DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 7 objected to because of the following informalities:
Re claims 1, 7, it is generally recommended that the claims provide more precise description of the connection or operation of the inverters’ AC terminals in series in claim 1 (e.g. “wherein the first-primary positive terminal is connected with the AC system, wherein the first-primary negative terminal is connected with the second-primary positive terminal, wherein the second-primary negative terminal is grounded, such that the first-primary terminal and the second-primary terminal are connected in series with respect to the AC system,” or similar recitation of the arrangement like in claim 20) and connection of the converters’ secondary terminals in parallel in claim 7 (e.g. “wherein each of the first- converter secondary positive terminal and the first-converter secondary negative is further connected with the DC system in parallel” or similar recitation), since as currently drafted the recitation of general electrical connection could potentially be interpreted more broadly than the arrangement shown in Applicant’s supported embodiments and raise issues under 35 USC 112(a). Applicant may also consider similar clarification of connection arrangement/operation of the system components in other claims if desired to avoid potentially broader interpretation than intended.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hui (US2024/0313542).
Re claim 1. Hui teaches a system (see Hui: [0156], Fig. 4; note reference is made to the same component numbers and descriptions used in Fig. 2a for convenience, and see also discussion below regarding relationship of Fig. 4 with other figures) of provisioning an interface between an AC system (3-phase AC grid <213>, see Hui: [0082-0083], [0086], Figs. 1b, 2a, 4) and a DC system (EV charging ports/DC grid <215/216/218/220>, see Hui: [0082-0083], [0087], [0099], Figs. 1b, 2a, 2c, 4), the system comprising:
an inverter device (first stage AC-DC modular multilevel converter/MMC <202> associated with a first AC phase, see Hui: [0086], Figs. 2a, 4) comprising a plurality of H-bridge inverters (respective AC-DC converters having AC terminals in series), wherein the plurality of H-bridge inverters comprises a first H-bridge inverter and a second H-bridge inverter, wherein the first H-bridge inverter comprises a first-primary terminal (respective AC terminal) comprising a first-primary positive terminal and a first-primary negative terminal, wherein the second H-bridge inverter comprises a second-primary terminal (respective AC terminal) comprising a second-primary positive terminal and a second-primary negative terminal, wherein the first-primary positive terminal is connectable with the AC system, wherein the first- primary negative terminal is connected with the second-primary positive terminal (see Hui: [0086], Figs. 2a, 4 regarding front-stage AC-DC MMC <202> comprising 2 or more bidirectional H-bridge inverters having respective positive/negative AC terminals connected in series with respect to a phase of the AC grid), wherein the first H-bridge inverter further comprises a first-secondary terminal (respective DC terminal) comprising a first-secondary positive terminal and a first-secondary negative terminal, wherein the second H-bridge inverter further comprises a second-secondary terminal (respective DC terminal) comprising a second-secondary positive terminal and a second-secondary negative terminal (see Hui: [0086], [0156], Figs. 2a, 4 regarding respective DC outputs of each H-bridge AC-DC inverter to respective DC link terminals where batteries are coupled); and
a battery device (plurality of batteries <400>, see Hui: [0156], Fig. 4) comprising a plurality of battery modules (<400>) corresponding to the plurality of H-bridge inverters, wherein the plurality of battery modules comprises a first battery module and a second battery module (respective batteries <400> for each of the DC links), wherein the first battery module comprises a first positive terminal and a first negative terminal, wherein the second battery module comprises a second positive terminal and a second negative terminal, wherein the first positive terminal and the second positive terminal is connected with the first-secondary positive terminal and the second-secondary positive terminal respectively, wherein the first negative terminal and the second negative terminal is connected with the first- secondary negative terminal and the second-secondary negative terminal respectively (see Hui: [0086], [0156], Fig. 4 regarding batteries <400> respectively connected across DC link at output of each respective AC-DC inverter), wherein each of the first-secondary terminals and the second-secondary terminals is further connected with the DC system (see Hui: [0087], [0099], Figs. 2a, 2c, 4 regarding DC terminals of respective AC-DC inverters further coupled to the EV charging ports/DC grid via further conversion components). See Hui: [0075-0077], [0082-0083], [0086-0088], [0099], [0151-0156], Figs. 1a-c, 2a-c, 4.
It is noted that the embodiment of Hui: [0151-0156], Fig. 4 is not discussed as an independent functioning embodiment separate from the other Figures, and although explicit statement is not made combining the features of the other Figures, one of ordinary skill would understand that Hui: [0156], Fig. 4 is essentially disclosing or implying that the arrangement of Fig. 4 can be taken as a modification to add batteries to the DC links to the Figures and embodiments previously shown considering the disclosure of Hui as a whole. One of ordinary skill would generally appreciate that Hui: [0075-0077], [0082-0083], Figs. 1a-c discloses the overall high-level arrangement of the AC grid, interfacing bidirectional conversion circuitry, and DC grid, that Hui: [0086-0088], [0099-0101], Figs. 2a-g present alternative arrangements for grouping/coupling the MMC modules between the AC grid and one or more DC output connections/loads or other circuit modifications, and that Hui: [0156], Fig. 4 presents a modification to the DC link that could be applied or combined with features of the previous circuit arrangements of Figs. 2a-g.
Hui does not explicitly disclose wherein the second-primary negative terminal is grounded, and does not explicitly show the negative side AC terminal connection in Fig. 4, and only shows arrangement where front stage AC-DC MMC <202> is connected between two of the AC phases, i.e. a Delta connection to 3 phase system. However, Official Notice is hereby taken that it is very well-known in the art of 3-phase AC power distributions and conversion systems for connection to receive/supply from a phase of the 3-phase AC system may instead be by using a Wye connection with grounded neutral (see for example the other cited prior art of record, such as CN116633146A). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Hui to have the MMCs connected to the three-phase AC system using a Wye connection instead of Delta connection, which would thereby result in the connection of the front stage <202> between a respective phase and grounded neutral terminal, for purposes of providing known 3-phase AC power connection arrangement that would predictably provide an equivalent means to receive/supply power to respective phase of the 3-phase AC system, and as suited for user’s desired voltage range from the 3-phase system or intended application.
Re claim 2. Hui teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of H-bridge inverters is configured for: receiving an AC power from the AC system through the first-primary positive terminal, wherein the AC system is associated with the AC power; converting the AC power into a DC power; and transmitting the DC power to at least one of the plurality of battery modules and the DC system through at least one of the first-secondary terminal and the second- secondary terminal (see Hui: [0086], [0156], Figs. 2a, 4 regarding operation of front stage AC-DC <202> to convert AC power from AC grid to respective DC power for DC links and batteries).
Re claim 3. Hui teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the plurality of battery modules is configured for: storing the DC power based on charging of a plurality of batteries (batteries <400>), wherein the plurality of battery modules comprises the plurality of batteries; and transmitting the DC power to the DC system through at least one of the first- secondary terminal and the second-secondary terminal connected with the first battery module and the second battery module respectively, wherein the transmitting of the DC power to the DC system is based on discharging of the plurality of batteries (see Hui: [0086-0087], [0156], Fig. 4 regarding batteries directly coupled to DC links, which would thereby inherently provide capability to charge and discharge when DC power is supplied/drawn from the DC link by converter components; alternatively, Official Notice is hereby taken that it is well-known for batteries coupled to converter DC links to charge/discharge to maintain DC link at desired voltage and provide/absorb power depending on operation of the converter circuitry, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to operate the arrangement of Hui as recited for purposes of providing known means to predictably allow the batteries to regulate voltage and power of the DC link according to the desired power supply operations of Hui; see also for example further discussion of Rozman below).
Re claim 4. Hui teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of H-bridge inverters is configured for: receiving a DC power from at least one of the plurality of battery modules and the DC system through at least one of the first-secondary terminal and the second-secondary terminal, wherein the DC system is associated with the DC power; converting the DC power into an AC power; and transmitting the AC power to the AC system through the first-primary positive terminal (see Hui: [0075-0077], [0082-0083], [0086], Figs. 2a, 4 regarding bidirectional AC-DC MMC stage <202> which enables bidirectional supply to/receiving power from respective DC links with the respective AC phase; see also discussion of claim 3 above regarding obviousness of receiving power from batteries).
Re claim 5. Hui teaches the system of claim 4, wherein the plurality of battery module is configured for: receiving the DC power from the DC system through at least one of the first- secondary terminal and the second-secondary terminal connected with the first battery and the second battery respectively; storing the DC power based on charging of a plurality of batteries, wherein the plurality of battery modules comprises the plurality of batteries; and transmitting the DC power to the plurality of H-bridge inverters through at least one of the first-secondary terminal and the second-secondary terminal connected with the first battery module and the second battery module respectively, wherein the transmitting of the DC power to the plurality of H-bridge inverters is based on discharging of the plurality of batteries (see Hui: [0075-0077], [0082-0083], [0086], Figs. 2a, 4 regarding bidirectional conversion stages <204>, <206> enabling bidirectional supply to/receiving power from respective DC links with the DC grid/EV charging ports and subsequent supply to respective AC phase by bidirectional first stage <202>; see also discussion of claim 3 above regarding obviousness of charging/discharging power from batteries).
Re claim 6. Hui teaches the system of claim 1 further comprises a converter device (second and third power stages <204>, <206>, see Hui: [0086-0087], [0099], Figs. 2a, 2c, 4) comprising a plurality of dual-active bridge converters (respective dual-active bridge converter formed by each dc/ac converter, transformer, and ac/dc converter for each DC link, see Hui: [0083], [0086-0089], Figs. 2a, 2c, 4), wherein the plurality of dual-active bridge converters comprises a first converter and a second converter (respective dc-ac converter-transformer-ac/dc converter for each DC link), wherein the first converter comprises a first-converter primary terminal (respective DC terminal of stage <204> coupled to DC link/battery) comprising a first-converter primary positive terminal and a first-converter primary negative terminal, wherein the first-converter primary positive terminal and the first-converter primary negative terminal is connected with the first-secondary positive terminal and the first-secondary negative terminal respectively, wherein the second converter comprises a second-converter primary terminal (respective DC terminal of stage <204> coupled to DC link/battery) comprising a second-converter primary positive terminal and a second-converter primary negative terminal, wherein the second-converter primary positive terminal and the second- converter primary negative terminal is connected with the second-secondary positive terminal and the second-secondary negative terminal respectively (see Hui: [0086-0087], [0099], [0156], Figs. 2a, 2c, 4 regarding arrangement).
Re claim 7. Hui teaches the system of claim 6, wherein the first converter and the second converter further comprises a first-converter secondary terminal and a second-converter secondary terminal respectively (respective DC terminal of stage <206> coupled to EV charging ports/DC grid), wherein the first-converter secondary terminal comprises a first- converter secondary positive terminal and a first-converter secondary negative terminal, wherein the second-converter secondary terminal comprises a second-converter secondary positive terminal and a second-converter secondary negative terminal, wherein the second-converter secondary positive terminal and the second-converter secondary negative terminal is connected with the first-converter secondary positive terminal and the first-converter secondary negative terminal respectively, wherein each of the first- converter secondary positive terminal and the first-converter secondary negative is further connectable with the DC system (see Hui: [0086-0087], [0099], [0156], Figs. 2a, 2c, 4 regarding arrangement such that each of the output DC terminals of stage <206> in each module may be coupled in parallel with each other and with the DC grid/respective EV charging port).
Re claim 8. Hui teaches the system of claim 7, wherein the plurality of dual-active bridge converters is configured for: receiving the DC power from at least one of the plurality of H-bridge inverters and the plurality of battery modules through at least one of the first-converter primary terminal and the second-converter primary terminal, wherein the DC power is associated with a first voltage; converting the DC power with the first voltage to a second DC power, wherein the second DC power is associated with a second voltage, wherein the first voltage is greater than second voltage; and transmitting the second DC power to the DC system through at least one of the first-converter secondary terminal and the second-converter secondary terminal (see Hui: [0086-0087], [0099], [0156], Figs. 2a, 2c, 4 regarding the DABs stepping down DC voltage from the first stage <202> and DC links/batteries to lower voltage to supply DC grid/loads).
Re claim 9. Hui teaches the system of claim 7, wherein the plurality of dual-active bridge converters is configured for: receiving a second DC power from the DC system through at least one of the first-converter secondary terminal and the second-converter secondary terminal, wherein the second DC power is associated with a second voltage; converting the second DC power with the second voltage to the DC power, wherein the DC power is associated with a first voltage; and transmitting the DC power to at least one of the plurality of H-bridge inverters and the plurality of battery modules through at least one of the first-converter primary terminal and the second-converter primary terminal (see Hui: [0075-0077], [0082-0083], [0086-0087], [0099], [0156], Figs. 2a, 2c, 4 regarding bidirectional stages <204>, <206> and supplying power from DC grid to AC grid).
Re claim 10. Hui teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of battery modules comprises a plurality of batteries, wherein the plurality of batteries is characterized by a plurality of battery characteristics, wherein one of the plurality of battery characteristics corresponds to a battery voltage, wherein the plurality of H-bridge inverters is characterized by a plurality of inverter characteristics, wherein one of the plurality of inverter characteristics corresponds to a H-bridge voltage (see Hui: [0082-0083], [0086-0087], [0156], Figs. 2a, 2c, 4 regarding batteries which inherently have respective voltages, and first stage inverters <202> which inherently have respective input/output voltages during conversion operation).
Re claim 17. Hui teaches the system of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of battery modules comprises at least one battery (see Hui: [0156], Figs. 4 regarding batteries <400>).
Re claim 18. Hui teaches the system of claim 17, but does not explicitly disclose the type of battery used (see Hui: [0156], Fig. 4, though it is also noted a fuel cell may be considered a type of flow battery). Official Notice is hereby taken that it is very well-known in the art of power supply and conversion systems that Li-ion and lead acid batteries may equivalently and predictably function as known rechargeable battery technologies. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Hui to implement/substitute the batteries with known Li-ion or lead-acid battery technology for purposes of providing known rechargeable battery chemistry technology for predictably and equivalently providing rechargeable battery supplies for the system.
Re claim 19. Hui teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the AC system corresponds to a grid, wherein the grid is an interconnected network configured for transmitting an electricity (see Hui: [0075-0077], [0082-0083], [0086], [0156], Figs. 2a, 2c, 4 regarding AC grid).
Re claim 20. Hui teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of H-bridge inverters corresponds to a cascaded H-bridge inverter (see Hui: [0086-0087], [0093], Figs. 2a, 2c, 4 regarding series connected H-bridge inverters of first stage <202> being a cascaded AC-DC converter).
Claim(s) 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hui (US2024/0313542) in view of Rozman (US2018/0015831).
Re claim 11. Hui teaches the system of claim 10, but does not explicitly disclose providing additional converters between the batteries <400> and respective DC links (see Hui: [0156], Fig. 4). Rozman, however, teaches that it is known in the art of modular power conversion systems with multilevel AC-DC converters providing power to respective DC bus coupled to battery (see Rozman: [0052-0054], Figs. 7-8) to provide a plurality of additional-converters (respective multi-function DC-Dc converters <830>, see Rozman: Figs. 7-8) corresponding to the plurality of battery modules (batteries <614>, see Rozman: Figs. 7-8), wherein the plurality of additional- converters comprises a first additional-converter and a second additional- converter, wherein the first additional-converter comprises a first additional-converter first terminal and a first additional-converter second terminal, wherein the first additional-converter first terminal and the first additional-converter second terminal is connected with the first-secondary positive terminal and the first positive terminal respectively (see Rozman: [0052-0054], Figs. 7-8 regarding dc-dc converter <830> connecting battery <614> terminals to respective DC bus positive/negative lines at output of each section of the multilevel AC-DC converter to allow the battery to adjust the voltage of DC bus or charge the battery from DC bus). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Hui to incorporate the teachings of Rozman by having each of the battery modules of Hui be coupled to respective DC link by a respective DC-DC converter as suggested by Rozman for purposes of providing known power conversion interface to allow control of battery charge and discharge and voltage conversion from respective DC link while enabling the battery to be at a different voltage than the DC link (see Rozman: [0040], [0052-0054], Figs. 7-8).
Re claim 12. Hui in view of Rozman teaches the system of claim 11, wherein the second additional-converter comprises a second additional-converter first terminal and a second additional-converter second terminal, wherein the second additional-converter first terminal and the second additional- converter second terminal is connected with the second-secondary positive terminal and the second positive terminal respectively (see Rozman: [0052-0054], Figs. 7-8, and discussion of claim 11, regarding each dc-dc converter <830> connecting each battery <614> terminals to respective DC bus positive/negative lines at output of each section of the multilevel AC-DC converter to allow the battery to adjust the voltage of DC bus or charge the battery from DC bus).
Re claim 13. Hui in view of Rozman teaches the system of claim 11, wherein the plurality of additional-converters is configured for: receiving a DC power from the plurality of H-bridge inverters through at least one of the first additional-converter first terminal and the second additional-converter first terminal, wherein the DC power is characterized by the H-bridge voltage; converting the DC power with the H-bridge voltage to a battery voltage DC power, wherein the battery voltage DC power is characterized by the battery voltage; and transmitting the battery voltage DC power to at least one of the plurality of battery modules through at least one of the first additional-converter second terminal and the second additional-converter second terminal (see Rozman: [0040], [0052-0054], Figs. 7-8, and discussion of claim 11 above, regarding dc-dc converter <830> converting power from and charging power to respective battery <614> voltage to DC bus/link voltage; see Hui: [0082-0083], [0086-0087], [0099], [0156], Figs. 2a, 2c, 4 regarding system supplying power to/receiving power from respective DC links with AC grid via the bidirectional AC-DC inverter first stage).
Re claim 14. Hui in view of Rozman teaches the system of claim 11, wherein the plurality of additional converters is configured for: receiving a battery voltage DC power from the plurality of battery modules through at least one of the first additional-converter second terminal and the second additional-converter second terminal, wherein the battery voltage DC power is characterized by the battery voltage; converting the battery voltage DC power to a DC power, wherein the DC power is characterized by the H-bridge voltage; and transmitting the DC power to the plurality of H-bridge inverters through at least one of the first additional-converter first terminal and the second additional-converter first terminal (see Rozman: [0040], [0052-0054], Figs. 7-8, and discussion of claim 11 above, regarding dc-dc converter <830> converting power from and charging power to respective battery <614> voltage to DC bus/link voltage; see Hui: [0082-0083], [0086-0087], [0099], [0156], Figs. 2a, 2c, 4 regarding system supplying power to/receiving power from respective DC links with AC grid via the bidirectional AC-DC inverter first stage).
Re claim 15. Hui in view of Rozman teaches the system of claim 11, wherein the H-bridge voltage is different from the battery voltage (see Rozman: [0040], [0052-0054], Figs. 7-8, and discussion of claim 11 above, regarding dc-dc converter <830> converting power from and charging power to respective battery <614> voltage to DC bus/link voltage; note the inherently changing battery charge and voltage would result in the DC link voltage from H-bridge being different than the battery voltage at least sometimes, or alternatively is implied from the DC-DC converter converting voltage and adjusting DC bus voltage).
Re claim 16. Hui in view of Rozman teaches the system of claim 11, wherein the plurality of additional-converters corresponds to a DC-DC converter (see Rozman: [0052-0054], Figs. 7-8, and discussion of claim 11 above regarding providing DC-DC converters <830>).
Conclusion
In summary, it is recommended Applicant consider the cited prior art of record, which appears to suggest use of multilevel AC-DC inverter to provide power conversion between AC grid and plurality of batteries is fairly well-known in the art, with prior art such as Hui disclosing an arrangement where the batteries are further coupled by respective DABs to create parallel DC output. At present, it is not apparent what features of the invention would be distinguished and nonobvious over the prior art. If Applicant believes that the complete converter circuit arrangement together with further special manner of operation beyond common power/voltage conversion and charging/discharging would be nonobvious over the prior art, then it is recommended the claims be amended to recite the corresponding details.
/DAVID A SHIAO/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836