DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the response to election/restriction filed on September 3, 2026. Invention I (claims 1-18) has been elected without traverse. Invention II (claims 19-20) has been withdrawn from consideration. Claims 1-18 have been examined and are currently pending.
Response to Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on September 3, 2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements filed February 17, 2025 and February 17, 2026 have been considered. Initialed copies of the Form 1449 are enclosed herewith.
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
ALICE/ MAYO: TWO-PART ANALYSIS
2A. First, a determination whether the claim is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., abstract idea).
Prong 1: A determination whether the claim recites a judicial exception (i.e., abstract idea).
Groupings of abstract ideas enumerated in the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance.
Mathematical concepts- mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations.
Certain methods of organizing human activity- fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions).
Mental processes- concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion).
Prong 2: A determination whether the judicial exception (i.e., abstract idea) is integrated into a practical application.
Considerations indicative of integration into a practical application enumerated in the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance.
Improvement to the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to any other technology or technical field
Applying or using a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition
Applying the judicial exception with, or by use of a particular machine.
Effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing
Applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception
Considerations that are not indicative of integration into a practical application enumerated in the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance.
Merely reciting the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea.
Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception.
Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
2B. Second, a determination whether the claim provides an inventive concept (i.e., Whether the claim(s) include additional elements, or combinations of elements, that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (i.e., abstract idea)).
Considerations indicative of an inventive concept (aka “significantly more”) enumerated in the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance.
Improvement to the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to any other technology or technical field
Applying the judicial exception with, or by use of a particular machine.
Effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing
Applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception NOTE: The only consideration that does not overlap with the considerations indicative of integration into a practical application associated with step 2A: Prong 2.
Considerations that are not indicative of an inventive concept (aka “significantly more”) enumerated in the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance.
Merely reciting the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea.
Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception.
Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
Simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception. NOTE: The only consideration that does not overlap with the considerations that are not indicative of integration into a practical application associated with step 2A: Prong 2.
See also, 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance; Federal Register; Vol. 84, No. 4; Monday, January 7, 2019
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
1: Statutory Category
Applicant’s claimed invention, as described in independent claim 1 is directed to an ambulatory medical device and independent claim 13 is directed to a method.
2(A): The claim(s) are directed to a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea).
PRONG 1: The claim(s) recite a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea).
Mental Processes
Independent claim 1 recites the limitations, “decode an instruction received in the RF communication signal, wherein a class of the instruction requires the communication session to be started using the inductive link when performing the instruction; perform the instruction when the communication session is started using the inductive link; and reject the instruction when the communication session is started using the RF link.” Independent claim 13 recites the limitations, “determining, that a class of the received instruction requires the communication session to be started using an inductive link of the AMD when performing the instruction; performing the instruction when the communication session is started using the inductive link; and rejecting the instruction when the communication session is started using the RF link.” The limitations associated with independent claims 1 and 13 are directed to the abstract idea of mental processes. Specifically, the claim limitations above are directed to a user through observation, evaluation, and judgment of data to determine whether to perform an instruction based on an inductive link and/or reject the instruction associated with an RF link.
PRONG 2: The judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) is not integrated into a practical application.
The applicant's limitations are not "integrated into a practical application" because they are adding words "apply it" with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea merely as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). The claim does not include additional elements or limitations individually or in combination that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Specifically, the individual elements of a coil antenna, RF antenna, RF communication signal, control circuit, near field communication signal, AMD, and second device amount to no more than implementing an idea with a computerized system and they are adding words "apply it" with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea merely as a tool to perform an abstract idea. The additional elements taken in combination add nothing more than what is present when the elements are considered individually.
The “receiving” step is mere data gathering and outputting steps recited at a high level of generality and are insignificant extra solution activity. MPEP 2106.05(g).
Therefore, based on the two-part Alice Corp. analysis, there are no meaningful limitations in the claims that transform the exception (i.e., abstract idea) into a patent eligible application.
Dependent claims 2-12 and 14-18 are rejected as ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101 based on a rationale similar to the claims from which they depend. Dependent claims 2-12 recite “RF communication signal”, dependent claims 3, 10, 11, 14, and 15 recite “second device”, dependent claims 4-6, 12, 14, 16, 17, and 18 recite “AMD”, dependent claim 5 recites “therapy circuit”, dependent claim 5 recites “control circuit”. Therefore, dependent claims 2-12 and 14-18 do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Since the claim(s) recite a judicial exception and fails to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, the claim(s) is/are "directed to" the judicial exception. Thus, the claim(s) must be reviewed under the second step of the Alice/ Mayo analysis to determine whether the abstract idea has been applied in an eligible manner.
2(B): The claims do not provide an inventive concept (i.e., The claim(s) do not include additional elements, or combinations of elements, that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (i.e., abstract idea)). As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional element(s) in the claim amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
For these reasons, there is no invention concept in the claim, and thus the claim is ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Schilling et al. US Publication 20170312530 A1.
Claim 1:
As per claim 1, Schilling teaches an ambulatory medical device comprising:
an inductive link including a coil antenna configured to receive a near field communication signal using mutual inductance (paragraphs 0038-0039 “Inductive telemetry uses the mutual inductance established between two closely-placed coils. This type of telemetry is referred to as inductive telemetry or near-field telemetry because the coils must typically be closely situated for obtaining inductively coupled communication. An example inductive wireless communication technology utilizes an inductive coil in a first device (e.g., the external clinician device 120) which, if energized by an external voltage source, produces an inductive field that can be used to transmit communications signals and/or charging signals to a second device (e.g., the implantable device 104).”);
a radio frequency (RF) link including an RF antenna configured to receive an RF communication signal during a communication session (paragraph 0043 “In addition to facilitating different security levels and/or reducing power consumption associated with RF telemetry communication between the implantable device 104 and an external monitoring device 116 and between the implantable device 104 and an external clinician device 120…”);
a control circuit configured to (paragraphs 0121-0122 “Implantable device 104 can include memory 620 configured to store computer executable components and instructions. Implantable device 104 can also include a processor 612 to facilitate operation of the instructions (e.g., computer executable components and instructions) by the implantable device 104…”):
decode an instruction received in the RF communication signal, wherein a class of the instruction requires the communication session to be started using the inductive link when performing the instruction (paragraph 0044 “…For example, the disabled mode can be configured to ensure the implantable device 104 does not perform RF-based telemetry communication in a scenario in which RF-based communication is unnecessary, undesirable, or is unsafe. However, during the disabled mode, the implantable device 104 can be configured to enable telemetry communication using a non-RF-based telemetry communication technology/protocol, such as an induction-based telemetry communication technology/protocol…”);
perform the instruction when the communication session is started using the inductive link (paragraph 0044 “…For example, the disabled mode can be configured to ensure the implantable device 104 does not perform RF-based telemetry communication in a scenario in which RF-based communication is unnecessary, undesirable, or is unsafe. However, during the disabled mode, the implantable device 104 can be configured to enable telemetry communication using a non-RF-based telemetry communication technology/protocol, such as an induction-based telemetry communication technology/protocol…”);
and reject the instruction when the communication session is started using the RF link (paragraphs 0044 and 0059 “…For example, the disabled mode can be configured to ensure the implantable device 104 does not perform RF-based telemetry communication in a scenario in which RF-based communication is unnecessary, undesirable, or is unsafe. However, during the disabled mode, the implantable device 104 can be configured to enable telemetry communication using a non-RF-based telemetry communication technology/protocol, such as an induction-based telemetry communication technology/protocol…”).
Claim 13:
As per claim 13, Schilling teaches a method comprising:
receiving an instruction via a radio frequency (RF) communication link of the AMD as part of a communication session with a second device (paragraph 0045 “The second advertising mode can be configured to facilitate establishment of a clinician telemetry session 122 between the implantable device 104 and the external clinician device 120 using the RF-based telemetry communication protocol.”);
determining, by the AMD, that a class of the received instruction requires the communication session to be started using an inductive link of the AMD when performing the instruction (paragraph 0044 “…For example, the disabled mode can be configured to ensure the implantable device 104 does not perform RF-based telemetry communication in a scenario in which RF-based communication is unnecessary, undesirable, or is unsafe. However, during the disabled mode, the implantable device 104 can be configured to enable telemetry communication using a non-RF-based telemetry communication technology/protocol, such as an induction-based telemetry communication technology/protocol…”);
performing the instruction when the communication session is started using the inductive link (paragraph 0044 “…For example, the disabled mode can be configured to ensure the implantable device 104 does not perform RF-based telemetry communication in a scenario in which RF-based communication is unnecessary, undesirable, or is unsafe. However, during the disabled mode, the implantable device 104 can be configured to enable telemetry communication using a non-RF-based telemetry communication technology/protocol, such as an induction-based telemetry communication technology/protocol…”);
and rejecting the instruction when the communication session is started using the RF link (paragraph 0044 “…For example, the disabled mode can be configured to ensure the implantable device 104 does not perform RF-based telemetry communication in a scenario in which RF-based communication is unnecessary, undesirable, or is unsafe. However, during the disabled mode, the implantable device 104 can be configured to enable telemetry communication using a non-RF-based telemetry communication technology/protocol, such as an induction-based telemetry communication technology/protocol…”).
Claim 2:
As per claim 2, Schilling teaches the AMD of claim 1 as described above and further teaches wherein the control circuit is configured to:
decode another instruction received in another RF communication signal during another communication session, wherein a class of the other instruction does not require the communication session to be started using the inductive link when performing the instruction (paragraph 0044);
and perform the other instruction when the communication session is started using either the RF link or the inductive link (paragraph 0044).
Claim 3:
As per claim 3, Schilling teaches the AMD of claim 1 as described above and further teaches wherein the control circuit is configured to:
authenticate a role of a second device sending the RF communication signal (paragraph 0060);
and override the rejecting the instruction according to the role of the second device and perform the instruction when the communication session is started using the RF link (paragraph 0044).
Claim 4:
As per claim 4, Schilling teaches the AMD of claim 1 as described above and further teaches wherein the control circuit is configured to:
determine that the instruction received in the RF communication signal is a programming instruction to program one or more operating parameters of the AMD (paragraph 0047);
perform the programming instruction when the communication session is started using the inductive link (paragraph 0044);
and reject the programming instruction when the communication session is started using the RF link (paragraphs 0044 and 0059).
Claim 5:
As per claim 5, Schilling teaches the AMD of claim 1 as described above and further teaches including:
a therapy circuit operatively coupled to the control circuit and configured to provide an electrical therapy (paragraphs 0052 and 0054);
and wherein the control circuit is configured to (paragraphs 0121-0122):
determine that the instruction received in the RF communication signal is a programming instruction to program a value of a therapy parameter of the electrical therapy provided by the AMD (paragraphs 0041 and 0076);
perform the programming instruction when the communication session is started using the inductive link (paragraph 0044);
and reject the programming instruction when the communication session is started using the RF link (paragraphs 0044 and 0059).
Claim 6:
As per claim 6, Schilling teaches the AMD of claim 1 as described above and further teaches wherein the control circuit is configured to:
determine that the instruction received in the RF communication signal is an upload instruction to upload an amount of information stored in the AMD greater than a predetermined threshold amount of information (paragraph 0090);
perform the upload instruction when the communication session is started using the inductive link (paragraph 0044); and
reject the upload instruction when the communication session is started using the RF link (paragraphs 0044 and 0059).
Claim 7:
As per claim 7, Schilling teaches the AMD of claim 1 as described above and further teaches wherein the control circuit is configured to:
determine that the instruction received in the RF communication signal is an instruction that when performed results in a communication session lasting longer than a predetermined threshold amount of time (paragraph 0090);
perform the instruction when the communication session is started using the inductive link (paragraph 0044);
and reject the instruction when the communication session is started using the RF link (paragraphs 0044 and 0059).
Claim 8:
As per claim 8, Schilling teaches the AMD of claim 1 as described above and further teaches wherein the control circuit is configured to:
determine that the instruction received in the RF communication signal is an update instruction to update firmware in the AMD (paragraph 0047);
perform the update instruction when the communication session is started using the inductive link (paragraph 0044);
and reject the update instruction when the communication session is started using the RF link (paragraphs 0044 and 0059).
Claim 9:
As per claim 9, Schilling teaches the AMD of claim 1 as described above and further teaches wherein the control circuit includes a timeout timer and is configured to:
begin performing the instruction when the communication session is started using the inductive link (paragraph 0044);
detect interruption of an RF communication signal on the RF link (paragraph 0044);
and resume performing the instruction when another near field communication signal is received on the inductive link before the timeout timer expires (paragraph 0047).
Claim 10:
As per claim 10, Schilling teaches the AMD of claim 1 as described above and further teaches wherein the control circuit is configured to:
authenticate a role of a second device sending the RF communication signal (paragraph 0060);
and override the rejecting the instruction when the role of the second device is authenticated, and the instruction programs a parameter included in a profile of parameters enabled for programming according to the role of the second device (paragraph 0044).
Claim 11:
As per claim 11, Schilling teaches the AMD of claim 1 as described above and further teaches wherein the control circuit is configured to:
authenticate a role of a second device sending the RF communication signal (paragraph 0060);
and perform the instruction when the communication session is started using the RF link and the role of the second device is authenticated (paragraph 0060).
Claim 12:
As per claim 12, Schilling teaches the AMD of claim 1 as described above and further teaches wherein the control circuit is configured to perform the instruction when the communication session is started using the RF link and the instruction enables a predetermined profile of operating parameters of the AMD (paragraph 0060).
Claim 14:
As per claim 14, Schilling teaches the method of claim 13 as described above and further teaches including:
receiving a different instruction via the RF link from the second device, wherein a class of the different instruction does not require the communication session to be started using the inductive link when performing the instruction (paragraph 0060);
and performing, by the AMD, the different instruction when the communication session is started using either the RF link or the inductive link (paragraph 0044).
Claim 15:
As per claim 15, Schilling teaches the method of claim 13 as described above and further teaches including:
authenticating a role of the second device (paragraph 0060);
and overriding the rejecting the instruction according to the role of the second device and performing the instruction when the communication session is started using the RF link (paragraph 0060)
Claim 16:
As per claim 16, Schilling teaches the method of claim 13 as described above and further teaches wherein the determining that a class of the received instruction requires the communication session to be started using the inductive link includes determining that the instruction received via the RF link is a programming instruction to program one or more operating parameters of the AMD and requiring the communication session to be started using the inductive link to perform the programming instruction (paragraphs 0041, 0052, 0054, and 0076).
Claim 17:
As per claim 17, Schilling teaches the method of claim 13 as described above and further teaches wherein the determining that a class of the received instruction requires the communication session to be started using the inductive link includes determining that the instruction received via the RF link is a programming instruction to program a value of a therapy parameter of an electrical therapy provided by the AMD and requiring the communication session to be started using the inductive link to perform the programming instruction (paragraphs 0041, 0052, 0054, and 0076).
Claim 18:
As per claim 18, Schilling teaches the method of claim 13 as described above and further teaches wherein the determining that a class of the received instruction requires the communication session to be started using the inductive link includes determining that the instruction received via the RF link is an upload instruction to upload an amount of information stored in the AMD greater than a predetermined threshold amount of information requiring the communication session to be started using the inductive link to perform the upload instruction (paragraphs 0044 and 0047).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Flakne et al. US Publication 20220035900 A1 Enhanced Authentication for IMD Communication
Flakne discloses a method for establishing an access of an external device to an implantable medical device, comprising the steps of: Allowing the implantable medical device to assume an activated mode by letting a user of the implantable medical device apply a magnetic field to the implantable medical device, wherein in the activated mode the implantable medical device is enabled to receive authentication information for authenticating the user of the implantable medical device, and providing authentication information to the implantable medical device, when the latter is in the activated mode to establish said access. Furthermore, the present invention relates to a corresponding medical system.
Li et al. US Publication 20160359222 A1 Antenna Structures for Implantable Medical Devices and Methods of Assembling Same
Li discloses an antenna structure for use in an implantable medical device. The antenna structure includes a first antenna configured to receive wireless signals within a first frequency band, a second antenna configured to receive wireless signals within a second frequency band lower than the first frequency band, and a common output connector. The first antenna includes a first end and a second, free end opposite the first end. The second antenna is connected to the first antenna at a location between the first and second ends. The common output connector is disposed at the first end of the first antenna, and is electrically coupled to the first and second antennas such that signals received by the first and second antennas are output through the common output connector.
/MATTHEW L HAMILTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3682