and prior to being conveyed to said tone arm assembly for adjusting the levitation height of the tone arm.
In an analogous art, LencoHeaven teaches said pump member further comprises a pressure adjustment member operable to control the air pressure downstream of said first and second dampening tanks and prior to being conveyed to said tone arm assembly for adjusting the levitation height of the tone arm (Comment 109; The comment 109 explains that one or two surge tanks are used to smooth pulsations and the air regulator valve should be between the pump and the big tank.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try the various locations of a pressure adjustment member in an attempt to achieve an improved valve arrangement, as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. In turn, because a pressure adjustment member operable to control the air pressure downstream of said first and second dampening tanks as claimed have the properties predicted by the prior art, it would have been obvious to make the valve arrangement as claimed.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BEIJING in view of Sliski and Kuzma as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of William and Musical Surroundings.
Regarding Claim 14, BEIJING as modified by Sliski and Kuzma teaches the phonograph system of claim 9 as discussed above but remains silent as to the tone arm comprises a cross- section D-shaped carbon fiber tube.
In an analogous art, William teaches the tone arm comprises a cross-section D-shaped (Fig. 2; Col. 2 lines 64-72 and Col. 3 lines 1-8 i.e., arm).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the tone arm design, as taught by William, to achieve the claimed invention (with the flat-side of the tonearm facing the record, akin to the tonearm in the Applicant's disclosure ) so that the configuration may contribute to the rigidity of the tone arm while retaining the its lightweight structure(William, Col. 2 lines 64-72 and Col. 3 lines 1-8).
In an analogous art, Musical Surroundings teaches the tone arm comprises a carbon fiber tube (ABOUT i.e., A carbon fiber arm tube is exceptionally light and rigid, reducing resonance for enhanced clarity.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a carbon fiber tube, as taught by Musical Surroundings, into a tone arm system for engaging a record on a turntable in order to provide a lightweight material, thereby reducing resonance and enhanced clarity (Musical Surroundings, ABOUT).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is allowed. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art relevant to Applicant’s claimed invention is Chines Patent Number BEIJING OPERA AAUDIO CO., LTD CN 201117249 Y (hereinafter BEIJING) which discloses a phonograph. BEIJING, however, fails to teach or render obvious a tone arm system for engaging a record on a turntable comprising an anti-skate mechanism for controlling rotational force on said tone arm, comprising: a first set of magnets attached to an underside of the upper hemisphere member, the first set of magnets being arranged parallel to each other along a first plane; a second set of magnets arranged parallel to each other and oriented perpendicularly to the first set of magnets along a second plane; one or more carriers for holding the second set of magnets in a movable configuration; a rack with guide sleeves for receiving and guiding the carriers of the second set of magnets; an adjustment mechanism operatively connected to the one or more carriers for raising and lowering the second set of magnets relative to the first set of magnets; wherein adjustment of the second set of magnets relative to the first set alters the magnetic interaction between the first and second sets of magnets, thereby controllably adjusting the rotational force applied to the upper hemisphere member to counteract an external skating force normally encountered when playing a record.
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 7-9, and 11-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/MICHELLE J. KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2688
/STEVEN LIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2688