DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/17/2025 and 08/17/2026 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garcia et al. (US 10,484,106) in view of Martikkala et al. (US 8,045,926).
Regarding claim 1, Garcia et al. (figures 1A-1B, and 3A-3B) disclose an apparatus included in a communications system, the apparatus comprising: a first radio frequency (RF) section (103-1 to 103-m) configured to generate a RF calibration signal (signal to 103-1 to 103-m) based on modulating a calibration signal (from 121 figure 1B); a second RF section (109-1 to 109-N) configured to receive the RF calibration signal and configured to generate a received calibration signal based on demodulating the RF calibration signal; and a calibration section, wherein the received calibration signal and a reference signal associated with the RF calibration signal comprise inputs to the calibration section; and the calibration section is configured to determine one or more of gain, baseband delay, or RF delay compensation values, based on the inputs, to calibrate the first RF section (column 3, line 16 – column 4, line 5; and column 4, lines 11-54). Garcia et al. do not explicitly disclose wherein the calibration signal comprises an orthogonal code based signal. However, Martikkala et al. disclose an apparatus for calibrating antenna array in communication systems with a calibration signal comprises an orthogonal code based signal (column 7, lines 40-57; "In case of an exemplary CDMA system, signals may be separated by use of dedicated code channels"). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the orthogonal code based signal of Martikkala et al. to the apparatus of Garcia et al. for calibrating the antenna in CDMA system.
Regarding claim 2, Garcia et al. and Martikkala et al. disclose the apparatus of claim 1. In addition, Garcia et al. disclose a waveform generator configured to generate and provide the calibration signal to the first RF section (column 3, lines 16-41).
Regarding claim 3, Garcia et al. and Martikkala et al. disclose the apparatus of claim 1. In addition, Martikkala et al. disclose wherein the calibration signal comprises a code division multiple access (CDMA) signal (column 7, lines 40-57; "In case of an exemplary CDMA system, signals may be separated by use of dedicated code channels"). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the calibration signal comprises a CDMA signal of Martikkala et al. to the apparatus of Garcia et al. for calibrating the antenna in CDMA system.
Regarding claim 4, Garcia et al. and Martikkala et al. disclose the apparatus of claim 1. In addition, Garcia et al. further disclose wherein calibration of the first RF section comprises one or more of gain, baseband delay, or RF delay offsets caused by one or both of the first RF section or a first antenna coupled to the first RF section (column 3, line 42 - column 4, line 5).
Regarding claim 5, Garcia et al. and Martikkala et al. disclose the apparatus of claim 1. In addition, Martikkala et al. disclose wherein the reference signal associated with the RF calibration signal comprises a combination of the calibration signal and an encoded data signal (column 16, lines 13-22; “the baseband processing unit (BPU) comprises a calibration computation block (CCP) which generates signals to be used for a calibration measurement procedure, makes the measurements and computes and stores the required correction values. The baseband processing unit BPU further comprises a correction block CB which is used for applying correction values to the baseband transmit signals or transmit weights, to the baseband receive signals or to both the baseband transmit signals and baseband receive signals so as to achieve a desired net correction”). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the calibration signal comprises a combination of the calibration signal and an encoded data signal of Martikkala et al. to the apparatus of Garcia et al. for calibrating the antenna in CDMA system.
Regarding claim 6, Garcia et al. and Martikkala et al. disclose the apparatus of claim 1. In addition, Garcia et al. disclose wherein the calibration section is configured to determine correlations based on the received calibration signal and the calibration signal, wherein the calibration section is configured to determine initial gain and delay values based on the correlations, and wherein the calibration section is configured to determine a difference value based on the initial gain and delay values (column 6, lines 27-40; “updating phase and gain settings for the array of antenna elements to correct the mismatch”).
Regarding claim 7, Garcia et al. and Martikkala et al. disclose the apparatus of claim 6. In addition, Garcia et al. and Martikkala et al. obviously disclose wherein if the difference value is within a pre- set value, then the initial gain and delay values comprise the one or more gain, baseband delay, or RF delay compensation values (see Garcia, column 6, lines 27-40; “updating phase and gain settings for the array of antenna elements to correct the mismatch”; and Martikkala et al. , column 13, lines 34-39, “phase adjustment are only made if certain threshold value are exceeded”).wherein if the difference value is within a pre-set value, then the initial gain and delay values comprise the one or more gain, baseband delay, or RF delay compensation values.
Regarding claim 8, Garcia et al. and Martikkala et al. disclose the apparatus of claim 6. In addition, Garcia et al. and Martikkala et al. obviously disclose wherein if the difference value is greater than a pre-set value, then the calibration section is configured to iterate to determine new gain and delay values based on the initial gain and delay values, and wherein the calibration section is configured to determine a new difference value based on the new gain and delay values (see Garcia, column 6, lines 27-40; “updating phase and gain settings for the array of antenna elements to correct the mismatch”; and Martikkala et al. , column 13, lines 34-39, “phase adjustment are only made if certain threshold value are exceeded”).
Regarding claim 9, Garcia et al. and Martikkala et al. disclose the apparatus of claim 8. In addition, Garcia et al. and Martikkala et al. obviously disclose wherein if the new difference value is within the pre-set value, then the new gain and delay values comprise the one or more gain, baseband delay, or RF delay compensation values (see Garcia, column 6, lines 27-40; “updating phase and gain settings for the array of antenna elements to correct the mismatch”; and Martikkala et al. , column 13, lines 34-39, “phase adjustment are only made if certain threshold value are exceeded”).
Regarding claim 10, Garcia et al. and Martikkala et al. disclose the apparatus of claim 8. In addition, Garcia et al. and Martikkala et al. obviously disclose wherein if the new difference value is greater than the pre-set value, then the calibration section is configured to iterate to determine additional new gain and delay values based on the new gain and delay values, and wherein the calibration section is configured to determine an additional new difference value based on the additional new gain and delay values (see Garcia, column 6, lines 27-40; “updating phase and gain settings for the array of antenna elements to correct the mismatch”; and Martikkala et al. , column 13, lines 34-39, “phase adjustment are only made if certain threshold value are exceeded”).
Regarding claim 11, Garcia et al. and Martikkala et al. disclose the apparatus of claim 1. In addition, Martikkala et al. disclose a second baseband section, wherein the second baseband section is configured to receive a second calibration signal; and a third RF section wherein the third RF section is configured to generate a second RF calibration signal based on the second calibration signal, wherein the second calibration signal differs from the calibration signal in at least orthogonality; the first RF section and the third RF section simultaneously transmit the RF calibration signal and the second RF calibration signal; and the second RF section is configured to receive the second RF calibration signal over-the-air simultaneously with receiving the RF calibration signal, wherein the second RF section is configured to generate a received second calibration signal based on the second RF calibration signal (see page 15, lines 4-23; page 20, lines 1-22; and figure 6: "a block diagram of a multi-transceiver system with three individually operated transceiver modules TRXM1 ' , TRXM2' and TRXM3 ' to be used in a second application scenario for measuring amplitude, timing and phase offsets between an RF signal forwarded via an antenna loop AL12 from the Tx signal processing chain DLCH1 and Tx/Rx antenna Anti of a first transceiver module TRXM1 ' over the Tx/Rx antenna Ant2 and Tx signal processing chain DLCH2 of a second transceiver module TRXM2' to a signal measurement and adjustment block SMAB2 integrated into the Tx signal processing chain DLCH2 of the second transceiver module TRXM2' and the Tx baseband signal received from common baseband processing unit. Furthermore, timing offsets are measured between the RF signal forwarded via another antenna loop AF32 from the Tx signal processing chain DFCH3 and Tx/Rx antenna Ant3 of a third transceiver module TRXM3' over the Tx/Rx antenna Ant2 and Tx signal processing chain DFCH2 of the second transceiver module TRXM2' to the signal measurement and adjustment block SMAB2 located in the Tx signal processing chain DFCH2 of the second transceiver module TRXM2' and the Tx baseband signal received from the common baseband processing unit"). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the teaching above of Martikkala et al. to the apparatus of Garcia et al. for calibrating multiple components in the apparatus.
Regarding claim 12, Garcia et al. and Martikkala et al. disclose the apparatus of claim 11. In addition, Martikkala et al. disclose wherein the received second calibration signal and a second reference signal associated with the second RF calibration signal comprise second inputs to the calibration section, and wherein the calibration section is configured to determine one or more of second gain, baseband delay, or RF delay compensation values, based on the second inputs, to calibrate the second RF section (see page 15, lines 4-23; page 20, lines 1-22; and figure 6: "a block diagram of a multi-transceiver system with three individually operated transceiver modules TRXM1 ' , TRXM2' and TRXM3 ' to be used in a second application scenario for measuring amplitude, timing and phase offsets between an RF signal forwarded via an antenna loop AL12 from the Tx signal processing chain DLCH1 and Tx/Rx antenna Anti of a first transceiver module TRXM1 ' over the Tx/Rx antenna Ant2 and Tx signal processing chain DLCH2 of a second transceiver module TRXM2' to a signal measurement and adjustment block SMAB2 integrated into the Tx signal processing chain DLCH2 of the second transceiver module TRXM2' and the Tx baseband signal received from common baseband processing unit. Furthermore, timing offsets are measured between the RF signal forwarded via another antenna loop AF32 from the Tx signal processing chain DFCH3 and Tx/Rx antenna Ant3 of a third transceiver module TRXM3' over the Tx/Rx antenna Ant2 and Tx signal processing chain DFCH2 of the second transceiver module TRXM2' to the signal measurement and adjustment block SMAB2 located in the Tx signal processing chain DFCH2 of the second transceiver module TRXM2' and the Tx baseband signal received from the common baseband processing unit"). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the teaching above of Martikkala et al. to the apparatus of Garcia et al. for calibrating multiple components in the apparatus.
Regarding claim 13, Garcia et al. and Martikkala et al. disclose the apparatus of claim 1. In addition, Martikkala et al. disclose wherein the first RF section includes one or more IQ gain and phase compensators and one or more time delay filters, and wherein the one or more IQ gain and phase compensators is configured in accordance with the gain and RF delay compensation values and the one or more time delay filters is configured in accordance with the baseband delay compensation value to pre-compensate for gain and delay offsets associated with one or both of the first RF section or antenna electrically coupled to the first RF section (see column 16, lines 13-22; column 16, line 39 – column 17, line 8; and figure 2: "This exemplary device can be used in the scope of single-carrier or multi-carrier modulation systems"; and "The baseband processing unit BPU further comprises a correction block CB which is used for applying correction values to the baseband transmit signals"). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the teaching above of Martikkala et al. to the apparatus of Garcia et al. for calibrating gain and delay of the first RF section or antenna.
Regarding claim 14, Garcia et al. and Martikkala et al. disclose the apparatus of claim 1. In addition, Martikkala et al. disclose wherein the reference signal comprises the calibration signal (column 16, lines 13-22; “the baseband processing unit (BPU) comprises a calibration computation block (CCP) which generates signals to be used for a calibration measurement procedure, makes the measurements and computes and stores the required correction values. The baseband processing unit BPU further comprises a correction block CB which is used for applying correction values to the baseband transmit signals or transmit weights, to the baseband receive signals or to both the baseband transmit signals and baseband receive signals so as to achieve a desired net correction.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the reference signal comprises the calibration signal of Martikkala et al. to the apparatus of Garcia et al. to use the reference signal for calibration.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6, 8-14 and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,362,742. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-1-4, 6, 8-14 and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,362,742 anticipate claims 1-8 of the pending application.
Regarding claim 1 of the pending application, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,362,742 encompasses all the claimed limitations including an apparatus included in a communications system, the apparatus comprising: a first radio frequency (RF) section configured to generate a RF calibration signal based on modulating a calibration signal, wherein the calibration signal comprises an orthogonal code based signal; a second RF section configured to receive the RF calibration signal and configured to generate a received calibration signal based on demodulating the RF calibration signal; and a calibration section, wherein: the received calibration signal and a reference signal associated with the RF calibration signal comprise inputs to the calibration section; and the calibration section is configured to determine one or more of gain, baseband delay, or RF delay compensation values, based on the inputs, to calibrate the first RF section.
Regarding claim 2 of the pending application, claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,362,742 encompasses all the claimed limitations including a waveform generator configured to generate and provide the calibration signal to the first RF section.
Regarding claim 3 of the pending application, claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,362,742 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein the calibration signal comprises a code division multiple access (CDMA) signal.
Regarding claim 4 of the pending application, claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,362,742 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein calibration of the first RF section comprises one or more of gain, baseband delay, or RF delay offsets caused by one or both of the first RF section or a first antenna coupled to the first RF section.
Regarding claim 5 of the pending application, claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,362,742 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein the reference signal associated with the RF calibration signal comprises a combination of the calibration signal and an encoded data signal.
Regarding claim 6 of the pending application, claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,362,742 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein the calibration section is configured to determine correlations based on the received calibration signal and the calibration signal, wherein the calibration section is configured to determine initial gain and delay values based on the correlations, and wherein the calibration section is configured to determine a difference value based on the initial gain and delay values.-
Regarding claim 7 of the pending application, claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,362,742 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein if the difference value is within a pre-set value, then the initial gain and delay values comprise the one or more gain, baseband delay, or RF delay compensation values.
Regarding claim 8 of the pending application, claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,362,742 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein if the difference value is greater than a pre-set value, then the calibration section is configured to iterate to determine new gain and delay values based on the initial gain and delay values, and wherein the calibration section is configured to determine a new difference value based on the new gain and delay values.
Regarding claim 9 of the pending application, claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,362,742 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein if the new difference value is within the pre-set value, then the new gain and delay values comprise the one or more gain, baseband delay, or RF delay compensation values.
Regarding claim 10 of the pending application, claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,362,742 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein if the new difference value is greater than the pre-set value, then the calibration section is configured to iterate to determine additional new gain and delay values based on the new gain and delay values, and wherein the calibration section is configured to determine an additional new difference value based on the additional new gain and delay values.
Regarding claim 11 of the pending application, claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,362,742 encompasses all the claimed limitations including a second baseband section, wherein the second baseband section is configured to receive a second calibration signal; and a third RF section wherein the third RF section is configured to generate a second RF calibration signal based on the second calibration signal, wherein: the second calibration signal differs from the calibration signal in at least orthogonality; the first RF section and the third RF section simultaneously transmit the RF calibration signal and the second RF calibration signal; and the second RF section is configured to receive the second RF calibration signal over-the-air simultaneously with receiving the RF calibration signal, wherein the second RF section is configured to generate a received second calibration signal based on the second RF calibration signal.
Regarding claim 12 of the pending application, claim 14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,362,742 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein the received second calibration signal and a second reference signal associated with the second RF calibration signal comprise second inputs to the calibration section, and wherein the calibration section is configured to determine one or more -2- of second gain, baseband delay, or RF delay compensation values, based on the second inputs, to calibrate the second RF section.
Regarding claim 13 of the pending application, claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,362,742 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein the first RF section includes one or more IQ gain and phase compensators and one or more time delay filters, and wherein the one or more IQ gain and phase compensators is configured in accordance with the gain and RF delay compensation values and the one or more time delay filters is configured in accordance with the baseband delay compensation value to pre-compensate for gain and delay offsets associated with one or both of the first RF section or antenna electrically coupled to the first RF section.
Regarding claim 14 of the pending application, claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,362,742 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein the reference signal comprises the calibration signal.
Regarding claim 15 of the pending application, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,362,742 encompasses all the claimed limitations including an apparatus included in a communications system, the apparatus comprising: an RF section configured to generate a RF calibration signal based on modulating a calibration signal, wherein the calibration signal comprises an orthogonal code based signal, wherein the RF calibration signal is void of encoding; a receive section configured to receive the RF calibration signal over-the-air, wherein the receive section includes a second RF section, wherein the second RF section is configured to generate a received calibration signal based on the RF calibration signal; and a calibration section, wherein: the received calibration signal and a reference signal associated with the RF calibration signal comprise inputs to the calibration section; and the calibration section is configured to determine one or more of gain, baseband delay, or RF delay compensation values, based on the inputs, to calibrate the RF section.
Regarding claim 16 of the pending application, claim 14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,362,742 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein calibration of the receive section comprises one or more of gain, baseband delay, or RF delay offsets caused by one or both of the second RF section or an antenna coupled to the second RF section.
Regarding claim 17 of the pending application, claim 14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,362,742 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein the RF calibration signal is void of encoding.
Regarding claim 18 of the pending application, claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,362,742 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein the calibration signal comprises a code division multiple access (CDMA) signal.
Claims 1-15, and 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6-13, 16 and 22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,716,153. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-4, 6-13, 16 and 22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,716,153 anticipate claims 1-15 and 17 of the pending application.
Regarding claim 1 of the pending application, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,716,753 encompasses all the claimed limitations including an apparatus included in a communications system, the apparatus comprising: a first radio frequency (RF) section configured to generate a RF calibration signal based on modulating a calibration signal, wherein the calibration signal comprises an orthogonal code based signal; a second RF section configured to receive the RF calibration signal and configured to generate a received calibration signal based on demodulating the RF calibration signal; and a calibration section, wherein: the received calibration signal and a reference signal associated with the RF calibration signal comprise inputs to the calibration section; and the calibration section is configured to determine one or more of gain, baseband delay, or RF delay compensation values, based on the inputs, to calibrate the first RF section.
Regarding claim 2 of the pending application, claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,716,753 encompasses all the claimed limitations including a waveform generator configured to generate and provide the calibration signal to the first RF section.
Regarding claim 3 of the pending application, claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,716,753 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein the calibration signal comprises a code division multiple access (CDMA) signal.
Regarding claim 4 of the pending application, claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,716,753 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein calibration of the first RF section comprises one or more of gain, baseband delay, or RF delay offsets caused by one or both of the first RF section or a first antenna coupled to the first RF section.
Regarding claim 5 of the pending application, claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,716,753 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein the reference signal associated with the RF calibration signal comprises a combination of the calibration signal and an encoded data signal.
Regarding claim 6 of the pending application, claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,716,753 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein the calibration section is configured to determine correlations based on the received calibration signal and the calibration signal, wherein the calibration section is configured to determine initial gain and delay values based on the correlations, and wherein the calibration section is configured to determine a difference value based on the initial gain and delay values.-
Regarding claim 7 of the pending application, claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,716,753 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein if the difference value is within a pre-set value, then the initial gain and delay values comprise the one or more gain, baseband delay, or RF delay compensation values.
Regarding claim 8 of the pending application, claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,716,753 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein if the difference value is greater than a pre-set value, then the calibration section is configured to iterate to determine new gain and delay values based on the initial gain and delay values, and wherein the calibration section is configured to determine a new difference value based on the new gain and delay values.
Regarding claim 9 of the pending application, claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,716,753 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein if the new difference value is within the pre-set value, then the new gain and delay values comprise the one or more gain, baseband delay, or RF delay compensation values.
Regarding claim 10 of the pending application, claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,716,753 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein if the new difference value is greater than the pre-set value, then the calibration section is configured to iterate to determine additional new gain and delay values based on the new gain and delay values, and wherein the calibration section is configured to determine an additional new difference value based on the additional new gain and delay values.
Regarding claim 11 of the pending application, claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,716,753 encompasses all the claimed limitations including a second baseband section, wherein the second baseband section is configured to receive a second calibration signal; and a third RF section wherein the third RF section is configured to generate a second RF calibration signal based on the second calibration signal, wherein: the second calibration signal differs from the calibration signal in at least orthogonality; the first RF section and the third RF section simultaneously transmit the RF calibration signal and the second RF calibration signal; and the second RF section is configured to receive the second RF calibration signal over-the-air simultaneously with receiving the RF calibration signal, wherein the second RF section is configured to generate a received second calibration signal based on the second RF calibration signal.
Regarding claim 12 of the pending application, claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,716,753 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein the received second calibration signal and a second reference signal associated with the second RF calibration signal comprise second inputs to the calibration section, and wherein the calibration section is configured to determine one or more -2- of second gain, baseband delay, or RF delay compensation values, based on the second inputs, to calibrate the second RF section.
Regarding claim 13 of the pending application, claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,716,753 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein the first RF section includes one or more IQ gain and phase compensators and one or more time delay filters, and wherein the one or more IQ gain and phase compensators is configured in accordance with the gain and RF delay compensation values and the one or more time delay filters is configured in accordance with the baseband delay compensation value to pre-compensate for gain and delay offsets associated with one or both of the first RF section or antenna electrically coupled to the first RF section. l4. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the reference signal comprises the calibration signal.
Regarding claim 15 of the pending application, claim 22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,716,753 encompasses all the claimed limitations including an apparatus included in a communications system, the apparatus comprising: an RF section configured to generate a RF calibration signal based on modulating a calibration signal, wherein the calibration signal comprises an orthogonal code based signal, wherein the RF calibration signal is void of encoding; a receive section configured to receive the RF calibration signal over-the-air, wherein the receive section includes a second RF section, wherein the second RF section is configured to generate a received calibration signal based on the RF calibration signal; and a calibration section, wherein: the received calibration signal and a reference signal associated with the RF calibration signal comprise inputs to the calibration section; and the calibration section is configured to determine one or more of gain, baseband delay, or RF delay compensation values, based on the inputs, to calibrate the RF section.
Regarding claim 17 of the pending application, claim 22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,716,753 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein the RF calibration signal is void of encoding.
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6-14 and 16-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,231,178. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-4, 6-14and 16-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,231,178 anticipate claims 1-18 of the pending application.
Regarding claim 1 of the pending application, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,231,178 encompasses all the claimed limitations including an apparatus included in a communications system, the apparatus comprising: a first radio frequency (RF) section configured to generate a RF calibration signal based on modulating a calibration signal, wherein the calibration signal comprises an orthogonal code based signal; a second RF section configured to receive the RF calibration signal and configured to generate a received calibration signal based on demodulating the RF calibration signal; and a calibration section, wherein: the received calibration signal and a reference signal associated with the RF calibration signal comprise inputs to the calibration section; and the calibration section is configured to determine one or more of gain, baseband delay, or RF delay compensation values, based on the inputs, to calibrate the first RF section.
Regarding claim 2 of the pending application, claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,231,178 encompasses all the claimed limitations including a waveform generator configured to generate and provide the calibration signal to the first RF section.
Regarding claim 3 of the pending application, claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,231,178 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein the calibration signal comprises a code division multiple access (CDMA) signal.
Regarding claim 4 of the pending application, claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,231,178 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein calibration of the first RF section comprises one or more of gain, baseband delay, or RF delay offsets caused by one or both of the first RF section or a first antenna coupled to the first RF section.
Regarding claim 5 of the pending application, claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,231,178 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein the reference signal associated with the RF calibration signal comprises a combination of the calibration signal and an encoded data signal.
Regarding claim 6 of the pending application, claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,231,178 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein the calibration section is configured to determine correlations based on the received calibration signal and the calibration signal, wherein the calibration section is configured to determine initial gain and delay values based on the correlations, and wherein the calibration section is configured to determine a difference value based on the initial gain and delay values.-
Regarding claim 7 of the pending application, claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,231,178 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein if the difference value is within a pre-set value, then the initial gain and delay values comprise the one or more gain, baseband delay, or RF delay compensation values.
Regarding claim 8 of the pending application, claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,231,178 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein if the difference value is greater than a pre-set value, then the calibration section is configured to iterate to determine new gain and delay values based on the initial gain and delay values, and wherein the calibration section is configured to determine a new difference value based on the new gain and delay values.
Regarding claim 9 of the pending application, claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,231,178 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein if the new difference value is within the pre-set value, then the new gain and delay values comprise the one or more gain, baseband delay, or RF delay compensation values.
Regarding claim 10 of the pending application, claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,231,178 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein if the new difference value is greater than the pre-set value, then the calibration section is configured to iterate to determine additional new gain and delay values based on the new gain and delay values, and wherein the calibration section is configured to determine an additional new difference value based on the additional new gain and delay values.
Regarding claim 11 of the pending application, claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,231,178 encompasses all the claimed limitations including a second baseband section, wherein the second baseband section is configured to receive a second calibration signal; and a third RF section wherein the third RF section is configured to generate a second RF calibration signal based on the second calibration signal, wherein: the second calibration signal differs from the calibration signal in at least orthogonality; the first RF section and the third RF section simultaneously transmit the RF calibration signal and the second RF calibration signal; and the second RF section is configured to receive the second RF calibration signal over-the-air simultaneously with receiving the RF calibration signal, wherein the second RF section is configured to generate a received second calibration signal based on the second RF calibration signal.
Regarding claim 12 of the pending application, claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,231,178 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein the received second calibration signal and a second reference signal associated with the second RF calibration signal comprise second inputs to the calibration section, and wherein the calibration section is configured to determine one or more -2- of second gain, baseband delay, or RF delay compensation values, based on the second inputs, to calibrate the second RF section.
Regarding claim 13 of the pending application, claim 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,231,178 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein the first RF section includes one or more IQ gain and phase compensators and one or more time delay filters, and wherein the one or more IQ gain and phase compensators is configured in accordance with the gain and RF delay compensation values and the one or more time delay filters is configured in accordance with the baseband delay compensation value to pre-compensate for gain and delay offsets associated with one or both of the first RF section or antenna electrically coupled to the first RF section.
Regarding claim 14 of the pending application, claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,231,178 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein the reference signal comprises the calibration signal.
Regarding claim 15 of the pending application, claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,231,178 encompasses all the claimed limitations including an apparatus included in a communications system, the apparatus comprising: an RF section configured to generate a RF calibration signal based on modulating a calibration signal, wherein the calibration signal comprises an orthogonal code based signal, wherein the RF calibration signal is void of encoding; a receive section configured to receive the RF calibration signal over-the-air, wherein the receive section includes a second RF section, wherein the second RF section is configured to generate a received calibration signal based on the RF calibration signal; and a calibration section, wherein: the received calibration signal and a reference signal associated with the RF calibration signal comprise inputs to the calibration section; and the calibration section is configured to determine one or more of gain, baseband delay, or RF delay compensation values, based on the inputs, to calibrate the RF section.
Regarding claim 16 of the pending application, claim 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,231,178 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein calibration of the receive section comprises one or more of gain, baseband delay, or RF delay offsets caused by one or both of the second RF section or an antenna coupled to the second RF section.
Regarding claim 17 of the pending application, claim 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,231,178 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein the RF calibration signal is void of encoding.
Regarding claim 18 of the pending application, claim 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,231,178 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein the calibration signal comprises a code division multiple access (CDMA) signal.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Arnett et al. (US 10,749,254 B2) disclose methods, systems, and devices are described for calibration of an array antenna system; a device transmits a calibration signal from a first antenna element of an antenna array; the calibration signal being generated by modulating a first signal having a first frequency with a modulation signal having a second frequency; the device receives the calibration signal using a second antenna element of the antenna array; analyzes a sideband of the received calibration signal, where the sideband may be offset in frequency from the first frequency by the second frequency; and calibrates the array antenna system based on or more measured properties of the sideband.
Khalil et al. (US 11,177,567 B2) teach an antenna array system and method of calibration using one or more probes disposed equidistant between antenna elements; calibration is performed between a probe and antenna elements, between a plurality of antenna elements, or between antenna elements on different antenna arrays.
Liao et al. (US 11,277,212 B2) disclose a method for calibrating an active antenna system (AAS); the AAS comprises a radio unit and an antenna array; the radio unit comprises a plurality of transceiver branches; the method comprises calibrating at least one, but less then all, out of the plurality of transceiver branches as reference branch or branches.
/QUOCHIEN B VUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645