DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant's communication filed on February 17, 2025. In view of this communication, claims 1-18 and 21-22 are now pending in the application.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 10-18 and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated OKITSU(US 20110187219 A1).
Regarding claim 1, OKITSU teaches:
A motor rotor [abstract] comprising:
a shaft assembly (Fig 1;1); and
a holding tube (Fig 7b; 105) surrounding the shaft assembly(Fig 1;1),
wherein the shaft assembly (Fig 7b)includes:
a magnet(Fig 7b; 103), and
a large-diameter portion (Fig 7b; 104)located near the magnet (Fig 7b; 103)in an extending direction of the shaft assembly(Fig 7b), the large-diameter portion (Fig 7b; 104)having an outer diameter that is larger than an outer diameter of the magnet(Fig 7b shows a condition of the shaft assembly where the large-diameter portion 104 has a larger outer diameter than the magnet 103), and
wherein the holding tube(Fig 7b; 105) includes an inner circumferential surface that abuts on an outer circumferential surface of the magnet (Fig 7b; 103)and abuts on an outer circumferential surface of the large- diameter portion(Fig 7b; 104).
Regarding claim 2, OKITSU teaches the motor rotor according to claim 1:
wherein the holding tube (Fig 7b; 105)is fitted onto an outer circumferential surface of the shaft assembly(shrinkage fitting method [0002]).
Regarding claim 3, OKITSU teaches the motor rotor according to claim 1:
wherein the outer diameter of the large-diameter portion (Fig 7b; 104)is constant in the extending direction(the large-diameter portion 104 diameter changes under change in temperature [0016], but remains uniform along the extending direction).
Regarding claim 4, OKITSU teaches the motor rotor according to claim 1:
wherein the large-diameter portion (Fig 7b; 104)abuts the magnet(Fig 7b; 103).
Regarding claim 5, OKITSU teaches the motor rotor according to claim 1:
wherein the shaft assembly further includes a shaft (Fig 1; 2)having a rod shape,
wherein the large-diameter portion(Fig 1;4) includes a tubular shape (annular shape is substantially tubular [0037])and is attached to the shaft (Fig 1;2)such that the shaft passes through the large-diameter portion(Fig 1;4)[0037], and
wherein the magnet (Fig 1;3)includes a tubular shape (column shape is substantially tubular [0012])through which the shaft (Fig 1;2)passes.
Regarding claim 6, OKITSU teaches the motor rotor according to claim 1:
wherein the shaft (Fig 1;1)assembly includes a shaft(Fig 1;2),
wherein the magnet (Fig 1;3)is attached to the shaft(Fig 1;2), and
wherein the shaft (Fig 1;2)and the large-diameter portion (Fig 1;4)are integrally formed[0037].
Regarding claim 10, OKITSU teaches the motor rotor according to claim 1:
the shaft assembly (Fig 1;1)includes a shaft (Fig 1;2)having a rod shape,
wherein the large-diameter portion(Fig 1;4) has a columnar shape (annular shape is substantially columnar [0037])and is attached to the shaft (Fig 1;2)so as to be coaxial with the shaft(Fig 1;2), and
wherein the magnet (Fig 1;3)has a columnar shape(column shape is substantially columnar [0012]) and is disposed coaxially with the shaft(Fig 1;2).
Regarding claim 11, OKITSU teaches the motor rotor according to claim 1:
wherein the holding tube (Fig 7b;105)includes:
first portion (Fig 7b105a)surrounding the magnet(Fig 7b;103); and
a second portion(Fig 7b;105b) surrounding the large-diameter portion(Fig 7b;104), and
wherein the second portion (Fig 7b;105b)includes an outer diameter that is larger than an outer diameter of the first portion(Fig 7b;105a).
Regarding claim 12, OKITSU teaches the motor rotor according to claim 1:
wherein the magnet (Fig 7b;103)is located adjacent to the large-diameter portion (Fig 7b;104)in the extending direction of the shaft assembly.
Regarding claim 13, OKITSU teaches:
A motor rotor comprising:
a shaft(Fig 7b;102);
a tubular magnet (Fig 7b;103)through which the shaft (Fig 7b;102)passes and to which the shaft (Fig 7b;102)is fixed( the magnet is fixed to the shaft through the sleeve 104 [0039]);
a sleeve (Fig 7b;104) through which the shaft (Fig 7b;102) passes and to which the shaft is fixed[0039], wherein the sleeve (Fig 7b;104)is located near the magnet (Fig 7b;103)in an extending direction of the shaft(Fig 7b;102), the sleeve (Fig 7b;104) having an outer diameter that is larger than an outer diameter of the magnet(Fig 7b;103); and
a holding tube (Fig 7b;105)surrounding the magnet (Fig 7b;103)and the sleeve(Fig 7b;104), wherein the holding tube (Fig 7b;105)includes an inner circumferential surface that abuts an outer circumferential surface of the magnet (Fig 7b;103)and that abuts an outer circumferential surface of the sleeve(Fig 7b;104).
Regarding claim 14, OKITSU teaches the motor rotor according to claim 13:
wherein the sleeve (Fig 7b;104)abuts the magnet(Fig 7b;103).
Regarding claim 15, OKITSU teaches the motor rotor according to claim 13:
wherein the sleeve (Fig 7b;104) includes an end surface facing the magnet(Fig 7b;103), and
wherein an outer diameter of the end surface (Fig 7b;104)is larger than the outer diameter of the magnet(Fig 7b;103).
Regarding claim 16, OKITSU teaches the motor rotor according to claim 13:
wherein the inner circumferential surface of the holding tube (Fig 7b;105)includes:
a first surface (Fig 7b;105a) portion that abuts the magnet(Fig 7b;103);
a second surface portion (Fig 7b;105b)that abuts the sleeve(Fig 7b;104); and
a taper surface portion (Fig 7b;105c)located between the first surface portion (Fig 7b;105a)and the second surface portion(Fig 7b;105b).
Regarding claim 17, OKITSU teaches the motor rotor according to claim 16:
further comprising a gap (Fig 7b;G) formed between the taper surface portion(Fig 7b;105c) and the magnet (Fig 7b;103)in a radial direction of the shaft(Fig 7b;102).
Regarding claim 18, OKITSU teaches the motor rotor according to claim 13:
wherein the holding tube (Fig 7b;105)includes a portion that abuts the sleeve(Fig 7b;104), and
wherein an outer diameter of the sleeve along the extending direction is smaller than an outer diameter of the portion.(Fig 7b shows the diameter difference)
Regarding claim 21, OKITSU teaches the motor rotor according to claim 13:
wherein the inner circumferential surface of the holding tube (Fig 7b;105) abuts the outer circumferential surface of the magnet (Fig 7b;103)and the outer circumferential surface of the sleeve (Fig 7b;104)after shrink fitting the inner circumferential surface(a shrinkage fitting method[0002]).
Regarding claim 22, OKITSU teaches the motor rotor according to claim 1:
wherein the inner circumferential surface of the holding tube (Fig 7b;105) abuts the outer circumferential surface of the magnet (Fig 7b;103)and the outer circumferential surface of the sleeve (Fig 7b;104)after shrink fitting the inner circumferential surface(a shrinkage fitting method[0002]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OKITSU(US 20110187219 A1) in view of CHAMAND (US 20190260245 A1).
In regards to claim 7, OKITSU teaches:
wherein the shaft assembly (Fig 1;1)includes a shaft(Fig 1;2).
OKITSU does not teach:
wherein the magnet includes a plurality of magnet bodies arranged side by side.
CHAMAND teaches:
wherein the magnet(Fig 1; 10) includes a plurality of magnet bodies(Fig 1; 10) arranged side by side[0044].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify OKITSU by using the multiple fastened magnets taught by CHAMAND, in order to better adhere the components of the rotor [0003-0004 CHAMAND].
Additionally, the Applicant should note, it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwih v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
In regards to claim 8, OKITSU in view of CHAMAND, teaches the motor rotor according to claim 7.
OKITSU does not teach:
wherein the plurality of magnet bodies are arranged side by side along the extending direction of the shaft.
CHAMAND teaches:
wherein the plurality of magnet bodies (Fig 1; 10) are arranged side by side along the extending direction of the shaft(Fig 1; 2)[0044].
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OKITSU(US 20110187219 A1), in view of CHAMAND (US 20190260245 A1), in further view of HORNG (US 20190020235 A1).
In regards to claim 9, OKITSU in view of CHAMAND, teaches the motor rotor according to claim 7.
Combination OKITSU/CHAMAND does not teach:
wherein the plurality of magnet bodies are arranged side by side along a circumferential direction of the shaft.
HORNG teaches:
wherein the plurality of magnet bodies (Fig 1; 2)are arranged side by side along a circumferential direction of the shaft(Fig 1; 1)[0040-0041].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify combination OKITSU/ CHAMAND by changing the magnet orientation taught by HORNG, in order to further improve adhesion liability in high intensity conditions [0004-0005 HORNG].
Additionally, the Applicant should note, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Conclusion
/N.L.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834