DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 12-13, 15 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (US 2024/0357111).
Regarding claim 1,
Choi discloses:
A method for video encoding, comprising:
determining, by an encoder, a non-separable transform core from a non-separable transform core set according to attribute information of a current residual block (Choi: Fig 4; [0125]; Referring to FIG. 4, LFNST is applicable between forward primary transform 411 and quantization 413 at an encoder stage, and is applicable between dequantization 421 and inverse primary transform (or primary inverse transform) 423 at a decoder stage; Fig 15a-d, 16a-d, 17; [0232]: non-separable primary transform matrix to be applied to residual samples according to block size; [0239]; such non-separable primary transform may be called RPT (reduced primary transform) or RCT (reduced core transform); [0249]; non-separable primary transform may have a reduced transform (RT) form in which the number of output coefficients is smaller than the number of input samples. In this case, zeroing out may be performed on all regions in which output coefficients are not generated; [0231]-[0249]; [0187]); and
performing, by the encoder, a non-separable primary transform on the current residual block by using the non-separable transform core (Choi: applying non-separable primary transform matrix to residual samples of the input block; Fig 4; [0125]; Fig 15a-d, 16a-d, 17; [0232]; [0239]; [0249]; [0231]-[0249]; [0187]).
Regarding claim 12,
Choi discloses:
A method for video decoding, comprising:
determining, by a decoder, a non-separable transform core from a non-separable transform core set according to attribute information of a current decoding block, in response to that a non- separable primary transform flag received shows a value of true, the non-separable primary transform flag indicating whether a non-separable primary transform has been applied to a residual block corresponding to the current decoding block (Choi: Fig 4; [0125]; Referring to FIG. 4, LFNST is applicable between forward primary transform 411 and quantization 413 at an encoder stage, and is applicable between dequantization 421 and inverse primary transform (or primary inverse transform) 423 at a decoder stage; Fig 15a-d, 16a-d, 17; [0232]: non-separable primary transform matrix to be applied to residual samples according to block size; [0239]; such non-separable primary transform may be called RPT (reduced primary transform) or RCT (reduced core transform); [0249]; non-separable primary transform may have a reduced transform (RT) form in which the number of output coefficients is smaller than the number of input samples. In this case, zeroing out may be performed on all regions in which output coefficients are not generated; [0231]-[0249]; [0187]; Fig 7-8; [0161]-[0164]; coded block flag (CBF) is encoded to determine whether coefficient coding or NSST coding is performed; Referring to FIG. 8, the decoding apparatus checks whether a CBF flag is 1 (S810). If the CBF flag is 0 (‘NO’ in S810), the decoding apparatus does not perform transform coefficient decoding and NSST index decoding. In contrast, when the CBF flag is 1 (‘YES’ in S810), the decoding apparatus performs decoding on the transform coefficient (S820)); and
determining, by the decoder, a reconstructed block based on the non-separable transform core and the current decoding block (Choi: [0319]; image decoding apparatus reconstructs the current block based on the residual block; Fig 4; [0125]; Fig 15a-d, 16a-d, 17; [0232]; [0239]; [0249]; [0231]-[0249]; [0187]; Fig 7-8; [0161]-[0164]).
Regarding claim 13,
Choi discloses:
The method according to claim 12, wherein before determining the non-separable transform core from the non-separable transform core set, the method further comprises:
determining, by the decoder, the value of the non-separable primary transform flag received, when a Multiple Transform Selection (MTS) flag received shows a value of true (Choi: [0116]-[0117]; MTS index information (or mts_idx syntax element); [0203]).
Regarding claim 15,
Choi discloses:
An apparatus, comprising:
one or more processors (Choi: [0016]; [0080]-[0081]; [0100]; [0325]-[0326]); and
a memory coupled to the one or more processors and configured to store instructions executable by the one or more processors (Choi: [0016]; [0058]; [0080]-[0081]; [0100]; [0325]-[0326]; [0335]),
wherein the one or more processors, upon execution of the instructions, are configured to perform a method for video encoding (Choi: [0016]; [0058]; [0080]-[0081]; [0100]; [0325]-[0326]; [0335]) comprising:
determining a non-separable transform core from a non-separable transform core set according to attribute information of a current residual block (Choi: Fig 4; [0125]; Referring to FIG. 4, LFNST is applicable between forward primary transform 411 and quantization 413 at an encoder stage, and is applicable between dequantization 421 and inverse primary transform (or primary inverse transform) 423 at a decoder stage; Fig 15a-d, 16a-d, 17; [0232]: non-separable primary transform matrix to be applied to residual samples according to block size; [0239]; such non-separable primary transform may be called RPT (reduced primary transform) or RCT (reduced core transform); [0249]; non-separable primary transform may have a reduced transform (RT) form in which the number of output coefficients is smaller than the number of input samples. In this case, zeroing out may be performed on all regions in which output coefficients are not generated; [0231]-[0249]; [0187]), and
performing a non-separable primary transform on the current residual block by using the non-separable transform core (Choi: applying non-separable primary transform matrix to residual samples of the input block; Fig 4; [0125]; Fig 15a-d, 16a-d, 17; [0232]; [0239]; [0249]; [0231]-[0249]; [0187]);
or
wherein the one or more processors, upon execution of the instructions, are configured to perform a method for video encoding comprising perform a method for video decoding comprising:
determining a non-separable transform core from a non-separable transform core set according to attribute information of a current decoding block, in response to that a non-separable primary transform flag received shows a value of true, the non-separable primary transform flag indicating whether a non-separable primary transform has been applied to a residual block corresponding to the current decoding block (Choi: Fig 4; [0125]; Referring to FIG. 4, LFNST is applicable between forward primary transform 411 and quantization 413 at an encoder stage, and is applicable between dequantization 421 and inverse primary transform (or primary inverse transform) 423 at a decoder stage; Fig 15a-d, 16a-d, 17; [0232]: non-separable primary transform matrix to be applied to residual samples according to block size; [0239]; such non-separable primary transform may be called RPT (reduced primary transform) or RCT (reduced core transform); [0249]; non-separable primary transform may have a reduced transform (RT) form in which the number of output coefficients is smaller than the number of input samples. In this case, zeroing out may be performed on all regions in which output coefficients are not generated; [0231]-[0249]; [0187]; Fig 7-8; [0161]-[0164]; coded block flag (CBF) is encoded to determine whether coefficient coding or NSST coding is performed; Referring to FIG. 8, the decoding apparatus checks whether a CBF flag is 1 (S810). If the CBF flag is 0 (‘NO’ in S810), the decoding apparatus does not perform transform coefficient decoding and NSST index decoding. In contrast, when the CBF flag is 1 (‘YES’ in S810), the decoding apparatus performs decoding on the transform coefficient (S820)); and
determining a reconstructed block based on the non-separable transform core and the current decoding block (Choi: [0319]; image decoding apparatus reconstructs the current block based on the residual block; Fig 4; [0125]; Fig 15a-d, 16a-d, 17; [0232]; [0239]; [0249]; [0231]-[0249]; [0187]; Fig 7-8; [0161]-[0164]).
Regarding claim 18,
Choi discloses:
The apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the method for video encoding further comprises:
signaling a Multiple Transform Selection (MTS) flag to indicate that a Multiple Transform Selection is applied to the current residual block (Choi: [0116]-[0117]; MTS index information (or mts_idx syntax element); [0203]), and
further signaling if the MTS flag is true, by the encoder, a flag to indicate that the non- separable primary transform has been applied to the current residual block (Choi: [0116]-[0117]; MTS index information (or mts_idx syntax element); [0203]);
or
before determining the non-separable transform core from the non-separable transform core set, the method for video decoding further comprises:
determining the value of the non-separable primary transform flag received, when the MTS flag received shows a value of true (Choi: [0116]-[0117]; MTS index information (or mts_idx syntax element); [0203]).
Regarding claims 19-20,
Choi discloses:
19. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for storing a bitstream generated by the method according to claim 1.
20. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for storing a bitstream to be decoded by the method according to claim 12.
(Choi: [0010]-[0011]; a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a bitstream generated by an image encoding method or apparatus according to the present disclosure; a recording medium storing a bitstream received, decoded and used to reconstruct an image by an image decoding apparatus according to the present disclosure [0016]; [0058]; [0080]-[0081]; [0100]; [0325]-[0326]; [0335])
The only portion of the language in claims 19-20 that is given patentable weight is the preamble limitation, because this is an article of manufacture. All of the other limitations of claims 19-20 body are not given patentable weight. This is because there is no functional relationship between the bitstream and any related computer. It is noted that the body of claims 19-20 is the corresponding independent claims, i.e. claims 1 and 12.
According to MPEP 2111.05, “To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated.” Furthermore, for machine-readable media, “When determining the scope of a claim directed to a computer-readable medium containing certain programming, the examiner should first look to the relationship between the programming and the intended computer system. Where the programming performs some function with respect to the computer with which it is associated, a functional relationship will be found. For instance, a claim to computer-readable medium programmed with attribute data objects that perform the function of facilitating retrieval, addition, and removal of information in the intended computer system, establishes a functional relationship such that the claimed attribute data objects are given patentable weight. See Lowry, 32 F.3d at 1583-84, 32 USPQ2d at 1035. However, where the claim as a whole is directed to conveying a message or meaning to a human reader independent of the intended computer system, and/or the computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists. For example, a claim to a memory stick containing tables of batting averages, or tracks of recorded music, utilizes the intended computer system merely as a support for the information. Such claims are directed toward conveying meaning to the human reader rather than towards establishing a functional relationship between recorded data and the computer.”
The body limitations in claims 19-20 perform no function with respect to a computer with which it is associated. In other words, the body limitations in claim 19-20 do not perform a function or cause the associated computer to perform a function. An encoding, decoding, determining and generating method has already taken place in claims 1 and 12. The bitstream does not perform an encoding, decoding, determining or generating method. The data stream also does not cause an associated computer to perform an encoding, decoding, determining or generating method.
Furthermore, the limitations in claims 19-20 convey a message or meaning to a human reader independent of the intended computer system. The message is a bitstream that is to be seen by a human reader after decoding. The bitstream in claims 19-20 merely serves as a support for information and data. Additionally, any computer-readable medium that stores such a bitstream is merely a support for data.
While the body of claim 19-20 is not given patentable weight, the claim limitations are rejected using prior art in order to compact prosecution. In order for the body of claim 19-20 to be given patentable weight, Examiner suggest amending the claim to recite function, such as the function in claims 1-18.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-11, 14 and 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JAMES M PONTIUS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488