DETAILED ACTION
Claim status
2. In response to the amendments filed 09/04/2026, claim 1 was amended and no claims were canceled and/or added. Therefore, claims 1-14 are currently pending for examination.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
4. Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of US Patent No. 12,258,032. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because “telescoping tube assembly mounted in association with a bed portion of the car hauler, wherein the bed portion comprises one or more ramps and is configured to receive a payload”, “adjust a vertical position of the sensor” “the telescoping tube assembly is extended such that the sensor is aligned with a predetermined height relative to ground, an output of the sensor displayed on the monitor provides indication of any one or more of the vehicles residing in the bed portion of the car hauler exceeding the predetermined height”, “ the sensor is operable to be positioned in alignment with a predetermined clearance height relative to ground for a cargo of vehicles residing on the bed portion”, “if any one or more of the vehicles in the cargo exceed the predetermined clearance height, adjusting the bed portion to lower the one or more vehicles” are conventional prior art feature and the use of such feature in claims 1-14 of US Patent No. 12,258,032 would have been obvious and would not have involved a patentable invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hollingsworth (US Pat. No. 6,177,868) in view of Singhal et al. (Singhal; US 2020/0081121).
For claim 1, Hollingsworth discloses a system for height observation on a car hauler, the system comprising:
a telescoping tube assembly (E.g. Fig. 5: piston rod 56) mounted in association with a bed portion of the car hauler (Col 4, line 64 – Col , line 8: The sensors 32, 34 are mounted to the piston rods 56, 58 so that they may be moved between the lowered and raised positions 36, 38 by selectively supplying pressurized air to one of the opposing ends, bottoms 60, 62 or tops, 64, 66 of the cylinders 48, 50. As seen in FIG. 5, when pressurized air is supplied to the bottom 60, 62 of the cylinders 48, 50 the piston rods 56, 58 move in a vertically upward direction until the sensors 32, 34 are in the raised position 38. When pressurized air is supplied to the top 64, 66 of the cylinders 48, 50, the piston rods 56, 58 move in a vertically downward direction until the sensors 32, 34 are in a lowered position 36; see also Fig. 1: showing piston rod is in some association with the bed portion of the hauler), wherein the bed portion comprises one or more ramps and is configured to receive a payload comprised of one or more vehicles (see Fig. 1: a ramp must be deployed to load/unload vehicles);
a sensor (Fig. 5: sensor 32) mounted in association with the telescoping tube assembly (Fig. 5), whereby extension and retraction of the telescoping tube assembly operates to adjust a vertical position of the sensor (E.g. Col 4, lines 43-52: In order to move the sensors 32, 34 between the raised and the lowered positions, 38, 36, the sensors are mounted on motors 48, 50 which are secured to the rear bumper 52 and the front bumper 54, respectively, of the cargo transporting vehicle 12. The motors 48,50 may be of any construction that provides for the movement of the sensors 32, 34 between the raised and the lowered positions 38, 36, such as pneumatic cylinders, hydraulic cylinders, or motor-cable systems and as shown in the drawings are pneumatic cylinders 48, 50);
a user interface in communication with the telescoping tube assembly and the sensor (E.g. Col 3, line 66 – Col 4, line 21: The retractable cargo height sensing system 10 of the present invention includes an alarm 24, shown in FIGS. 1 and 5, which is mounted on the dashboard 26 of the tractor 14 for signaling when the cargo 18 is above a predetermined height "d" above the roadway 22. The alarm 24 includes a visible alarm such as a warning light 28 and an audible alarm such as the buzzer 30. The alarm 24 is activated when the cargo 18 is above the predetermined distance "d" so that the driver is alerted, both audibly and visually, to lower the cargo before commencing his journey. The alarm 24 is deactivated when the cargo 18 is below the predetermined height "d". The retractable cargo height sensing system 10 of the present invention also includes sensors 32, 34 mounted on the cargo transporting vehicle 12 and movable between a lowered position 36 and a raised position 38. The sensor 32 is a microwave transmitter that sends a microwave signal, indicated by the line 33, to the sensor 34 which is a microwave receiver. When electrical power is supplied to the sensors 32, 34, the signal 33 is transmitted from the sensor 32 to the sensor 34 and if the sensors 34 detects no signal 33, the alarm 24 is activated. If the sensor 34 does detect a signal 33, the alarm 24 is deactivated); and
a monitoring component in communication with the sensor (E.g. Col 3, line 66 – Col 4, line 21: The retractable cargo height sensing system 10 of the present invention includes an alarm 24, shown in FIGS. 1 and 5, which is mounted on the dashboard 26 of the tractor 14 for signaling when the cargo 18 is above a predetermined height "d" above the roadway 22. The alarm 24 includes a visible alarm such as a warning light 28 and an audible alarm such as the buzzer 30. The alarm 24 is activated when the cargo 18 is above the predetermined distance "d" so that the driver is alerted, both audibly and visually, to lower the cargo before commencing his journey. The alarm 24 is deactivated when the cargo 18 is below the predetermined height "d". The retractable cargo height sensing system 10 of the present invention also includes sensors 32, 34 mounted on the cargo transporting vehicle 12 and movable between a lowered position 36 and a raised position 38. The sensor 32 is a microwave transmitter that sends a microwave signal, indicated by the line 33, to the sensor 34 which is a microwave receiver. When electrical power is supplied to the sensors 32, 34, the signal 33 is transmitted from the sensor 32 to the sensor 34 and if the sensors 34 detects no signal 33, the alarm 24 is activated. If the sensor 34 does detect a signal 33, the alarm 24 is deactivated);
wherein when the telescoping tube assembly is extended such that the sensor is aligned with a predetermined height relative to ground, an output of the sensor displayed on the monitoring component provides indication of any one or more of the vehicles residing in the bed portion of the car hauler exceeding the predetermined height (E.g. Col 3, line 66 – Col 4, line 21: The retractable cargo height sensing system 10 of the present invention includes an alarm 24, shown in FIGS. 1 and 5, which is mounted on the dashboard 26 of the tractor 14 for signaling when the cargo 18 is above a predetermined height "d" above the roadway 22. The alarm 24 includes a visible alarm such as a warning light 28 and an audible alarm such as the buzzer 30. The alarm 24 is activated when the cargo 18 is above the predetermined distance "d" so that the driver is alerted, both audibly and visually, to lower the cargo before commencing his journey. The alarm 24 is deactivated when the cargo 18 is below the predetermined height "d". The retractable cargo height sensing system 10 of the present invention also includes sensors 32, 34 mounted on the cargo transporting vehicle 12 and movable between a lowered position 36 and a raised position 38. The sensor 32 is a microwave transmitter that sends a microwave signal, indicated by the line 33, to the sensor 34 which is a microwave receiver. When electrical power is supplied to the sensors 32, 34, the signal 33 is transmitted from the sensor 32 to the sensor 34 and if the sensors 34 detects no signal 33, the alarm 24 is activated. If the sensor 34 does detect a signal 33, the alarm 24 is deactivated).
Hollingsworth fails to expressly disclose wherein the sensor is one of a camera, a time of flight (“TOF”) laser, a light detection and ranging scanner (“LIDAR”), and an infrared transmitter/receiver.
However, as shown by Singhal, it was well known in the art of vehicle sensors to include a sensor that is an infrared transmitter/receiver [E.g. 0011].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of vehicle sensors before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hollingsworth with the teaching of Singhal because it is merely substituting one known sensor for another, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable and the infrared sensor would provide the detection result as user desired.
For claim 2, Hollingsworth discloses wherein the telescoping tube assembly is pneumatically actuated (E.g. Col 4, lines 60-63: the pneumatic cylinders 48, 50 have piston rods 56, 58).
For claim 3, Hollingsworth discloses wherein the user interface comprises a hydraulic control unit switch (E.g. Col 7, line 66 – Col 8, line 8: the operator turns off the PTO switch 100 and releases the brake switch 114 from the closed position. As seen in FIG. 5, when the PTO switch is turned to the off position, pressurized air is blocked from conduit 106 and the conduit 106 is vented to the atmosphere. When pressurized air is no longer supplied to the PTO unit 82, it is disconnected from the engine 84 and pressurized fluid is no longer supplied to the hydraulic cylinder system 86 or its cylinders 70).
For claim 4, Hollingsworth discloses wherein the system is powered from a battery associated with the car hauler (E.g. Col 6, lines 64-67: The sensing circuit 90 is activated by turning a keyed switch 92 to the on position which sends power from a power source 94, such as a battery, thru the circuit 96 to the sending and receiving sensors 32, 34 to activate the sensors).
For claim 5, Hollingsworth discloses wherein the system further comprises a programmable logic controller configured to dictate actuation of the telescoping tube assembly (E.g. Col 4, line 64 – Col , line 9, Fig. 5).
For claim 6, Hollingsworth discloses wherein the user interface comprises an audible alarm (E.g. Col 7, lines 7-15: When the sending and receiving units 32, 34 are supplied with power and the signal 33 is obstructed, the receiving unit does not receive the signal 33 and provides power thru the circuit 98 to the indicator light 28 and the audible signaling device 30, so that the operator knows that the maximum height is exceeded. When there is no obstruction to the signal between the sending and receiving units 32, 34, the indicator light 28 and audible signal 30 are not activated and the operator knows that the maximum height is not exceeded, Fig. 5).
For claim 7, Hollingsworth discloses wherein the user interface comprises a height check function, actuation of which initiates a car hauler height observation sequence (E.g. Col 6, lines 64 – Col 7, line 6: The sensing circuit 90 is activated by turning a keyed switch 92 to the on position which sends power from a power source 94, such as a battery, thru the circuit 96 to the sending and receiving sensors 32, 34 to activate the sensors, as seen in FIG. 5. When so powered, the sending unit 32 transmits a signal 33 which is received by the receiving unit 34 when the signal is not obstructed and the circuit to the alarm 24 is not activated. The sending and receiving units 32, 34 are mounted on cylinders 48, 50 to raise and lower them).
For claim 8, Hollingsworth discloses wherein the user interface comprises a check complete function, actuation of which ends a car hauler height observation sequence (E.g. Col 8, lines 23-27: When the sensors 32, 34 are moved to the lowered position, the key switch 92 is moved to the off position and the sensing circuit 90 is deactivated with the power supply 94 disconnected from the sensors 32, 34 to deactivate the sensors).
For claim 9, Hollingsworth discloses a method for height observation on a car hauler, the method comprising:
mounting a sensor (Fig. 5: sensor 32) in association with the bed portion of the car hauler (Col 4, line 64 – Col , line 8: The sensors 32, 34 are mounted to the piston rods 56, 58 so that they may be moved between the lowered and raised positions 36, 38 by selectively supplying pressurized air to one of the opposing ends, bottoms 60, 62 or tops, 64, 66 of the cylinders 48, 50. As seen in FIG. 5, when pressurized air is supplied to the bottom 60, 62 of the cylinders 48, 50 the piston rods 56, 58 move in a vertically upward direction until the sensors 32, 34 are in the raised position 38. When pressurized air is supplied to the top 64, 66 of the cylinders 48, 50, the piston rods 56, 58 move in a vertically downward direction until the sensors 32, 34 are in a lowered position 36; see also Fig. 1: showing sensor 32 is in some association with the bed portion of the hauler), wherein the bed portion comprises one or more ramps and is configured to receive a payload comprised of one or more vehicles (see Fig. 1: a ramp must be deployed to load/unload vehicles), and wherein the sensor is operable to be positioned in alignment with a predetermined clearance height relative to ground for a cargo of vehicles residing on the bed portion (E.g. Col 4, lines 43-52: In order to move the sensors 32, 34 between the raised and the lowered positions, 38, 36, the sensors are mounted on motors 48, 50 which are secured to the rear bumper 52 and the front bumper 54, respectively, of the cargo transporting vehicle 12. The motors 48,50 may be of any construction that provides for the movement of the sensors 32, 34 between the raised and the lowered positions 38, 36, such as pneumatic cylinders, hydraulic cylinders, or motor-cable systems and as shown in the drawings are pneumatic cylinders 48, 50; Col 3, line 66 – Col 4, line 21);
positioning the sensor in alignment with the predetermined clearance height (E.g. Col 3, line 66 – Col 4, line 21: The retractable cargo height sensing system 10 of the present invention includes an alarm 24, shown in FIGS. 1 and 5, which is mounted on the dashboard 26 of the tractor 14 for signaling when the cargo 18 is above a predetermined height "d" above the roadway 22. The alarm 24 includes a visible alarm such as a warning light 28 and an audible alarm such as the buzzer 30. The alarm 24 is activated when the cargo 18 is above the predetermined distance "d" so that the driver is alerted, both audibly and visually, to lower the cargo before commencing his journey. The alarm 24 is deactivated when the cargo 18 is below the predetermined height "d". The retractable cargo height sensing system 10 of the present invention also includes sensors 32, 34 mounted on the cargo transporting vehicle 12 and movable between a lowered position 36 and a raised position 38. The sensor 32 is a microwave transmitter that sends a microwave signal, indicated by the line 33, to the sensor 34 which is a microwave receiver. When electrical power is supplied to the sensors 32, 34, the signal 33 is transmitted from the sensor 32 to the sensor 34 and if the sensors 34 detects no signal 33, the alarm 24 is activated. If the sensor 34 does detect a signal 33, the alarm 24 is deactivated);
receiving a signal from the sensor and presenting a feedback to a user, wherein the feedback is based on the received signal (E.g. Col 3, line 66 – Col 4, line 21: The retractable cargo height sensing system 10 of the present invention includes an alarm 24, shown in FIGS. 1 and 5, which is mounted on the dashboard 26 of the tractor 14 for signaling when the cargo 18 is above a predetermined height "d" above the roadway 22. The alarm 24 includes a visible alarm such as a warning light 28 and an audible alarm such as the buzzer 30. The alarm 24 is activated when the cargo 18 is above the predetermined distance "d" so that the driver is alerted, both audibly and visually, to lower the cargo before commencing his journey. The alarm 24 is deactivated when the cargo 18 is below the predetermined height "d". The retractable cargo height sensing system 10 of the present invention also includes sensors 32, 34 mounted on the cargo transporting vehicle 12 and movable between a lowered position 36 and a raised position 38. The sensor 32 is a microwave transmitter that sends a microwave signal, indicated by the line 33, to the sensor 34 which is a microwave receiver. When electrical power is supplied to the sensors 32, 34, the signal 33 is transmitted from the sensor 32 to the sensor 34 and if the sensors 34 detects no signal 33, the alarm 24 is activated. If the sensor 34 does detect a signal 33, the alarm 24 is deactivated);
based on the feedback, determining if any one or more of the vehicles in the cargo exceed the predetermined clearance height (E.g. Col 3, line 66 – Col 4, line 21: The retractable cargo height sensing system 10 of the present invention includes an alarm 24, shown in FIGS. 1 and 5, which is mounted on the dashboard 26 of the tractor 14 for signaling when the cargo 18 is above a predetermined height "d" above the roadway 22. The alarm 24 includes a visible alarm such as a warning light 28 and an audible alarm such as the buzzer 30. The alarm 24 is activated when the cargo 18 is above the predetermined distance "d" so that the driver is alerted, both audibly and visually, to lower the cargo before commencing his journey. The alarm 24 is deactivated when the cargo 18 is below the predetermined height "d". The retractable cargo height sensing system 10 of the present invention also includes sensors 32, 34 mounted on the cargo transporting vehicle 12 and movable between a lowered position 36 and a raised position 38. The sensor 32 is a microwave transmitter that sends a microwave signal, indicated by the line 33, to the sensor 34 which is a microwave receiver. When electrical power is supplied to the sensors 32, 34, the signal 33 is transmitted from the sensor 32 to the sensor 34 and if the sensors 34 detects no signal 33, the alarm 24 is activated. If the sensor 34 does detect a signal 33, the alarm 24 is deactivated); and
if any one or more of the vehicles in the cargo exceed the predetermined clearance height, adjusting the bed portion to lower the one or more vehicles (E.g. Col 7, lines 7-12: When the sending and receiving units 32, 34 are supplied with power and the signal 33 is obstructed, the receiving unit does not receive the signal 33 and provides power thru the circuit 98 to the indicator light 28 and the audible signaling device 30, so that the operator knows that the maximum height is exceeded, Col 2, lines 48-54: The retractable cargo height sensing system of the present invention includes an alarm for signaling when the cargo is above a predetermined height above the roadway. The alarm is activated when the cargo is above the predetermined distance so that the driver can lower the cargo before commencing his journey and deactivated when the cargo is below the predetermined height).
Hollingsworth fails to expressly disclose wherein the sensor is one of a camera, a time of flight (“TOF”) laser, a light detection and ranging scanner (“LIDAR”), and an infrared transmitter/receiver.
However, as shown by Singhal, it was well known in the art of vehicle sensors to include a sensor that is an infrared transmitter/receiver [E.g. 0011].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of vehicle sensors before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hollingsworth with the teaching of Singhal because it is merely substituting one known sensor for another, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable and the infrared sensor would provide the detection result as user desired.
For claim 10, Hollingsworth discloses wherein presenting a feedback to a user comprises presenting a visual display (E.g. Col 4, lines 3-4: The alarm 24 includes a visible alarm such as a warning light 28).
For claim 11, Hollingsworth discloses wherein presenting a feedback to a user comprises presenting an audible sound (E.g. Col 4, lines 3-5: The alarm 24 includes a visible alarm such as a warning light 28 and an audible alarm such as the buzzer 30).
For claim 12, Hollingsworth discloses wherein the method further comprises the user acknowledging completion of the method (E.g. Col 8, lines 23-27: When the sensors 32, 34 are moved to the lowered position, the key switch 92 is moved to the off position and the sensing circuit 90 is deactivated with the power supply 94 disconnected from the sensors 32, 34 to deactivate the sensors).
For claim 13, Hollingsworth discloses positioning the sensor beneath the predetermined clearance height after user acknowledgement (E.g. Col 8, lines 23-27: When the sensors 32, 34 are moved to the lowered position, the key switch 92 is moved to the off position and the sensing circuit 90 is deactivated with the power supply 94 disconnected from the sensors 32, 34 to deactivate the sensors).
For claim 14, Hollingsworth discloses turning off a hydraulic control unit (E.g. Col 7, line 66 – Col 8, line 8: the operator turns off the PTO switch 100 and releases the brake switch 114 from the closed position. As seen in FIG. 5, when the PTO switch is turned to the off position, pressurized air is blocked from conduit 106 and the conduit 106 is vented to the atmosphere. When pressurized air is no longer supplied to the PTO unit 82, it is disconnected from the engine 84 and pressurized fluid is no longer supplied to the hydraulic cylinder system 86 or its cylinders 70).
Response to Remarks
6. The Applicant's remarks regarding the rejection have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's remarks:
(1) A system that leverages a pair of sensors, one a transmitter and the other a receiver, like that taught by Hollingsworth, cannot be modified to use a single sensor to monitor load height because doing so would render the taught method for monitoring load height inoperable. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art of Hollingsworth would not have been motivated to remove one of the microwave sensors such that only a single sensor was associated with the car hauler, as recited in independent claim 1. Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art of Hollingsworth would not have been motivated to replace Hollingsworth's pair of microwave sensors with one of a "camera, a time of flight ("TOF") laser, a light detection and ranging scanner ("LIDAR"), and an infrared transmitter/receiver," as recited in amended claim 1, because none of those sensor types leverage a pair of sensors wherein one is a transmitter and one is a receiver. For at least and all the reasons outlined above, no combination of Hollingsworth and Singhal can be relied upon to fully anticipate or render obvious the recited solution. Remarks, filed 4 September 2026, pages 5-6.
Examiner’s response:
Regarding Applicant remark, as discussed in the analysis of the claims Hollingsworth discloses everything in claim 1 except for the sensor is one of a camera, a time of flight (“TOF”) laser, a light detection and ranging scanner (“LIDAR”), and an infrared transmitter/receiver.
Singhal is relied on to show that it was well known in the art of vehicle sensors to include a sensor that is an infrared transmitter/receiver [E.g. 0011].
In other words, Singhal sensor is a just a simple substation of a one known sensor to determine height condition with other type of a known sensor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of vehicle sensors before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hollingsworth with the teaching of Singhal because it is merely substituting one known sensor for another, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable and the infrared sensor would provide the detection result as user desired.
Further, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Furthermore, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Conclusion
7. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMED BARAKAT/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689