Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/17/2025 is being
considered by the examiner. A signed IDS is hereby attached.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 9, 13, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Air Force 10 TechDAS YouTube, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8nqcoaGy5oA&t=997s timestamp Feb 13, 2024, (hereinafter Air Force 10) in view of Bachman US2676806A U.S. Patent Number(hereinafter Bachman).
Regarding Claim 1, Air Force 10 discloses a tone arm system for engaging a record on a turntable (YouTube at 1:59 -2:16; In the YouTube presentation, a turntable and tonearm assembly are visible, and the presenter explains the tonearm's movement.), comprising: a pivotable tone arm operable on all axes (YouTube at 1:59 -2:16; In the YouTube presentation, a turntable and tonearm assembly are visible, and the presenter explains the tonearm's movement.); air bearing (YouTube at 20:30-21:20 air bearing; In the YouTube presentation, the presenter explained that the vertical bearing uses a tungsten pivot and a ceramic ball, while the horizontal bearing is an air bearing. The presenter further stated that the tonearm's main body floats on an approximately 15 micrometer-thick layer of air, which enables precise and smooth tonearm movement because there is essentially no friction. ), wherein the upper bearing member is configured to ride on a thin film of air (YouTube at 20:30-21:20 15 micrometer-thick layer of air ; In the YouTube presentation, the presenter explained that the vertical bearing uses a tungsten pivot and a ceramic ball, while the horizontal bearing is an air bearing. The presenter further stated that the tonearm's main body floats on an approximately 15 micrometer-thick layer of air, which enables precise and smooth tonearm movement because there is essentially no friction. ) within the member to provide a virtually frictionless bearing that allows the tone arm to move on all axes (YouTube at 20:30-21:20 15 no friction ; In the YouTube presentation, the presenter explained that the vertical bearing uses a tungsten pivot and a ceramic ball, while the horizontal bearing is an air bearing. The presenter further stated that the tonearm's main body floats on an approximately 15 micrometer-thick layer of air, which enables precise and smooth tonearm movement because there is essentially no friction.), thereby enabling a stylus and cartridge coupled to the tone arm that converts vibrations in a record groove to electrical signals, to transmit said signals without unwanted bearing noises impacting upon the sound quality of the transmission (YouTube at 20:30-21:20 15 micrometer-thick layer of air ; In the YouTube presentation, the presenter explained that the vertical bearing uses a tungsten pivot and a ceramic ball, while the horizontal bearing is an air bearing. The presenter further stated that the tonearm's main body floats on an approximately 15 micrometer-thick layer of air, which enables precise and smooth tonearm movement because there is essentially no friction. ) but fails to explicitly disclose the air bearing is a hemispherical coupled to the pivotable tone arm and comprising an upper hemispherical bearing member and a socket member thereby enabling a stylus and cartridge coupled to the tone arm that converts vibrations in a record groove to electrical signals, to transmit said signals without unwanted bearing noises impacting upon the sound quality of the transmission.
In an analogous art, Bachman teaches the air bearing is a hemispherical (Fig. 1 i.e., 11; Col. 8 line 75 and Col. 9 lines 1-7, i.e., … ball-and-socket joint … half a sphere… ) coupled to the pivotable tone arm and comprising an upper hemispherical bearing member and a socket member (Fig. 1 i.e., 11; Col. 8 line 75 and Col. 9 lines 1-7, i.e., … ball-and-socket joint … half a sphere… ) thereby enabling a stylus and cartridge coupled to the tone arm that converts vibrations in a record groove to electrical signals, to transmit said signals without unwanted bearing noises impacting upon the sound quality of the transmission (Col. 4 lines 70-75 and Col. 5 lines 1-5 i.e., …movement of stylus 16 and also couples part of this movement to suitable means in cartridge 15 for developing an electric signal wave from the mechanical movement.; Col. 1 lines 21-29 i.e., follow the record groove spiral without difficulty…).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the hemispherical ball-and-socket joint disclosed in Bachman to the tonearm system of Air Force 10 to achieve the claimed invention in order to provide greater lateral resistance and help damp low-frequency resonance (Bachman, Col. 2 lines 8-20 and Col. 9 lines 1-7 ).
Regarding Claim 2, Air Force 10 as modified by Bachman discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above. Air Force 10 further discloses an air film interface (YouTube at 20:30-21:20 15 micrometer-thick layer of air ; In the YouTube presentation, the presenter explained that the vertical bearing uses a tungsten pivot and a ceramic ball, while the horizontal bearing is an air bearing. The presenter further stated that the tonearm's main body floats on an approximately 15 micrometer-thick layer of air, which enables precise and smooth tonearm movement because there is essentially no friction. ) but fails to explicitly discloses said upper hemispherical member comprises an outer surface; and said socket member comprises an inner surface geometrically matched with said outer surface of the upper hemispherical member in a ball and socket configuration; wherein said socket member includes a cavity for conveying a regulated fluid pressure for providing an air film interface between the upper hemispherical member outer surface and said socket member inner surface, wherein said upper hemispherical member is coupled to an underside of the tone arm.
Bachman further teaches a tone arm system wherein: said upper hemispherical member comprises an outer surface (Fig. 1 i.e. 12); and said socket member comprises an inner surface geometrically matched with said outer surface of the upper hemispherical member (Fig. 1 inner surface of 12) in a ball and socket configuration (Fig. 1 i.e., 11; Col. 4 lines 22-24, i.e., provided with a ball-and-socket joint. 11,12 which couples the arm to mounting support…); wherein said socket member includes a cavity or conveying a regulated fluid pressure between the upper hemispherical member outer surface and said socket member inner surface (Col. 4 lines 39-40 i.e., Between the cooperating surfaces of ball 11 and socket 12 is a film 21 of a viscous lubricant.), wherein said upper hemispherical member is coupled to an underside of the tone arm (Fig. 1 i.e., 10, 11, and 12 ; Col. 4 lines 22-25 i.e., a rigid arm 10 is provided with a ball-and-socket joint. 11,12 which couples the arm).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the hemispherical ball-and-socket joint disclosed in Bachman to the tonearm system of Air Force 10 to achieve the claimed invention in order to provide greater lateral resistance and help damp low-frequency resonance (Bachman, Col. 2 lines 8-20 and Col. 9 lines 1-7 ).
Regarding Claim 4, Air Force 10 as modified by Bachman discloses the system of claim 2 as discussed above. Bachman further teaches the interface is configured as a spherical curve (Fig. 1, 12; Col. 4 lines 47-49 i.e., spherical surface of socket 12).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the hemispherical ball-and-socket joint disclosed in Bachman to the tonearm system of Air Force 10 to achieve the claimed invention in order to provide greater lateral resistance and help damp low-frequency resonance (Bachman, Col. 2 lines 8-20 and Col. 9 lines 1-7 ).
Regarding Claim 5, Air Force 10 as modified by Bachman discloses the system of claim 4 as discussed above. Air Force 10 further discloses wherein air flows out from the interface between the hemisphere curvature and socket curvature (YouTube at 21:50:-22:18 i.e., orifices), whereby the thin film of air levitates the upper hemisphere bearing member and tone arm (YouTube at 21:50:-23:14; In the YouTube presentation, the presenter explained that air from the air pump is supplied through orifices, and that the bearing member floats on thin layer of air, which the presenter referred to as an "air floater".).
Regarding Claim 9, Air Force 10 discloses A phonograph system comprising:
a turntable for receiving a record ; a tone arm assembly operatively associated with the turntable the tone arm assembly including a tone arm (YouTube at 2:10 -2:16; In the YouTube presentation, a turntable and tonearm assembly are visible, and the presenter explains the tonearm's movement.), and air bearing (YouTube at 1:40 -2:10 and YouTube at 20:30-21:20 air bearing; In the YouTube presentation, the presenter explained that the turntable has an air bearing tonearm and the vertical bearing uses a tungsten pivot and a ceramic ball, while the horizontal bearing is an air bearing. The presenter further stated that the tonearm's main body floats on an approximately 15 micrometer-thick layer of air, which enables precise and smooth tonearm movement because there is essentially no friction.);a pump member comprising an air compressor, the pump member configured to supply low-flow, low-pressure air via a conveyance tube to hemispherical the air bearing (YouTube at 2:10 -2:16 An air pump compressor is visible.; YouTube at 2:10 -2:16, In the YouTube presentation, the presenter explained that the air tube is connected to the air pump.); wherein the air supplied to the hemispherical air bearing allows the tone arm to levitate on a thin film of air across multiple axes (YouTube at 20:30-21:20 15 micrometer-thick layer of air ; In the YouTube presentation, the presenter explained that the vertical bearing uses a tungsten pivot and a ceramic ball, while the horizontal bearing is an air bearing. The presenter further stated that the tonearm's main body floats on an approximately 15 micrometer-thick layer of air, which enables precise and smooth tonearm movement because there is essentially no friction. ), enabling a cartridge and stylus attached to an end of the tone arm to track the groove of the record with minimal resistance, thereby enhancing sound quality by reproducing the record's impressions in a transmission of vibrations to the audio system (YouTube at 1:41-2:12; In the YouTube presentation, the presenter explained that the horizontal movement of the tonearm is provided by an air bearing, which allows the arm to rotate freely.; YouTube at 21:50-23:14; In the YouTube presentation, the presenter explained that air from the air pump is supplied through orifices, and that the bearing member floats on thin layer of air, which the presenter referred to as an "air floater".) (Col. 1 lines 44-53 i.e., The mechanical instability of tracking readers the reproducer assembly vulnerable to vibration and sudden shocks…) and wherein the pump member includes a muffling chamber for reducing pulse noise from the air compressor before the air is delivered to the tone arm assembly (YouTube at 3:48-3:55; In the YouTube presentation, the presenter explained that the air pump is coupled to the tonearm and the pump is visible.) except air bearing is hemispherical.
It is obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to understand that a muffling chamber is used to reduce pulse noise from the air compressor before the air is delivered to the tone arm assembly.
However, Air Force 10 fails to explicitly disclose the air bearing is hemispherical.
In an analogous art, Bachman teaches the air bearing is a hemispherical (Fig. 1 i.e., 11; Col. 8 line 75 and Col. 9 lines 1-7, i.e., … ball-and-socket joint … half a sphere… )
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the hemispherical ball-and-socket joint disclosed in Bachman to the tonearm system of Air Force 10 to achieve the claimed invention in order to provide greater lateral resistance and help damp low-frequency resonance (Bachman, Col. 2 lines 8-20 and Col. 9 lines 1-7 ).
Regarding Claim 13, Air Force 10 as modified by Bachman discloses the system of claim 9 as discussed above. Air Force 10 further discloses an air film interface (YouTube at 20:30-21:20 15 micrometer-thick layer of air ; In the YouTube presentation, the presenter explained that the vertical bearing uses a tungsten pivot and a ceramic ball, while the horizontal bearing is an air bearing. The presenter further stated that the tonearm's main body floats on an approximately 15 micrometer-thick layer of air, which enables precise and smooth tonearm movement because there is essentially no friction. ) but fails to explicitly discloses the hemispherical air bearing comprises: an upper hemispherical member having a curved outer surface; and a socket member having a curved inner surface geometrically matched with the outer surface of the upper hemispherical member in a ball and socket configuration; wherein the socket member includes a cavity for conveying a regulated fluid pressure for providing an air film interface between the upper hemispherical member outer surface and said socket member inner surface, wherein the upper hemispherical member is coupled to an underside of the tone arm.
Bachman teaches the hemispherical air bearing comprises: an upper hemispherical member having a curved outer surface (Fig. 1 i.e. 12); and a socket member having a curved inner surface (Fig. 1 inner surface of 12) geometrically matched with the outer surface of the upper hemispherical member in a ball and socket configuration (Fig. 1 i.e., 11; Col. 4 lines 22-24, i.e., provided with a ball-and-socket joint. 11,12 which couples the arm to mounting support…); wherein the socket member includes a cavity (Fig. 1 i.e. 21; The portion that is filled with a viscous material. ) for conveying a regulated fluid pressure providing an film interface between the upper hemispherical member outer surface and said socket member inner surface (Col. 4 lines 39-40 i.e., Between the cooperating surfaces of ball 11 and socket 12 is a film 21 of a viscous lubricant.), wherein the upper hemispherical member is coupled to an underside of the tone arm (Fig. 1 i.e., 10, 11, and 12 ; Col. 4 lines 22-25 i.e., a rigid arm 10 is provided with a ball-and-socket joint. 11,12 which couples the arm).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the hemispherical ball-and-socket joint disclosed in Bachman to the tonearm system of Air Force 10 to achieve the claimed invention in order to provide greater lateral resistance and help damp low-frequency resonance (Bachman, Col. 2 lines 8-20 and Col. 9 lines 1-7 ).
Regarding Claim 15, Air Force 10 as modified by Bachman discloses the system of claim 13 as discussed above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the interface is configured as a spherical curve.
Bachman teaches the interface is configured as a spherical curve (Fig. 1 i.e., 11 and 12; Col. 4 lines 22-24, i.e., provided with a ball-and-socket joint).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the hemispherical ball-and-socket joint disclosed in Bachman to the tonearm system of Air Force 10 to achieve the claimed invention in order to provide greater lateral resistance and help damp low-frequency resonance (Bachman, Col. 2 lines 8-20 and Col. 9 lines 1-7 ).
Regarding Claim 16, Air Force 10 as modified by Bachman discloses the system of claim 15 as discussed above. Air Force 10 further discloses wherein air flows out from the interface (YouTube at 20:30-21:20 15 micrometer-thick layer of air ; In the YouTube presentation, the presenter explained that the vertical bearing uses a tungsten pivot and a ceramic ball, while the horizontal bearing is an air bearing. The presenter further stated that the tonearm's main body floats on an approximately 15 micrometer-thick layer of air, which enables precise and smooth tonearm movement because there is essentially no friction. ) between the hemisphere curvature and socket curvature, whereby the thin film of air levitates the upper hemisphere bearing member and tone arm (YouTube at 21:50:-23:14; In the YouTube presentation, the presenter explained that air from the air pump is supplied through orifices, and that the bearing member floats on thin layer of air, which the presenter referred to as an "air floater".) except the hemisphere curvature and socket curvature.
Bachman teaches wherein the interface is configured as a spherical curve (Fig. 1 i.e., 11 and 12; Col. 4 lines 22-24, i.e., provided with a ball-and-socket joint).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the hemispherical ball-and-socket joint disclosed in Bachman to the tonearm system of Air Force 10 to achieve the claimed invention in order to provide greater lateral resistance and help damp low-frequency resonance (Bachman, Col. 2 lines 8-20 and Col. 9 lines 1-7 ).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Air Force 10 in view of Bachman and further in view of Graham U.S. Patent Publication Number US20060203695(hereinafter Graham).
Regarding Claim 7, Air Force 10 as modified by Bachman discloses the system of claim 2 as discussed above but fails to explicitly disclose a head shell coupled to an end of the tone arm for mounting a cartridge and stylus; a balance weight attached to the tone arm, the balance weight being adjustable along a threaded spindle to regulate downforce on the stylus for accurate tracking of a record; a balance weight adjustment mechanism configured to move the balance weight along the threaded spindle for fine-tuning the downforce; an azimuth adjustment mechanism comprising an azimuth weight, the azimuth weight being configured to adjust the azimuth angle of the tone arm to ensure proper alignment of the stylus; wherein movement of the balance weight along the threaded spindle adjusts the downforce on the stylus and the tilt of the tone arm to set the azimuth angle.
In an analogous art, Graham teaches a tone arm system, further comprising: a head shell coupled to an end of the tone arm for mounting a cartridge and stylus (para. [0023] i.e., The head shell 38 contains the phonograph cartridge 42 and stylus.) ; a balance weight attached to the tone arm (Fig. 5, i.e., 70; para. [0027] i.e., …pivoting arm 62 is a calibrated rod 68 containing a counterweight 70.), the balance weight being adjustable along a threaded spindle (para. [0015] i.e., The counterweight force is adjusted by means of sliding the counterweight along a calibrated rod.; to regulate downforce on the stylus for accurate tracking of a record (para [0027] i.e., …pivoting arm 62 is a calibrated rod 68 containing a counterweight 70.); a balance weight adjustment mechanism configured to move the balance weight along the threaded spindle for fine-tuning the downforce (para. [0036] i.e., The weight will apply slightly more force as the arm sweeps 78 toward the center than when the arm is near the outer edge of the phonograph record. … This keeps the magnetic circuit of the phonograph cartridge in the preferred center or neutral position for optimal tracking and signal generation.); an azimuth adjustment mechanism comprising an azimuth weight, the azimuth weight being configured to adjust the azimuth angle of the tone arm to ensure proper alignment of the stylus; (para. [0036] i.e., This keeps the magnetic circuit of the phonograph cartridge in the preferred center or neutral position for optimal tracking and signal generation) wherein movement of the balance weight along the threaded spindle adjusts the downforce on the stylus and the tilt of the tone arm to set the azimuth angle (para [0037] i.e., … the system provides a rigid platform in the rotational “azimuth” mode resulting…this system can be easily be adjusted, precise and stable azimuth adjustment of the tone arm is possible).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the neutral balance in Graham to the tone arm system of Air Force 10 as modified by Bachman to achieve the claimed invention in order to provide stable balance by adjustment of the counterweights (Graham, para. 10).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Air Force 10 in view of Bachman, further in view of Graham, further in view of NPL pro-jectusa.com EV product description, https://pro-jectusa.com/product/evo-cc-tonearms/, timestamp 9/22/2023 (hereinafter EVO), and further in view of Robert Graham U.S. Patent Number US4587646A(hereinafter ‘646).
Regarding Claim 8, Air Force 10 as modified by Bachman and Graham discloses the system of claim 7 as discussed above but fails to explicitly disclose the pivotable tone arm comprising a cross-section D-shaped carbon fiber tube.
In an analogous art, EVO teaches the tone arm comprises a cross-section D-shaped (Description, This design avoids standing wave reflections. The armtube is fixed by a single screw that allows for easy azimuth adjustment.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the design in EVO to a tone arm system of Air Force 10 as modified by Bachman and Graham to achieve the claimed invention in order to avoid standing wave reflections.
However, Air Force 10 as modified by Bachman, Graham, and EVO fails to explicitly teaches a tension resonance rod contained within the tube.
In an analogous art, ‘646 teaches a tension resonance rod contained within the tube (Fig. 4, i.e., 20; Col. 7 lines 51-60 i.e., Tubular member 20 is formed with an outer diameter which is less than the inner diameter of tubular member 18…maintaining the tubular members … 20 … suppressing resonances ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply a tension resonance rod in ‘646 to a tone arm system of Air Force 10 as modified by Bachman, Graham and EVO to achieve the claimed invention in order to provide proper concentric alignment as well as suppressing resonances from being transmitted through arm (‘646, Col. 7 lines 49-63).
Air Force 10 further discloses a rotatable adjustment knob disposed on the tube and operatively connected to a threaded spindle for adjusting the tension in the tone arm (YouTube at 26:10-27:11 adjustment; In the YouTube presentation, the presenter explained the tracking force adjustment with spring pressure and a knob is visible in the enlarged image.); a tension rod plug positioned to clamp the tone arm between the head shell and the tension rod plug (YouTube at 27:03; In the YouTube presentation, the enlarged image on the left shows a tension rod plug that clamps a tonearm between a cartridge and stylus and the tension rod plug.); a spring-loaded mechanism operatively coupled to the adjustment knob, enabling variable tension in the tone arm (YouTube at 26:10-27:11 adjustment; In the YouTube presentation, the presenter explained the tracking force adjustment with spring pressure and a knob is visible in the enlarged image.) but fails to explicitly discloses the rotation of the adjustment knob alters the tension in the tone arm, thereby adjusting the resonance of the tone arm to reduce unwanted vibrations during playback and enable a user to tune the resonance to optimize sound quality.
‘646 further teaches rotation of the adjustment knob alters the tension in the tone arm, thereby adjusting the resonance of the tone arm to reduce unwanted vibrations during playback and enable a user to tune the resonance to optimize sound quality (Col. 5 lines 53-63 i.e., By adjusting the degree of compression of the deformable plugs, it becomes possible to alter or tune the resonance… ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply a tension resonance rod in ‘646 to a tone arm system of Air Force 10 as modified by Bachman, Graham and EVO to achieve the claimed invention in order to provide proper concentric alignment as well as suppressing resonances from being transmitted through arm (‘646, Col. 7 lines 49-63).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Air Force 10 in view of Bachman, and further in view of EVO.
Regarding Claim 3, Air Force 10 as modified by Bachman discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above. Air Force 10 further discloses the tone arm comprises carbon fiber tube (YouTube at 24:44-25:08 carbon fibers; In the YouTube presentation, the presenter explained that the tonearm is made of carbon fiber.) but fails to explicitly disclose the tone arm comprises a cross-section D-shaped.
EVO discloses the tone arm comprises a cross-section D-shaped (Description, This design avoids standing wave reflections. The armtube is fixed by a single screw that allows for easy azimuth adjustment.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the design in EVO to a tone arm system of Air Force 10 as modified by Bachman to achieve the claimed invention in order to avoid standing wave reflections.
Regarding Claim 14, Air Force 10 as modified by Bachman discloses the system of claim 13 as discussed above. Air Force 10 further discloses the tone arm comprises carbon fiber tube (YouTube at 24:44-25:08 carbon fibers; In the YouTube presentation, the presenter explained that the tonearm is made of carbon fiber.) but fails to explicitly disclose the tone arm comprises a cross-section D-shaped.
EVO discloses the tone arm comprises a cross-section D-shaped (Description, This design avoids standing wave reflections. The armtube is fixed by a single screw that allows for easy azimuth adjustment.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the design in EVO to a tone arm system of Air Force 10 as modified by Bachman to achieve the claimed invention in order to avoid standing wave reflections.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Air Force 10 in view of Bachman, and further in view of NPL Kuzma manual, https://www.kuzma.si/media/uploads/files/Theory%20behind%20Air%20line.pdf, timestamp March 13, 2022(hereinafter Kuzma).
Regarding Claim 10, Air Force 10 as modified by Bachman discloses the system of claim 9 as discussed above. Air Force 10 further discloses the muffling chamber comprises a polymeric housing (YouTube at 3:48-3:55; In the YouTube presentation, the presenter explained that the air pump is coupled to the tonearm and the plastic pump is visible.) but fails to explicitly disclose the muffling chamber dissipates pulsing shock waves from the air compressor by directing them against internal walls of the chamber, thereby reducing noise at an outlet of said chamber.
In an analogous art, Kuzma disclose the muffling chamber dissipates pulsing shock waves from the air compressor by directing them against internal walls of the chamber, thereby reducing noise at an outlet of said chamber (Page. 9, para. 5 i.e., Air compressors are,… very noisy machines…This air flows out of the compressor in pulses….we need to store air in a reservoir.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a reservoir in Kuzma into a tone arm system of Air Force 10 as modified by Bachman to achieve the claimed invention in order to provide smooth pressure pulses like a capacitor in electricity (page 9, para. 5).
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Air Force 10 in view of Bachman, and further in view of NPL LencoHeaven Forum, https://www.lencoheaven.net/forum/index.php?topic=2805.105 , timestamp February 06, 2012 (hereinafter LencoHeaven).
Regarding Claim 11, Air Force 10 as modified by Bachman discloses the system of claim 9 as discussed above but fails to explicitly disclose the muffling chamber comprises a first dampening tank and a second dampening tank in fluid communication, the first and second tanks operable to reduce the pulsing of the air supply before reaching the tone arm assembly.
In an analogous art, LencoHeaven teaches the muffling chamber comprises a first dampening tank and a second dampening tank in fluid communication, the first and second tanks operable to reduce the pulsing of the air supply before reaching the tone arm assembly (Comment 109; The comment 109 explains that one or two surge tanks are used to smooth pulsations before air is delivered to the tonearm).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate surge tanks in LencoHeaven into a tone arm system of Air Force 10 as modified by Bachman to achieve the claimed invention in order to provide smooth pulsations.
Regarding Claim 12, Air Force 10 as modified by Bachman discloses the system of claim 11 as discussed above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein said pump member further comprises a pressure adjustment member operable to control the air pressure downstream of said first and second dampening tanks and prior to being conveyed to said tone arm assembly for adjusting the levitation height of the tone arm.
LencoHeaven teaches said pump member further comprises a pressure adjustment member operable to control the air pressure downstream of said first and second dampening tanks and prior to being conveyed to said tone arm assembly for adjusting the levitation height of the tone arm (Comment 109; The comment 109 explains that one or two surge tanks are used to smooth pulsations and the air regulator valve should be between the pump and the big tank.)
LencoHeaven does not explicitly state the air regulator valve’s location. However, LencoHeaven teaches the air regulator valve should be between the pump and the big tank to avoid a valve turbulence, which can cause a high pitched hissing sound.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try the various locations of a pressure adjustment member in an attempt to achieve an improved valve arrangement, as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. In turn, because a pressure adjustment member operable to control the air pressure downstream of said first and second dampening tanks as claimed has the properties predicted by the prior art, it would have been obvious to make the valve arrangement as claimed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MICHELLE J. KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2688
/STEVEN LIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2688