DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election of Showerhead Species II (Showerhead 55, Figs. 5-9) in the reply filed on September 15th, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Showerhead Species I (Showerhead 1, Figs. 1-4) is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on September 15th, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “wherein the first, second, and third media after exiting the showerhead” in ln. 3. There is a lack of clarity for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear what the applicant is referring to for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, it will be interpreted that the first, second, and third media flow separately after exiting the showerhead. The Examiner recommends revising this limitation to clarify the issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 9-11, 13, 15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kajuch (US 20140138461 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kajuch discloses a showerhead (10, Fig. 1) comprising:
at least two inlets (52, 54, 56, 58, 100, Fig. 5), wherein each of the at least two inlets (52, 54, 56, 58, Fig. 5) provides a media to the showerhead (spray inlets 52, 54, 56, 58 are provided with water and air inlet 100 is provided with air, Paragraphs 0063, 0068);
at least two inlet channels (66, 86, 88, 92, Figs. 5-6), each connected to one of the at least two inlets (52, 54, 56, 58, 100, Fig. 5, Paragraphs 0065-0068), wherein the media from the at least two inlets (52, 54, 56, 58, 100, Fig. 5) flows into and through the at least two inlet channels (66, 86, 88, 92, Figs. 5-6, Paragraphs 0065-0068);
a plurality of nozzles (78, 80, 82, 84, Figs. 8A, 9) positioned on a faceplate (38, Figs. 4, 8A, 9) of the showerhead (10, Fig. 1), wherein each of the plurality of nozzles (78, 80, 82, 84, Figs. 8A, 9) comprises at least two outlet channels (passages within nozzles 78, 80, 82, 84, Figs. 8A, 9);
wherein each of the at least two outlet channels (passages within nozzles 78, 80, 82, 84, Figs. 8A, 9) is connected to one of the at least two inlet channels (66, 86, 88, 92, Fig. 6, Paragraphs 0066-0067, 0078-0080); and
wherein the media from the at least two inlets (52, 54, 56, 58, 100, Fig. 5) flows out of the showerhead (10, Fig. 1) via the plurality of nozzles (78, 80, 82, 84, Figs. 8A, 9, Paragraph 0067, 0080).
Regarding claim 2, Kajuch discloses the showerhead of claim 1, wherein a first inlet (100, Fig. 5) of the at least two inlets (52, 54, 56, 58, 100, Fig. 5) provides a first media of air (Paragraph 0068), and wherein a second inlet (52, Fig. 5) of the at least two inlets (52, 54, 56, 58, 100, Fig. 5) provides a second media of water (Paragraph 0063).
Regarding claim 3, Kajuch discloses the showerhead of claim 1, wherein when a first media of a first inlet (56, Fig. 5) of the at least two inlets (52, 54, 56, 58, 100, Fig. 5) mixes with
a second media of a second inlet (100, Fig. 5) of the at least two inlets (52, 54, 56, 58, 100, Fig. 5) into an output (96, Fig. 7, Paragraph 0068), a flow rate of the output (96, Fig. 7) is greater than a flow rate of at least one of the first media and the second media (air mixes with fluid in aerated spray passage 92 to create an aerated spray, which has a higher flow rate, due to venturi effect due to an increase in diameter of the second cylindrical wall 96, Paragraphs 0014, 0068).
With respect to claim 5, Kajuch discloses the showerhead of claim 1, wherein the at least two inlet channels (66, 86, 88, 92, Figs. 5-6) are separated from one another such that media in a first inlet channel (100, Fig. 5) of the at least two inlet channels (66, 86, 88, 92, Figs. 5-6) is fluidly separated from a second inlet channel (52, Fig. 5) of the at least two inlet channels (66, 86, 88, 92, shown in Figs. 5-6, Paragraphs 0063, 0068).
In regards to claim 9, Kajuch discloses a showerhead (10, Fig. 1) comprising:
a first inlet channel (100, Fig. 5) provided with a first media (Paragraph 0068), wherein the first media flows into and through the first inlet channel (100, Fig. 5, Paragraph 0068);
a second inlet channel (54, Fig. 5) provided with a second media (Paragraph 0063), wherein the second media flows into and through the second inlet channel (54, Fig. 5, Paragraph 0063); and
a plurality of nozzles (78, 80, 82, 84, Figs. 8A, 9) comprising a first outlet channel (92, passage within nozzle 82, Figs. 8A, 9) and a second outlet channel (88, passage within nozzle 80, Figs. 8A, 9);
wherein the first outlet channel (92, passage within nozzle 82, Figs. 8A, 9) is connected to the first inlet channel (100, air enters air inlet 100 and is drawn into spray passage 92, and fluid flows from spray passages 92 through spray nozzles 82, Fig. 5, Paragraphs 0068, 0080);
wherein the second outlet channel (88, passage within nozzle 80, Figs. 8A, 9) is connected to the second inlet channel (54, fluid flows from pulse spray inlet 54 through spray passage 88 through spray nozzles 80, Fig. 5, Paragraph 0067);
wherein the first media flows out of the showerhead (10, Fig. 1) via the first outlet channel (92, passage within nozzle 82, Figs. 8A, 9, Paragraphs 0068, 0080); and
wherein the second media flows out of the showerhead (10, Fig. 1) via the second outlet channel (88, passage within nozzle 80, Figs. 8A, 9, Paragraph 0067).
Regarding claim 10, Kajuch discloses the showerhead of claim 9, wherein the first media is air (Paragraph 0068), and the second media is water (Paragraph 0063).
With respect to claim 11, Kajuch discloses the showerhead of claim 9, wherein when the first media mixes with the second media into an output (96, Fig. 7, Paragraph 0068), a flow rate of the output (96, Fig. 7) is greater than a flow rate of at least one of the first media and the second media (air mixes with fluid in aerated spray passage 92 to create an aerated spray, which has a higher flow rate, due to venturi effect due to an increase in diameter of the second cylindrical wall 96, Paragraphs 0014, 0068).
In regards to claim 13, Kajuch discloses the showerhead of claim 9, wherein the first and second inlet channels (100, 54, Fig. 5) are separated from one another such that the first media is fluidly separated from the second media (Paragraphs 0063, 0068).
Regarding claim 15, Kajuch discloses the showerhead of claim 9, further comprising a third inlet channel (58, Fig. 5) provided with a third media (Paragraph 0063);
wherein the third media flows into and through the third inlet channel (58, Fig. 5, Paragraph 0063);
wherein the plurality of nozzles (78, 80, 82, 84, Figs. 8A, 9) further comprises a third outlet channel (66, passage within nozzle 84, shown in Figs. 8A, 9) connected to the third inlet channel (58, cyclone spray inlets 58 allow fluid to pass through cyclone spray passages 66 and out of cyclone spray nozzle 84, Fig. 5, Paragraphs 0065, 0073, 0079); and
wherein the third media flows out of the showerhead (10, Fig. 1) via the third outlet channel (66, passage within nozzle 84, shown in Figs. 8A, 9, Paragraphs 0065, 0073, 0079).
With respect to claim 17, Kajuch discloses a showerhead (10, Fig. 1) comprising:
a first inlet (100, Fig. 5) providing a first media to the showerhead (10, Fig. 1, Paragraph 0068);
a second inlet (54, Fig. 5) providing a second media to the showerhead (10, Fig. 1, Paragraph 0063);
a third inlet (58, Fig. 5) providing a third media to the showerhead (10, Fig. 1, Paragraph 0063);
a first inlet channel (92, Fig. 6) connected to the first inlet (100, Fig. 5), wherein the first media flows into and through the first inlet channel (92, Fig. 6, Paragraph 0068);
a second inlet channel (88, Fig. 6) connected to the second inlet (54, Fig. 5), wherein the second media flows into and through the second inlet channel (88, Fig. 6, Paragraph 0067);
a third inlet channel (66, Fig. 6) connected to the third inlet (58, Fig. 5), wherein the third media flows into and through the third inlet channel (58, Fig. 5, Paragraph 0065); and
a plurality of nozzles (78, 80, 82, 84, Figs. 8A, 9), wherein each of the plurality of nozzles (78, 80, 82, 84, Figs. 8A, 9) comprises a first outlet channel (passage within nozzle 82, Figs. 8A, 9), a second outlet channel (passage within nozzle 80, Figs. 8A, 9), and a third outlet channel (passage within nozzle 84, Figs. 8A, 9);
wherein the first outlet channel (passage within nozzle 82, Figs. 8A, 9) is connected to the first inlet channel (100, air enters air inlet 100 and is drawn into spray passage 92, and fluid flows from spray passages 92 through spray nozzles 82, Fig. 5, Paragraphs 0068, 0080), wherein the second outlet channel (passage within nozzle 80, Figs. 8A, 9) is connected to the second inlet channel (54, fluid flows from pulse spray inlet 54 through spray passage 88 through spray nozzles 80, Fig. 5, Paragraph 0067), and wherein a third outlet channel (passage within nozzle 84, shown in Figs. 8A, 9) is connected to the third inlet channel (58, cyclone spray inlets 58 allow fluid to pass through cyclone spray passages 66 and out of cyclone spray nozzle 84, Fig. 5, Paragraphs 0065, 0073, 0079); and
wherein the first, second, and third media flows out of the showerhead via the first (passage within nozzle 82, Figs. 8A, 9), second (passage within nozzle 80, Figs. 8A, 9), and third outlet channels (passage within nozzle 84, Figs. 8A, 9), respectively (Paragraphs 0065 0067-0068, 0073, 0079-0080).
In regards to claim 18, Kajuch discloses the showerhead of claim 17, wherein the first media is air (Paragraph 0068), and wherein the second media is water (Paragraph 0063).
With respect to claim 19, Kajuch discloses the showerhead of claim 18, wherein when the first media mixes with the second media into an output (96, Fig. 7, Paragraph 0068), a flow rate of the output (96, Fig. 7) is greater than a flow rate of the second media (air mixes with fluid in aerated spray passage 92 to create an aerated spray, which has a higher flow rate, due to venturi effect due to an increase in diameter of the second cylindrical wall 96, Paragraphs 0014, 0068).
With respect to claim 20, Kajuch discloses the showerhead of claim 17, wherein the first, second, and third inlet channels (92, 88, 66, Fig. 6) are separated from one another such that the first, second, and third media are each fluidly separated from one another (Paragraphs 0063, 0068), and wherein the first, second, and third media after exiting the showerhead (Paragraphs 0063, 0068).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 8, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajuch (US 20140138461 A1) in view of Penfold et al. (WO 2023084182 A1).
With respect to claim 4, Kajuch discloses the showerhead of claim 2. However, Kajuch does not disclose wherein the first media mixes with the second media after exiting the showerhead.
Penfold teaches the first media mixes with the second media after exiting the showerhead (10, gas 50 may be air and air pump 5 may ingest ambient air and supply it under a small positive pressure to the gas outlet of each flow emitter 11, Fig. 7, Pg. 18, Ln. 29-35).
Kajuch and Penfold are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of showerheads. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching taught in Penfold’s showerhead to Kajuch’s showerhead, to have the motivation to create an enhanced appearance of the bubbles of water for bathing applications (Penfold, Pg. 2, Ln. 5-7).
With respect to claim 8, Kajuch discloses the showerhead of claim 1. However, Kajuch does not disclose wherein an angle of an output from each of the plurality of nozzles is determined based on an average of angles of each of the at least two outlet channels.
Penfold teaches an angle of an output from each of the plurality of nozzles is determined based on an average of angles of each of the at least two outlet channels (Pg. 33, Ln. 18 to Ln. 34, Ln. 8).
Kajuch and Penfold are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of showerheads. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching taught in Penfold’s showerhead to Kajuch’s showerhead, to have the motivation to produce a stream of bubbles more reliably at longer distances (Penfold, Pg. 33, Ln. 11-13).
In regards to claim 12, Kajuch discloses the showerhead of claim 9. However, Kajuch does not disclose wherein the first media mixes with the second media after exiting the showerhead.
Penfold teaches the first media mixes with the second media after exiting the showerhead (10, gas 50 may be air and air pump 5 may ingest ambient air and supply it under a small positive pressure to the gas outlet of each flow emitter 11, Fig. 7, Pg. 18, Ln. 29-35).
Kajuch and Penfold are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of showerheads. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching taught in Penfold’s showerhead to Kajuch’s showerhead, to have the motivation to create an enhanced appearance of the bubbles of water for bathing applications (Penfold, Pg. 2, Ln. 5-7).
In regards to claim 14, Kajuch discloses the showerhead of claim 9. However, Kajuch does not disclose wherein an angle of an output from each of the plurality of nozzles is determined based on an average of angles of each of the first and second outlet channels.
Penfold teaches an angle of an output from each of the plurality of nozzles is determined based on an average of angles of each of the at least two outlet channels (Pg. 33, Ln. 18 to Ln. 34, Ln. 8).
Kajuch and Penfold are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of showerheads. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching taught in Penfold’s showerhead to Kajuch’s showerhead, to have the motivation to produce a stream of bubbles more reliably at longer distances (Penfold, Pg. 33, Ln. 11-13).
Claim(s) 6-7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajuch (US 20140138461 A1).
In regards to claim 6, Kajuch discloses the showerhead of claim 1. Kajuch discloses all aspects of the present invention except for wherein each of the plurality of nozzles is angled at least 5 degrees outwards from a center point of the faceplate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have each of the plurality of nozzles is angled at least 5 degrees outwards from a center point of the faceplate, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05(II-A) and in re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Please note that in the instant application, paragraph 0017 of the specification, the applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
In regards to claim 7, Kajuch discloses the showerhead of claim 1. Kajuch discloses all aspects of the present invention except for wherein each of the plurality of nozzles has a diameter of at least 1.2 mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have each of the plurality of nozzles has a diameter of at least 1.2 mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05(II -A) and in re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Please note that in the instant application, paragraph 0018 of the specification, the applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
With respect to claim 16, Kajuch discloses the showerhead of claim 9, further comprising a faceplate (38, Figs. 4, 8A, 9). Kajuch discloses all aspects of the present invention except for wherein each of the plurality of nozzles is positioned at a 90 degree angle from its corresponding tangential point of an outer edge of the faceplate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have each of the plurality of nozzles is positioned at a 90 degree angle from its corresponding tangential point of an outer edge of the faceplate, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05(II -A) and in re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Please note that in the instant application, paragraph 0025 of the specification, the applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Conclusion
/ANNA THI HO/Examiner, Art Unit 3752
/ARTHUR O. HALL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3752