DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/17/2025 and 06/12/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1-9, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Das Sharma (US Pub. No. 2020/0226084 A1 hereinafter “Das Sharma”).
Referring to claim 1, Das Sharma discloses a data storage device (Das Sharma – Figs. 1, 12 show a computing system. Par. [0033-0034] disclose memory 175 may be dedicated to processor 100 or shared with other devices in a system.), comprising:
a memory device (Das Sharma – Fig. 1, system memory 175); and
a controller coupled to the memory device, wherein the controller is configured to (Das Sharma – Par. [0035] discloses “a memory controller hub is on the same package and/or die with processor 100. Here, a portion of the core (an on-core portion) 110 includes one or more controller(s) for interfacing with other devices such as memory 175.”):
determine current and future workloads for the data storage device (Das Sharma – Par. [0040] discloses “the techniques and mechanisms described herein support asymmetric link width, enabling power savings when the bandwidth demand is asymmetric (e.g., more inbound vs outbound traffic in storage applications).”);
determine an optimal number of active lanes for the workloads (Das Sharma – Par. [0056] discloses “a configuration state (e.g., 312) may be utilized and augmented to allow negotiation of a particular one of multiple protocols in parallel with the link training activities defined natively in the training state (e.g., lane width determination, lane numbering, deskew, equalization, etc.).”; Par. [0057] discloses “a particular training state in a PCIe LTSSM may be utilized for the negotiation of protocols between devices on a link.”);
determine an optimal direction of the optimal number of active lanes for the workloads (Das Sharma – Par. [0056] discloses “identify the particular protocols each device supports, and agree upon one or more protocols to employ over the particular PHY (e.g., through a handshake accomplished through the transmission of these training sequences across the link (in both the upstream and downstream directions)).”; Par. [0060] discloses “the capability of the component (whether it supports L0p and whether it supports the general asymmetric L0p or a symmetric L0p version, where both directions will attempt to be of the same width).”.); and
modify one or more of: a number of active lanes; or a direction of active lanes (Das Sharma – Par. [0040] discloses “enabling power savings when the bandwidth demand is asymmetric (e.g., more inbound vs outbound traffic in storage applications).”; Par. [0042] discloses “link reconfiguration mechanisms”; Par. [0053] discloses “The USP and the DSP control the link width”.).
Referring to claim 2, Das Sharma discloses the data storage device of claim 1, wherein the direction of active lanes is asymmetric in number (Das Sharma – Par. [0060] discloses “asymmetric L0p”.).
Referring to claim 3, Das Sharma discloses the data storage device of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to reorder commands retrieved from a submission queue (Das Sharma – Par. [0029] discloses “threads 101a and 101b are potentially capable of out-of-order execution … reorder buffers” and par. [0110].).
Referring to claim 4, Das Sharma discloses the data storage device of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to determine a time to perform the modifying (Das Sharma – See Par. [0071].).
Referring to claim 5, Das Sharma discloses the data storage device of claim 4, wherein the controller is configured to set a timer after the determining a time (Das Sharma – See Par. [0071].).
Referring to claim 6, Das Sharma discloses the data storage device of claim 1, wherein the controller includes a completion queue control module, a workload analysis module, and an L0p modification control module (Das Sharma – See Fig. 1 in conjunction with par. [0029-0035] and par. [0060].).
Referring to claim 7, Das Sharma discloses the data storage device of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to return executed commands to a completion queue out of order from which commands were received in a submission queue (Das Sharma – Par. [0029] discloses “threads 101a and 101b are potentially capable of out-of-order execution … reorder buffers” and par. [0110].).
Referring to claim 8, Das Sharma discloses the data storage device of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to determine that a read volume will be greater than a threshold and wherein the controller is configured to increase a number of transmission lanes based upon the determining (Das Sharma – Par. [0021] discloses “bandwidth requirements”, par. [0040], and Fig. 6C in conjunction with par. [0059].).
Referring to claim 9, Das Sharma discloses the data storage device of claim 8, wherein the number of transmission lanes is asymmetric to a number of receiving lanes within a link (Das Sharma – Par. [0060] discloses “asymmetric L0p”.).
Referring to claim 18, Das Sharma discloses a data storage device (Das Sharma – Figs. 1, 12 show a computing system. Par. [0033-0034] disclose memory 175 may be dedicated to processor 100 or shared with other devices in a system.), comprising:
means for storing data (Das Sharma – Fig. 1, system memory 175); and
a controller coupled to the means for storing data, wherein the controller is configured to (Das Sharma – Par. [0035] discloses “a memory controller hub is on the same package and/or die with processor 100. Here, a portion of the core (an on-core portion) 110 includes one or more controller(s) for interfacing with other devices such as memory 175.”):
change an order of command execution (Das Sharma – See par. [0029].);
change a lane configuration between the data storage device and a host device, wherein the lane configuration is changed to an asymmetric arrangement of transmission lanes and receiving lanes (Das Sharma – Par. [0040] discloses “enabling power savings when the bandwidth demand is asymmetric (e.g., more inbound vs outbound traffic in storage applications).”; Par. [0042] discloses “link reconfiguration mechanisms”; Par. [0053] discloses “The USP and the DSP control the link width”.); and
execute commands, wherein the controller comprises a completion queue control module, a workload analysis module, and a L0p modification control module (Das Sharma – See Fig. 1 in conjunction with par. [0029-0035] and par. [0060].).
Referring to claim 19, Das Sharma discloses the data storage device of claim 18, wherein the L0p modification control module determines the lane configuration based upon the changed order of command execution (Das Sharma – See par. [0053, 0060, 0074].).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 10-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Das Sharma in view of Hahn et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0385775 A1 hereinafter “Hahn”).
Referring to claim 10, Das Sharma discloses the data storage device of claim 1, however, fails to explicitly disclose wherein the controller is configured to order transactions in a completion queue to optimize power consumption and reduce latency.
Hahn discloses the controller is configured to order transactions in a completion queue to optimize power consumption and reduce latency (Hahn – See par. [0039].).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Hahn’s teachings with Das Sharma’s techniques for the benefit of optimizing the link active durations in storage device systems, such that the link active time is minimized and power consumption is optimized (Hahn – Par. [0005]).
Referring to claim 11, Das Sharma discloses a data storage device (Das Sharma – Figs. 1, 12 show a computing system. Par. [0033-0034] disclose memory 175 may be dedicated to processor 100 or shared with other devices in a system.), comprising:
a memory device (Das Sharma – Fig. 1, system memory 175); and
a controller coupled to the memory device, wherein the controller is configured to (Das Sharma – Par. [0035] discloses “a memory controller hub is on the same package and/or die with processor 100. Here, a portion of the core (an on-core portion) 110 includes one or more controller(s) for interfacing with other devices such as memory 175.”):
change one or more lanes in a link between a host device and the data storage device, wherein the link comprises a plurality of lanes and wherein the changing results in an asymmetric number of transmission lanes and receiving lanes (Das Sharma – Par. [0040] discloses “enabling power savings when the bandwidth demand is asymmetric (e.g., more inbound vs outbound traffic in storage applications).”; Par. [0042] discloses “link reconfiguration mechanisms”; Par. [0053] discloses “The USP and the DSP control the link width”. Par. [0060] discloses “A Port may request an L0p in either direction.” Fig. 11 & par. [0115]-[0116] disclose “A connection between two devices, such as device 1105 and device 1110, is referred to as a link, such as link 1115.“); and
execute commands retrieved in the retrieval order and executed in the completion queue order (Das Sharma – Par. [0029] discloses “out-of-order execution […] reorder buffers“; Par. [0074] discloses “link partners can then up-configure or down-configure the link“; Par. [0098] discloses “PCI Express uses packets to communicate information between components […] processed by the Transaction Layer 905 of the receiving device.”).
Das Sharma fails to explicitly disclose determine a completion queue order that is out of order from a retrieval order from one or more submission queues, wherein the completion queue order reduces power consumption or reduced latency or both reduces power consumption and reduces latency compared to the retrieval order.
Hahn discloses determine a completion queue order that is out of order from a retrieval order from one or more submission queues, wherein the completion queue order reduces power consumption or reduced latency or both reduces power consumption and reduces latency compared to the retrieval order (Hahn – Par. [0039] discloses “In order to optimize the time that the link is active, the way that the data storage device processes commands is changed. […] changing the command fetching, command processing, and/or command executing to minimize the link uptime and maximize the time that the link can remain in a low power mode“; Par. [0048] discloses “data storage device will control the command arbitration from the host to aggregate together command chunks […] controller will still honor host arbitration settings by keeping the ratio and weights between queues“; Par. [0049] discloses “predefined prioritization of fetching from the different command queues“; Par. [0050] discloses “controller such as the controller 108 of FIG. 1 checks how many commands are in each queue.“);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Hahn’s teachings with Das Sharma’s techniques for the benefit of optimizing the link active durations in storage device systems, such that the link active time is minimized and power consumption is optimized (Hahn – Par. [0005]).
Referring to claim 12, Das Sharma and Hahn disclose the data storage device of claim 11, wherein the controller is configured to monitor current and expected workloads for the data storage device (Das Sharma – Par. [0040] discloses “the techniques and mechanisms described herein support asymmetric link width, enabling power savings when the bandwidth demand is asymmetric (e.g., more inbound vs outbound traffic in storage applications).”).
Referring to claim 13, Das Sharma and Hahn disclose the data storage device of claim 11, wherein the controller comprises an L0p modification control module that is configured to initiate a handshake with a host device L0p modification control module (Das Sharma – See par. [0079-0082].).
Referring to claim 14, Das Sharma and Hahn disclose the data storage device of claim 13, wherein the controller L0p modification control module analyzes overall conditions that do not include a workload (Das Sharma – See par. [0101].).
Referring to claim 15, Das Sharma and Hahn disclose the data storage device of claim 14, wherein the overall conditions that do not include the workload comprise power consumption and throughput expected by the host device (Das Sharma – See par. [0101].).
Referring to claim 16, Das Sharma and Hahn disclose the data storage device of claim 15, wherein the overall conditions that do not include the workload comprise reconfiguration latency and is configured to determine whether to change a lane configuration of the link (Das Sharma – See par. [0101].).
Referring to claim 17, Das Sharma and Hahn disclose the data storage device of claim 11, wherein the controller is configured to estimate current completion rate and expected completion queue population in a completion queue control module (Das Sharma – See par. [0101].).
Referring to claim 20, Das Sharma discloses the data storage device of claim 18, wherein the workload analysis module examines current and future workloads in one or more submission queues (Das Sharma – See Par. [0039-0040].), however, fails to explicitly disclose wherein the completion queue control module estimates current completion rate and expected completion queue population.
Hahn discloses the completion queue control module estimates current completion rate and expected completion queue population (Hahn – See Par. [0039, 0050].).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Hahn’s teachings with Das Sharma’s techniques for the benefit of optimizing the link active durations in storage device systems, such that the link active time is minimized and power consumption is optimized (Hahn – Par. [0005]).
Conclusion
The examiner requests, in response to this office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application. When responding to this office action, applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. See 37 C.F.R.I .Ill(c).
In amending in reply to a rejection of claims in an application or patent under reexamination, the applicant or patent owner must clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. The applicant or patent owner must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
/Dayton Lewis-Taylor/
Examiner, Art Unit 2181