Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 29 and 30 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 30 recites the limitation "second angle". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as it is dependent upon claim 1 and neither claim 1 nor claim 30 mentions a “first angle”.
Claim 34 recites the limitation "second filter". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as the first part of the entire limitation containing this term mentions a first filter and/or a second filter, and if the claim was to be interpreted as or, the second filter would have no antecedent basis due to the lack of the existence of a first filter.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 8 recites the broad recitation 590 nm-610, and the claim also recites 595 nm-610 which is the narrower statement of the range. The claim is considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
The term “preset angle” in claims 30 and 31 renders the claims indefinite. The term “preset angle” is not defined by the claim, and the specification does not provide a basis for determining what each preset angle is to be with regards to the individual claim limitations. The examiner concludes that each “preset angle” may be interpreted to be any angle in the realm of possible angles.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7, 27, 29, 30, 34, 46, and 61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu et al (Chinese Patent Publication CN111557632A, hereinafter “Qiu”) in further view of Qiu. Regarding claim 1, Qiu teaches a light source device (figure 4), comprising:
a first light combination module (figure 4 elements 12a, 12b, and 12c) and at least two light sources (figure 4 elements 11d and 11a)
wherein the light source device is configured to be connected with a light guide module (figure 4 element 3a)
the at least two light sources include a first light source (figure 4 element 11d) and at least one second light source (figure 4 element 11c)
the first light combination module includes a first light combination element (figure 4 element 12c)
wherein the first light combination element (figure 4 element 12c) is disposed between the light guide module (figure 4 element 3a) and the first light source (figure 4 element 11d) and is configured to transform a first beam into a first transmitted light (figure 4 shown by the dotted arrow pointing to the left out of the combination element), the first beam being related to the first light source
the first light combination element is further configured to generate a first reflected light from at least one second beam emitted by the at least one second light source (figure 4 element 11a), combine the first reflected light and the first transmitted light into a combined light (figure 4 shown by the dotted arrow pointing to the left out of the combination element), and send the combined light to a tissue through the light guide module (figure 4 element 3a)
a spectrum of the first beam is narrowband or short-wavelength range (paragraph 47 of section “Detailed Description” states “blue-violet light in the 400-450nm wavelength range, and paragraph 74 of the applicant’s specification defines the short wavelength range to be 370-780 nm)
the first light combination element (figure 4 element 12c) is configured between the first light source (figure 4 element 11d) and the light guide module (figure 4 element 3a)
Qiu fails to explicitly disclose wherein a distance between the first light source and an entrance of the light guide module is less than or equal to a distance between each of the at least one second light source and the entrance of the light guide module. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make distance between the first light source and light guide module to be less than the distance between the second light source and light guide module since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the light source device would not operate differently with the claimed relative distances. Further, Applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating in paragraph 90 that the “distance between the first light source 101 (e.g., the narrowband light source or the short-wave light source) and an entrance of the light guide module 800 may be less than or equal to a distance between each of the at least one second light source 102 and the entrance of the light guide module 800” without explaining a reason why this relative distance limitation exists.
Regarding claim 3, Qiu further teaches a light source device wherein the first light source includes any one of a violet light source, a blue light source, a green light source, an amber light source, and a red light source (paragraph 37 of section “Detailed Description” states “blue-violet light-emitting part 11d”).
Regarding claim 4, Qiu further teaches a light source device wherein the first light source is the violet light source configured to emit a short-wave spectrum, a peak wavelength of the at least one second light source is longer than a peak wavelength of the violet light source (paragraph 47 of section “Detailed Description” states “blue-violet light in the 400-450nm wavelength range near the hemoglobin maximum absorption peak, and 500-550nm green light”, and the first light combination element is a short-wave pass dichroic mirror (paragraph 11 of “Summary of the Invention” states “dichroic filter has a transmission characteristic of transmitting the wavelength band of the narrowband red light and reflecting other wavelength bands”).
Regarding claim 7, Qiu further teaches a light source device wherein:
when the number of the at least one second light source (figure 4 elements 11a, 11b, and 11c) N is at least two, the first light combination module also includes at least N-1 second light combination elements (figure 4 elements 12b and 12a)
each of the N-1 second light combination elements is configured to combine a second beam emitted by each of the at least two second light sources by reflecting and/or transmitting the second beam emitted by each of the at least two second light sources to generate a first incident beam (see figure 4 elements 12b and 12a combine beams from the second light sources to generate a first incident beam)
the first incident beam is incident onto the first light combination element (figure 4 element 12c) for reflection, the first light combination element and/or at least one of the second light combination elements combine the first beam and/or the second beam emitted by a corresponding first light source and/or corresponding second light source and perform long-wave cutoff filtering, short-wave cutoff filtering (paragraph 11 of “Summary of the Invention” states “dichroic filter has a transmission characteristic of transmitting the wavelength band of the narrowband red light and reflecting other wavelength bands”), or narrowband filtering on the first beam and/or the second beam.
Regarding claim 27, Qiu further teaches a light source device wherein:
when the number of the at least one second light source (figure 4 elements 11a, 11b, and 11c) N is at least two, the first light combination module also includes at least N-1 second light combination elements (figure 4 elements 12b and 12a)
each of the N-1 second light combination elements is configured to combine a second beam emitted by each of the at least two second light sources by reflecting and/or transmitting the second beam emitted by each of the at least two second light sources to generate a first incident beam (see figure 4 elements 12b and 12a combine beams from the second light sources to generate a first incident beam)
the first light source is the violet light source configured to emit a short-wave spectrum (paragraph 47 of section “Detailed Description” states “blue-violet light in the 400-450nm wavelength range, and paragraph 74 of the applicant’s specification defines the short wavelength range to be 370-780 nm), a peak wavelength of the at least one second light source (paragraph 47 of section “Detailed Description” states “500-550nm green light”) is longer than a peak wavelength of the violet light source, a peak wavelength of a second beam emitted by the at least one second light source and reflected by the at least one second light combination element is longer than a peak wavelength of the second beam emitted by the at least one second light source and transmitted by the at least one second light combination element, the second light combination element is a short-wave pass dichroic mirror (paragraph 11 of “Summary of the Invention” states “dichroic filter has a transmission characteristic of transmitting the wavelength band of the narrowband red light and reflecting other wavelength bands” the filter assembly is composed of short wave pass mirrors, so higher wavelength light is reflected, leaving lower wavelength light left to be transmitted into the combined incident beam).
Regarding claim 29, Qiu further teaches a light source device wherein:
when the number of the at least one second light source (figure 4 elements 11a, 11b, and 11c) N is at least two, the first light combination module also includes at least N-1 second light combination elements (figure 4 elements 12b and 12a)
each of the N-1 second light combination elements is configured to combine a second beam emitted by each of the at least two second light sources by reflecting and/or transmitting the second beam emitted by each of the at least two second light sources to generate a first incident beam (see figure 4 elements 12b and 12a combine beams from the second light sources to generate a first incident beam)
a first angle between each of the at least one second light combination element and the first light combination element is less than a first preset angle (all three combination elements are all located parallel to each other, so the angle between them is 0 degrees, which is less than a preset angle, say 5 degrees).
Regarding claim 30, Qiu further teaches a light source device wherein:
when the number of the at least one second light source (figure 4 elements 11a, 11b, and 11c) N is at least two, the first light combination module also includes at least N-1 second light combination elements (figure 4 elements 12b and 12a)
each of the N-1 second light combination elements is configured to combine a second beam emitted by each of the at least two second light sources by reflecting and/or transmitting the second beam emitted by each of the at least two second light sources to generate a first incident beam (see figure 4 elements 12b and 12a combine beams from the second light sources to generate a first incident beam)
a second angle (0 degrees as the combination element is in line with the optical axis) between the first light combination element and an optical axis where the first light combination element is located is greater than or equal to a second preset angle (for example, negative 5 degrees) and less than or equal to a third preset angle (for example, 5 degrees); and a third angle (0 degrees as the second combination element is also in line with the optical axis) between each of the at least one second light combination element and an optical axis where the second light combination element is located is greater than or equal to a fourth preset angle (for example, negative 5 degrees) and less than or equal to a fifth preset angle (for example, 5 degrees).
Regarding claim 34, Qiu further teaches a light source device wherein:
when the number of the at least one second light source (figure 4 elements 11a, 11b, and 11c) N is at least two, the first light combination module also includes at least N-1 second light combination elements (figure 4 elements 12b and 12a)
each of the N-1 second light combination elements is configured to combine a second beam emitted by each of the at least two second light sources by reflecting and/or transmitting the second beam emitted by each of the at least two second light sources to generate a first incident beam (see figure 4 elements 12b and 12a combine beams from the second light sources to generate a first incident beam)
the first light combination module further includes a first filter (figure 4 pointed at with left dotted arrow below) and/or a second filter (figure 4 pointed at with right dotted arrow below)
the first filter is disposed between the first light source (figure 4 pointed at with upwards arrow below) and the first light combination element (figure 4 pointed at with the left circle below) and configured to transmit a beam in a first target waveband of the light emitted by the first light source (filter filters out higher wave length light, only allowing shorter wavelength to proceed towards the light guide)
the second filter (figure 4 pointed at with right dotted arrow below) is disposed between one of the at least one second light source (figure 4 pointed at with downwards arrow below) and a corresponding second light combination element (figure 4 pointed at with right circle below) and configured to transmit a beam in a second target waveband of the second beam (filter filters out higher wave length light, only allowing shorter wavelength to proceed towards the light guide)
Regarding claim 46, Qiu further teaches an endoscope system, comprising:
a light guide module (figure 4 light guide 3a)
a lighting module (shown in figure 4)
a camera module (paragraph 1 of section “Background Technique” mentions “imaging element”)
a processing module (paragraph 1 of section “Background Technique” mentions “image processing device”)
a display module (paragraph 1 of section “Background Technique” mentions “a monitor”)
a light source device wherein:
the light source device is configured to input the combined light into the light guide module (figure 4 see combined light depicted by dotted arrow entering the light guide 3a)
the light guide module is configured to transmit an input light to the lighting module (paragraph 1 of section “Background Technique” states “illumination light is coupled into the light guide fiber of the endoscope through the optical path coupling structure”)
the lighting module is configured to diffuse the combined light transmitted to the lighting module to a tissue (paragraph 1 of section “Background Technique” states “thereby illuminating the detected object in the body cavity”)
the camera module is configured to obtain an image of the tissue (paragraph 1 of section “Background Technique” states “imaged on the imaging element through the optical system of the endoscope”)
the processing module is configured to carry out signal processing on the image and obtain an image after signal processing (paragraph 1 of section “Background Technique” states “an image processing signal is generated for processing by the image processing device”)
and the display module is configured to display the image after the signal processing (paragraph 1 of section “Background Technique” states “the display device displays the processed image for observation”)
wherein the light source device includes:
a first light combination module (figure 4 elements 12a, 12b, and 12c) and at least two light sources (figure 4 elements 11d and 11a)
wherein the light source device is configured to be connected with a light guide module (figure 4 element 3a)
the at least two light sources include a first light source (figure 4 element 11d) and at least one second light source (figure 4 element 11c)
the first light combination module includes a first light combination element (figure 4 element 12c)
wherein the first light combination element (figure 4 element 12c) is disposed between the light guide module (figure 4 element 3a) and the first light source (figure 4 element 11d) and is configured to transform a first beam into a first transmitted light (figure 4 shown by the dotted arrow pointing to the left out of the combination element), the first beam being related to the first light source
the first light combination element is further configured to generate a first reflected light from at least one second beam emitted by the at least one second light source (figure 4 element 11a), combine the first reflected light and the first transmitted light into a combined light (figure 4 shown by the dotted arrow pointing to the left out of the combination element), and send the combined light to a tissue through the light guide module (figure 4 element 3a)
a spectrum of the first beam is narrowband or short-wavelength range (paragraph 47 of section “Detailed Description” states “blue-violet light in the 400-450nm wavelength range, and paragraph 74 of the applicant’s specification defines the short wavelength range to be 370-780 nm)
the first light combination element (figure 4 element 12c) is configured between the first light source (figure 4 element 11d) and the light guide module (figure 4 element 3a)
Qiu fails to explicitly disclose wherein a distance between the first light source and an entrance of the light guide module is less than or equal to a distance between each of the at least one second light source and the entrance of the light guide module. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make distance between the first light source and light guide module to be less than the distance between the second light source and light guide module since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the light source device would not operate differently with the claimed relative distances. Further, Applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating in paragraph 90 that the “distance between the first light source 101 (e.g., the narrowband light source or the short-wave light source) and an entrance of the light guide module 800 may be less than or equal to a distance between each of the at least one second light source 102 and the entrance of the light guide module 800” without explaining a reason why this relative distance limitation exists.
Regarding claim 61, Qiu further teaches an endoscope optical mechanical module (depicted in figure 4) comprising:
a first light combination module (figure 4 elements 12a, 12b, and 12c) and at least two light sources (figure 4 elements 11d and 11a)
wherein the endoscope optical mechanical module is connected with a light guide module (figure 4 element 3a)
the at least two light sources include a first light source (figure 4 element 11d) and at least one second light source (figure 4 element 11c)
the first light combination module includes a first light combination element (figure 4 element 12c)
wherein the first light combination element (figure 4 element 12c) is disposed between the light guide module (figure 4 element 3a) and the first light source (figure 4 element 11d) and is configured to transform a first beam into a first transmitted light (figure 4 shown by the dotted arrow pointing to the left out of the combination element), the first beam being related to the first light source
the first light combination element is further configured to generate a first reflected light from at least one second beam emitted by the at least one second light source (figure 4 element 11a), combine the first reflected light and the first transmitted light into a combined light (figure 4 shown by the dotted arrow pointing to the left out of the combination element), and send the combined light to a tissue through the light guide module (figure 4 element 3a)
a spectrum of the first beam is narrowband or short-wavelength range (paragraph 47 of section “Detailed Description” states “blue-violet light in the 400-450nm wavelength range, and paragraph 74 of the applicant’s specification defines the short wavelength range to be 370-780 nm)
the first light combination element (figure 4 element 12c) is configured between the first light source (figure 4 element 11d) and the light guide module (figure 4 element 3a)
Qiu fails to explicitly disclose wherein a distance between the first light source and an entrance of the light guide module is less than or equal to a distance between each of the at least one second light source and the entrance of the light guide module. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make distance between the first light source and light guide module to be less than the distance between the second light source and light guide module since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the light source device would not operate differently with the claimed relative distances. Further, Applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating in paragraph 90 that the “distance between the first light source 101 (e.g., the narrowband light source or the short-wave light source) and an entrance of the light guide module 800 may be less than or equal to a distance between each of the at least one second light source 102 and the entrance of the light guide module 800” without explaining a reason why this relative distance limitation exists.
Claims 8 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu in view of Ito et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0278658, hereinafter “Ito”). Regarding claim 8, Qui further teaches a light source device wherein:
when the number of the at least one second light source N (figure 4 elements 11a, 11b, and 11c) is at least two, the first light combination module also includes at least N-1 second light combination elements (figure 4 elements 12b and 12a)
and each of the N-1 second light combination elements is configured to combine a second beam emitted by each of the at least two second light sources by reflecting and/or transmitting the second beam emitted by each of the at least two second light sources to generate a first incident beam, and the first incident beam is incident onto the first light combination element for reflection (see figure 4 elements 12b and 12a combine beams from the second light sources to generate a first incident beam)
Qiu fails to teach a light source device wherein the first light source is a broadband amber light source, the first light combination element is a dichroic mirror, and the first beam emitted by the first light source is filtered by the dichroic mirror to obtain a narrowband light with a wavelength being in a range of 590 nm-610 nm or a range of 595 nm-610 nm.
Ito teaches a light source device wherein the first light source is a broadband amber light source (paragraph 85 “light source LDA that emits the amber light IA”), the first light combination element is a dichroic mirror (figure 3 dichroic mirror DC3), and the first beam emitted by the first light source is filtered by the dichroic mirror (paragraph 88 “ dichroic mirror DC3 allows the light IV, IB, and IG to pass through and reflects the light IA” to obtain a narrowband light with a wavelength being in a range of 590 nm-610 nm or a range of 595 nm-610 nm (paragraph 86 “region BA of the amber light IA is 586 nm<BA≤615 nm”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the light source device of Qiu with the amber light source of Ito in order to improve the color balancing ability of the image displayed by the imaging element at the distal tip. Paragraph 100 details the benefits of including amber light (as it resembles the color of the interior of the living body) in order to adjust the red region of the resulting image, allowing for increased accuracy of the image being captured. This increased accuracy allows for more accurate diagnoses and surgeries to be carried out, as the image is adjusted to the preferences of the specific operation or the operator themselves.
Regarding claim 41, Qiu fails to teach a light source further comprising:
a light source extension interface, wherein the light source extension interface is configured to connect an extension module
the extension module includes at least one third light source and a second light combination module corresponding to the at least one third light source
the second light combination module corresponding to the at least one third light source includes a third light combination element
the third light combination element is configured to reflect and/or transmit a fifth beam emitted by the at least one third light source to realize light combination in sequence, so as to generate a second incident beam that is incident onto a second light combination element for reflection or transmission
Ito teaches teach a light source further comprising:
a light source extension interface, wherein the light source extension interface is configured to connect an extension module (figure 14 boxed region below shows light source extension interface with extension module containing light source LDV connected)
the extension module includes at least one third light source (figure 14 element LDV) and a second light combination module (figure 14 module comprising LN1 and DC1) corresponding to the at least one third light source
the second light combination module corresponding to the at least one third light source includes a third light combination element (figure 14 combination element DC1)
the third light combination element is configured to reflect and/or transmit a fifth beam (fifth beam extending out of light source LDV) emitted by the at least one third light source to realize light combination in sequence, so as to generate a second incident beam that is incident onto a second light combination element (figure 14 fifth beam is incident onto second light combination element DC2) for reflection or transmission
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the light source of Qiu with the extension interface in order to add an additional light wavelength to illuminate the desired target region within the patient, improving control of the image quality within the red region as stated in paragraph 36 of the specification. This improved control allows for the color representation to be more closely matched to that of the patient’s body cavity, improving the ability of a physician to properly diagnose and treat the pictured region.
Claim 45 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu and Ito in view of Goebel et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0383558, hereinafter “Goebel”). While Qiu and Ito combined teach the elements of claims 1 and 41, they fail to teach a light source device wherein a beam associated with the at least one second light source or the at least one third light source has a narrowband spectrum or a short-wave spectrum, and an optical axis of the at least one second light source or the at least one third light source is parallel to an optical axis of an output light of the light guide module. Goebel teaches a light source device wherein a beam associated with the at least one second light source (figure 2 element 36) or the at least one third light source has a narrowband spectrum (paragraph 64 details light source 36 emitting “in a narrowband second wavelength spectrum”) or a short-wave spectrum, and an optical axis of the at least one second light source or the at least one third light source is parallel to an optical axis of an output light of the light guide module (figure 2 see optical axis of element 36 is directly in line with the light guide 16). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the light source devices of Qiu and Ito with the second narrowband emitting light source parallel to the light guide of Goebel in order to minimize losses of light during a coupling process through placement of a further optics element in line with the light source device and light guide, as stated in paragraph 66.
Claims 49, 55, 56, and 58 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu in view of Forbster et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0092192, hereinafter “Forbster”). Regarding claim 49, Qiu fails to teach a light source device further comprising:
an optical mechanical housing provided with an entrance, a light exit, and an accommodation space connected with the entrance and the light exit, the at least two light sources being disposed on the optical mechanical housing, and exit ends of the at least two light sources being disposed at the entrance
an incident lens group disposed in the accommodation space and corresponding to the exit ends of the at least two light sources, and the incident lens group being configured to converge beams emitted by the at least two light sources to a primary optical path
coupling lens group disposed in the accommodation space and corresponding to the light exit
an optical detection module configured to collect beams emitted from the exit ends of the at least two light sources, wherein the beams do not enter the primary optical path
Forbster teaches a light source device further comprising:
an optical mechanical housing (pictured in figure 2) provided with an entrance (figure 2 entrances pointed at with arrows below), a light exit (figure 2 optical fiber 24), and an accommodation space connected with the entrance and the light exit (figure 2 space encompassing all the elements within the figure), the at least two light sources being disposed on the optical mechanical housing (both light sources must be attached to the housing of the optical mechanical housing), and exit ends of the at least two light sources being disposed at the entrance (exit ends of light sources 12 and 10 point inwards towards incident lens group 5, being considered the entrance of the accommodation space)
an incident lens group (figure 2 element 5) disposed in the accommodation space and corresponding to the exit ends of the at least two light sources, and the incident lens group being configured to converge beams emitted by the at least two light sources to a primary optical path (figure 2 element 5 combines light emitted by light sources 12 and 10 towards optical fiber 24)
coupling lens group disposed in the accommodation space and corresponding to the light exit (paragraph 6 “subsequently coupled into an optical fiber 24”)
an optical detection module (figure 2 element 20) configured to collect beams emitted from the exit ends of the at least two light sources, wherein the beams do not enter the primary optical path (paragraph 47 details the coupling out of the combined beams emitted from the two light sources from the main optical path for measurement)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the light source device of Qiu with the optical mechanical housing configuration of Forbster in order to facilitate the measurement of light emitted by both light sources without being affected by back reflections off of the light emitted by the light sources. These back reflections are stated in paragraph 6 to interfere with measurements taken, which in turn weakens the operator’s ability to accurately finely drive either light source during an operation.
Regarding claim 55, Qiu fails to teach a light source device further comprising a reflector group, wherein the reflector group is configured to reflect the beams that do not enter the primary optical path to the optical detection module. Forbster teaches a light source device further comprising a reflector group (figure 2 element 18), wherein the reflector group is configured to reflect the beams that do not enter the primary optical path to the optical detection module.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the light source device of Qiu with the reflector group of Forbster in order to facilitate the measurement of light emitted by both light sources without being affected by back reflections off of the light emitted by the light sources. These back reflections are stated in paragraph 6 to interfere with measurements taken, which in turn weakens the operator’s ability to accurately drive either light source during an operation.
Regarding claim 56, Qiu fails to teach a light source device wherein the optical detection module includes at least two photodetectors, an angle p is formed between a beam incident into a photosensitive surface of each of the at least two photodetectors and the photosensitive surface of the corresponding photodetector, and a value of each angle p is not completely the same. Forbster teaches a light source device wherein the optical detection module includes at least two photodetectors (figure 4 photosensors 19a and 19b), an angle p is formed between a beam incident into a photosensitive surface of each of the at least two photodetectors and the photosensitive surface of the corresponding photodetector, and a value of each angle p is not completely the same (the photo sensors 19a and 19b are not configured to overlap in their entirety, so an angle between a beam incident onto the surface of both photodetectors and the corresponding photodetector can be understood to vary at least slightly).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the light source device of Qiu with the photodetector configuration of Forbster in order to facilitate the measurement of light emitted by both light sources without being affected by back reflections off of the light emitted by the light sources. These back reflections are stated in paragraph 6 to interfere with measurements taken, which in turn weakens the operator’s ability to accurately finely drive either light source during an operation.
Regarding claim 58, Qiu fails to teach a light source device wherein a filter is arranged on an optical path between the exit end of each of the at least two light sources and the photosensitive surface of the corresponding optical detection module. Forbster teaches a light source device wherein a filter (figure 2 filter mirror 5) is arranged on an optical path between the exit end of each of the at least two light sources and the photosensitive surface of the corresponding optical detection module.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the light source device of Qiu with the filter of Forbster in order to combine the light emitted by both light sources in order to create useful light as stated in paragraph 9, and the optical detection module is located after said filter in order to measure the light in its entirety and provide the operator with accurate information required for modifying the luminous flux of either light source as required by the operation.
Claims 50 and 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu and Forbster in view of Mayer (U.S. Patent Application 2024/0349988). Regarding claim 50, while Qiu and Forbster combined teach the limitations of claims 1 and 49, they fail to teach a light source device wherein an accommodation recess for accommodating the optical detection module is provided on an outer wall of the optical mechanical housing, and the accommodation recess is connected with the entrance such that the beams emitted by the exit ends of the at least two light sources enter the accommodation recess. Mayer teaches a light source device wherein an accommodation recess (figure 1 space pointed at with arrow below) for accommodating the optical detection module (figure 1 light detection unit 102) is provided on an outer wall of the optical mechanical housing, and the accommodation recess is connected with the entrance such that the beams emitted by the exit ends of the at least two light sources enter the accommodation recess (figure 1 see beams exiting light sources 110a and 100b enter the accommodation recess).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the light source devices of Qiu and Forester with the accommodation recess configuration of Mayer in order to ensure that the light exiting the light sources to be measured within the recess is focused on only a few pixels of the optical detection module. Paragraph 72 states that “as a result, only a portion/fraction of all pixels is illuminated and it is possible to obtain data that can be used for evaluation,” demonstrating that this orientation allows for the light to be measured for light source evaluation.
Regarding claim 51, Qiu and Forbster fail to teach a light source device wherein:
the accommodation space includes a first accommodation cavity disposed on an inner wall of the optical mechanical housing and connected with the entrance, and the first accommodation cavity is also connected with the accommodation recess
incident lens group includes a lens tube and a lens assembly arranged in the lens tube, the lens tube is disposed in the first accommodation cavity, the lens tube has a first end portion, and the first end portion extends toward the exit ends of the at least two light sources
at least one light transmission structure is provided at the first end portion, and at least a portion or all of the at least one light transmission structure corresponds to the accommodation recess.
Mayer teaches a light source device wherein:
the accommodation space includes a first accommodation cavity (figure 1 pointed at with arrow above) disposed on an inner wall of the optical mechanical housing and connected with the entrance, and the first accommodation cavity (figure 1 pointed at with downwards arrow below) is also connected with the accommodation recess
incident lens group includes a lens tube (telescopic lens detailed in paragraph 67 within the accommodation cavity) and a lens assembly (figure 1 comprising lenses 11a and 11b) arranged in the lens tube, the lens tube is disposed in the first accommodation cavity, the lens tube has a first end portion (figure 1 pointed at with the upwards arrow below), and the first end portion extends toward the exit ends of the at least two light sources (first end extends downwards in the image above towards exit ends of the two light sources 110a and 110b)
at least one light transmission structure (figure 1 lens 11b) is provided at the first end portion, and at least a portion or all of the at least one light transmission structure corresponds to the accommodation recess (figure 1 lens 11b is connected to the accommodation recess)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the light source devices of Qiu and Forester with the accommodation recess configuration of Mayer in order to ensure that the light exiting the light sources to be measured within the recess is focused on only a few pixels of the optical detection module. Paragraph 72 states that “as a result, only a portion/fraction of all pixels is illuminated and it is possible to obtain data that can be used for evaluation,” demonstrating that this orientation allows for the light to be measured for light source evaluation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 57 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The allowable claim material of claim 57 is “a light source device wherein a deviation value between the angle p and an angle 90 degrees is a target deviation value, and the target deviation value is positively correlated with a photoelectric conversion efficiency of the corresponding photodetector for wavebands of lights emitted by the at least two light sources”. The closest prior art of reference can be found in Forbster, which contains the referenced angles within its disclosure, but without mention of a positive correlation between a target deviation value between those angles and 90 degrees and a photoelectric conversion efficiency of each corresponding photodetector.
Conclusion
/DAYTON HYUN JIN BARKER/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/MICHAEL J CAREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795