DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a thermal storage module” in claims 1-6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In Reference to Claim 1
The indefiniteness stems from the recitation of a “thermal storage module”. Applicant’s specification discusses multiple modules but does not explicitly disclose a “thermal storage module”. Applicant’s specification discloses a thermal storage or a modular thermal storage which performs the function of storage of thermal energy, however, Applicant’s specification additionally discloses a solar collection module which discloses the longitudinal relationship between itself and the lens array. (See Applicant’s specification, Paragraphs [0041]-[0047]). Additionally, the recitation of “a thermal load” includes “a thermal storage” (See claim 3), creating an further lack of clarity as to the structure of the “a thermal storage module” and what constitutes the module. Accordingly, as noted above, even in view of Applicant’s specification, it is unclear as to what constitutes the thermal storage module.
For Examination purposes, to not conflict with dependent claims, the claim recitations of “a thermal storage module” will be interpreted as a support for lens array frame/uprights and thermal collection system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, and 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schilder (US 2010/0212660).
In Reference to Claim 1 (As Best Understood)
(See Schilder, Figures 3-4)
Schilder discloses:
A system comprising:
a first solar collection stage (2,3) configured to raise the temperature of a heat transport medium to a first temperature (See Schilder, Paragraphs [0037]-[0040]),
wherein the first solar collection stage (2,3) comprises:
a thermal storage module (6);
a lens array (i.e.-first row) on a frame (A) supported by uprights (13,B) to the frame (A) that enables the frame (A) to rotate about an axis longitudinal to the thermal storage module (6);
a second solar collection stage (2,3, i.e.-second row) raising the temperature of the heat transport medium from the first temperature to a second temperature(See Schilder, Paragraphs [0037]-[0040]),
an Nth solar collection stage (2,3 i.e -third row, fourth row, etc) further raising the temperature of the heat transport medium (See Schilder, Paragraphs [0037]-[0040]); and
a thermal load (15) thermally coupled to the heat transport medium having the further raised temperature, wherein the thermal load (15) uses heat provided by the heat transport medium to convert heat to electricity. (See Schilder, Paragraph [0039]).
The Examiner notes that medium of Schilder follows a linear path receiving heat from sequential solar thermal lenses thus providing staged heating of the medium. Additionally, Schilder discloses modular construction which would also create stages dependent on flow path. (See Schilder, Paragraphs [0014]-[0015]).
In Reference to Claim 3 (As Best Understood)
(See Schilder, Figures 1-5)
Schilder discloses:
Wherein the thermal load comprises a thermal storage (14). (See Schilder, Paragraph [0039]).
In Reference to Claim 4 (As Best Understood)
(See Schilder, Figures 1-5)
Schilder discloses:
Wherein the first and second stage are modular. (See Schilder, Paragraphs [0014]-[0015]).
In Reference to Claim 5 (As Best Understood)
(See Schilder, Figures 1-5)
Schindler discloses:
Wherein the first and second stages operate using different portions of a continuous heat absorber. (See Schilder, Paragraph [0039]).
The Examiner notes that Schindler uses is a continuous heat absorber of an array of lens focusing on sections of pipe with a heated medium flowing throughout. Thus both the first and second stages use different portions of absorption piping and different portions of liquid flowing therein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schilder (US 2010/0212660) in view of Johnson et al. (US 2016/0146507).
In Reference to Claim 2 (As Best Understood)
Schilder discloses the claimed invention except:
Wherein the thermal load comprises a Stirling engine.
Johnson et al. (John) discloses a thermal solar energy capture and storage device. (See John, Abstract). John discloses utilizing the thermal energy to power a Stirling engine to generate electricity. (See John, Paragraph [0020]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the stored thermal energy of Schilder to drive a Stirling engine, as both references are directed to solar thermal storage to provide thermal energy to drive a thermal load. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that a Stirling engine to drive a generator would be a simple substitution of on known thermal load for another that would yield the predictable result of efficiently driving a generator to generate electricity.
In Reference to Claim 6 (As Best Understood)
Schilder discloses:
Forming the solar panel system as modular. (See Schilder, Paragraphs [0014]-[0015]).
Schilder discloses the claimed invention except:
Wherein the system is disposed in an intermodal shipping container form factor.
John discloses a thermal solar energy capture and storage device. (See John, Abstract). John discloses uses a shipping container to mount and house both the modular solar array and the thermal storage. (See John, Paragraph [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the modular array of Schilder and thermal storage of Schilder disposed in a shipping container, as both references are directed towards modular solar thermal storage arrays. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that making the thermal storage array of such configuration would allow for modularity, portability and not require foundations and significant site preparations reducing the cost of the system. (See John, Paragraphs [0075]-[0076]).
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kapteyn (US 8,851,066) in view of Hong (KR 1020240007780), further in view of Johnson et al. (US 2016/0146507).
In Reference to Claim 7
(See Kapteyn, Figures 1-7)
Kapteyn discloses:
A thermal collection system comprising:
a thermal storage comprising a linear heat absorber (28) disposed along a longitudinal axis of the thermal storage (35), wherein the linear heat absorber (28) comprises a radiation-transmissive tubular structure having an outer cylindrical surface and containing a heat transport medium (See Kapteyn, Column 5, Lines 4-27 & Column 5, Lines 57-64);
a reflector array (27a-b) configured to concentrate incident solar energy to a corresponding focal point on the outer cylindrical surface of the linear heat absorber (28) to form a localized hot spot. (See Kapteyn, Column 5, Lines 4-27);
generating electrical power using the solar heat. (See Kapteyn, Column 10, Lines 26-28).
Kapteyn discloses the claimed invention except:
a Stirling engine; and a lens array comprising a plurality of lenses rotatable about the longitudinal axis of the thermal storage; wherein each lens of the lens array is configured to concentrate incident solar energy to a corresponding focal point on the outer cylindrical surface of the linear heat absorber to form a localized hot spot, and wherein rotation of the lens array about the longitudinal axis causes the focal points to be directed to different portions of the outer cylindrical surface such that the corresponding hot spots move circumferentially about the outer cylindrical surface and occur at different positions along a length of the linear heat absorber, thereby heating the heat transport medium within the linear heat absorber, and wherein the Stirling engine uses heat provided by the heat transport medium to convert the heat to electricity.
Hong discloses a solar thermal energy capture device. (See Hong, Paragraph [0001]). Hong discloses a lens array comprising a plurality of lenses rotatable about the longitudinal axis of the thermal storage; wherein each lens of the lens array is configured to concentrate incident solar energy to a corresponding focal point on the outer cylindrical surface of the linear heat absorber to form a localized hot spot, and wherein rotation of the lens array about the longitudinal axis causes the focal points to be directed to different portions of the outer cylindrical surface such that the corresponding hot spots move circumferentially about the outer cylindrical surface and occur at different positions along a length of the linear heat absorber, thereby heating the heat transport medium within the linear heat absorber. (See Hong, Paragraphs [0049]-[0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the Fresnel lens solar concentrator to heat the linear heat absorber, as both references are directed towards solar thermal energy capture devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the lens system of Hong would have allowed for increased efficiency and enhanced energy collection as the device can optimize solar power generation by allowing for angle adjustment in real time. Additionally, such mechanism allows for damage prevention and easier maintenance. (See Hong, Paragraphs [0041]-[0042]).
Johnson et al. (John) discloses a thermal solar energy capture and storage device. (See John, Abstract). John discloses utilizing the thermal energy to power a Stirling engine to generate electricity. (See John, Paragraph [0020]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the stored thermal energy of Kapteyn to drive a Stirling engine, as both references are directed to solar thermal storage to provide thermal energy to drive a thermal load. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that a Stirling engine to drive a generator would be a simple substitution of on known thermal load for another that would yield the predictable result of efficiently driving a generator to generate electricity.
In Reference to Claim 8
The Kapteyn-Hong combination as modified by Johnson discloses:
Wherein the thermal storage is modular. (See Kapteyn, Column 14, Lines 30-39).
In Reference to Claim 9
The Kapteyn-Hong combination as modified by Johnson discloses:
Wherein the modular thermal storage comprise clay blocks. (See Kapteyn, Column 5, Lines 57-64).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 22 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s arguments that neither Schindler, nor Schindler in view of Johnson disclose each and every limitation of claim 1, the Office respectfully disagrees.
Applicant argues that neither Schindler, nor Schindler in view of Johnson disclose each and every limitation of claim 1. Specifically, Applicant argues that Schindler fails to teach or fairly suggest “a lens array on a frame supported by uprights to the frame that enables the frame to rotate about an axis longitudinal to the thermal storage module.”. Specifically, Applicant points to the instant specification paragraphs [0043]-[0045] which discuss the relationship of the lens array with respect to “a module” and/or “a solar collection module” and/or “a heat collection module”. Additionally, Applicant argues the relationship to “the module” and/or “a solar collection module” and/or “a heat collection module”, however, “the module” and/or “a solar collection module” and/or “a heat collection module” are stated in Applicant’s specification as comprising multiple components including those of which are already in claim 1 and tied to “The system” but separate from the “thermal storage module”. Therefore, it is unclear from Applicant’s specification as to the structural component of “a thermal storage module” as it appears to be claimed as a separate component and yet undefined by Applicant’s specification. As noted the 112(b) rejection of claim 1 above, it is unclear as to what constitutes the thermal storage module as such a module is not explicitly disclosed in the specification and components which perform functions of thermal storage a later disclosed and not attributed to the thermal storage module. Accordingly, the claims are interpreted as best understood by the Examiner.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kurz, Riveros, Green, and Matalon show solar heat collection devices within the general state of the art of invention.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW T LARGI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746