DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of prior-filed applications under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) and under 35 U.S.C. 120 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2025-02-18 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over the following US Patents in view of the prior art of record: 10868806, 11102194, 11856027, 11799844, 12407728, and 12238104.
Although the claims at issue are not identical to the parent patents, they are not patentably distinct from each other because independent claim 1 of the instant application is anticipated by the claims of the issued parent patents, and the dependent claims 2-5 are otherwise obvious in view of the prior art of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter; specifically, it is directed towards software, per se.
Claims 1-5 are directed towards software, per se. The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) is obliged to give claims their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification during proceedings before the USPTO. See In re ZIetz, 893 F.2d 319 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (during patent examination the pending claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow). The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim drawn to a secure network comprising packet processing units (PPUs), a set of policies, a plurality of visas, and a plurality of internal packets typically covers forms of hardware, software per se, and combinations thereof in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of the terms (and the a set of policies, a plurality of visas, and a plurality of internal packets are customarily only software per se), particularly when the specification is silent. Furthermore, with respect to the instant Application, the interpretation of the PPUs as software, per se, is also consistent with the Specification, paragraph 0261. See MPEP 2111.01. When the broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim covers software per se, the claim must be rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as covering non-statutory subject matter, as software per se does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter recited in 35 U.S.C. 101 (process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter). Software is descriptive material that can be considered statutory ONLY if it is both functional and clearly embodied as structural, non-transitory matter; See MPEP § 2106.03(I). Even if the software of the claim(s) is functional, it is not clearly defined as being embodied as structural, non-transitory matter and is therefore not statutory.
The dependent claims included in the statement of rejection but not specifically addressed in the body of the rejection have inherited the deficiencies of their parent claim and have not resolved the deficiencies. Therefore, they are rejected based on the same rationale as applied to their parent claims above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication No. 20160248682-A1, hereinafter “Lee”).
With respect to independent claim 1, Lee discloses a secure communication system enabling secure transport of information comprising:
a secure network comprising one or more packet processing units (PPUs) {paras. 0049-0051 and 0081-0108: a “packet … passes through a packet data network gateway (P-GW) on its way from its source to its destination. At the P-GW, the packet can be inspected/reviewed/analyzed”}.
a set of policies {paras. 0061-0064, 0085-0087, 0091, and 0099: “one or more policies”}.
a plurality of visas, each issued based on said policies {paras. 0085-0087, 0091, and 0099: “derive the network token in view of an application access policy”}.
a plurality of internal packets within which said secure network transports said information, wherein each of said internal packets is associated with one of said visas {paras. 0063 and 0079: “gateway device can verify that the packet, associated with a network token, is heading toward a server of a given service provider”}.
wherein a PPU among said PPUs transmits an internal packet among said internal packets only if allowed by said policies as specified by the visa associated with said internal packet {paras. 0051, 0090, and 0107: “Uplink network tokens and/or downlink network tokens may be used by a P-GW to enforce network policies”, wherein “Upon successful verification [of the token], the packet may be sent to its destination. If the verification is not successful, the packet can be discarded”}.
With respect to dependent claim 2, Lee discloses additionally comprising: a visa service issuing said visa {para. 0023, 0085-0087, 0139, & 0212: “a gateway device (e.g., a P-GW)”, e.g. “P-GW 510”, wherein “P-GW 510 may derive 522 the network token”}.
With respect to dependent claim 3, Lee discloses wherein said visas comprises an endorsement from said visa service {paras. 0086 and 0099: “the network token may be derived as” an HMAC including “KP-GW”, which “is a secret key of P-GW”}.
With respect to dependent claim 4, Lee discloses wherein said endorsement indicates endorsement from multiple sub-servers among a plurality of sub-servers comprising said visa service {paras. 0207-0232 and 0253: “exemplary gateway device” may be implemented as “hardware and/or software modules” that are “distributed across multiple devices”}.
With respect to dependent claim 5, Lee discloses wherein said multiple sub-servers comprise a required fraction of said plurality of sub-servers {paras. 0207-0232 and 0253: all “hardware and/or software modules” are expected to operate in unison in generating or validating tokens}.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
The reference Kolbe et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication No. 20180302479-A1) discloses a core network that requires packets to comprise a valid token traverse a secured network.
/Kevin Bechtel/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2491