DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Larkin (7901241). With respect to claim 1, Larkin discloses a modular universal serial bus (USB) hub system (30), the system comprising: a base (38) configured to house a plurality of fixed and non-fixed electronic attachments, wherein the base (38) include a main housing (38) that encloses a retractable mechanism (362); a mount (31) comprising at least one attachment mechanism (31), wherein the at least one attachment mechanism (31) securely attaches the main housing to an external surface (20); at least one USB adapter (33) providing compatibility with various electronic and computer devices; and a retractable USB cable (34), the retractable cable (34) being stored within the main housing (38). With respect to claim 2, Larkin discloses the modular USB system (30) of claim 1, further comprising a fixed USB cable (351) extending from a port (352) in the base (38). With respect to claim 4, Larkin discloses the modular USB system (30) of claim 1, wherein the at least one USB adapters (33) is selected from the group consisting of USB-C to Micro USB adapters, USB-C to Lightning adapters, and USB-C to USB-A adapters. With respect to claim 5, Larkin discloses the modular USB system (30) of claim 1, wherein the USB adapters (33) are stored in a dedicated compartment (382) with the base (38). With respect to claim 8, Larkin discloses the modular USB system (30) of claim 1, wherein the retractable USB cable (34) has a length that is dynamically adjusted between about 0.85 to about 1.5 meters.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6, and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: as to claims 3, 6, and 7, patentability resides in each and every limitations as presently claimed and including all of the other limitations of the base claim respectfully.
Claims 9-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: as to claims 9-20, patentability resides, at least in part, in the interconnection and interrelationship between the main housing, the retractable USB cable, the fixed USB cable, the retractable mechanism comprising a spring and a plastic disc, the modular mount comprising a first attachment mechanism in the form of adhesive strips and a second attachment mechanism in the form of screw holes, and the ergonomic, stackable design enabling multiple housings to be vertically stacked to form a tower for simultaneous use of multiple retractable USB cable as claimed and including all of the other limitations of the base claims respectfully.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
LISA LEA-EDMONDS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
/LISA LEA-EDMONDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847 2026-08-08